DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the "controller" as mentioned in claim 12 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation, "the first refrigerant cycle," lacks antecedent basis in the original claims. For examination purposes, above limitation is interpreted as '-- a refrigerant cycle --'.
In addition, the limitation, "a second fan" is confusing because the claim does not include "a first fan" and the term "second" is a relative term, which implies a first, primary or another fan; however, no other fan is claimed in claim 12. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "plug-in element" in claim 3; and "energy storage unit," in claim 12.
The “plug-in element” is not sufficiently described in the specification (see element 30, fig. 2 page 10, paragraph 2).
The “energy storage unit” is sufficiently described in the specification as pcm material stored in the inner space fins 906 on the inner tube 910 (see figs. 9 and paragraph 141-142).
Claim limitations “plug-in element," invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The "plug-in element" is only described with respect to its respective functions, as an element coupled to external power to provide power to refrigeration unit; however, there are no structural details for the plug-in element. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The limitation "a controller configured to cause refrigeration unit to perform only the first refrigerant cycle," is not supported by the original disclosure because the original disclosure neither contains the above limitation nor describes how the refrigerated transportation system controller is programmed to perform only the first refrigerant cycle. In addition, the original disclosure does not contain the term “first refrigerant cycle”. Also, the specification does not contain the steps that cause to refrigeration unit to perform the claimed “only first refrigerant cycle”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7, 8 and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Srichai (US 2016/0334154 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Srichai discloses a method for controlling a refrigerated transportation system (see abstract and figs. 1-10), the refrigerated transportation system including a box (air discharge unit 250 and interior space 120) and a refrigeration unit (refrigeration unit 125) disposed corresponding to the box (air discharge unit 250 of the transport box 110, see fig. 1), the refrigeration unit including a first evaporator (evaporators 215, 310, 430, 525, 670, 675, 740, 830) and a second evaporator (thermal accumulator evaporator 220, 305, 435, 520, 660, 665, 735, 835, 900, 920) connected in parallel (see figs. 2-9), the second evaporator having an evaporation coil (inner tube 306 and outer tube 307, see paragraph 70; inner tube 910 and outer tube 920, see paragraph 141-143 and figs. 2-9) and a phase change material (thermal accumulator evaporator 220, 305 uses PCM (phase change material), see paragraphs 65 and 70), wherein the phase change material is coupled to the evaporation coil (see at least PCM stored between inner and outer tubes 306 and 307 and at least PCM in the inner space 906 around the coil 915, paragraphs 70, 141 and figs. 2-9), and the method comprises:
a cold energy demand determination step of acquiring cold energy demand information of the box (temperature difference between current temperature of the interior space and the target temperature, see paragraphs 65 and 148), generating a rapid cooling instruction when the cold energy demand information meets a preset rapid cooling condition (this is a contingent limitation in a method claim, see MPEP 2111.04; however, Srichai teaches that the control system generates instruction to cool the interior space and provides cooling/heating air flow to reduce temperature difference between interior space and target temperature, based on the current temperature of the interior space, see paragraphs 147-149 and 157; fig. 10), and generating an energy storage instruction when the cold energy demand information meets a preset energy storage condition (this is a contingent limitation in a method claim, see MPEP 2111.04; however, Srichai teaches that the control system generates instructions to heat exchange with PCM when temperature of the interior space is at the target temperature and the target temperature is maintained, see paragraph 144), wherein the rapid cooling step further includes a step of responding to the rapid cooling instruction (heat exchange with PCM, see paragraph 144; fig. 10), and the energy storage step further includes a step of responding to the energy storage instruction (heat exchange with PCM, see paragraph 144); wherein responding to the rapid cooling instruction and responding to the energy storage instruction is by performing a rapid cooling step of the first evaporator (830) and the second evaporator (835) simultaneously exchanging heat with air in the box (see figs. 8 and paragraphs 128-131) to release cold energy stored in the phase change material (cooling by absorbing heat by PCM, see paragraphs 147-149 and 163); and by performing an energy storage step of the second evaporation coil exchanging heat with the phase change material (heat transferred between PCM and the evaporation coil 910, 915, see paragraphs 141-142) so that the phase change material stores cold energy (see paragraphs 141-142, 147-149 and 163), respectively.
In regards to claim 4, Srichai teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the refrigerated transportation system further includes an on-board power source (battery power source, alternator, see paragraphs 32, 42 and 45), and in the rapid cooling step and the energy storage step, power is provided to the refrigeration unit through the on-board power source (power supplied to the compressor or evaporator fan of the refrigeration unit by batteries, see paragraphs 45, 69 and 133; figs. 8).
In regards to claim 7, Srichai teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that in the cold energy demand determination step, the cold energy demand information includes a difference between a current temperature and a set temperature in the box (temperature difference between current temperature of the interior space and the target temperature, see paragraphs 65 and 148), and
according to a comparison result of the difference and a threshold (comparing difference between the temperature of the interior space and the target temperature with the frozen temperature range, see paragraphs 65 and 148-149), whether the preset rapid cooling condition is met and whether the preset energy storage condition is met are determined (determine based on the comparison of temperature difference between interior space and target value, adjust cooling/heating by air flow and/or heat exchange at the PCM, see paragraphs 147-149, 144 and 157; fig. 10).
In regards to claim 8, Srichai teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the box includes a first area and a second area (spaces for evaporators 215 and 220, respectively, see fig. 2), the first evaporator is disposed corresponding to the first area (space for evaporator 215, see fig. 2), and the second evaporator is disposed corresponding to the second area (space for evaporator 220, see fig. 2).
In regards to claim 11, Srichai discloses a refrigerated transportation system (see abstract and figs. 1-10) comprising:
a box (air discharge unit 250 and interior space 120);
a refrigeration unit (refrigeration unit 125) disposed corresponding to the box (air discharge unit 250 of the transport box 110, see fig. 1), the refrigeration unit including a first evaporator (evaporators 215, 310, 430, 525, 670, 675, 740, 830) and a second evaporator (thermal accumulator evaporator 220, 305, 435, 520, 660, 665, 735, 835) connected in parallel (see fig. 2), the second evaporator including a second evaporator coil (see fluid channel 915, figs. 9), and a phase change material coupled to the second evaporation coil (thermal accumulator evaporator 220 uses PCM (phase change material), see paragraph 65 and figs. 9);
a processor (control system with TRS controller, see paragraph 45); and
a memory (controller holding instructions, see paragraph 77) storing a processor-readable instruction (see paragraph 77), the processor executing the following steps by running the processor-readable instruction:
a cold energy demand determination step of acquiring cold energy demand information of the box (temperature difference between current temperature of the interior space and the target temperature, see paragraphs 65 and 148), generating a rapid cooling instruction when the cold energy demand information meets a preset rapid cooling condition (cooling/heating air flow to reduce temperature difference between interior space and target temperature, based on the current temperature of the interior space, see paragraphs 147-149 and 157; fig. 10), and generating an energy storage instruction when the cold energy demand information meets a preset energy storage condition (heat exchange with PCM when temperature of the interior space is at the target temperature and the target temperature is maintained, see paragraph 144);
a rapid cooling step of the first evaporator (830) and the second evaporator (835) simultaneously exchanging heat with air in the box (see figs. 8 and paragraphs 128-131) to release cold energy stored in the phase change material, in response to the rapid cooling instruction (cooling by absorbing heat by PCM, see paragraphs 147-149 and 163); and
an energy storage step wherein a part of a refrigerant flows to a first evaporator coil of the first evaporator for exchanging heat with air in the box (by controlling valve 225, refrigerant is supplied to evaporator 215 and evaporator 220, see paragraphs 54-55) and a remaining part of the refrigerant flows to the second evaporation coil of the second evaporator for exchanging heat with the phase change material (heat transferred between PCM and the evaporation coil 910, 915, see paragraphs 141-142; and by controlling valve 225, refrigerant is supplied to evaporator 215 and remaining refrigerant is supplied to evaporator 220, see paragraphs 54-55, where only portion of the heat transfer fluid under goes phase change) so that the phase change material stores the cold energy (see paragraphs 141-142, 147-149 and 163), in response to the energy storage instruction (heat exchange with PCM, see paragraph 144 and fig. 10).
In regards to claim 12, Srichai discloses a refrigerated transportation system (see abstract and figs. 1-10) comprising:
a box (air discharge unit 250 and interior space 120);
a refrigeration unit (refrigeration unit 125, refrigeration circuit and TRS 105, see paragraph 45) disposed corresponding to the box (air discharge unit 250 of the transport box 110, see fig. 1), the refrigeration unit including a first evaporator (evaporators 215, 310, 430, 525, 670, 675, 740, 830) and a second evaporator (thermal accumulator evaporator 220, 305, 435, 520, 660, 665, 735, 835) connected in parallel (see fig. 2), the second evaporator including a second evaporator coil (see fluid channel 915, figs. 9), and a phase change material coupled to the second evaporation coil (thermal accumulator evaporator 220 uses PCM (phase change material), see paragraph 65 and figs. 9),
wherein the refrigeration unit further includes a compressor (compressor 205), a condenser (condenser 210), a first expansion valve (first expansion valve 230, 231, see paragraph 55) disposed between the condenser and the first evaporator (valve 230 between condenser 210 and first evaporator 215, see fig. 2), and a second expansion valve (second expansion valve 235, see paragraph 55) disposed between the condenser and the second evaporator (valve 235 between condenser 210 and second evaporator 220, see fig. 2), wherein the refrigeration unit is configured to perform a first refrigeration cycle in which refrigerant flows through the first expansion valve and the first evaporator (see refrigerant flow through valve 230 and evaporator 215, as indicated by arrow, fig. 2 and paragraphs 55-56) and a second refrigerant cycle in which refrigerant flows through the second expansion valve and the second evaporator (see refrigerant flow through valve 235 and evaporator 220, as indicated by arrow, fig. 2 and paragraphs 55-56);
a processor (part of control system with TRS controller, see paragraph 45) configured to acquire cold energy demand information of the box (temperature difference between current temperature of the interior space and the target temperature, see paragraphs 65 and 148), generate a rapid cooling instruction when the cold energy demand information meets a preset rapid cooling condition (the control system generates instruction to cool the interior space and provides cooling/heating air flow to reduce temperature difference between interior space and target temperature, based on the current temperature of the interior space, see paragraphs 147-149 and 157; fig. 10), and generate an energy storage instruction when the cold energy demand information meets a preset energy storage condition (the control system generates instructions to heat exchange with PCM when temperature of the interior space is at the target temperature and the target temperature is maintained, see paragraph 144);
a controller (TRS controller, control system, see paragraph 45) configured to cause the refrigeration unit to perform only the first refrigerant cycle (refrigerant flow through valve 231 or 230 and through first evaporator 215 alone, see paragraph 55) and
operate a fan (fan 251) associated with the second evaporator (see fig. 2) at a high rotation speed (power supplied to the evaporator fan 251 to operate at a high speed, see paragraphs 56-57 and figs. 3-8) such that the phase change material exchanges heat with the air in the box to release cold energy stored in the phase change material (cooling by absorbing heat by PCM, see paragraphs 147-149 and 163; and by changing phase of the PCM material, paragraph 144), in response to the rapid cooling instruction (the control system generates instruction to cool the interior space and provides cooling/heating air flow to reduce temperature difference between interior space and target temperature, see paragraphs 147-149, 157; and heat exchange with PCM when temperature of the interior space is at the target temperature and the target temperature is maintained, see paragraph 144); and
an energy storage unit (battery, see paragraphs 32, 42) configured to cause the second evaporation coil to exchange heat with the phase change material (heat transferred between PCM and the evaporation coil 910, 915, see paragraphs 141-142) so that the phase change material stores the cold energy (see paragraphs 141-142, 147-149 and 163), in response to the energy storage instruction (heat exchange with PCM, see paragraph 144 and fig. 10).
In regards to claim 13, Srichai teaches the limitations of claim 12 and further discloses that the refrigerated transportation system is a refrigerated vehicle, refrigerated ship or a refrigerated container (see refrigerated truck with refrigerated transport unit 100, fig. 1 and paragraph 45).
In regards to claim 14, Srichai teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses a computer-readable storage medium storing a processor-readable instruction (controller storing computer instructions, see paragraph 77), wherein when the processor-readable instruction is executed by a processor (controller), the method for controlling a refrigerated transportation system according to claim 1 is implemented (see fig. 10 and paragraph 77).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Srichai (US 2016/0334154 A1) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Bays (US 2024/0367480 A1).
In regards to claim 3, Srichai teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses an energy pre-storage step of the second evaporation coil exchanging heat with the phase change material so that the phase change material stores the cold energy (see paragraph 142-145 and figs. 9, where PCM stores energy from fluid channel 915 of the inner evaporator tube 910) when the plug-in element is coupled to the external power source (this is a contingent limitation in a method claim, see MPEP 2111.04).
However, Srichai does not explicitly teach a plug-in element capable of being coupled to an external power source.
Bays teaches that the vehicle system (see figs. 2-4 and 6) includes a plug-in element (electrical connection 912, see fig. 6) capable of being coupled to an external power source (connection 912 connected to power outlet, see paragraph 59), and storing energy in the heat system (916) when the plug-in element is coupled to the external power source (see paragraphs 58-59).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of controlling the refrigerated transportation system of Srichai by providing a plug-in element capable of being coupled to an external power source, wherein cold energy is stored in the phase change material when the plug-in element is coupled to the external power source based on the teachings of Bays in order to improve operational efficiency of the transportation refrigeration system by providing power to the energy storage to store energy/power for future use.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Srichai (US 2016/0334154 A1) as applied to claim 4 above and further in view of Bays (US 2024/0367480 A1).
In regards to claim 5, Srichai teaches the limitations of claim 4 except a fuel cell, and in the energy storage step, operating power of the fuel cell is increased in a direction close to rated power of the fuel cell.
Bays teaches an on-board power source including a fuel cell (fuel cell, see paragraph 27), and in the energy storage step, operating power of the fuel cell is increased in a direction close to rated power of the fuel cell (hydrogen supplied to fuel cell to increase power in the direction of rated power, see paragraph 58; and power supplied to car components from fuel cell, see paragraphs 32, 48 and fig. 7).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of controlling the refrigerated transportation system of Srichai by providing a fuel cell as an on-board power source that increases in power in a direction close to rated power of the fuel cell, in the energy storage step based on the teachings of Bays for the advantage of providing an efficient and environmentally friendly energy storage and use for vehicle cabin air conditioning needs and/or vehicle powertrain needs.
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Srichai (US 2016/0334154 A1) as applied to claim 8 above.
In regards to claim 9, Srichai teaches the limitations of claim 8 and further discloses that in the cold energy demand determination step, the cold energy demand information includes a first/second difference between first/second area current temperatures and first/second area set temperature of the first/second area (temperature difference between current temperature of the interior space and the target temperature, see paragraphs 65 and 148), and
according to a comparison result of the first/second difference and the threshold, whether the preset energy storage condition is met is determined (comparing difference between the temperature of the interior space and the target temperature with the frozen temperature range, see paragraphs 65 and 148-149; determine based on the comparison of temperature difference between interior space and target value, adjust cooling/heating by air flow and/or heat exchange at the PCM, see paragraphs 147-149, 144 and 157; fig. 10).
However, Srichai is silent about repeating the determination and comparison of temperature difference for a second space near the first space.
Based on the teachings of Srichai to determine the cold energy demand with cold energy demand information including a first difference between first area current temperature and first area set temperature of the first area to determine whether the preset energy storage condition is met, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to apply the same known technique as taught by Srichai to a second space around a second evaporator to determine a second temperature difference between a second area current temperature and a second area set temperature of the second area, and according to a comparison result of the second difference and the threshold, determine whether the preset energy storage condition is met because applying a known technique to a known method/device ready for improvement yields predictable results (see MPEP 2141-III).
In regards to claim 10, Srichai teaches the limitations of claim 9 and further discloses that the preset energy storage condition is that the first difference reaches the threshold or/and the second difference reaches the threshold (comparing difference between the temperature of the interior space and the target temperature with the difference reaching zero and/or frozen temperature range, see claims 17, 20; and paragraphs 65 and 148-149).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant's argument, ""plug-in-element" is a well understood structure in the art," and one of skill in the art would understand the "plug-in-element" from its disclosed functions; however, examiner maintains the 112-f interpretation and corresponding 112a written description rejection of the above term because “plug-in-element” is described in the original disclosure only by its functions and not as a collection of its components or parts that form the plug-in-element.
In response to applicant's argument, "Srichai does not teach directing airflow based on internal space temperature being greater/less than target temperature because Srichai includes a power determination step within the algorithm for directing airflow through evaporators," examiner maintains the rejection of claim 1 over Srichai because Srichai (admittedly) teaches directing airflow through evaporators to provide hold-over cooling based on interna space temperature and difference between internal temperature and target temperature (see above rejection of claim 1) and the additional step of determining power sufficiency does not affect the ability of the controller of Srichai to teach the control sequence of directing airflow based on temperature difference. Hence, applicant’s argument is not found persuasive.
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
In response to applicant's argument, "in Srichai, airflow is directed based on power availability and airflow is not directed simultaneously through both evaporators," examiner maintains the rejection of claim 1 over Srichai because Srichai teaches directing airflow through one or both evaporators (see heat transfer fluid exchanging heat at both evaporators, paragraph 54-57, Srichai) and ability to determine power availability in Srichai does not take away from the teachings of directing airflow through the evaporators based on temperature differences (see fig. 10, Srichai and above rejection of claim 1). Hence, applicant’s argument is not found persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument, "Srichai does not teach operating both evaporators simultaneously while charging the PCM," examiner maintains the rejection of claim 11 and points out that claim 11 does not contain any limitation for simultaneous operation of both evaporators while charging the PCM. In addition, Srichai teaches directing airflow through one or both evaporators (see heat transfer fluid exchanging heat at both evaporators, paragraph 54-57, Srichai) and cooling, using ability of the PCM used to cool the air (see paragraphs 44, 62, Srichai). Hence, applicant’s argument is not found persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument, "Srichai does not teach performing only the first refrigerant cycle and second fan associated with second evaporator, rather Srichai teaches refrigerant flow through both parallel evaporators," examiner maintains the rejection of claim 12 and points out that on pages 3-4 of remarks, applicant argued that Srichai does not teach simultaneous refrigerant flow through both evaporators; however, in the above argument (page 5 of remarks), applicant argues that Srichai teaches simultaneous operation of both parallel evaporators. It is unclear if applicant’s argument against claim 11 is valid or the contradictory argument against claim 12 is valid. Examiner also points out that Srichai teaches directing refrigerant through one or both parallel evaporators (see heat transfer fluid exchanging heat at one or both parallel evaporators, paragraph 54-57 and fig. 2, Srichai), therefore, Srichai teaches both refrigerant flow through one or both parallel evaporators. Hence, applicant’s argument is not found persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MERAJ A SHAIKH/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JOEL M ATTEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763