DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mochizuki et al. (US 20040052044; “Mochizuki” hereinafter) in view of Yoon et al. (US 20210248942; “Yoon” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Mochizuki discloses a foldable electronic apparatus (100), provided on a work surface (input device 100 is configured to be placed on a work surface, fig. 1), the foldable electronic apparatus comprising: a base unit (1) provided on the work surface (fig. 1); and a display unit including: a main panel body (107) having a first side (left side of 107 that is connected to hinge 129) (fig. 6) and a bottom side (lower side 124A of 107 that comprises of 108, fig. 6) substantially perpendicular to each other (fig. 6), wherein the bottom side is connected to the base unit (1) (fig. 1); a first folding module (129) provided on the first side; a first side panel body (117) provided on the first folding module (129) and capable of rotating relative to the main panel body about the first folding module as an axis (fig. 8A-8C); and a flexible screen (“The flexible display 102 is mainly constructed of a color organic electroluminescence (EL) display 118 made of an organic EL device formed on a flexible plastic base film”, par. [0089]) provided on the main panel body, the first folding module and the first side panel body (“This EL display 118 is placed over cover members 107 and 117”, par. [0089]) and including a main display area (area of 118 that is disposed on the cover member or main panel body 107, fig. 6) and a first side display area (area of 118 that is disposed on the cover member or side panel body 117, fig. 6), wherein the main display area corresponds to the main panel body, and the first side display area corresponds to the first side panel body (fig. 6).
Mochizuki does not explicitly disclose the first folding module having at least one first encoding unit; and wherein the first encoding unit is used to detect a first angle between the main panel body and the first side panel body, and display states of the main display area and the first side display area are switched according to the first angle.
Yoon teaches a foldable display apparatus comprising a folding module (340) having an encoding unit (“the angle detecting sensor may include a sensor (e.g., an encoder sensor or a Hall sensor) attached to the hinge module 340”, par. [0095]); and wherein the encoding unit is used to detect an angle between a first housing (310) and a second housing (320), and display states of a display (399) switched according to the angle (par. [0113]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the display apparatus of Mochizuki to incorporate an encoding unit to the first folding module, and wherein the encoding unit is used to detect an angle between the main panel body and the first side panel body, and display states of the main display area and the first side display area are switched according to the angle as suggested by Yoon because such modification helps to determine the display states of the display device.
Claim(s) 2-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mochizuki in view of Yoon as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Jang (US 20160299539 ; “Jang” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 2, Mochizuki in view of Yoon discloses the display apparatus as claimed in claim 1.
Mochizuki in view of Yoon does not explicitly disclose wherein the display unit further includes a second folding module and a second side panel body, the main panel body further has a second side opposite to the first side, and the second folding module is provided on the second side and has at least one second encoding unit, wherein the second side panel body is provided on the second folding module and capable of rotating relative to the main panel body about the second folding module as an axis, wherein the flexible screen further includes a second side display area, and the second side display area corresponds to the second side panel body, and wherein the second encoding unit is used to detect a second angle between the main panel body and the second side panel body, and display states of the main display area and the second side display area are switched according to the second angle.
Jang teaches a foldable electronic device (100) comprising a display unit (fig. 1); wherein the display unit further includes a first folding module (a first instant 140 that lies on the right end of the first body member 110 as depicted in figs. 1-2), a second folding module (a second instant 140 that lies on the left end of the first body member 110 as depicted in figs. 1-2), a main panel body (first body member 110), a first side panel body (a first instant second body member 120 that lies on the right side of the first body member 110 as depicted in figs. 1-2) and a second side panel body (a second instant second body member 120 that lies on the left side of the first body member 110 as depicted in figs. 1-2), the main panel body further has a second side (left end of 110) opposite to the first side (right end of 110), and the second folding module (the second instant of 140) is provided on the second side (fig. 1), wherein the second side panel body is provided on the second folding module and capable of rotating relative to the main panel body about the second folding module as an axis (figs. 1-2), wherein a flexible screen (130) further includes a second side display area (area of the flexible display 130 that is disposed on the second body member 120, fig. 1), and the second side display area corresponds to the second side panel body (fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the display apparatus of Mochizuki in view of Yoon to incorporate a second folding module and a second side panel body, the main panel body further has a second side opposite to the first side, and the second folding module is provided on the second side, wherein the second side panel body is provided on the second folding module and capable of rotating relative to the main panel body about the second folding module as an axis, wherein the flexible screen further includes a second side display area, and the second side display area corresponds to the second side panel body as suggested by Jang because such modification provides a larger display which could be folded into smaller size to be stored in a small space/area or carried in a smaller carrier.
Mochizuki in view of Yoon and Jang does not explicitly disclose the second folding module has at least one second encoding unit, and wherein the second encoding unit is used to detect a second angle between the main panel body and the second side panel body, and display states of the main display area and the second side display area are switched according to the second angle.
But, as mentioned earlier in claim 1, Yoon suggests a folding module (340) having an encoding unit (“the angle detecting sensor may include a sensor (e.g., an encoder sensor or a Hall sensor) attached to the hinge module 340”, par. [0095]); and wherein the encoding unit is used to detect a angle between a first housing (310) and a second housing (320), and display states of a display (399) switched according to the angle (par. [0113]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to add an additional encoding unit in the second folding module of the modified device of Mochizuki in view of Yoon and Jang such that wherein the second encoding unit is used to detect a second angle between the main panel body and the second side panel body, and display states of the main display area and the second side display area are switched according to the second angle, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 (CA7 1977).
Regarding claim 3, Mochizuki in view of Yoon and Jang discloses wherein the main display area, the first side display area and the second side display area are in a display state of being off when the first angle and the second angle are both 0 degree (par. [0113], Yoon, and combination of Mochizuki and Jang teaches this limitation).
Regarding claim 4, Mochizuki in view of Yoon and Jang discloses the display apparatus as claimed in claim 2.
Mochizuki in view of Yoon and Jang does not explicitly discloses wherein the main display area is in a display state of being on and the first side display area and the second side display area are in a display state of being off when the first angle and the second angle are both about 95 degrees.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have the main display area in a display state of being on and the first side display area and the second side display area in a display state of being off when the first angle and the second angle are both about 95 degrees, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 5, Mochizuki in view of Yoon and Jang discloses the display apparatus as claimed in claim 2.
Mochizuki in view of Yoon and Jang does not explicitly discloses wherein the main display area, the first side display area and the second side display area are in a display state of being on and capable of displaying different program images respectively when the first angle and the second angle are both about 135 degrees.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have the main display area, the first side display area and the second side display area in a display state of being on and capable of displaying different program images respectively when the first angle and the second angle are both about 135 degrees, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 6, Mochizuki in view of Yoon and Jang discloses the display apparatus as claimed in claim 2.
Mochizuki in view of Yoon and Jang does not explicitly discloses wherein the main display area, the first side display area and the second side display area are in a display state of being on and capable of displaying continuous images of a same program when the first angle and the second angle are both about 180 degrees.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have the main display area, the first side display area and the second side display area in a display state of being on and capable of displaying continuous images of a same program when the first angle and the second angle are both about 180 degrees, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 7, Mochizuki in view of Yoon and Jang discloses wherein the first encoding unit and the second encoding unit are angle encoders, axis encoders, or rotary encoders (Yoon teaches angle encoder, par. [0095], and combination of Mochizuki in view of Yoon and Jang teaches this limitation).
Regarding claim 8, Mochizuki in view of Yoon and Jang discloses wherein the base unit has a processor (101 is a control unit and controls the keyboard 1 and the flexible display 102, Mochizuki); the first encoding unit and the second encoding unit respectively transmit detection results of the first angle and the second angle to the processor (par. [0095] of Yoon, and combination of Mochizuki in view of Yoon and Jang teaches this limitation).
Regarding claim 9, Mochizuki in view of Yoon and Jang discloses wherein the base unit is a detachable external keyboard (keyboard 1) when the display unit (102) is a foldable tablet computer (Par. [0119]), and the base unit is a laptop host or a screen support frame when the display unit is a display screen (118 is a display screen) (figs 1-7C).
Claim(s) 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mochizuki in view of Yoon and Jang as applied to claim 9, and in further view of Hsu (US 20200371553; “Hsu” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 10, Mochizuki in view of Yoon discloses the display apparatus as claimed in claim 9.
Mochizuki in view of Yoon and Jang does not explicitly disclose wherein the first folding module or the second folding module further has a central base, a torque member, a left wing member, a left transmission member, a left carrying member, a right wing member, a right transmission member, a right carrying member and a synchronization member, and wherein the first encoding unit or the second encoding unit is provided on the left transmission member or the right transmission member.
Hsu teaches a foldable display device comprising a folding module (40), a second foldable module (50); the first foldable module (40) or the second folding module (50) further has a central base (41, 51), a torque member (74), a left wing member (42, 52), a left transmission member (731), a left carrying member (45), a right wing member (42’, 52’), a right transmission member (732), a right carrying member (second instant of 45) and a synchronization member (733).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Mochizuki in view of Yoon and Jang to have the first folding module or the second folding module further has a central base, a torque member, a left wing member, a left transmission member, a left carrying member, a right wing member, a right transmission member, a right carrying member and a synchronization member as suggested by Hsu because such modification provides a folding-length-difference compensatory mechanism for the multi-step foldable device (par. [0006]).
Further, Mochizuki in view of Yoon and Jang and Hsu does not explicitly disclose wherein the first encoding unit or the second encoding unit is provided on the left transmission member or the right transmission member.
But, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to relocate the encoding unit to the first transmission member or the second transmission member, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 11, Mochizuki in view of Yoon, Jang and Hsu discloses the display apparatus as claimed in claim 10.
Mochizuki in view of Yoon, Jang and Hsu does not explicitly disclose wherein a width of the main panel body is equal to a sum of a width of the first side panel body and a width of the second side panel body.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to change the relative size of the main panel body, the first side panel body and the second side panel body such that a width of the main panel body is equal to a sum of a width of the first side panel body and a width of the second side panel body, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure are listed in the form 892.
/SAGAR SHRESTHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841