DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicants’ election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 4 August 2026 is acknowledged. Claim 11 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lautenschlager, U.S. 5,632,064.
Regarding claim 1, Lautenschlager discloses a holding device (a hinge for a hanging door; col. 1, lines 3-15) having an upper part (fig 1, portion 52; col. 6, lines 45-53), and a lower part (fig 1, supporting arm 22; col. 6, lines 16-26); wherein the upper part (portion 52) is an inboard attachment (eye 54) configured to be connected to an overhead bin structure (a cabinet structure), wherein the lower part (arm 22) is an inboard fitting configured to be connected to the movable class divider (a moveable door structure), wherein the inboard attachment (eye 54) comprises a block part (fig 1 joint bearing component 44; col. 6, lines 37-44) and a connection protrusion (protrusion of joint bearing component 44) with a first bore (bores of attachment portion 54 requires a hinge pin) and the inboard fitting comprises a cutout (space between limbs 30; col. 6, lines 17-26) with a second bore (fig 1, bores 34; col. 6, lines 17-26), the cutout being defined by two lateral faces (outer sides of limbs opposite the portion 52) and one middle face (inner sides of the limbs facing the portion 52), wherein the cutout is configured to receive the connection protrusion (protrusion of joint bearing component 44) such that the first bore (bore of 54) and the second bore (bores 34) are aligned to form a secured position (col. 6, lines 45-53), and wherein a locking element (a hinge pin) provided configured to releasably fix the inboard fitting (portion 52) to the inboard attachment (part of the supporting arm) in the secured position by extending through the first bore (bore of 54) and the second bore (bores of 34).
As to claim 2, the reference discloses the connection protrusion (protrusion of joint 44) and at least one of the two lateral faces (outer sides of limbs 30) and the middle face (inner sides of limbs 30) are contactless to (col. 6, lines 45-51; the area is separated by a bushing) each other in the secured position.
As to claim 3, the reference discloses the connection protrusion (protrusion of joint 44) and the two lateral faces (outer sides of limbs 30) are contactless (col. 6, lines 45-51; the area is separated by a bushing) to each other in the secured position.
As to claim 4, the reference discloses the connection protrusion (protrusion of joint 44) and the middle face (inner sides of limbs 30) are contactless (col. 6, lines 45-51; the area is separated by a bushing) to each other in the secured position.
As to claim 5, the reference discloses the inboard attachment (eye 54) is configured to be permanently fixedly connected to a fingertip rail (fig 1, wall 14 or door 12) of the overhead bin structure (a cabinet structure).
As to claim 6, the reference discloses the locking element is a connection pin (a hinge pin) which is spring-loaded (col. 6, lines 54-58).
As to claim 7, the reference discloses the upper part (portion 52) is the inboard fitting (an integral part of the hinge at supporting arm 22) configured to be permanently fixedly connected to the overhead bin structure, and wherein the lower part (supporting arm 22 as part of the hinge for the portion 52) is the inboard attachment configured to be permanently fixedly connected to the movable class divider.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
19 August 2026
/KENNETH L THOMPSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3676