DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Claim 7 recites “clamping elements”, but it’s not shown in the drawing.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Specification recites “housing 28”. However, 28 do not look like a housing. It appears 20 is the second housing. Do applicant mean circular opening 28?
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 10, 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recite “the portable acquisition device”, which should have been “the portable fingerprint and/or palmprint acquisition device” instead. Note that reference characters should be consistent.
Claim 10 recite “a protective case for the portable device”, which should have been “the protective shell for the portable fingerprint and/or palmprint acquisition device”.
Claim 12 recites “a portable fingerprint and/or palm print acquisition device… a protective shell”, which should have been “the portable fingerprint and/or palm print acquisition device… the protective shell”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “retaining means” in claim 1, “clamping elements” in claim 7, “enlarging means” in claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 7 (with 112f invoked) recites “clamping elements intended to be added onto the end of the cable between the connector and the cutout and/or the clasp”. There is no sufficient structural detail regarding the clamping elements in the specification. Thus, claim 7 lacks written description.
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the connector-equipped end of a connecting cable…. the connector of the connecting cable… said connector”. There is a lack of antecedent basis. Furthermore, it’s unclear if the connector-equipped end is the same as the connector. In order to examine this application, examiner will assume the limitation is “a connector of a connecting cable…the connector of the connecting cable… said connector” instead.
Claims 2-12 depends on claim 1.
Claim 8 recites “enlarging means for enlarging the opening of the cutout and/or of the clasp”. There is a lack of antecedent basis. In order to examine this application, examiner will consider the limitation as “enlarging means for enlarging an opening of the cutout and/or an opening of the clasp”.
Claim 11 recites “wherein it is made of a thermoplastic elastomer material, preferably polyurethane.” It’s unclear what is “it” in this limitation. Also, “preferably” means it’s not required by the claim, which makes it indefinite in a claim limitation. In order to examine this application, examiner will consider the limitation as “wherein the first housing and the second housing are made of a thermoplastic elastomer material, and the thermoplastic elastomer material is polyurethane.”.
Claim 12 recites “a connector-equipped connecting cable” It’s unclear if this is the same as the connecting cable in claim 1. Based on the drawing, there is only one cable, which is connecting cable 40. In order to examine this application, examiner will assume the limitation is “the connecting cable”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gotadoro et al. (US 2023/0146927; hereinafter “Gotadoro”).
Regarding claim 1 as best understood, Gotadoro discloses a protective shell for a portable fingerprint and/or palmprint acquisition device ([0003]: “…fingerprint…”), said protective shell comprising:
a first housing (not explicitly shown, but mentioned in [0043]: “The wall 10 may included within a housing or casing (represented in part).”; note that based on Fig. 1, there must be a top first housing that engages the boss and housing the entire device) designed to receive the portable fingerprint and/or palmprint acquisition device;
a second housing (10+30, Figs. 1-5; 101+50, Figs. 6-9) comprising a retaining means (30, Fig. 1; 50, Fig. 6) for retaining a connector (26, Figs. 1-9) of a connecting cable (20, Figs. 1, 3-5, 7, 8) for the portable fingerprint and/or palmprint acquisition device;
a dividing partition (partition wall at 110, 112, Figs. 1-2, 4; partition wall at 150, 154, Figs. 6, 9) between the first housing and the second housing, said dividing partition comprising an opening (104, Figs. 1, 2, 4-6, 9) establishing communication between the first housing and the second housing; said opening being designed to have passing through it the connector of the connecting cable and to form a fluidtight seal around said connector ([0092]: “… prevents, directly or indirectly, any foreign matter, like e.g. dust and/or water from passing the juncture of the cable 20 at the aperture 104…”).
Regarding claim 2, Gotadoro discloses the protective shell as claimed in claim 1, and Gotadoro discloses wherein the retaining means (50) are formed by a cutout (36, Fig. 6) in an exterior wall of the second housing (forms part of exterior wall of 101 as shown in Fig. 9) and an immobilizing clasp (51a, 51b, 34a and/or 34b, Figs. 6, 9), said cutout and said clasp being situated facing the opening (104) and being able to receive the end of the connecting cable (as shown in Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 3, Gotadoro discloses the protective shell as claimed in claim 2, and Gotadoro discloses wherein the clasp is an added clasp added onto the exterior wall of the second housing (52a, 52b is added onto the exterior wall as shown in Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 4, Gotadoro discloses the protective shell as claimed in claim 2, and Gotadoro discloses wherein the clasp is borne by the exterior wall of the second housing (52a, 52b is borne by onto exterior wall as shown in Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 5, Gotadoro discloses the protective shell as claimed in claim 2, and Gotadoro discloses wherein the cutout (36) opens into a lower edge (lower edge of 51 as shown in Fig. 9) of the exterior wall of the second housing.
Regarding claim 6, Gotadoro discloses the protective shell as claimed in claim 2, and Gotadoro discloses wherein the clasp forms an end-stop for the connector of the cable when said connector is received in the second housing (as shown in Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 7, Gotadoro discloses the protective shell as claimed in claim 2, and Gotadoro discloses clamping elements (28, 22 and/or 24, Fig. 9; note 28, 22, 24 are clamped between wall 150/154 and 34a in Fig. 9 and 29 is “clamp” down on 24; see force 80/90 in Fig. 9) intended to be added onto the end of the cable between the connector (26) and the cutout (36) and/or the clasp (51a, 51b, 34a and/or 34b).
Regarding claim 10, Gotadoro discloses the protective shell as claimed in claim 1, and Gotadoro discloses wherein the first housing forms the protective shell for the portable fingerprint and/or palmprint acquisition device (inherently true in order to protect circuitry inside the device; [0043]).
Regarding claim 12 as best understood, Gotadoro discloses the protective shell as claimed in claim 1, and Gotadoro discloses a fingerprint acquisition system ([0003-0004]) comprising the portable fingerprint and/or palmprint acquisition device, the connector-equipped connecting cable, and the protective shell as claimed in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gotadoro, and further in view of Su et al. (US 2015/0189790; hereinafter “Su”).
Regarding claim 11 as best understood, Gotadoro teaches the protective shell as claimed in claim 1. Gotadoro does not teach wherein the first housing and the second housing are made of a thermoplastic elastomer material, and the thermoplastic elastomer material is polyurethane. However, Su teaches a first housing and a second housing (100, 150, Fig. 1D) are made of a thermoplastic elastomer material, and the thermoplastic elastomer material is polyurethane ([0052]: “… a flexible polyurethane material...”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first housing and the second housing are made of a thermoplastic elastomer material, and the thermoplastic elastomer material is polyurethane in Gotadoro, as taught by Su, in order to provide better shock absorption and grip for user to hold.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Re claims 8-9 (with 112f invoked), prior arts do not teach or suggest the combination of the protective shell as claimed in claim 8, in particular, wherein the exterior wall of the second housing comprises enlarging means for enlarging an opening of the cutout and/or an opening of the clasp.
Conclusion
/JAMES WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841