DETAILED ACTION
The IDS document submitted on 10/21/2024 has been received and considered by the Examiner.
Priority to PCT application CN2022/089012, dated 04/25/2022, is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: it mentions “the last symbol occupied by the first PUCC”. Presumably this was intended to read “the first PUCCH”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8-13, 15-16, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Svedman et al. (US 2024/0172245 A1, hereinafter “Svedman”).
As to Claims 1, 11, and 20:
Svedman describes a method to indicate a new TCI state using a DCI or MAC-CE.
Specifically, Svedman teaches:
Receiving, by a terminal device, first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) information, wherein the first TCI information is used to determine a first TCI state, or the first TCI information is used to determine a second TCI state and a third TCI state
Svedman describes two scenarios, where “[i]n the first case, a single TCI is activated” by “a MAC CE”, and “[i]n the second case, multiple TCIs are activated by a MAC CE” (Svedman, 0169-0170).
Here, “a MAC CE” corresponds to “first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) information”,
“TCI is activated” corresponds to “the first information is used to determine a first TCI state” and
“multiple TCIs are activated” corresponds to “the first TCI information is used to determine a second TCI state and a third TCI state”.
Transmitting, by the terminal device, a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) at a first time domain position, wherein the first PUCCH carries hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback information associated with the first TCI information
Svedman outlines a “TCI activation timeline” that includes “(1) the time the UE receives the PDSCH carrying the activation MAC CE ... (2) the time the UE would transmit the PUCCH with HARQ-ACK information corresponding to the PDSCH carrying the activation MAC CE ... (3) the time the UE has successfully decoded the PDSCH carrying the activation MAC CE” (Svedman, 0153-0156).
Here, “UE would transmit the PUCCH with HARQ-ACK information” corresponds to “transmitting, by the terminal device, a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) at a first time domain position, wherein the first PUCCH carries hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback information associated with the first TCI information”, and
“the activation MAC CE” corresponds to “the first TCI information”.
In a case where the first TCI information is used to determine the first TCI state, determining, by the terminal device, whether to apply the first TCI state to transmit a first channel or signal after a second time domain position
Svedman describes a “TCI activation timeline, e.g., when a TCI included in a TC activation MAC CE actually is activated”, later clarifying that “[i]n the first case, a single TCI is activated” (Svedman, 0152, 0169).
Here, “activation MAC CE” corresponds to “the first activation information”,
“a single TCI is activated” corresponds to “the first TCI information is used to determine the first TCI state”, and
the “TCI activation timeline” corresponds to “determining, by the terminal device, whether to apply the first TCI state to transmit a first channel or signal after a second time domain position”.
In a case where the first TCI information is used to determine the second TCI state and the third TCI state, determining, by the terminal device, whether to apply the second TCI state to transmit a first channel or signal after a third time domain position, and whether to apply the third TCI state to transmit the first channel or signal after a fourth time domain position
Svedman also describes a “second case” where “multiple TCIs are activated by a MAC CE”, later clarifying that “[i]n some cases, a default DL TCI is applied at a different time than a default UL TCI, e.g., since the corresponding TCIs have different activation times” (Svedman, 0170, 0188).
The second time domain position is a starting position of a first time unit, and the first time unit is first one time unit after a first time interval after a last symbol occupied by the first PUCCH; the third time domain position is a starting position of a second time unit, and the second time unit is first one time unit after a second time interval after the last symbol occupied by the first PUCCH; and the fourth time domain position is a starting position of a third time unit, and the third time unit is first one time unit after a third time interval after the last symbol occupied by the first PUCCH
Svedman outlines a “TCI activation timeline” that includes “(1) the time the UE receives the PDSCH carrying the activation MAC CE ... (2) the time the UE would transmit the PUCCH with HARQ-ACK information corresponding to the PDSCH carrying the activation MAC CE ... (3) the time the UE has successfully decoded the PDSCH carrying the activation MAC CE” (Svedman, 0153-0156).
Svedman also states that “a TCI is applied as a default TCI upon its own activation time, regardless of the activation times of other TC states activated by the same MAC CE command” (Svedman, 0177).
Here, the “activation time” of one TCI state maps to “the second time domain position”,
the fact that “decod[ing] the PDSCH” occurs after “transmit[ting] the PUCCH” maps to “the second time domain position is a starting position of a first time unit, and the first time unit is first one time unit after a first time interval after a last symbol occupied by the first PUCCH”,
the “activation time” of another TCI state (that similarly occurs after receiving the “PUCCH with HARQ-ACK information”) maps to “the third time domain position”, and
“the activation time” of yet another TCI state maps to “the fourth time domain position”.
Claim 11 describes the same subject matter as Claim 1 in the form of an apparatus claim from the perspective of the network device that additionally requires:
A network device, comprising: a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, the processor is configured to invoke and execute the computer program stored in the memory, to cause the network device to perform
Svedman describes a “next generation Node B (gNB)” that “may store instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the apparatus to perform one or more operations” (Svedman, 0008).
Claim 20 describes the same subject matter as Claim 1 in the form of an apparatus claim that additionally requires:
A terminal device, comprising: a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, the processor is configured to invoke and execute the computer program stored in the memory, to cause the terminal device to perform
Svedman describes a “use equipment (UE)” that “may store instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the apparatus to perform one or more operations” (Svedman, 0008).
As to Claims 2 and 12:
Svedman teaches:
In the case where the first TCI information is used to determine the first TCI state, the first TCI state is a joint TCI state, or the first TCI state is an uplink TCI state, or the first TCI state is a downlink TCI state
Svedman teaches that in “the first case” where “a single TCI is activated”, the TCI may be a “joint TC”, “DL TCI”, or “UL TCI” (SVedman, 0169).
Here, “a single TCI is activated” maps to “in the case where the first information is used to determine the first TCI state”,
“joint TC” corresponds to “the first TCI state is a joint TCI state”,
“UL TCI” corresponds to “the first TCI state is an uplink TCI state”, and
“DL TCI” corresponds to “the first TCI state is a downlink TCI state”.
Claim 12 describes the same subject matter as Claim 2 in the form of an apparatus claim from the perspective of the network device
As to Claims 3 and 13:
Svedman teaches:
In a case where the first TCI state is an uplink TCI state, the first TCI information is further used to determine a downlink TCI state; or
In a case where the first TCI state is the downlink TCI state, the first TCI information is further used to determine an uplink TCI state
Svedman teaches that “one or more TCI may be determined or derived from a TCI state. For example, a DL TCI and an UL TCI may be determined from a TCI state” (Svedman, 0076).
Claim 13 describes the same subject matter as Claim 3 in the form of an apparatus claim from the perspective of the network device
As to Claims 5 and 15:
Svedman teaches:
In the case where the first TCI information is used to determine the second TCI state and the third TCI state, the second time interval is associated with a first spatial parameter, and the third time interval is associated with a second spatial parameter
Svedman teaches that for “M and/or N TCI(s)”, “UL TCI(s) provide common QCL information (or reference) for determining UL TX spatial filter” (Svedman, 0081-0082).
Claim 15 describes the same subject matter as Claim 5 in the form of an apparatus claim from the perspective of the network device.
As to Claims 6 and 16:
From the list of:
The second TCI state and the third TCI state are two uplink TCI states, and the second TCI state and the third TCI state are respectively applied to different transmission layers of an uplink channel, or the second TCI state and the third TCI state are respectively applied to different repetition transmissions of an uplink channel; or
The second TCI state and the third TCI state are two downlink TCI states, and the second TCI state and the third TCI state are respectively applied to different transmission layers of a downlink channel, or the second TCI state and the third TCI state are respectively applied to different repetition transmissions of a downlink channel; or
The second TCI state and the third TCI state are two joint TCI states, and the second TCI state and the third TCI state are respectively applied to different transmission layers of an uplink channel and/or a downlink channel, or the second TCI state and the third TCI state are respectively applied to different repetition transmissions of an uplink channel and/or a downlink channel
Svedman at least teaches:
The second TCI state and the third TCI state are two uplink TCI states, and the second TCI state and the third TCI state are respectively applied to different transmission layers of an uplink channel, or the second TCI state and the third TCI state are respectively applied to different repetition transmissions of an uplink channel
Svedman states that “PUCCH transmission using multiple UL TCIs may comprise repetition in time with different repetitions using different TCIs” (Svedman, 0111).
This corresponds to “the second TCI state and the third TCI state are respectively applied to different repetition transmissions of an uplink channel” from the list of “the second TCI state and the third TCI state are respectively applied to different transmission layers of an uplink channel, or the second TCI state and the third TCI state are respectively applied to different repetition transmissions of an uplink channel”.
Claim 16 describes the same subject matter as Claim 6 in the form of an apparatus claim from the perspective of the network device.
As to Claims 8 and 18:
From the list of:
The first TCI information is carried by downlink control information (DCI), or the first TCI information is carried by a media access control layer control element (MAC CE); and
In a case where the first TCI information is carried by the DCI, the first time interval is
Y
1
time units; or, in a case where the first TCI information is carried by the MAC CE, the first time interval is an effective time of the MAC CE; or
The second time interval is
Y
2
time units, and/or the third time interval is
Y
3
time units;
Wherein
Y
1
,
Y
2
and
Y
3
are all positive integers
Svedman at least teaches:
The first TCI information is carried by a media access control layer control element (MAC CE)
Svedman describes “TCIs” that are “activated by the same MAC CE” (Svedman, 0189).
In a case where the first TCI information is carried by the MAC CE, the first time interval is an effective time of the MAC CE
Svedman describes the “activation time” of the MAC CE that activates multiple TCI states (Svedman, 0189).
Claim 18 describes the same subject matter as Claim 8 in the form of an apparatus claim from the perspective of the network device.
As to Claims 9 and 19:
Svedman does not need to teach:
Y1 is agreed by a protocol, or Y1 is configured by a network device according to a minimum beam application time supported by the terminal device; or
Y2 and Y3 are agreed by a protocol, or Y2 and Y3 are configured by the network device according to a minimum beam application time supported by the terminal device
These limitations apply to the DCI mentioned in Claim 8 which is only one of two possible options along with the MAC CE taught in Svedman.
Claim 19 describes the same subject matter as Claim 9 in the form of an apparatus claim from the perspective of the network device.
As to Claim 10:
Svedman teaches:
The time unit comprises at least one of: a slot, a symbol, a frame, or a subframe
Svedman describes the “TCI activation timeline” as “relative to ... the slot in which the PDSCH was received” and “the slot in which it [the PDSCH] would be transmitted” (Svedman, 0153-0156).
Here, a “slot” corresponds to “a slot” from the list of “at least one of: a slot, a symbol, a frame, or a subframe”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 7, 14, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Svedman (US 2024/0172245 A1) in view of Moon et al. (US 2023/0336232 A1, hereinafter “Moon”).
As to Claims 4 and 14:
Svedman does not explicitly disclose:
If a starting position of a first transmission of m transmissions of the first channel or signal is located before the second time domain position, determining, by the terminal device, that second TCI information is applied to all the m transmissions of the first channel or signal
The second TCI information is TCI information applied by the terminal device before the second time domain position, and m is a positive integer
However, Moon does describe configuring unified TCI states via DCI.
Specifically, Moon teaches:
If a starting position of a first transmission of m transmissions of the first channel or signal is located before the second time domain position, determining, by the terminal device, that second TCI information is applied to all the m transmissions of the first channel or signal
Moon states that “when a first signal [is] before an application time of the indicated unified TCI and a second signal after the application time are associated with each other according to a predetermined reason (e.g., repeated transmission) ... the previous TCI may be applied to the second signal ... in the corresponding period” and “[i]n addition, the previous TCI may be applied to the first signal” (Moon, 0118).
Here, “a first signal [is] before an application time” maps to “if a starting position of a first transmission of m transmissions of the first channel or signal is located before the second time domain position”, and
“the previous TCI may be applied to the second signal” for “repeated transmission” maps to “determining, by the terminal device, that second TCI information is applied to all the m transmissions of the first channel or signal”.
The second TCI information is TCI information applied by the terminal device before the second time domain position, and m is a positive integer
Moon states that “when a first signal [is] before an application time of the indicated unified TCI and a second signal after the application time are associated with each other according to a predetermined reason (e.g., repeated transmission) ... the previous TCI may be applied to the second signal ... in the corresponding period” and “[i]n addition, the previous TCI may be applied to the first signal” (Moon, 0118).
Here, “the previous TCI” that is “applied to the first signal” which is “before an application time of the unified TCI” maps to “the second TCI information is TCI information applied by the terminal device before the second time domain position”, and
“repeated transmission” maps to “m is a positive integer”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Moon’s solution for disambiguating which TCI should apply to repeated transmissions that begin before the TCI state activation time into Svedman’s method for configuring unified TCI states. Svedman also considers applying multiple possible TCI states to repeated transmission (see, for example, Svedman 0109), and Moon provides a simple solution to streamline this scenario.
Claim 14 describes the same subject matter as Claim 4 in the form of an apparatus claim from the perspective of the network device
As to Claims 7 and 17:
Svedman does not explicitly disclose:
If a first transmission associated with the first spatial parameter in m transmissions of the first channel or signal is before the third time domain position, determining, by the terminal device, that the m transmissions of the first channel or signal all apply second TCI information; or
If a first transmission associated with the second spatial parameter in m transmissions of the first channel or signal is before the fourth time domain position, determining, by the terminal device, that the m transmissions of the first channel or signal all apply second TCI information; wherein
The second TCI information is TCI information applied by the terminal device before an earlier time domain position in the third time domain position and the fourth time domain position in time domain, and m is a positive integer; or
Determining, by the terminal device, to discard a transmission located after the third time domain position and associated with the first spatial parameter in m transmissions of the first channel or signal, and to discard a transmission located after the fourth time domain position and associated with the second sptial parameter in the m transmissions of the first channel or signal; wherein
M is a positive integer
However, from this list, Moon at least teaches:
If a first transmission associated with the first spatial parameter in m transmissions of the first channel or signal is before the third time domain position, determining, by the terminal device, that the m transmissions of the first channel or signal all apply second TCI information
Moon states that “when a first signal [is] before an application time of the indicated unified TCI and a second signal after the application time are associated with each other according to a predetermined reason (e.g., repeated transmission) ... the previous TCI may be applied to the second signal ... in the corresponding period” and “[i]n addition, the previous TCI may be applied to the first signal” (Moon, 0118).
Moon also teaches earlier that “the TCI may be used in the meaning of ... a type D QCL” (Moon, 0091).
Here, “when a first signal [is] before an application time” for TCI that includes “a type D QCL” corresponds to “[i]f a first transmission associated with the first spatial parameter in m transmissions of the first channel or signal is before the third time domain position”, and
“the previous TCI may be applied to the first signal” maps to “determining, by the terminal device, that the m transmissions of the first channel or signal all apply second TCI information”.
If a first transmission associated with the second spatial parameter in m transmissions of the first channel or signal is before the fourth time domain position, determining, by the terminal device, that the m transmissions of the first channel or signal all apply second TCI information
Moon states that “when a first signal [is] before an application time of the indicated unified TCI and a second signal after the application time are associated with each other according to a predetermined reason (e.g., repeated transmission) ... the previous TCI may be applied to the second signal ... in the corresponding period” and “[i]n addition, the previous TCI may be applied to the first signal” (Moon, 0118).
Moon also teaches earlier that “the TCI may be used in the meaning of ... a type D QCL” (Moon, 0091).
Here, “when a first signal [is] before an application time” for TCI that includes “a type D QCL” corresponds to “[i]f a first transmission associated with the second spatial parameter in m transmissions of the first channel or signal is before the fourth time domain position”, and
“the previous TCI may be applied to the first signal” maps to “determining, by the terminal device, that the m transmissions of the first channel or signal all apply second TCI information”.
The second TCI information is TCI information applied by the terminal device before an earlier time domain position in the third time domain position and the fourth time domain position in time domain, and m is a positive integer
Moon states that “when a first signal [is] before an application time of the indicated unified TCI and a second signal after the application time are associated with each other according to a predetermined reason (e.g., repeated transmission) ... the previous TCI may be applied to the second signal ... in the corresponding period” and “[i]n addition, the previous TCI may be applied to the first signal” (Moon, 0118).
Here, “previous TCI” corresponds to “the second TCI information is TCI information applied by the terminal device before an earlier time domain position in the third time domain position and the fourth time domain position in time domain”, and
“repeated transmission” corresponds to “m is a positive integer”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Moon’s solution for disambiguating which TCI should apply to repeated transmissions that begin before the TCI state activation time into Svedman’s method for configuring unified TCI states. Svedman also considers applying multiple possible TCI states to repeated transmission (see, for example, Svedman 0109), and Moon provides a simple solution to streamline this scenario.
Claim 17 describes the same subject matter as Claim 7 in the form of an apparatus claim from the perspective of the network device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zhou et al. (US 12,598,624 B2) describes configuring a UE with a unified TCI state via DCI.
BENJAMIN PETER WELTE
Examiner
Art Unit 2477
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477