DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 20 October 2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 8-9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8, lines 7-9, recite: “…large diameter portion opening toward an opposite side of the support plate…”. This should be corrected to read - - large diameter portion opening toward an opposite side of the first friction material than the support plate - -.
Claim 9, lines 7-9, recite: “…small diameter portion opening toward an opposite side of the support plate…”. This should be corrected to read - - small diameter portion opening toward an opposite side of the second friction material than the support plate - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Valier (US 4,591,041 A).
Regarding claim 1, Valier discloses a friction disc (see Fig. 1), comprising:
a support plate (11) including a first lateral surface (A in annotated Figure 2 below) and a second lateral surface (B in annotated Figure 2 below), the first lateral surface facing a first side in an axial direction (see Fig. 2), the second lateral surface facing a second side in the axial direction (see Fig. 2);
a first friction material (12b) attached to the first lateral surface of the support plate (see Fig. 2); and
a second friction material (12a) attached to the second lateral surface of the support plate (see Fig. 2),
wherein the support plate includes
a first engaging protrusion (13a) protruding from the first lateral surface to the first side in the axial direction (see Fig. 2),
a through-hole (30a) extending inside the first engaging protrusion in the axial direction (see Fig. 2),
a second engaging protrusion (13b) protruding from the second lateral surface to the second side in the axial direction (see Fig. 2), and
a recess (C in annotated Figure 2 below) disposed to overlap with the second engaging protrusion as seen in the axial direction (see Fig. 2), the recess recessed on the first lateral surface to the second side in the axial direction (see Fig. 2 and see NOTE below),
the first friction material includes a first engaging recess (D in annotated Figure 2 below) engaged with the first engaging protrusion (see Fig. 2), and
the second friction material includes a second engaging recess (E in annotated Figure 2 below) engaged with the second engaging protrusion (see Fig. 2).
NOTE: The recess (C in annotated Figure 2 below) is located on the first friction material abutting the first lateral surface. Further, the recess extends in the direction of the second side. Therefore, the recess is recessed on the first lateral surface to the second side.
Figure 1. Annotated Figure 2.
Figure 2. Annotated Figure 2.
Regarding claim 2, Valier discloses wherein the first engaging protrusion (13a) includes a first body (19a) and a first hold-down portion (21a), with the first body extending in the axial direction (see Fig. 2) and the first hold-down portion extending from an outer peripheral surface of a distal end of the first body (see Fig. 2) to hold down the first friction material (12b, see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, Valier discloses wherein the first engaging recess (D in annotated Figure 2 above) includes a small diameter portion opening toward the support plate (11) in the axial direction (see Fig. 2), the small diameter portion accommodating the first engaging protrusion (13a), and
a large diameter portion connected to the small diameter portion in the axial direction (see Fig. 2), the large diameter portion opening toward an opposite side of the first friction material than the support plate (see Fig. 2), the large diameter portion being larger in dimension than the small diameter portion as seen in the axial direction (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, Valier discloses wherein the second engaging recess (E in annotated Figure 2 above) includes a large diameter portion (M in annotated Figure 2 below) opening toward the support plate (10) in the axial direction (see NOTE below), the large diameter portion accommodating the second engaging protrusion (13b), and
a small diameter portion (N in annotated Figure 2 below) connected to the large diameter portion in the axial direction (see Fig. 2), the small diameter portion opening toward an opposite side of the second friction material than the support plate (see NOTE below), the small diameter portion being smaller in dimension than the large diameter portion as seen in the axial direction (see Fig. 2), the small diameter portion being smaller in dimension than the second engaging protrusion as seen in the axial direction (see Fig. 2).
NOTE: See in Fig. 2 that the large diameter opening portion has two openings; one opening toward the support plate and one opening toward the second side in the axial direction. See in Fig. 2 that the small diameter opening portion has two openings; one opening toward the support plate and one opening toward the second side in the axial direction.
Figure 3. Annotated Figure 2.
Regarding claim 10, Valier discloses wherein the support plate (11) includes a plurality of the first engaging protrusions (13a) and a plurality of the second engaging protrusions (13b, see Fig. 1, and see Column 2 line 65 - Column 3 line 12), and
the plurality of first engaging protrusions and the plurality of second engaging protrusions are alternately disposed in a circumferential direction (see Fig. 2 for example).
Regarding claim 11, Valier discloses wherein the first friction material (12b) includes a first slide surface (J in annotated Figure 2 below) and a first attachment surface (K in annotated Figure 2 below), the first slide surface facing the first side in the axial direction, the first attachment surface facing the second side in the axial direction, and the first attachment surface coming in contact with the support plate (11, see Fig. 2), and
the first attachment surface is larger in surface roughness than the first slide surface (see NOTE below).
NOTE: The first friction material appears to have the same surface finish on both the first slide surface and the first attachment surface. Further, the first attachment surface is shown to have a larger surface area as seen in Fig. 2. Similarly, the first attachment surface and the first slide surface are understood to have the same surface finish and therefore roughness. Accordingly, the first attachment surface has a larger surface roughness as it comprises a larger surface area of said surface roughness.
Figure 4. Annotated Figure 2.
Regarding claim 12, Valier discloses a damper device (see Fig. 1), comprising:
a damper unit including an input rotor (10), an output rotor (15), an elastic member (14), and the friction disc recited in claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), the elastic member configured to elastically couple the input rotor and the output rotor (see Fig. 1 and Column 2 lines 54-58), the friction disc attached to either the input rotor (see Fig. 1) or the output rotor; and
a torque limiter unit (plates of a clutch) configured to be engaged by friction with the friction disc (see Fig. 1), the torque limiter unit sandwiching (see Column 2 lines 36-40) the friction disc therein in the axial direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Valier (US 4,591,041 A).
Regarding claim 3, Valier discloses the first engaging protrusion (13a) and the second engaging protrusion (13b), but fails to disclose as claimed wherein at least one of the first engaging protrusion and the second engaging protrusion has an elliptical shape as seen in the axial direction.
Applicant is reminded that it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed the prior art, changing the shape of a prior art device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first and second engaging protrusion shape of Valier, such that it comprises an elliptical shape as seen in the axial direction, in order to provide engaging protrusions that can withstand higher forces in load applied directions, while minimizing material use in non-load applied directions.
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Valier (US 4,591,041 A) in view of Uehara (US 10,948,024 B1).
Regarding claim 13, Valier discloses the torque limiter unit (plates of a clutch, see Column 2 lines 36-40) and a friction disc (see Fig. 1), but fails to disclose as claimed that the torque limiter unit includes a pressure plate and an urging member, the urging member urging the pressure plate toward the friction disc,
the urging member includes a contact portion in contact with the pressure plate, and
the contact portion overlaps with the first engaging protrusion as seen in the axial direction.
However, Uehara teaches that the torque limiter unit (10) includes a pressure plate (11-12) and an urging member (14), the urging member urging the pressure plate toward the friction disc (13, see Fig. 1 and Column 4 lines 6-10),
the urging member includes a contact portion in contact with the pressure plate (see Fig. 4), and
the contact portion overlaps with the first engaging protrusion (18) as seen in the axial direction (see Fig. 4), in order to provide a damper device having all of the necessary torque limiter structure necessary to function and limit torque applied between connected members.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the damper device of Valier, with Uehara, such that it comprises the torque limiter unit of Uehara, in order to provide a damper device having all of the necessary torque limiter structure necessary to function and limit torque applied between connected members.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 4, Valier discloses that the support plate (11) includes 1) a slit (see Fig. 1) extending inward in a radial direction from an outer peripheral surface of the support plate (see Fig. 1), and 2) an anchor (tabs extending in recesses near the slits in Fig. 1) protruding from an edge (see Fig. 1) of the slit, but fails to disclose as claimed that the anchor protrudes from an edge of the slit to the second side in the axial direction. Valier fails to disclose that the anchors protrude in a direction other than in the same plane as the support plate (11). Accordingly, Valier fails to disclose as claimed that the anchor protrudes to the second side in the axial direction. Further, Valier fails to disclose as claimed that the anchors bite into the second friction material. No biting or engaging between the referenced tab members and the second friction material is disclosed in Valier.
Lech (US 4,377,225 A) teaches a friction disc assembly comprising Belleville springs (38) located around openings (33) of the support plate (29) that extend in a second direction (see Fig. 2), but fails to teach as claimed anchors extending from the edge of a slit and biting into the second friction material. Therefore, modifying Valier, with Lech, would not have been obvious as the combination would not read on all of the structure of claim 4.
Therefore, there is no prior art either alone or in combination that teaches or discloses the invention as claimed in claim 4. Accordingly, claim 4 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 5, Valier discloses that the support plate (11) includes 1) a plurality of first and second slits (see Fig. 1) extending inward in a radial direction from an outer peripheral surface of the support plate (see Fig. 1), and 2) a plurality of first and second anchors (tabs extending in recesses near the slits in Fig. 1) protruding from an edge (see Fig. 1) of the slit, but fails to disclose as claimed that the anchors protrude from an edge of the slit to the first and second sides in the axial direction. Valier fails to disclose that the anchors protrude in a direction other than in the same plane as the support plate (11). Accordingly, Valier fails to disclose as claimed that the anchors protrude to the first and second sides in the axial direction. Further, Valier fails to disclose as claimed that the anchors bite into the first and second friction materials. No biting or engaging between the referenced tab members and the first and second friction material is disclosed in Valier.
Lech (US 4,377,225 A) teaches a friction disc assembly comprising Belleville springs (38) located around openings (33) of the support plate (29) that extend in first and second directions (see Fig. 2), but fails to teach as claimed anchors extending from the edge of the slits to the first and second directions and biting into the first and second friction material. Therefore, modifying Valier, with Lech, would not have been obvious as the combination would not read on all of the structure of claim 5.
Therefore, there is no prior art either alone or in combination that teaches or discloses the invention as claimed in claim 5. Accordingly, claim 5 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 6-7 depend from claim 5 above and would be allowable if rewritten in independent form for at least the reasons listed above for claim 5.
Conclusion
/ZAH/Examiner, Art Unit 3678
/AMBER R ANDERSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3678