DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 10 and 12 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10 recite “a protective case”, which should have been “the protective shell”.
Claim12 recites “a portable fingerprint and/or palmprint acquisition device”, which should have been “the portable fingerprint and/or palmprint acquisition device” instead since claim 12 depends on claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
“a connector-equipped connecting cable” in claim 12,
“the protective shell is a monolithic and unitary structure” in new claim 13
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “retaining means” in claim 1 and “enlarging means” in claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 13 newly recites “wherein the protective shell is a monolithic and unitary structure”. There is no support in the specification regarding this new limitation. Thus, newly recited claim 13 is considered new matter.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites “a connector-equipped connecting cable” It’s unclear if this is the same as the connecting cable in claim 1. Based on the drawing, there is only one cable, which is connecting cable 40. In order to examine this application, examiner will assume the limitation is “the connecting cable”
Claim 13 newly recites “wherein the protective shell is a monolithic and unitary structure”. However, claim 1 already claimed that the protective shell comprising a first housing and a second housing, which means the protective shell cannot be monolithic and unitary structure. Thus, claim 13 is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gotadoro et al. (US 2023/0146927; hereinafter “Gotadoro”) in view of Hamann et al. (US 9,652,002; hereinafter “Hamann”).
Regarding claim 1, Gotadoro teaches a protective shell for a portable fingerprint and/or palmprint acquisition device ([0003]: “…fingerprint…”), said protective shell comprising:
a first housing (not explicitly shown, but mentioned in [0043]: “The wall 10 may included within a housing or casing (represented in part).”; note that based on Fig. 1, there must be a top first housing that engages the boss and housing the entire device) designed to receive the portable fingerprint and/or palmprint acquisition device;
a second housing (10+30, Figs. 1-5; 101+50, Figs. 6-9) comprising a retaining means (30, Fig. 1; 50, Fig. 6) configured to retain an end of a connecting cable (end of 20, Figs. 1, 3-5, 7, 8) for the portable fingerprint and/or palmprint acquisition device, the end of the connecting cable including a connector (26, Figs. 1-9); and
a dividing partition (partition wall at 110, 112, Figs. 1-2, 4; partition wall at 150, 154, Figs. 6, 9) between the first housing and the second housing, said dividing partition comprising an opening (104, Figs. 1, 2, 4-6, 9) establishing communication between the first housing and the second housing; said opening being designed to have passing therethrough the connector of the connecting cable and to form a fluidtight seal around said connector ([0092]: “… prevents, directly or indirectly, any foreign matter, like e.g. dust and/or water from passing the juncture of the cable 20 at the aperture 104…”), and wherein a lower face (lower face of 10 in Fig. 2) of the second housing is open to allow access to an interior volume of the second housing (see lower face of 10 with 104, which allow access to interior volume).
Gotadoro does not explicitly teach wherein an upper face of the first housing is open so that an upper surface of the portable fingerprint and/or palmprint acquisition device is accessible. However, Hamann teaches a protective shell (102, Fig. 1) comprising: an upper face (40 or 14, Fig. 2) of a first housing is open (opening of 40, 14) so that an upper surface (101, Fig. 2) of a portable device (100, Figs. 1, 2) is accessible. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an upper face of the first housing is open so that an upper surface of the portable fingerprint and/or palmprint acquisition device is accessible in Gotadoro, as taught by Hamann, in order to allow the user to interact with a touch display interface of the fingerprint and/or palmprint acquisition device.
Regarding claim 2, Gotadoro in view of Hamann teaches the protective shell as claimed in claim 1, and Gotadoro teaches wherein the retaining means (50) are formed by a cutout (36, Fig. 6) in an exterior wall of the second housing (forms part of exterior wall of 101 as shown in Fig. 9) and an immobilizing clasp (51a, 51b, 34a and/or 34b, Figs. 6, 9), said cutout and said clasp being situated facing the opening (104) and being able to receive the end of the connecting cable (as shown in Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 3, Gotadoro in view of Hamann teaches the protective shell as claimed in claim 2, and Gotadoro teaches wherein the clasp is an added clasp added onto the exterior wall of the second housing (52a, 52b is added onto the exterior wall as shown in Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 4, Gotadoro in view of Hamann teaches the protective shell as claimed in claim 2, and Gotadoro teaches wherein the clasp is borne by the exterior wall of the second housing (52a, 52b is borne by onto exterior wall as shown in Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 5, Gotadoro in view of Hamann teaches the protective shell as claimed in claim 2, and Gotadoro teaches wherein the cutout (36) opens into a lower edge (lower edge of 51 as shown in Fig. 9) of the exterior wall of the second housing.
Regarding claim 6, Gotadoro in view of Hamann teaches the protective shell as claimed in claim 2, and Gotadoro teaches wherein the clasp forms an end-stop for the connector of the cable when said connector is received in the second housing (as shown in Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 10, Gotadoro in view of Hamann teaches the protective shell as claimed in claim 1, and Gotadoro teaches wherein the first housing forms the protective shell for the portable fingerprint and/or palmprint acquisition device (inherently true in order to protect circuitry inside the device; [0043]).
Regarding claim 12 as best understood, Gotadoro in view of Hamann teaches the protective shell as claimed in claim 1, and Gotadoro teaches a fingerprint acquisition system ([0003-0004]) comprising the portable fingerprint and/or palmprint acquisition device, the connecting cable, and the protective shell as claimed in claim 1.
Claims 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gotadoro in view of Hamann, and further in view of Su et al. (US 2015/0189790; hereinafter “Su”).
Regarding claims 11 and 14, Gotadoro in view of Hamann teaches the protective shell as claimed in claim 1. Gotadoro does not teach wherein the protective shell is made of a thermoplastic elastomer material, and the thermoplastic elastomer material is polyurethane. However, Su teaches the protective shell (100, 150, Fig. 1D) is made of a thermoplastic elastomer material, and the thermoplastic elastomer material is polyurethane ([0052]: “… a flexible polyurethane material...”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the protective shell is made of a thermoplastic elastomer material, and the thermoplastic elastomer material is polyurethane in Gotadoro in view of Hamann, as taught by Su, in order to provide better shock absorption and grip for user to hold.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Re claims 8-9 (with 112f invoked), prior arts do not teach or suggest the combination of the protective shell as claimed in claim 8, in particular, wherein the exterior wall of the second housing comprises enlarging means for enlarging an opening of the cutout and/or an opening of the clasp.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-6 and 10-14 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841