DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “characterized in that the first signaling configures at least a former of the first device ID or the second device ID.” The meaning of the phrase “at least a former of” is unclear. In particular, it is unclear whether meaning of the limitation of “the first signaling configures at least a former of the first device ID or the second device ID” is intended to refer to configuration of the first device ID, the second device ID, or one or more of the first device or the second device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6, 8-10, 12, 14-16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dai et al. (US 2022/0416869 A1)(hereinafter “Dai”) in view of Bor Yaliniz et al. (US 2025/0096853 A1)(hereinafter “Bor Yaliniz) and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 2022/0311499 A1)(hereinafter “Zhang”).
Regarding claim 1, Dai discloses a first node for wireless communications (Fig. 4, [0070]: UE 120), comprising:
a first receiver (Fig. 5, [0079]: a receiver 510. The receiver 510 may be a UE 120. ), receiving a first signaling (Fig. 5, [0080]: as shown by reference number 520, the transmitter 505 may transmit and the receiver 510 may receive configuration information In some aspects, the configuration information may include an indication of one or more configuration parameters (e.g., already known to the receiver 510) for selection by the receiver 510 and/or explicit configuration information for the receiver 510 to use to configure the receiver 510.), the first signaling being used to configure a first RS resource ([0082]: In some aspects, the configuration information may indicate resources (e.g., time domain resources and/or frequency domain resources) that are to be used by the RIS 515 to transmit the indication of the RIS signature. For example, the configuration information may indicate that the RIS 515 is to use time domain resources and/or frequency domain resources, that are associated with signals reflected or redirected by the RIS 515, to transmit the indication of the RIS signature. The configuration information may indicate a pattern, periodicity, duration, and/or frequency of the transmission of the indication of the RIS signature (e.g., within the time domain resources and/or frequency domain resources that are associated with signals reflected or redirected by the RIS 515).), a first signal (Fig. 4, [0072]: direct link 405 between the base station 110 and the UE 120) and a second signal ([0081]: indirect link 410 between the UE 120 and the base station 110 reflected and/or redirected by the RIS 305.), the first signal being associated with a first device identification (ID) ([0075]: in some aspects, an RIS may be associated with a signature (e.g., an RIS signature). The RIS signature may be a unique sequence or pattern that identifies the RIS. Examiner notes that the RIS signature is equivalent to a device identification as it is disclosed as identifying the RIS.) and receiving the second signal (Fig. 4, [0081]: indirect link 410 between the UE 120 and the base station 110 reflected and/or redirected by the RIS 305.Fig. 5, [0089]: as shown by reference number 545, the RIS 515 may reflect or redirect the signal in a spatial direction toward the receiver 510. The receiver 510 may receive the signal that has been reflected or redirected by the RIS 515.).
Although Dai discloses that the indirect link (“the second signal”) is associated with both the base station 110 and the UE 120, Dai does not specifically disclose the directed signal is associated with a second device ID, or that the first signaling is identified by the second device ID. However, Bor Yaliniz discloses the second signal being associated with a second device ID, wherein the first signaling is identified by the second device ID (Fig. 5, [0114]-[0116]: the base station manager 503, at step 520, sends RIS information to facilitate RIS related analysis. The received RIS information may include information of one or more configurable RISs of which each base station is able to perform C&C. The RIS information may be sent to the CM 502 via a RIS information response like RISTestResp ( ). The RIS information response includes a set of RISs that the base station can perform C&C. If the base station is involved with any part of the cascaded channel as illustrated above or has previously performed the channel sensing process, the base station may share those results to facilitate analysis of the CM 502 and other base stations (e.g. base stations included in the RIS_Chnls field of the RISTestResp ( ) message). The field including the base stations (e.g. RIS_Chnls) may contain RIS ID, base station ID, UE ID, and corresponding channel sensing analysis (e.g. geographical area, grid ID, tile ID). If the base station has any information (e.g. channel sensing, measurement) about the grids, the base station shares the information with the geographical area corresponding grid ID. Accordingly, Bor Yaliniz discloses that a base station provides a base station ID and a UE ID to the UE when configuring an RIS. Examiner notes that the UE ID of Bor Yaliniz is equivalent to the claimed second device ID.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second signal, as taught by Dai, to include being associated with a second device ID wherein the first signaling is identified by the second device ID, as taught by Bor Yaliniz. Doing so allows for the base station to establish communication with the UE by identifying the UE using the UE ID.
Dai in view of Bor Yaliniz does not specifically disclose that the first RS resource is spatially correlated to the first signal, and whether receiving the second signal includes detecting the first signal depends on a spatial correlation between the second signal and the first RS resource. However, Zhang discloses the first RS resource is spatially correlated to the first signal ([0025]: an SSB transmitted on a first beam may be spatially correlated with a second SSB, a CSI-RS, or another signal that is transmitted on a second beam if a change in a signal measurement (e.g., RSRP or SINR) between the two signals at the same Rx beam of the UE is not projected to exceed a threshold. As another example, a CSI-RS transmitted on a first beam may be spatially correlated with an SSB, a second CSI-RS, or another signal that is transmitted on a second beam if a change in a signal measurement (e.g., RSRP or SINR) measurement between the two signals at the same Rx beam of the UE is not projected to exceed a threshold. Spatial correlation may include, but is not limited to, signals that are quasi co-located (QCLed) with each other (e.g., QCL Type-D). A gNB (or other entity) that is determining spatial correlations between signals and transmitting them accordingly may be said to be transmitting signals according to a spatial correlation configuration.), and whether receiving the second signal includes detecting the first signal depends on a spatial correlation between the second signal and the first RS resource ([0137]: example 10 is a method of a user equipment (UE) for beam searching latency reduction, comprising: determining that first Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) resources and second SSB resources are spatially correlated; measuring the first SSB resources with a first subset of receive (Rx) beams of a plurality of Rx beams; measuring the second SSB resources with a second subset of Rx beams of the plurality of Rx beams; and selecting an Rx beam for both the first SSB resources and the second SSB resources based on the measurements of the first subset of the plurality of Rx beams and the second subset of the plurality of Rx beams. Accordingly, Zhang discloses that detecting a signal depends on a spatial correlation between the signal and a RS resource.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first signal and the second signal, as taught by Dai, to include that the first RS resource is spatially correlated to the first signal and whether receiving the second signal includes detecting the first signal depends on a spatial correlation between the second signal and the first RS resource, as taught by Zhang. Doing so allows for a UE to improve beam searching by leveraging the understanding about the spatial correlation of the first and second signals to select an optimum beam for communicating with the base station (see Zhang [0026]).
Regarding claim 3, Dai in view of Bor Yaliniz and further in view of Zhang discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Dai in view of Bor Yaliniz does not disclose characterized in that the second signal and the first RS resource are spatially correlated, the receiving the second signal including the detecting the first signal; or the second signal and the first RS resource are not spatially correlated, the receiving the second signal not including the detecting the first signal. However, Zhang discloses characterized in that the second signal and the first RS resource are spatially correlated ([0025]: an SSB transmitted on a first beam may be spatially correlated with a second SSB, a CSI-RS, or another signal that is transmitted on a second beam if a change in a signal measurement (e.g., RSRP or SINR) between the two signals at the same Rx beam of the UE is not projected to exceed a threshold. As another example, a CSI-RS transmitted on a first beam may be spatially correlated with an SSB, a second CSI-RS, or another signal that is transmitted on a second beam if a change in a signal measurement (e.g., RSRP or SINR) measurement between the two signals at the same Rx beam of the UE is not projected to exceed a threshold. Spatial correlation may include, but is not limited to, signals that are quasi co-located (QCLed) with each other (e.g., QCL Type-D). A gNB (or other entity) that is determining spatial correlations between signals and transmitting them accordingly may be said to be transmitting signals according to a spatial correlation configuration.), the receiving the second signal including the detecting the first signal ([0137]: example 10 is a method of a user equipment (UE) for beam searching latency reduction, comprising: determining that first Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) resources and second SSB resources are spatially correlated; measuring the first SSB resources with a first subset of receive (Rx) beams of a plurality of Rx beams; measuring the second SSB resources with a second subset of Rx beams of the plurality of Rx beams; and selecting an Rx beam for both the first SSB resources and the second SSB resources based on the measurements of the first subset of the plurality of Rx beams and the second subset of the plurality of Rx beams. Accordingly, Zhang discloses that detecting a signal depends on a spatial correlation between the signal and a RS resource.); or the second signal and the first RS resource are not spatially correlated, the receiving the second signal not including the detecting the first signal (an alternative limitation not given mapping in the claims).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first signal and the second signal, as taught by Dai, to include that the first RS resource is spatially correlated to the second signal and the receiving the second signal includes detecting the first signal, as taught by Zhang. Doing so allows for a UE to improve beam searching by leveraging the understanding about the spatial correlation of the first and second signals to select an optimum beam for communicating with the base station (see Zhang [0026]).
Regarding claim 6, Dai in view of Bor Yaliniz and further in view of Zhang discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Dai further discloses that a device identified by the first device ID is used to reflect a radio signal sent from a transmitter of the second signal (Fig. 4, [0071]: the base station 110 may transmit the communication in a spatial direction toward the RIS 305, and the RIS 305 may redirect or reflect the communication to the UE 120.).
Regarding claim 8, Dai in view of Bor Yaliniz and further in view of Zhang discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Dai further discloses that the first signaling is used to configure time-frequency resources occupied by the first signal ([0082]: n some aspects, the configuration information may indicate resources (e.g., time domain resources and/or frequency domain resources) that are to be used by the RIS 515 to transmit the indication of the RIS signature. For example, the configuration information may indicate that the RIS 515 is to use time domain resources and/or frequency domain resources, that are associated with signals reflected or redirected by the RIS 515, to transmit the indication of the RIS signature. The configuration information may indicate a pattern, periodicity, duration, and/or frequency of the transmission of the indication of the RIS signature (e.g., within the time domain resources and/or frequency domain resources that are associated with signals reflected or redirected by the RIS 515).).
Dai in view of Bor Yaliniz does not disclose that the first signaling is used to indicate a transmission power value of the first signal. However, Zhang discloses that the first signaling is used to indicate a transmission power value of the first signal ([0046]: the gNB may provide one or more of the following sets of information to the UE (e.g., by higher layer signaling): an actually transmitted SSB pattern used by the assistant TRP, a transmission power of one or more SSBs from the assistant TRP, a relative transmission power of one or more SSBs from the assistant TRP, and/or a physical cell ID of the assistant TRP. Accordingly, Zhang discloses that a base station may provide signaling to a UE to indicate a transmission power value of a signal.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first signaling, as taught by Dai, to include an indication of a transmission power value of the first signaling, as taught by Zhang. Doing so allows for a UE to more accurately detect the first signaling.)
Regarding claim 9, Dai in view of Bor Yaliniz and further in view of Zhang discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Dai also discloses that the first signal is used to control a node other than the first node (Fig. 4, [0072]: as shown in FIG. 4 and by reference number 415, the base station 110 may communicate with the RIS 305 (e.g., with the RIS controller 310) via a control channel. For example, the base station 110 may indicate, in an RIS control message, spatial direction(s) and/or signal characteristics for signals reflected by the RIS 305. The RIS controller 310 may configure reconfigurable elements of the RIS 305 in accordance with the RIS control message. In some examples, the RIS control message may indicate information associated with the wireless network, such as a frame structure, time synchronization information, and/or slot boundaries, among other examples.), while the second signal is used to control the first node (Fig. 4, [0071]: as shown in FIG. 4, the UE 120 may receive a communication (e.g., data and/or control information) directly from the base station 110 as a downlink communication.).
Regarding claim 10, Dai in view of Bor Yaliniz and further in view of Zhang discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Dai further discloses that there exists overlapping time-frequency resource between the first signal and the second signal ([0076]: the RIS may transmit the indication of the RIS signature by superposing the RIS signature over the signal in one or more time domain resources and/or frequency domain resources of the signal. Alternatively, the RIS may transmit the indication of the RIS signature using time domain resources or frequency domain resources that are not associated with the signal that is being redirected or reflected by the RIS. Accordingly, Dai discloses that transmitting the first signal and the second signal may include an overlapping time-frequency resource.).
Regarding claim 12, Dai in view of Bor Yaliniz and further in view of Zhang discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Dai in view of Bor Yaliniz does not disclose that when the second signal and the first RS resource are spatially correlated, the receiving the second signal includes the detecting the first signal; when the second signal and the first RS resource are not spatially correlated, the receiving the second signal does not include the detecting the first signal. However, Zhang discloses that when the second signal and the first RS resource are spatially correlated, the receiving the second signal includes the detecting the first signal ([0025]: an SSB transmitted on a first beam may be spatially correlated with a second SSB, a CSI-RS, or another signal that is transmitted on a second beam if a change in a signal measurement (e.g., RSRP or SINR) between the two signals at the same Rx beam of the UE is not projected to exceed a threshold. As another example, a CSI-RS transmitted on a first beam may be spatially correlated with an SSB, a second CSI-RS, or another signal that is transmitted on a second beam if a change in a signal measurement (e.g., RSRP or SINR) measurement between the two signals at the same Rx beam of the UE is not projected to exceed a threshold. Spatial correlation may include, but is not limited to, signals that are quasi co-located (QCLed) with each other (e.g., QCL Type-D). A gNB (or other entity) that is determining spatial correlations between signals and transmitting them accordingly may be said to be transmitting signals according to a spatial correlation configuration. ([0137]: example 10 is a method of a user equipment (UE) for beam searching latency reduction, comprising: determining that first Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) resources and second SSB resources are spatially correlated; measuring the first SSB resources with a first subset of receive (Rx) beams of a plurality of Rx beams; measuring the second SSB resources with a second subset of Rx beams of the plurality of Rx beams; and selecting an Rx beam for both the first SSB resources and the second SSB resources based on the measurements of the first subset of the plurality of Rx beams and the second subset of the plurality of Rx beams. Accordingly, Zhang discloses that detecting a signal depends on a spatial correlation between the signal and a RS resource.); when the second signal and the first RS resource are not spatially correlated, the receiving the second signal does not include the detecting the first signal ([0045]: because neither of SSB0 502 nor SSB1 504 are spatially correlated with SSB2 506, the CSI-RS2 512 that is QCLed with the SSB2 506 is not considered spatially correlated with either of their respective CSI-RSs, the CSI-RS0 508 and the CSI-RS1 510. Conversely, Zhang discloses that the first signal is not detected if the second signal and the first RS resource are not spatially correlated.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first signal and the second signal, as taught by Dai, to include that the first RS resource is spatially correlated to the second signal and whether receiving the second signal includes detecting the first signal depends on a spatial correlation between the second signal and the first RS resource or alternately not detecting the signal if the second signal and first RS resource are not spatially correlated, as taught by Zhang. Doing so allows for a UE to improve beam searching by leveraging the understanding about the spatial correlation of the first and second signals to select an optimum beam for communicating with the base station (see Zhang [0026]).
Regarding claim 14, Dai in view of Bor Yaliniz and further in view of Zhang discloses all features of claim 6 as outlined above.
Dai further discloses that the device identified by the first device ID comprises a RIS (the base station 110 may transmit the communication in a spatial direction toward the RIS 305, and the RIS 305 may redirect or reflect the communication to the UE 120.).
Regarding claim 15, Dai in view of Bor Yaliniz and further in view of Zhang discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Dai further discloses that the device identified by the first device ID comprises a receiving module, the receiving module being used to receive the first signal (Fig. 11, [0181]: the apparatus 1100 may be an RIS, or an RIS may include the apparatus 1100. In some aspects, the apparatus 1100 includes a reception component 1102.); and the device identified by the first device ID comprises a reflecting module (Fig. 11, [0181: the apparatus 1100 may communicate with another apparatus 1106 (such as a UE, a base station, or another wireless communication device) using the reception component 1102 and the transmission component 1104. As further shown, the apparatus 1100 may include the communication manager 170. The communication manager 170 may include one or more of a redirection component 1108, and/or a determination component 1110), the reflecting module being used to reflect the radio signal sent from the transmitter of the second signal ([0185]: the reception component 1102 and/or the redirection component 1108 may receive and redirect a signal, that is transmitted by the transmitter, to a receiver. The transmission component 1104 may transmit, to the receiver, a sequence associated with the signature of the RIS indicating that the signal is transmitted using a link associated with the RIS.).
Regarding claim 16, Dai discloses a second node for wireless communications (Fig. 4, [0070]: base station 110), comprising: a first transmitter (Fig. 5, [0079]: a transmitter 502. The transmitter 505 may be a base station 110.), transmitting a first signaling (Fig. 5, [0080]: as shown by reference number 520, the transmitter 505 may transmit and the receiver 510 may receive configuration information In some aspects, the configuration information may include an indication of one or more configuration parameters (e.g., already known to the receiver 510) for selection by the receiver 510 and/or explicit configuration information for the receiver 510 to use to configure the receiver 510.), the first signaling being used to configure a first RS resource ([0082]: In some aspects, the configuration information may indicate resources (e.g., time domain resources and/or frequency domain resources) that are to be used by the RIS 515 to transmit the indication of the RIS signature. For example, the configuration information may indicate that the RIS 515 is to use time domain resources and/or frequency domain resources, that are associated with signals reflected or redirected by the RIS 515, to transmit the indication of the RIS signature. The configuration information may indicate a pattern, periodicity, duration, and/or frequency of the transmission of the indication of the RIS signature (e.g., within the time domain resources and/or frequency domain resources that are associated with signals reflected or redirected by the RIS 515).), a first signal (Fig. 4, [0072]: direct link 405 between the base station 110 and the UE 120) and a second signal ([0081]: indirect link 410 between the UE 120 and the base station 110 reflected and/or redirected by the RIS 305.), the first signal being associated with a first device identification (ID) ([0075]: in some aspects, an RIS may be associated with a signature (e.g., an RIS signature). The RIS signature may be a unique sequence or pattern that identifies the RIS. Examiner notes that the RIS signature is equivalent to a device identification as it is disclosed as identifying the RIS.); and transmitting the second signal (Fig. 4, [0081]: indirect link 410 between the UE 120 and the base station 110 reflected and/or redirected by the RIS 305.Fig. 5, [0089]: as shown by reference number 545, the RIS 515 may reflect or redirect the signal in a spatial direction toward the receiver 510. The receiver 510 may receive the signal that has been reflected or redirected by the RIS 515.).
Although Dai discloses that the indirect link (“the second signal”) is associated with both the base station 110 and the UE 120, Dai does not specifically disclose the directed signal is associated with a second device ID, or that the first signaling is identified by the second device ID. However, Bor Yaliniz discloses the second signal being associated with a second device ID, wherein the first signaling is identified by the second device ID (Fig. 5, [0114]-[0116]: the base station manager 503, at step 520, sends RIS information to facilitate RIS related analysis. The received RIS information may include information of one or more configurable RISs of which each base station is able to perform C&C. The RIS information may be sent to the CM 502 via a RIS information response like RISTestResp ( ). The RIS information response includes a set of RISs that the base station can perform C&C. If the base station is involved with any part of the cascaded channel as illustrated above or has previously performed the channel sensing process, the base station may share those results to facilitate analysis of the CM 502 and other base stations (e.g. base stations included in the RIS_Chnls field of the RISTestResp ( ) message). The field including the base stations (e.g. RIS_Chnls) may contain RIS ID, base station ID, UE ID, and corresponding channel sensing analysis (e.g. geographical area, grid ID, tile ID). If the base station has any information (e.g. channel sensing, measurement) about the grids, the base station shares the information with the geographical area corresponding grid ID. Accordingly, Bor Yaliniz discloses that a base station provides a base station ID and a UE ID to the UE when configuring an RIS. Examiner notes that the UE ID of Bor Yaliniz is equivalent to the claimed second device ID.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second signal, as taught by Dai, to include being associated with a second device ID wherein the first signaling is identified by the second device ID, as taught by Bor Yaliniz. Doing so allows for the base station to establish communication with the UE by identifying the UE using the UE ID.
Dai in view of Bor Yaliniz does not specifically disclose that the first RS resource is spatially correlated to the first signal, and whether receiving the second signal includes detecting the first signal depends on a spatial correlation between the second signal and the first RS resource. However, Zhang discloses the first RS resource is spatially correlated to the first signal ([0025]: an SSB transmitted on a first beam may be spatially correlated with a second SSB, a CSI-RS, or another signal that is transmitted on a second beam if a change in a signal measurement (e.g., RSRP or SINR) between the two signals at the same Rx beam of the UE is not projected to exceed a threshold. As another example, a CSI-RS transmitted on a first beam may be spatially correlated with an SSB, a second CSI-RS, or another signal that is transmitted on a second beam if a change in a signal measurement (e.g., RSRP or SINR) measurement between the two signals at the same Rx beam of the UE is not projected to exceed a threshold. Spatial correlation may include, but is not limited to, signals that are quasi co-located (QCLed) with each other (e.g., QCL Type-D). A gNB (or other entity) that is determining spatial correlations between signals and transmitting them accordingly may be said to be transmitting signals according to a spatial correlation configuration.), and whether receiving the second signal includes detecting the first signal depends on a spatial correlation between the second signal and the first RS resource ([0137]: example 10 is a method of a user equipment (UE) for beam searching latency reduction, comprising: determining that first Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) resources and second SSB resources are spatially correlated; measuring the first SSB resources with a first subset of receive (Rx) beams of a plurality of Rx beams; measuring the second SSB resources with a second subset of Rx beams of the plurality of Rx beams; and selecting an Rx beam for both the first SSB resources and the second SSB resources based on the measurements of the first subset of the plurality of Rx beams and the second subset of the plurality of Rx beams. Accordingly, Zhang discloses that detecting a signal depends on a spatial correlation between the signal and a RS resource.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first signal and the second signal, as taught by Dai, to include that the first RS resource is spatially correlated to the first signal and whether receiving the second signal includes detecting the first signal depends on a spatial correlation between the second signal and the first RS resource, as taught by Zhang. Doing so allows for a UE to improve beam searching by leveraging the understanding about the spatial correlation of the first and second signals to select an optimum beam for communicating with the base station (see Zhang [0026]).
Regarding claim 18, Dai in view of Bor Yaliniz and further in view of Zhang discloses all features of claim 16 as outlined above.
Dai in view of Bor Yaliniz does not disclose characterized in that the second signal and the first RS resource are spatially correlated, the receiving the second signal including the detecting the first signal; or the second signal and the first RS resource are not spatially correlated, the receiving the second signal not including the detecting the first signal. However, Zhang discloses characterized in that the second signal and the first RS resource are spatially correlated ([0025]: an SSB transmitted on a first beam may be spatially correlated with a second SSB, a CSI-RS, or another signal that is transmitted on a second beam if a change in a signal measurement (e.g., RSRP or SINR) between the two signals at the same Rx beam of the UE is not projected to exceed a threshold. As another example, a CSI-RS transmitted on a first beam may be spatially correlated with an SSB, a second CSI-RS, or another signal that is transmitted on a second beam if a change in a signal measurement (e.g., RSRP or SINR) measurement between the two signals at the same Rx beam of the UE is not projected to exceed a threshold. Spatial correlation may include, but is not limited to, signals that are quasi co-located (QCLed) with each other (e.g., QCL Type-D). A gNB (or other entity) that is determining spatial correlations between signals and transmitting them accordingly may be said to be transmitting signals according to a spatial correlation configuration.), the receiving the second signal including the detecting the first signal ([0137]: example 10 is a method of a user equipment (UE) for beam searching latency reduction, comprising: determining that first Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) resources and second SSB resources are spatially correlated; measuring the first SSB resources with a first subset of receive (Rx) beams of a plurality of Rx beams; measuring the second SSB resources with a second subset of Rx beams of the plurality of Rx beams; and selecting an Rx beam for both the first SSB resources and the second SSB resources based on the measurements of the first subset of the plurality of Rx beams and the second subset of the plurality of Rx beams. Accordingly, Zhang discloses that detecting a signal depends on a spatial correlation between the signal and a RS resource.); or the second signal and the first RS resource are not spatially correlated, the receiving the second signal not including the detecting the first signal (an alternative limitation not given mapping in the claims).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first signal and the second signal, as taught by Dai, to include that the first RS resource is spatially correlated to the second signal and the receiving the second signal includes detecting the first signal, as taught by Zhang. Doing so allows for a UE to improve beam searching by leveraging the understanding about the spatial correlation of the first and second signals to select an optimum beam for communicating with the base station (see Zhang [0026]).
Regarding claim 20, Dai discloses a method in a first node for wireless communications (Fig. 4, [0070]: UE 120), comprising:
receiving a first signaling (Fig. 5, [0080]: as shown by reference number 520, the transmitter 505 may transmit and the receiver 510 may receive configuration information In some aspects, the configuration information may include an indication of one or more configuration parameters (e.g., already known to the receiver 510) for selection by the receiver 510 and/or explicit configuration information for the receiver 510 to use to configure the receiver 510.), the first signaling being used to configure a first RS resource ([0082]: In some aspects, the configuration information may indicate resources (e.g., time domain resources and/or frequency domain resources) that are to be used by the RIS 515 to transmit the indication of the RIS signature. For example, the configuration information may indicate that the RIS 515 is to use time domain resources and/or frequency domain resources, that are associated with signals reflected or redirected by the RIS 515, to transmit the indication of the RIS signature. The configuration information may indicate a pattern, periodicity, duration, and/or frequency of the transmission of the indication of the RIS signature (e.g., within the time domain resources and/or frequency domain resources that are associated with signals reflected or redirected by the RIS 515).), a first signal (Fig. 4, [0072]: direct link 405 between the base station 110 and the UE 120) and a second signal ([0081]: indirect link 410 between the UE 120 and the base station 110 reflected and/or redirected by the RIS 305.), the first signal being associated with a first device identification (ID) ([0075]: in some aspects, an RIS may be associated with a signature (e.g., an RIS signature). The RIS signature may be a unique sequence or pattern that identifies the RIS. Examiner notes that the RIS signature is equivalent to a device identification as it is disclosed as identifying the RIS.) and receiving the second signal (Fig. 4, [0081]: indirect link 410 between the UE 120 and the base station 110 reflected and/or redirected by the RIS 305.Fig. 5, [0089]: as shown by reference number 545, the RIS 515 may reflect or redirect the signal in a spatial direction toward the receiver 510. The receiver 510 may receive the signal that has been reflected or redirected by the RIS 515.).
Although Dai discloses that the indirect link (“the second signal”) is associated with both the base station 110 and the UE 120, Dai does not specifically disclose the directed signal is associated with a second device ID, or that the first signaling is identified by the second device ID. However, Bor Yaliniz discloses the second signal being associated with a second device ID, wherein the first signaling is identified by the second device ID (Fig. 5, [0114]-[0116]: the base station manager 503, at step 520, sends RIS information to facilitate RIS related analysis. The received RIS information may include information of one or more configurable RISs of which each base station is able to perform C&C. The RIS information may be sent to the CM 502 via a RIS information response like RISTestResp ( ). The RIS information response includes a set of RISs that the base station can perform C&C. If the base station is involved with any part of the cascaded channel as illustrated above or has previously performed the channel sensing process, the base station may share those results to facilitate analysis of the CM 502 and other base stations (e.g. base stations included in the RIS_Chnls field of the RISTestResp ( ) message). The field including the base stations (e.g. RIS_Chnls) may contain RIS ID, base station ID, UE ID, and corresponding channel sensing analysis (e.g. geographical area, grid ID, tile ID). If the base station has any information (e.g. channel sensing, measurement) about the grids, the base station shares the information with the geographical area corresponding grid ID. Accordingly, Bor Yaliniz discloses that a base station provides a base station ID and a UE ID to the UE when configuring an RIS. Examiner notes that the UE ID of Bor Yaliniz is equivalent to the claimed second device ID.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second signal, as taught by Dai, to include being associated with a second device ID wherein the first signaling is identified by the second device ID, as taught by Bor Yaliniz. Doing so allows for the base station to establish communication with the UE by identifying the UE using the UE ID.
Dai in view of Bor Yaliniz does not specifically disclose that the first RS resource is spatially correlated to the first signal, and whether receiving the second signal includes detecting the first signal depends on a spatial correlation between the second signal and the first RS resource. However, Zhang discloses the first RS resource is spatially correlated to the first signal ([0025]: an SSB transmitted on a first beam may be spatially correlated with a second SSB, a CSI-RS, or another signal that is transmitted on a second beam if a change in a signal measurement (e.g., RSRP or SINR) between the two signals at the same Rx beam of the UE is not projected to exceed a threshold. As another example, a CSI-RS transmitted on a first beam may be spatially correlated with an SSB, a second CSI-RS, or another signal that is transmitted on a second beam if a change in a signal measurement (e.g., RSRP or SINR) measurement between the two signals at the same Rx beam of the UE is not projected to exceed a threshold. Spatial correlation may include, but is not limited to, signals that are quasi co-located (QCLed) with each other (e.g., QCL Type-D). A gNB (or other entity) that is determining spatial correlations between signals and transmitting them accordingly may be said to be transmitting signals according to a spatial correlation configuration.), and whether receiving the second signal includes detecting the first signal depends on a spatial correlation between the second signal and the first RS resource ([0137]: example 10 is a method of a user equipment (UE) for beam searching latency reduction, comprising: determining that first Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) resources and second SSB resources are spatially correlated; measuring the first SSB resources with a first subset of receive (Rx) beams of a plurality of Rx beams; measuring the second SSB resources with a second subset of Rx beams of the plurality of Rx beams; and selecting an Rx beam for both the first SSB resources and the second SSB resources based on the measurements of the first subset of the plurality of Rx beams and the second subset of the plurality of Rx beams. Accordingly, Zhang discloses that detecting a signal depends on a spatial correlation between the signal and a RS resource.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first signal and the second signal, as taught by Dai, to include that the first RS resource is spatially correlated to the first signal and whether receiving the second signal includes detecting the first signal depends on a spatial correlation between the second signal and the first RS resource, as taught by Zhang. Doing so allows for a UE to improve beam searching by leveraging the understanding about the spatial correlation of the first and second signals to select an optimum beam for communicating with the base station (see Zhang [0026]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4, 7, 11, 13, 17, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sahraei et al. (US 2025/0119181 A1) – Reconfigurable Intelligent Surface (RIS) For Repetition Of Signal Transmissions – discloses use of a RIS to reflect signal transmitted from a base station to a UE.
Elshafie et al. (US 2024/0154648 A1) – Network Communications Between Reconfigurable Intelligent Surfaces – discloses use of identifiers for identifying reconfigurable intelligent surfaces.
/MICHAEL WAYNE MADDOX/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463