DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by O’Keeffe (U.S. 2018/0129080).
Regarding claim 6, O’Keeffe discloses a switchable light modulator (207, Fig. 7; page 4, para [0109]; page 7, para [0141]) having a first substrate (107, Fig. 7; page 7, para [0141]) and a second substrate (106, Fig. 7; page 7, para [0141]) with opposite major surfaces spaced apart by one or more polymer structures (71, Fig. 7; page 7, para [0140]; page 8, para [0155]), wherein the polymer structures (71, Fig. 7) comprise wall features (71a, Fig. 7; page 6, para [0139]) defining a plurality of cavities (83, Fig. 7; page 6, para [0139]) that contain a modulating fluid (10, Fig. 7; page 6, para [0132]; page 1, para [0010]) in discrete volumes (Fig. 7; page 6, para [0132]),
wherein one or more cavities (83, Fig. 7) include a centrally-located post (71b, Fig. 7; page 6, para [0139]) with a recess (recess of 71b, Fig. 7) in the post (71b, Fig. 7), wherein the recess contains a cast part (1072, Fig. 7; page 7, para [0143]) that is bonded to the second substrate (106, Fig. 7; page 7, para [0143]).
Regarding claim 7, O’Keeffe discloses a switchable light modulator with all the limitations of claim 6 above and further discloses wherein the post (71b, Fig. 7) is optically transparent (since microstructure 71 can be transparent with refractive index matching, Fig. 7; page 7, para [0140]; page 12, para [0188]) and the cast part (1072, Fig. 7) obscures light and includes a colorant (Fig. 7; page 12, para [0188]).
Regarding claim 8, O’Keeffe discloses a switchable light modulator with all the limitations of claim 6 above and further discloses wherein the switchable light modulator (207, Fig. 7) has a first state that strongly attenuates light (Fig. 7; page 4, para [0110]), and a second state that is substantially transparent to visible light (Fig. 7; page 4, para [0110]).
Regarding claim 9, O’Keeffe discloses a switchable light modulator with all the limitations of claim 6 above and further discloses wherein the modulating fluid (10, Fig. 7; page 6, para [0132]; page 1, para [0010]) includes electrophoretic particles (page 8, para [0149]).
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,147,108. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following reasons:
[AltContent: textbox (Claim 3 of U.S. Patent 12,147,108 discloses:
A method of making a switchable light modulator comprising:
providing a first substrate including a first major surface;
coupling a polymer film to the first major surface;
embossing the polymer film to create a plurality of cavities, wherein the embossing process creates a polymer wall structure surrounding each cavity, the polymer wall structure having a top and a bottom wherein the top of the polymer wall structure includes a mould part defining a recess along the top of the polymer wall structure, and wherein the embossing process also creates a peripheral edge seal including the polymer wall structure having the mould part;
providing a modulating fluid in discrete volumes within the plurality of cavities and adjacent the peripheral edge seal;
depositing a fluid pre-cursor in the recess of the polymer wall structure;
disposing a second substrate having a second major surface atop the polymer wall structure of the cavities and the peripheral edge seal such that the second major surface contacts the fluid pre-cursor;
curing the fluid pre-cursor, thereby sealing the cavities and the peripheral edge seal to the second major surface; and
wherein disposing the second substrate further includes compressing the polymer wall structure between the first and second substrates with a roller.)][AltContent: textbox (Claim 1 of Application 18/921,090 discloses:
A method of making a switchable light modulator comprising:
providing a first substrate including a first major surface;
coupling a polymer film to the first major surface;
embossing the polymer film to create a plurality of cavities, wherein the embossing process creates a polymer wall structure surrounding each cavity, the polymer wall structure having a top and a bottom wherein the top of the polymer wall structure includes recesses along the top of the polymer wall structure;
providing a modulating fluid in discrete volumes within the plurality of cavities;
depositing a fluid pre-cursor in the recess of the polymer wall structure;
disposing a second substrate having a second major surface atop the polymer wall structure of the cavities wherein the second major surface contacts the fluid pre-cursor;
compressing the polymer wall structure between the first and second substrates with a roller; and
curing the fluid pre-cursor, thereby sealing the cavities.)]
Therefore, Claim 1 of Application 18/921,090 is disclosed in Claim 3 of U.S. Patent 12,147,108.
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,147,108 in view of O’Keeffe (U.S. 2018/0129080) because of the following reasons:
[AltContent: textbox (Claim 2 of U.S. Patent 12,147,108 discloses:
The method of making a switchable light modulator of claim 1, wherein curing the fluid pre-cursor comprises heating the fluid pre-cursor or exposing the fluid pre-cursor to UV light.)][AltContent: textbox (Claim 2 of Application 18/921,090 discloses:
The method of making a switchable light modulator of claim 1, wherein curing the fluid pre-cursor comprises heating the fluid pre-cursor or exposing the fluid pre- cursor to UV light.)]
Claim 2 of U.S. Patent 12,147,108 does not expressly disclose compressing the polymer wall structure between the first and second substrates with a roller. However, O’Keeffe discloses a method of making a switchable light modulator (203, Fig. 3; page 4, para [0109]; page 5, para [0128]) comprising a step of compressing a polymer wall structure (70, Figs. 2a and 3; page 5, para [0129]; page 8, para [0155]) between first and second substrates (101 and 100, Fig. 3; page 6, para [0132]) with a roller (Fig. 3; page 6, para [0134]) in order to seal a plurality of cavities (80, Fig. 3; page 6, para [0133]) and to remove excess fluid from the cavities (Fig. 3; page 6, para [0134]).
Therefore, before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the method of making a switchable light modulator of Claim 2 of U.S. Patent 12,147,108 with the step of compressing a polymer wall structure (O’Keeffe: 70, Figs. 2a and 3; page 5, para [0129]; page 8, para [0155]) of O’Keeffe between first and second substrates (O’Keeffe: 101 and 100, Fig. 3; page 6, para [0132]) with a roller (O’Keeffe: Fig. 3; page 6, para [0134]) in order obtain the benefits of sealing the plurality of cavities (O’Keeffe: 80, Fig. 3; page 6, para [0133]) of U.S. Patent 12,147,108 and to remove excess fluid from the cavities (O’Keeffe: Fig. 3; page 6, para [0134]) as taught by O’Keeffe (page 6, para [0134]). Therefore, Claim 2 of Application 18/921,090 is disclosed in Claim 2 of U.S. Patent 12,147,108 in view of O’Keeffe (U.S. 2018/0129080).
Claim 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,147,108 in view of O’Keeffe (U.S. 2018/0129080) because of the following reasons:
[AltContent: textbox (Claim 4 of U.S. Patent 12,147,108 discloses:
The method of making a switchable light modulator of claim 1, wherein the polymer film is optically transparent.)][AltContent: textbox (Claim 3 of Application 18/921,090 discloses:
The method of making a switchable light modulator of claim 1, wherein the polymer film is optically transparent.)]
Claim 4 of U.S. Patent 12,147,108 does not expressly disclose compressing the polymer wall structure between the first and second substrates with a roller. However, O’Keeffe discloses a method of making a switchable light modulator (203, Fig. 3; page 4, para [0109]; page 5, para [0128]) comprising a step of compressing a polymer wall structure (70, Figs. 2a and 3; page 5, para [0129]; page 8, para [0155]) between first and second substrates (101 and 100, Fig. 3; page 6, para [0132]) with a roller (Fig. 3; page 6, para [0134]) in order to seal a plurality of cavities (80, Fig. 3; page 6, para [0133]) and to remove excess fluid from the cavities (Fig. 3; page 6, para [0134]).
Therefore, before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the method of making a switchable light modulator of Claim 4 of U.S. Patent 12,147,108 with the step of compressing a polymer wall structure (O’Keeffe: 70, Figs. 2a and 3; page 5, para [0129]; page 8, para [0155]) of O’Keeffe between first and second substrates (O’Keeffe: 101 and 100, Fig. 3; page 6, para [0132]) with a roller (O’Keeffe: Fig. 3; page 6, para [0134]) in order obtain the benefits of sealing the plurality of cavities (O’Keeffe: 80, Fig. 3; page 6, para [0133]) of U.S. Patent 12,147,108 and to remove excess fluid from the cavities (O’Keeffe: Fig. 3; page 6, para [0134]) as taught by O’Keeffe (page 6, para [0134]). Therefore, Claim 3 of Application 18/921,090 is disclosed in Claim 4 of U.S. Patent 12,147,108 in view of O’Keeffe (U.S. 2018/0129080).
Claim 4 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,147,108 in view of O’Keeffe (U.S. 2018/0129080) because of the following reasons:
[AltContent: textbox (Claim 5 of U.S. Patent 12,147,108 discloses:
The method of making a switchable light modulator of claim 1, wherein the modulating fluid includes electrophoretic particles, liquid crystals, a combination of polar and non-polar liquids, an electrochromic fluid, a thermochromic fluid, or a photochromic fluid.)][AltContent: textbox (Claim 4 of Application 18/921,090 discloses:
The method of making a switchable light modulator of claim 1, wherein the modulating fluid includes electrophoretic particles, liquid crystals, a combination of polar and non-polar liquids, an electrochromic fluid, a thermochromic fluid, or a photochromic fluid.)]
Claim 5 of U.S. Patent 12,147,108 does not expressly disclose compressing the polymer wall structure between the first and second substrates with a roller. However, O’Keeffe discloses a method of making a switchable light modulator (203, Fig. 3; page 4, para [0109]; page 5, para [0128]) comprising a step of compressing a polymer wall structure (70, Figs. 2a and 3; page 5, para [0129]; page 8, para [0155]) between first and second substrates (101 and 100, Fig. 3; page 6, para [0132]) with a roller (Fig. 3; page 6, para [0134]) in order to seal a plurality of cavities (80, Fig. 3; page 6, para [0133]) and to remove excess fluid from the cavities (Fig. 3; page 6, para [0134]).
Therefore, before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the method of making a switchable light modulator of Claim 5 of U.S. Patent 12,147,108 with the step of compressing a polymer wall structure (O’Keeffe: 70, Figs. 2a and 3; page 5, para [0129]; page 8, para [0155]) of O’Keeffe between first and second substrates (O’Keeffe: 101 and 100, Fig. 3; page 6, para [0132]) with a roller (O’Keeffe: Fig. 3; page 6, para [0134]) in order obtain the benefits of sealing the plurality of cavities (O’Keeffe: 80, Fig. 3; page 6, para [0133]) of U.S. Patent 12,147,108 and to remove excess fluid from the cavities (O’Keeffe: Fig. 3; page 6, para [0134]) as taught by O’Keeffe (page 6, para [0134]). Therefore, Claim 4 of Application 18/921,090 is disclosed in Claim 5 of U.S. Patent 12,147,108 in view of O’Keeffe (U.S. 2018/0129080).
Claim 5 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,147,108 in view of O’Keeffe (U.S. 2018/0129080) because of the following reasons:
[AltContent: textbox (Claim 6 of U.S. Patent 12,147,108 discloses:
The method of making a switchable light modulator of claim 1, wherein the first substrate or the second substrate comprises a flexible transparent material.)][AltContent: textbox (Claim 5 of Application 18/921,090 discloses:
The method of making a switchable light modulator of claim 1, wherein the first substrate or the second substrate comprises a flexible transparent material.)]
Claim 6 of U.S. Patent 12,147,108 does not expressly disclose compressing the polymer wall structure between the first and second substrates with a roller. However, O’Keeffe discloses a method of making a switchable light modulator (203, Fig. 3; page 4, para [0109]; page 5, para [0128]) comprising a step of compressing a polymer wall structure (70, Figs. 2a and 3; page 5, para [0129]; page 8, para [0155]) between first and second substrates (101 and 100, Fig. 3; page 6, para [0132]) with a roller (Fig. 3; page 6, para [0134]) in order to seal a plurality of cavities (80, Fig. 3; page 6, para [0133]) and to remove excess fluid from the cavities (Fig. 3; page 6, para [0134]).
Therefore, before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the method of making a switchable light modulator of Claim 6 of U.S. Patent 12,147,108 with the step of compressing a polymer wall structure (O’Keeffe: 70, Figs. 2a and 3; page 5, para [0129]; page 8, para [0155]) of O’Keeffe between first and second substrates (O’Keeffe: 101 and 100, Fig. 3; page 6, para [0132]) with a roller (O’Keeffe: Fig. 3; page 6, para [0134]) in order obtain the benefits of sealing the plurality of cavities (O’Keeffe: 80, Fig. 3; page 6, para [0133]) of U.S. Patent 12,147,108 and to remove excess fluid from the cavities (O’Keeffe: Fig. 3; page 6, para [0134]) as taught by O’Keeffe (page 6, para [0134]). Therefore, Claim 5 of Application 18/921,090 is disclosed in Claim 6 of U.S. Patent 12,147,108 in view of O’Keeffe (U.S. 2018/0129080).
Conclusion
/PAUL C LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871