DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/29/2025, 08/13/2025 and 09/19/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 7-9, 13-15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. ( U.S. PGPUB 2024/0187950), Kim hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 1, Kim teaches
a communication method, wherein the method comprises: receiving, by a first node, a reconfiguration message from a network device, wherein the reconfiguration message is a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message or an RRC connection reconfiguration message; and (paragraph [0659] 1> When the radio node (or UE) receives an RRCReconfiguration message or RRCConnectionReconfiguration message, if ReconfigWithSync information (in case of NR base station) or Mobility ControlInfo information (in case of LTE base station) is not included in the RRC message, if the radio node (or UE) can follow the configuration information of the RRC message, or the second condition described in the disclosure is satisfied, the radio node (or UE) may perform operations as follows.)
releasing, by the first node, a backhaul adaptation protocol (BAP) entity of the first node based on the reconfiguration message. ([0667] … 4> the BAP layer entity configured for the source PCell is released.).
Regarding Claim 2, Kim teaches claim 1.
Kim further teaches , wherein a unique successfully configured BAP configuration only exists on the first node; and ([0667] … 4> the BAP layer entity configured for the source PCell is released.). It must have existed before it is released.
the reconfiguration message indicates the first node to release the BAP configuration of the first node. ([0188] ... and in case where in the RRC message, BAP layer entity configuration information for the target base station or the second mapping information of QoS flow (or downlink data stream or uplink data stream or egress link or ingress link) and a bearer (RLC bearer, backhaul RLC channel identifier, or backhaul RLC logical channel identifier) is configured in the RRC message, the radio node (or UE) applies the BAP layer entity configuration information or the second mapping information of QoS flow (or downlink data stream or uplink data stream or egress link or ingress link) and a bearer (RLC bearer, backhaul RLC channel identifier, or backhaul RLC logical channel identifier) for data transmission or reception with the target base station when the first condition proposed in the disclosure is satisfied. ... [0667] … 4> the BAP layer entity configured for the source PCell is released.).
Regarding Claim 3, Kim teaches claim 1.
Kim further teaches wherein the first node is in an evolved universal terrestrial radio access (E-UTRA) standard and new radio (NR) standard dual connectivity (EN DC) mode; ([0088] With reference to FIG. 3 , as illustrated, a radio access network of the next generation mobile communication system (hereinafter, NR or 5G) may include a new radio node B (hereinafter, NR gNB or NR base station) 3-10 and a new radio core network (NR CN) 3-05. A new radio node (or UE) (New radio user equipment, hereinafter, NR UE or radio node (or UE)) 3-15 may access an external network through the NR gNB 3-10 and the NR CN 3-05. ... [0681] ... The controller 14-40 may further include a multi-connectivity processor 14-42 for supporting multiple connectivity.)
the reconfiguration message indicates the first node to perform a multi-radio access technology (multi-RAT) dual connectivity (MR DC) release process; and ([0608] ** 3> MCG configuration information may be released. The MCG configuration information may include configuration information of each bearer (RLC bearer, backhaul RLC channel identifier, or backhaul RLC logical channel identifier) or BAP, BAP, RLC, MAC, or PHY layer entity information, radio node (or UE) identifier information, security information, and the like. [0609] ** 3> If there is SCG configuration information, the SCG configuration information may be released.) The presence of MCG and SCG makes it dual connectivity.
before the releasing, by the first node, the BAP entity of the first node based on the reconfiguration message, the method further comprises: ([0608] ** 3> MCG configuration information may be released. The MCG configuration information may include configuration information of each bearer (RLC bearer, backhaul RLC channel identifier, or backhaul RLC logical channel identifier) or BAP, BAP, RLC, MAC, or PHY layer entity information, radio node (or UE) identifier information, security information, and the like. [0609] ** 3> If there is SCG configuration information, the SCG configuration information may be released.)
releasing, by the first node, a BAP configuration associated with a secondary cell group (SCG). ([0608] ** 3> MCG configuration information may be released. The MCG configuration information may include configuration information of each bearer (RLC bearer, backhaul RLC channel identifier, or backhaul RLC logical channel identifier) or BAP, BAP, RLC, MAC, or PHY layer entity information, radio node (or UE) identifier information, security information, and the like. [0609] ** 3> If there is SCG configuration information, the SCG configuration information may be released.)
Regarding Claim 6, Kim teaches claim 1.
Kim further teaches wherein the first node is an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node, or a mobile termination part of an IAB node (IAB-MT). [0135] In 5-50, the UE or radio node (IAB-MT) may transmit or receive data through protocol layer entities of a radio node 1 (IAB-DU) or radio node 2 (IAB-DU). In addition, in 5-55, the UE may transmit or receive an RRC message to configure the highest radio node (IAB donor) with RRC connection configuration information or BAP layer entity configuration information through the radio node 1 (IAB-DU) or the radio node 2 (IAB-DU).
Regarding Claim 7, Kim teaches an apparatus, comprising: at least one processor; and one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions that are executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to perform operations comprising: [0680] The storage 14-30 may store data such as a basic program, an application program, and configuration information for an operation of the radio node (or UE). The storage 14-30 may provide stored data according to the request of the controller 14-40.[0681] The controller 14-40 may control overall operations of the radio node (or UE). For example, the controller 14-40 may transmit and receive signals through the baseband processor 14-20 and the RF processor 14-10. Further, the controller 14-40 writes and reads data in the storage 14-30. To this end, the controller 14-40 may include at least one processor. For example, the controller 14-40 may include a communication processor (CP) that controls for communication and an application processor (AP) that controls an upper layer such as an application program. The controller 14-40 may further include a multi-connectivity processor 14-42 for supporting multiple connectivity.
receiving a reconfiguration message from a network device, wherein the reconfiguration message is a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message or an RRC connection reconfiguration message; and (paragraph [0659] 1> When the radio node (or UE) receives an RRCReconfiguration message or RRCConnectionReconfiguration message, if ReconfigWithSync information (in case of NR base station) or Mobility ControlInfo information (in case of LTE base station) is not included in the RRC message, if the radio node (or UE) can follow the configuration information of the RRC message, or the second condition described in the disclosure is satisfied, the radio node (or UE) may perform operations as follows.)
releasing a backhaul adaptation protocol (BAP) entity of the apparatus based on the reconfiguration message. ([0667] … 4> the BAP layer entity configured for the source PCell is released.).
Regarding Claim 8, Kim teaches claim 7.
Kim further teaches wherein a unique successfully configured BAP configuration only exists on the apparatus; and ([0667] … 4> the BAP layer entity configured for the source PCell is released.). It must have existed before it is released.
the reconfiguration message indicates the apparatus to release the BAP configuration of the apparatus. ([0188] ... and in case where in the RRC message, BAP layer entity configuration information for the target base station or the second mapping information of QoS flow (or downlink data stream or uplink data stream or egress link or ingress link) and a bearer (RLC bearer, backhaul RLC channel identifier, or backhaul RLC logical channel identifier) is configured in the RRC message, the radio node (or UE) applies the BAP layer entity configuration information or the second mapping information of QoS flow (or downlink data stream or uplink data stream or egress link or ingress link) and a bearer (RLC bearer, backhaul RLC channel identifier, or backhaul RLC logical channel identifier) for data transmission or reception with the target base station when the first condition proposed in the disclosure is satisfied. ... [0667] … 4> the BAP layer entity configured for the source PCell is released.).
Regarding Claim 9, Kim teaches claim 7.
Kim further teaches wherein the apparatus is in an evolved universal terrestrial radio access (E-UTRA) standard and new radio (NR) standard dual connectivity (EN DC) mode; ([0088] With reference to FIG. 3 , as illustrated, a radio access network of the next generation mobile communication system (hereinafter, NR or 5G) may include a new radio node B (hereinafter, NR gNB or NR base station) 3-10 and a new radio core network (NR CN) 3-05. A new radio node (or UE) (New radio user equipment, hereinafter, NR UE or radio node (or UE)) 3-15 may access an external network through the NR gNB 3-10 and the NR CN 3-05. ... [0681] ... The controller 14-40 may further include a multi-connectivity processor 14-42 for supporting multiple connectivity.)
the reconfiguration message indicates the apparatus to perform a multi-radio access technology (multi-RAT) dual connectivity (MR DC) release process; and ([0608] ** 3> MCG configuration information may be released. The MCG configuration information may include configuration information of each bearer (RLC bearer, backhaul RLC channel identifier, or backhaul RLC logical channel identifier) or BAP, BAP, RLC, MAC, or PHY layer entity information, radio node (or UE) identifier information, security information, and the like. [0609] ** 3> If there is SCG configuration information, the SCG configuration information may be released.) The presence of MCG and SCG makes it dual connectivity.
before the releasing the BAP entity of the apparatus based on the reconfiguration message, the operations further comprise: ([0608] ** 3> MCG configuration information may be released. The MCG configuration information may include configuration information of each bearer (RLC bearer, backhaul RLC channel identifier, or backhaul RLC logical channel identifier) or BAP, BAP, RLC, MAC, or PHY layer entity information, radio node (or UE) identifier information, security information, and the like. [0609] ** 3> If there is SCG configuration information, the SCG configuration information may be released.)
releasing a BAP configuration associated with a secondary cell group (SCG). ([0608] ** 3> MCG configuration information may be released. The MCG configuration information may include configuration information of each bearer (RLC bearer, backhaul RLC channel identifier, or backhaul RLC logical channel identifier) or BAP, BAP, RLC, MAC, or PHY layer entity information, radio node (or UE) identifier information, security information, and the like. [0609] ** 3> If there is SCG configuration information, the SCG configuration information may be released.)
Regarding Claim 12, Kim teaches claim 7.
Kim further teaches wherein the apparatus is an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node, or a mobile termination part of an IAB node (IAB-MT). [0135] In 5-50, the UE or radio node (IAB-MT) may transmit or receive data through protocol layer entities of a radio node 1 (IAB-DU) or radio node 2 (IAB-DU). In addition, in 5-55, the UE may transmit or receive an RRC message to configure the highest radio node (IAB donor) with RRC connection configuration information or BAP layer entity configuration information through the radio node 1 (IAB-DU) or the radio node 2 (IAB-DU).
Regarding Claim 13, Kim teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a program, wherein the program comprises instructions executable by at least one processor of an apparatus to cause the apparatus to perform operations comprising [0680] The storage 14-30 may store data such as a basic program, an application program, and configuration information for an operation of the radio node (or UE). The storage 14-30 may provide stored data according to the request of the controller 14-40.[0681] The controller 14-40 may control overall operations of the radio node (or UE). For example, the controller 14-40 may transmit and receive signals through the baseband processor 14-20 and the RF processor 14-10. Further, the controller 14-40 writes and reads data in the storage 14-30. To this end, the controller 14-40 may include at least one processor. For example, the controller 14-40 may include a communication processor (CP) that controls for communication and an application processor (AP) that controls an upper layer such as an application program. The controller 14-40 may further include a multi-connectivity processor 14-42 for supporting multiple connectivity.
receiving a reconfiguration message from a network device, wherein the reconfiguration message is a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message or an RRC connection reconfiguration message; and [0659] 1> When the radio node (or UE) receives an RRCReconfiguration message or RRCConnectionReconfiguration message, if ReconfigWithSync information (in case of NR base station) or Mobility ControlInfo information (in case of LTE base station) is not included in the RRC message, if the radio node (or UE) can follow the configuration information of the RRC message, or the second condition described in the disclosure is satisfied, the radio node (or UE) may perform operations as follows.
releasing a backhaul adaptation protocol (BAP) entity of the apparatus based on the reconfiguration message ([0667] … 4> the BAP layer entity configured for the source PCell is released.).
Regarding Claim 14, Kim teaches claim 13.
Kim further teaches wherein a unique successfully configured BAP configuration only exists on the apparatus; and ([0667] … 4> the BAP layer entity configured for the source PCell is released.). It must have existed before it is released.
the reconfiguration message indicates the apparatus to release the BAP configuration of the apparatus (paragraph [0188] ... and in case where in the RRC message, BAP layer entity configuration information for the target base station or the second mapping information of QoS flow (or downlink data stream or uplink data stream or egress link or ingress link) and a bearer (RLC bearer, backhaul RLC channel identifier, or backhaul RLC logical channel identifier) is configured in the RRC message, the radio node (or UE) applies the BAP layer entity configuration information or the second mapping information of QoS flow (or downlink data stream or uplink data stream or egress link or ingress link) and a bearer (RLC bearer, backhaul RLC channel identifier, or backhaul RLC logical channel identifier) for data transmission or reception with the target base station when the first condition proposed in the disclosure is satisfied. ... [0667] … 4> the BAP layer entity configured for the source PCell is released.).
Regarding Claim 15, Kim teaches claim 13.
Kim further teaches wherein the apparatus is in an evolved universal terrestrial radio access (E-UTRA) standard and new radio (NR) standard dual connectivity (EN DC) mode; ([0088] With reference to FIG. 3 , as illustrated, a radio access network of the next generation mobile communication system (hereinafter, NR or 5G) may include a new radio node B (hereinafter, NR gNB or NR base station) 3-10 and a new radio core network (NR CN) 3-05. A new radio node (or UE) (New radio user equipment, hereinafter, NR UE or radio node (or UE)) 3-15 may access an external network through the NR gNB 3-10 and the NR CN 3-05. ... [0681] ... The controller 14-40 may further include a multi-connectivity processor 14-42 for supporting multiple connectivity.)
the reconfiguration message indicates the apparatus to perform a multi-radio access technology (multi-RAT) dual connectivity (MR DC) release process; and ([0608] ** 3> MCG configuration information may be released. The MCG configuration information may include configuration information of each bearer (RLC bearer, backhaul RLC channel identifier, or backhaul RLC logical channel identifier) or BAP, BAP, RLC, MAC, or PHY layer entity information, radio node (or UE) identifier information, security information, and the like. [0609] ** 3> If there is SCG configuration information, the SCG configuration information may be released.) The presence of MCG and SCG makes it dual connectivity.
before the releasing [[a]] the BAP entity of the apparatus based on the reconfiguration message, the operations further comprise: ([0608] ** 3> MCG configuration information may be released. The MCG configuration information may include configuration information of each bearer (RLC bearer, backhaul RLC channel identifier, or backhaul RLC logical channel identifier) or BAP, BAP, RLC, MAC, or PHY layer entity information, radio node (or UE) identifier information, security information, and the like. [0609] ** 3> If there is SCG configuration information, the SCG configuration information may be released.)
releasing a BAP configuration associated with a secondary cell group (SCG). ([0608] ** 3> MCG configuration information may be released. The MCG configuration information may include configuration information of each bearer (RLC bearer, backhaul RLC channel identifier, or backhaul RLC logical channel identifier) or BAP, BAP, RLC, MAC, or PHY layer entity information, radio node (or UE) identifier information, security information, and the like. [0609] ** 3> If there is SCG configuration information, the SCG configuration information may be released.)
Regarding Claim 18, Kim teaches claim 13.
Kim further teaches wherein the apparatus is an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node, or a mobile termination part of an IAB node (IAB-MT). [0135] In 5-50, the UE or radio node (IAB-MT) may transmit or receive data through protocol layer entities of a radio node 1 (IAB-DU) or radio node 2 (IAB-DU). In addition, in 5-55, the UE may transmit or receive an RRC message to configure the highest radio node (IAB donor) with RRC connection configuration information or BAP layer entity configuration information through the radio node 1 (IAB-DU) or the radio node 2 (IAB-DU).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 4, 10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. ( U.S. PGPUB 2024/0187950), Kim hereinafter, in view of Ericsson “Running CR to 38.331 on Integrated Access and Backhaul for NR”, 3GPP Draft; R2-2002122, Ericsson hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 4, Kim teaches claim 1.
Yet, Kim does not expressly teach wherein the first node is in a new radio dual connectivity (NR DC) mode; the reconfiguration message indicates the first node to perform a multi-radio access technology (multi-RAT) dual connectivity (MR DC) release process; and before the releasing, by the first node, the BAP entity of the first node based on the reconfiguration message, the method further comprises: releasing, by the first node, a BAP configuration associated with a secondary cell group (SCG), wherein the BAP configuration associated with the SCG is a last successfully configured BAP configuration that only exists on the first node.
However, in the analogous art, Ericsson explicitly discloses wherein the first node is in a new radio dual connectivity (NR DC) mode; (Section 6.2.2 ... masterCellGroup Configuration of master cell group. mrdc-ReleaseAndAdd This field indicates that the current SCG configuration is released and a new SCG is added at the same time. mrdc-SecondaryCellGroup Includes an RRC message for SCG configuration in NR-DC or NE-DC. For NR-DC (nr-SCG), mrdc-SecondaryCellGroup contains the RRCReconfiguration message as generated (entirely) by SN gNB. In this version of the specification, the RRC message can only include fields secondaryCellGroup and measConfig. For NE-DC (eutra-SCG), mrdc-SecondaryCellGroup includes the E-UTRA RRCConnectionReconfiguration message as specified in TS 36.331 [10]. In this version of the specification, the E-UTRA RRC message can only include the field scg-Configuration.)
the reconfiguration message indicates the first node to perform a multi-radio access technology (multi-RAT) dual connectivity (MR DC) release process; and (Section 6.2.2 .. masterCellGroup Configuration of master cell group mrdc-ReleaseAndAdd This field indicates that the current SCG configuration is released and a new SCG is added at the same time. mrdc-SecondaryCellGroup Includes an RRC message for SCG configuration in NR-DC or NE-DC. For NR-DC (nr-SCG), mrdc-SecondaryCellGroup contains the RRCReconfiguration message as generated (entirely) by SN gNB. In this version of the specification, the RRC message can only include fields secondaryCellGroup and measConfig. For NE-DC (eutra-SCG), mrdc-SecondaryCellGroup includes the E-UTRA RRCConnectionReconfiguration message as specified in TS 36.331 [10]. In this version of the specification, the E-UTRA RRC message can only include the field scg-Configuration.)
before the releasing, by the first node, the BAP entity of the first node based on the reconfiguration message, the method further comprises: (Section 5.3.5.3 … 1>if the RRCReconfiguration message includes the bap-Config: 2> perform the BAP configuration procedure as specified in 5.3.5.X;)
releasing, by the first node, a BAP configuration associated with a secondary cell group (SCG), wherein the BAP configuration associated with the SCG is a last successfully configured BAP configuration that only exists on the first node (Section 5.3.5.X … 1> if the bap-config is set to release: 2> release the BAP entity at the IAB-MT as specified in [x].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Kim’s Method and apparatus for handover of wireless backhaul node, which minimizes data downtime in next-generation mobile communication system to include Ericsson's dual connectivity and multi-RAT Integrated Access and Backhaul for NR for improved throughput and multi-RAT coexistence.
Regarding Claim 10, Kim teaches claim 7.
Yet, Kim does not expressly teach wherein the apparatus is in a new radio dual connectivity (NR DC) mode; the reconfiguration message indicates the apparatus to perform a multi-radio access technology (multi-RAT) dual connectivity (MR DC) release process; and before the releasing the BAP entity of the apparatus based on the reconfiguration message, the operations further comprise: releasing a BAP configuration associated with a secondary cell group (SCG), wherein the BAP configuration associated with the SCG is a last successfully configured BAP configuration that only exists on the apparatus.
However, in the analogous art, Ericsson explicitly discloses wherein the apparatus is in a new radio dual connectivity (NR DC) mode; (Section 6.2.2 .. masterCellGroup Configuration of master cell group mrdc-ReleaseAndAdd This field indicates that the current SCG configuration is released and a new SCG is added at the same time. mrdc-SecondaryCellGroup Includes an RRC message for SCG configuration in NR-DC or NE-DC. For NR-DC (nr-SCG), mrdc-SecondaryCellGroup contains the RRCReconfiguration message as generated (entirely) by SN gNB. In this version of the specification, the RRC message can only include fields secondaryCellGroup and measConfig. For NE-DC (eutra-SCG), mrdc-SecondaryCellGroup includes the E-UTRA RRCConnectionReconfiguration message as specified in TS 36.331 [10]. In this version of the specification, the E-UTRA RRC message can only include the field scg-Configuration.)
the reconfiguration message indicates the apparatus to perform a multi-radio access technology (multi-RAT) dual connectivity (MR DC) release process; and (Section 6.2.2 .. masterCellGroup Configuration of master cell group mrdc-ReleaseAndAdd This field indicates that the current SCG configuration is released and a new SCG is added at the same time. mrdc-SecondaryCellGroup Includes an RRC message for SCG configuration in NR-DC or NE-DC. For NR-DC (nr-SCG), mrdc-SecondaryCellGroup contains the RRCReconfiguration message as generated (entirely) by SN gNB. In this version of the specification, the RRC message can only include fields secondaryCellGroup and measConfig. For NE-DC (eutra-SCG), mrdc-SecondaryCellGroup includes the E-UTRA RRCConnectionReconfiguration message as specified in TS 36.331 [10]. In this version of the specification, the E-UTRA RRC message can only include the field scg-Configuration.)
before the releasing the BAP entity of the apparatus based on the reconfiguration message, the operations further comprise: (Section 5.3.5.3 … 1>if the RRCReconfiguration message includes the bap-Config: 2> perform the BAP configuration procedure as specified in 5.3.5.X;)
releasing a BAP configuration associated with a secondary cell group (SCG), wherein the BAP configuration associated with the SCG is a last successfully configured BAP configuration that only exists on the apparatus (Section 5.3.5.X … 1> if the bap-config is set to release: 2> release the BAP entity at the IAB-MT as specified in [x].)
The motivation regarding to the obviousness of claim 4 is also applied to claim 10.
Regarding Claim 16, Kim teaches claim 13.
Yet, Kim does not expressly teach wherein the apparatus is in a new radio dual connectivity (NR DC) mode; the reconfiguration message indicates the apparatus to perform a multi-radio access technology (multi-RAT) dual connectivity (MR DC) release process; and before the releasing the BAP entity of the apparatus based on the reconfiguration message, the operations further comprise: releasing a BAP configuration associated with a secondary cell group (SCG), wherein the BAP configuration associated with the SCG is a last successfully configured BAP configuration that only exists on the apparatus.
However, in the analogous art, Ericsson explicitly discloses wherein the apparatus is in a new radio dual connectivity (NR DC) mode; (Section 6.2.2 .. masterCellGroup Configuration of master cell group mrdc-ReleaseAndAdd This field indicates that the current SCG configuration is released and a new SCG is added at the same time. mrdc-SecondaryCellGroup Includes an RRC message for SCG configuration in NR-DC or NE-DC. For NR-DC (nr-SCG), mrdc-SecondaryCellGroup contains the RRCReconfiguration message as generated (entirely) by SN gNB. In this version of the specification, the RRC message can only include fields secondaryCellGroup and measConfig. For NE-DC (eutra-SCG), mrdc-SecondaryCellGroup includes the E-UTRA RRCConnectionReconfiguration message as specified in TS 36.331 [10]. In this version of the specification, the E-UTRA RRC message can only include the field scg-Configuration.)
the reconfiguration message indicates the apparatus to perform a multi-radio access technology (multi-RAT) dual connectivity (MR DC) release process; and (Section 6.2.2 .. masterCellGroup Configuration of master cell group mrdc-ReleaseAndAdd This field indicates that the current SCG configuration is released and a new SCG is added at the same time. mrdc-SecondaryCellGroup Includes an RRC message for SCG configuration in NR-DC or NE-DC. For NR-DC (nr-SCG), mrdc-SecondaryCellGroup contains the RRCReconfiguration message as generated (entirely) by SN gNB. In this version of the specification, the RRC message can only include fields secondaryCellGroup and measConfig. For NE-DC (eutra-SCG), mrdc-SecondaryCellGroup includes the E-UTRA RRCConnectionReconfiguration message as specified in TS 36.331 [10]. In this version of the specification, the E-UTRA RRC message can only include the field scg-Configuration.)
before the releasing the BAP entity of the apparatus based on the reconfiguration message, the operations further comprise: (Section 5.3.5.3 … 1>if the RRCReconfiguration message includes the bap-Config: 2> perform the BAP configuration procedure as specified in 5.3.5.X;)
releasing a BAP configuration associated with a secondary cell group (SCG), wherein the BAP configuration associated with the SCG is a last successfully configured BAP configuration that only exists on the apparatus (Section 5.3.5.3 … 1>if the RRCReconfiguration message includes the bap-Config: 2> perform the BAP configuration procedure as specified in 5.3.5.X;).
The motivation regarding to the obviousness of claim 4 is also applied to claim 16.
Claims 5, 11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. ( U.S. PGPUB 2024/0187950), Kim hereinafter, in view of Yang. ( U.S. PGPUB 20250056647), Yang hereinafter and further in view of Ericsson “Running CR to 38.331 on Integrated Access and Backhaul for NR”, 3GPP Draft; R2-2002122, Ericsson hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 5, Kim teaches claim 1.
Yet, Kim does not expressly teach wherein the first node is in a new radio dual connectivity (NR DC) mode in an F1 interface control plane and F1 interface user plane split scenario; a secondary node (SN) is an F1 interface terminating donor node of the first node; a master node (MN) is a non-F1 interface terminating node of the first node;
However, in the analogous art, Yang explicitly discloses wherein the first node is in a new radio dual connectivity (NR DC) mode in an F1 interface control plane and F1 interface user plane split scenario; ([0125] For example, when the MN generates the first RRC reconfiguration message, there is no need to introduce a new information element, first indication information non-F1-terminating, into the first RRC reconfiguration message, and the IAB node receives the first RRC reconfiguration message via SRB1. As it does not contain the first indication information, i.e. the IAB node does not receive the first indication information, the IAB node determines that at least one IP address configuration carried by the first RRC reconfiguration message is the IP address information of the F1-terminating topology domain. (III) For Dual-Connectivity Scenario 2)
a secondary node (SN) is an F1 interface terminating donor node of the first node; ([0126] In some embodiments, FIG. 13 is a schematic diagram of dual-connectivity scenario 2. As shown in FIG. 13, in dual-connectivity scenario 2, the first IAB-donor (F1-terminating donor) is a secondary node SN of the IAB node, and the second IAB-donor (non-F1-terminating donor) is a master node MN of the IAB node.)
a master node (MN) is a non-F1 interface terminating node of the first node; ([0126] In some embodiments, FIG. 13 is a schematic diagram of dual-connectivity scenario 2. As shown in FIG. 13, in dual-connectivity scenario 2, the first IAB-donor (F1-terminating donor) is a secondary node SN of the IAB node, and the second IAB-donor (non-F1-terminating donor) is a master node MN of the IAB node.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Kim’s Method and apparatus for handover of wireless backhaul node, which minimizes data downtime in next-generation mobile communication system to include Yang's F1 and non-F1 interface for improved network security and multi-vendor interoperability.
Yet, Kim in view of Yang does not expressly teach the reconfiguration message indicates the first node to perform a multi-radio access technology (multi-RAT) dual connectivity (MR DC) release process; and before the releasing, by the first node, the BAP entity of the first node based on the reconfiguration message, the method further comprises: releasing, by the first node, a BAP configuration associated with a secondary cell group (SCG), wherein the BAP configuration associated with the SCG is a unique successfully configured BAP configuration that only exists on the first node.
However, in the analogous art, Ericsson explicitly discloses the reconfiguration message indicates the first node to perform a multi-radio access technology (multi-RAT) dual connectivity (MR DC) release process; and (Sections of R0741 discloses reconfiguration message with multi-RAT and MR-DC. Section 5.3.5.3 … 1> if the RRCReconfiguration includes the mrdc-SecondaryCellGroupConfig: 2> if the mrdc SecondaryCellGroupConfig is set to setup: 3> if the mrdc-SecondaryCellGroupConfig includes mrdc-ReleaseAndAdd: 4> perform MR-DC release as specified in section 5.3.5.10; ... )
before the releasing, by the first node, the BAP entity of the first node based on the reconfiguration message, the method further comprises: (Sections of R0741 discloses reconfiguration message with BAP. Section 5.3.5.3 … 1>if the RRCReconfiguration message includes the bap-Config: 2> perform the BAP configuration procedure as specified in 5.3.5.X; … )
releasing, by the first node, a BAP configuration associated with a secondary cell group (SCG), wherein the BAP configuration associated with the SCG is a unique successfully configured BAP configuration that only exists on the first node (Section 5.3.5.X … 1> if the bap-config is set to release: 2> release the BAP entity at the IAB-MT as specified in [x]. …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Kim’s Method and apparatus for handover of wireless backhaul node, which minimizes data downtime in next-generation mobile communication system to include Ericsson's dual connectivity and multi-RAT Integrated Access and Backhaul for NR for improved throughput and multi-RAT coexistence.
Regarding Claim 11, Kim teaches claim 7.
Yet, Kim does not expressly teach wherein the apparatus is in a new radio dual connectivity (NR DC) mode in an F1 interface control plane and F1 interface user plane split scenario; a secondary node (SN) is an F1 interface terminating donor node of the apparatus; a master node (MN) is a non-F1 interface terminating node of the apparatus;
However, in the analogous art, Yang explicitly discloses wherein the apparatus is in a new radio dual connectivity (NR DC) mode in an F1 interface control plane and F1 interface user plane split scenario; ([0125] For example, when the MN generates the first RRC reconfiguration message, there is no need to introduce a new information element, first indication information non-F1-terminating, into the first RRC reconfiguration message, and the IAB node receives the first RRC reconfiguration message via SRB1. As it does not contain the first indication information, i.e. the IAB node does not receive the first indication information, the IAB node determines that at least one IP address configuration carried by the first RRC reconfiguration message is the IP address information of the F1-terminating topology domain. (III) For Dual-Connectivity Scenario 2)
a secondary node (SN) is an F1 interface terminating donor node of the apparatus; ([0126] In some embodiments, FIG. 13 is a schematic diagram of dual-connectivity scenario 2. As shown in FIG. 13, in dual-connectivity scenario 2, the first IAB-donor (F1-terminating donor) is a secondary node SN of the IAB node, and the second IAB-donor (non-F1-terminating donor) is a master node MN of the IAB node.)
a master node (MN) is a non-F1 interface terminating node of the apparatus; ([0126] In some embodiments, FIG. 13 is a schematic diagram of dual-connectivity scenario 2. As shown in FIG. 13, in dual-connectivity scenario 2, the first IAB-donor (F1-terminating donor) is a secondary node SN of the IAB node, and the second IAB-donor (non-F1-terminating donor) is a master node MN of the IAB node.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Kim’s Method and apparatus for handover of wireless backhaul node, which minimizes data downtime in next-generation mobile communication system to include Yang's F1 and non-F1 interface for improved network security and multi-vendor interoperability.
Yet, Kim in view of Yang does not expressly teach the reconfiguration message indicates the apparatus to perform a multi-radio access technology (multi-RAT) dual connectivity (MR DC) release process; and before the releasing the BAP entity of the apparatus based on the reconfiguration message, the operations further comprise: releasing a BAP configuration associated with a secondary cell group (SCG), wherein the BAP configuration associated with the SCG is a unique successfully configured BAP configuration that only exists on the apparatus.
However, in the analogous art, Ericsson explicitly discloses the reconfiguration message indicates the apparatus to perform a multi-radio access technology (multi-RAT) dual connectivity (MR DC) release process; and (Sections of R0741 discloses reconfiguration message with multi-RAT and MR-DC. Section 5.3.5.3 … 1> if the RRCReconfiguration includes the mrdc-SecondaryCellGroupConfig: 2> if the mrdc SecondaryCellGroupConfig is set to setup: 3> if the mrdc-SecondaryCellGroupConfig includes mrdc-ReleaseAndAdd: 4> perform MR-DC release as specified in section 5.3.5.10; ... )
before the releasing the BAP entity of the apparatus based on the reconfiguration message, the operations further comprise: (Sections of R0741 discloses reconfiguration message with BAP. Section 5.3.5.3 … 1>if the RRCReconfiguration message includes the bap-Config: 2> perform the BAP configuration procedure as specified in 5.3.5.X; … )
releasing a BAP configuration associated with a secondary cell group (SCG), wherein the BAP configuration associated with the SCG is a unique successfully configured BAP configuration that only exists on the apparatus (Section 5.3.5.X … 1> if the bap-config is set to release: 2> release the BAP entity at the IAB-MT as specified in [x]. …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Kim’s Method and apparatus for handover of wireless backhaul node, which minimizes data downtime in next-generation mobile communication system to include Ericsson's dual connectivity and multi-RAT Integrated Access and Backhaul for NR for improved throughput and multi-RAT coexistence.
Regarding Claim 17, Kim teaches claim 13.
Yet, Kim does not expressly teach whereinthe apparatus is in a new radio dual connectivity (NR DC) mode in an F1 interface control plane and F1 interface user plane split scenario; a secondary node (SN) is an F1 interface terminating donor node of the apparatus; a master node (MN) is a non-Fl interface terminating node of the apparatus;
However, in the analogous art, Yang explicitly discloses wherein the apparatus is in a new radio dual connectivity (NR DC) mode in an F1 interface control plane and F1 interface user plane split scenario; ([0125] For example, when the MN generates the first RRC reconfiguration message, there is no need to introduce a new information element, first indication information non-F1-terminating, into the first RRC reconfiguration message, and the IAB node receives the first RRC reconfiguration message via SRB1. As it does not contain the first indication information, i.e. the IAB node does not receive the first indication information, the IAB node determines that at least one IP address configuration carried by the first RRC reconfiguration message is the IP address information of the F1-terminating topology domain. (III) For Dual-Connectivity Scenario 2)
a secondary node (SN) is an F1 interface terminating donor node of the apparatus; ([0126] In some embodiments, FIG. 13 is a schematic diagram of dual-connectivity scenario 2. As shown in FIG. 13, in dual-connectivity scenario 2, the first IAB-donor (F1-terminating donor) is a secondary node SN of the IAB node, and the second IAB-donor (non-F1-terminating donor) is a master node MN of the IAB node.)
a master node (MN) is a non-Fl interface terminating node of the apparatus; ([0126] In some embodiments, FIG. 13 is a schematic diagram of dual-connectivity scenario 2. As shown in FIG. 13, in dual-connectivity scenario 2, the first IAB-donor (F1-terminating donor) is a secondary node SN of the IAB node, and the second IAB-donor (non-F1-terminating donor) is a master node MN of the IAB node.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Kim’s Method and apparatus for handover of wireless backhaul node, which minimizes data downtime in next-generation mobile communication system to include Yang's F1 and non-F1 interface for improved network security and multi-vendor interoperability.
Yet, Kim in view of Yang does not expressly teach the reconfiguration message indicates the apparatus to perform a multi-radio access technology (multi-RAT) dual connectivity (MR DC) release process; and before the releasing the BAP entity of the apparatus based on the reconfiguration message, the operations further comprise: releasing a BAP configuration associated with a secondary cell group (SCG), wherein the BAP configuration associated with the SCG is a unique successfully configured BAP configuration that only exists on the apparatus.
However, in the analogous art, Ericsson explicitly discloses the reconfiguration message indicates the apparatus to perform a multi-radio access technology (multi-RAT) dual connectivity (MR DC) release process; and (Sections of R0741 discloses reconfiguration message with multi-RAT and MR-DC. Section 5.3.5.3 … 1> if the RRCReconfiguration includes the mrdc-SecondaryCellGroupConfig: 2> if the mrdc SecondaryCellGroupConfig is set to setup: 3> if the mrdc-SecondaryCellGroupConfig includes mrdc-ReleaseAndAdd: 4> perform MR-DC release as specified in section 5.3.5.10; ... )
before the releasing the BAP entity of the apparatus based on the reconfiguration message, the operations further comprise: (Sections of R0741 discloses reconfiguration message with BAP. Section 5.3.5.3 … 1>if the RRCReconfiguration message includes the bap-Config: 2> perform the BAP configuration procedure as specified in 5.3.5.X; … )
releasing a BAP configuration associated with a secondary cell group (SCG), wherein the BAP configuration associated with the SCG is a unique successfully configured BAP configuration that only exists on the apparatus (Section 5.3.5.X … 1> if the bap-config is set to release: 2> release the BAP entity at the IAB-MT as specified in [x]. …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Kim’s Method and apparatus for handover of wireless backhaul node, which minimizes data downtime in next-generation mobile communication system to include Ericsson's dual connectivity and multi-RAT Integrated Access and Backhaul for NR for improved throughput and multi-RAT coexistence.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This includes:
U.S. PGPUB 2022/0022276 which describes method and apparatus for selecting bandwidth part (BWP) for subsequent transmission in pre-configured resources based small data transmission (SDT) in a wireless communication system
U.S. PGPUB 2024/0205727 which describes methods, radio network nodes for handling communication
/A.L.O./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472