DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 25 March 2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-7 are objected to because of the following informalities: “one or more processors is” should be replaced by -- one or more processors are -- to be grammatically correct. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements are: a sensor or user interface that outputs information that the one or more processors use to determine whether a recording medium is a predetermined specific recording medium or not, a conveyance mechanism that transports the recording medium to a first or second destination, and a sensor that inspects the recording medium and outputs information that the one or more processors use to determine if the recording medium satisfies a predetermined condition or not. Please note that the one or more processors cause the omitted elements to perform their intended functions but are not capable to perform said functions by themselves. Claim 9 contains similar limitations and claims 2-8 depend on claim 1, and are therefore rejected the same way.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tsue (US 2017/0082963.)
Regarding claim 1,
Tsue discloses a recording medium processing apparatus comprising:
one or more processors [33 in fig. 2] configured to:
determine a recording medium [K in figs. 7A-7F] is a predetermined specific recording medium [a sheet where images have been reformed] or not [paragraphs 0096-0097; see steps S16-S17 in fig. 9];
transport the recording medium to a first destination [T1 in figs. 3A-8D] if the recording medium is the predetermined specific recording medium [a sheet having reformed images; paragraphs 0109, 0122, and 0181; as seen in figs. 3F-3G and 9];
transport the recording medium to the first destination if the recording medium is not the predetermined specific recording medium [a sheet with an image that has not been reformed] and a result of inspection of the recording medium satisfies a predetermined condition [images formed on it are determined as ‘normal’ (i.e., the images were never determined as abnormal and therefore never had to be reformed); paragraphs 0108, and 0117; as seen in figs. 3A-3C];
transport the recording medium to a second destination [T2 in figs. 3A-8D] if the recording medium is not the predetermined specific recording medium [a sheet with an image that has not been reformed] and a result of inspection of the recording medium does not satisfy the predetermined condition [images formed on it are determined as ‘abnormal’; paragraphs 0108-0109 and 0118; as seen in figs. 3B-3D.]
Regarding claim 2,
Tsue further discloses wherein the one or more processors is further configured to:
read an image on the recording medium [paragraph 0099-0102; see flowchart in fig. 9]; and
determine the recording medium is the predetermined specific recording medium or not based on the image on the recording medium [paragraphs 0109 and 0179; see flowchart in fig. 9.]
Regarding claim 3,
Tsue further discloses wherein the one or more processors is further configured to:
determine the recording medium is the predetermined specific recording medium if a similarity between the image on the recording medium and a registered image registered in advance exceeds a predetermined threshold value [paragraph 0102; please note that since the claim is defined by a conditional limitation (by "when / if"), the claim requirements are met at least when the condition is not satisfied.]
Regarding claim 4,
Tsue further discloses wherein the one or more processors is further configured to:
determine the recording medium is the predetermined specific recording medium if a predetermined image is formed on the recording medium [please note that since the claim is defined by a conditional limitation (by "when / if"), the claim requirements are met at least when the condition is not satisfied.]
Regarding claim 5,
Tsue further discloses wherein the one or more processors is further configured to:
acquire image data which is used to form an image on the recording medium [paragraph 0101-0102];
determine the recording medium is the predetermined specific recording medium if the image data indicates that the recording medium is the predetermined specific recording medium [paragraphs 0101-0102; please note that since the claim is defined by a conditional limitation (by "when / if"), the claim requirements are met at least when the condition is not satisfied.]
Regarding claim 6,
Tsue further discloses wherein:
a product is produced from recording mediums transported to the first destination [a printed document or image may be considered a “product”];
the one or more processors is further configured to determine a recording medium that is removed before completion of the product as the predetermined specific recording medium [the reformed sheet transported to tray T1 being removed before the print job is completed does not affect/change its determination as the specific recording medium.]
Regarding claim 7,
Tsue further discloses wherein the one or more processors is further configured to:
determine the recording medium is the predetermined specific recording medium or not based on information on what number the specific recording medium is in an order of transport in the recording medium processing apparatus [as seen in figs. 3A-8M; paragraphs 0105-0109.]
Regarding claim 8,
Tsue further discloses an image formation system [G in fig. 1] comprising:
an image forming apparatus [1 in figs. 1-2; including image forming unit 20] that forms an image on a recording medium [paragraphs 0072, 0075 and 0090]; and
a recording medium processing apparatus [2 in figs. 1-2] that performs processing on a recording medium on which an image has been formed by the image forming apparatus paragraphs 0072 and 0098-0101],
wherein the recording medium processing apparatus includes the recording medium processing apparatus according to Claim 1 [see rejection above.]
Regarding claim 9,
Tsue further discloses a recording medium processing apparatus comprising:
means [33 in fig. 2] for determining a recording medium [K in figs. 7A-7F] is a predetermined specific recording medium [a sheet where images have been reformed] or not [paragraphs 0096-0097; see steps S16-S17 in fig. 9];
wherein
if the recording medium is the predetermined specific recording medium [a sheet having reformed images; paragraphs 0109, 0122, and 0181], transport the recording medium to a first destination [T1 in figs. 3A-8D; ; as seen in figs. 3F-3G and 9];
if the recording medium is not the predetermined specific recording medium [a sheet with an image that has not been reformed] and a result of inspection of the recording medium satisfies a predetermined condition [images formed on it are determined as ‘normal’ (i.e., the images were never determined as abnormal and therefore never had to be reformed)], transport the recording medium to the first destination [paragraphs 0108, and 0117; as seen in figs. 3A-3C];
if the recording medium is not the predetermined specific recording medium [a sheet with an image that has not been reformed] and a result of inspection of the recording medium does not satisfy the predetermined condition [images formed on it are determined as ‘abnormal’], transport the recording medium to a second destination [T2 in figs. 3A-8D; paragraphs 0108-0109 and 0118; as seen in figs. 3B-3D.]
Communication with the USPTO
/JANNELLE M LEBRON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853