DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in response to the current action filed on 12/18/2025.
As stated in the Response to Restriction Requirement dated 12/18/2025, Claims 1-10 were elected without traverse, are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/21/2024 was filed before the mailing date of the first action on the merit. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Foreign Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2023-182240, filed on 10/24/2023.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to for stating “the processing circuitry is configured to…and acquires”. It should state “and acquire”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 is objected to for stating “to cause the display to display the piece of reference data and the image side by side on the display” which is redundant. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 USC § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis:
Independent Claim 1 is within the four statutory categories. Claim 1 is drawn to an apparatus (i.e. a machine), and dependent Claims 2-10 are further directed to an apparatus and therefore also fall into one of the four statutory categories.
Step 2A Analysis – Prong One:
Claim 1, which is indicative of the inventive concept, recites the following:
A medical information processing apparatus comprising: a display; and processing circuitry configured to identify a scene in a medical treatment performed on a patient as an identified scene,
calculate attribute information relating to an attribute of the identified scene,
search a medical database to acquire a piece of reference data that matches the identified scene based on the attribute information,
wherein medical data generated in the past is accumulated in the medical database,
and cause the display to display the piece of the reference data.
The limitations as shown in underline above, given the broadest reasonable interpretation, recite the abstract idea of certain methods of organizing human activity because they recite managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (i.e. social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions – in this case, identifying a scene in a medical treatment, calculating attribute information, searching a database to acquire reference data, and displaying the piece of reference data), e.g. see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2). Any limitations not identified above as part of the abstract idea are deemed “additional elements” and will be discussed in further detail below.
Dependent Claims 2-10 include other limitations directed to the abstract idea. For example, Claim 2 recites the medical data comprises medical treatment information data which is associated with a scene, and ancillary information data which is information associated with the medical treatment information data. Claim 3 recites searching the ancillary information and acquiring a piece of medical treatment information that corresponds to a piece of ancillary information that matches the attribute information as the reference data. Claim 4 recites in the medical database, the medical treatment and a plurality of scenes included in the medical treatment are associated with each other. Claim 5 recites the medical database stores proficiency information as the ancillary information data, and the proficiency information relates to a degree of proficiency of a medical technician. Claim 6 recites acquiring the piece of the reference data that matches the identified scene using the proficiency information included in the ancillary information data. Claim 7 recites the medical database comprises a favorable prognosis score as the ancillary information data, wherein the favorable prognosis score indicates a favorable prognosis tendency after the medical treatment is performed. Claim 8 recites acquiring the piece of the reference data that matches the identified scene using the favorable prognosis score included in the ancillary information data. Claim 9 recites identifying the identified scene based on an image of the medical treatment performed on the patient. Claim 10 recites displaying the piece of the reference data and the image. These limitations only serve to further narrow the abstract idea, and a claim may not preempt abstract ideas, even if the judicial exception is narrow, e.g., see MPEP 2106.04. Additionally, any limitations in the dependent claims not addressed above are deemed additional elements to the abstract idea and will be further addressed below. Hence dependent Claims 2-10 are nonetheless directed towards fundamentally the same abstract idea as independent Claim 1.
Step 2A Analysis – Prong Two:
Claim 1 is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements (i.e. the non-underlined limitations above – in this case, the display and processing circuitry of Claim 1) are recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a generic processor performing generic computer functions) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components. For example, Applicant’s specification explains that the processing circuitry 15 is calculation circuitry configured to perform various kinds of calculations, and includes a processor such as a CPU or a GPU (Applicant’s specification, ¶ 0022). The display 10 displays various kinds of information. For example, the display 10 displays a test result of a patient’s sample acquired by the medical information processing apparatus 6, the medical information of the patient generated by the medical information processing apparatus 6, or a graphical user interface (GUI) for receiving various instructions from the user [0013]. Accordingly, these additional elements, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the idea. Therefore, Claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea without practical application.
Dependent Claims 3, 6, and 8-10 recite other additional elements, but these limitations amount to no more than mere instructions to apply an exception. Claim 3 recites the previously recited processing circuitry and specifies the processing circuitry searches through the ancillary information data in the medical database based on the attribute information, and acquires a piece of the medical treatment information data corresponding to a piece of the ancillary information data that matches the attribute information as the reference data. Claim 6 recites the processing circuitry and specifies the processing circuitry acquires the piece of the reference data that matches the identified scene using the proficiency information included in the ancillary information data. Claim 8 recites the processing circuitry and specifies the processing circuitry acquires the piece of the reference data that matches the identified scene using the favorable prognosis score included in the ancillary information data. Claim 9 recites the processing circuitry and specifies the processing circuitry identifies the identified scene based on an image of the medical treatment performed on the patient. Claim 10 recites the previously recited processing circuitry and display and specifies the processing circuitry causes the display to display the piece of reference data and the image side by side. These additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply an exception, and hence also do not integrate the aforementioned abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B Analysis:
The claims, whether considered individually or in combination, do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of the processing circuitry and the display of Claim 1 amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept (“significantly more”). MPEP2106.05(I)(A) indicates that merely stating “apply it” or equivalent to the abstract idea cannot provide an inventive concept (“significantly more”). Accordingly, even in combination, this additional element does not provide significantly more. As such the independent Claim 1 is not patent eligible.
Dependent Claims 2, 4, 5, and 7 do not recite any additional elements and serve to only narrow the abstract idea. Claim 2 recites the medical data comprises medical treatment information data which is associated with a scene, and ancillary information data which is information associated with the medical treatment information data. Claim 4 recites in the medical database, the medical treatment and a plurality of scenes included in the medical treatment are associated with each other. Claim 5 recites the medical database stores proficiency information as the ancillary information data, and the proficiency information relates to a degree of proficiency of a medical technician. Claim 7 recites the medical database comprises a favorable prognosis score as the ancillary information data, wherein the favorable prognosis score indicates a favorable prognosis tendency after the medical treatment is performed.
Dependent Claims 3, 6, and 8-10 recite previously recited additional elements, which are not eligible for the reasons stated above, and further narrow the abstract idea. Claim 3 recites the previously recited processing circuitry and specifies the processing circuitry searches through the ancillary information data in the medical database based on the attribute information, and acquires a piece of the medical treatment information data corresponding to a piece of the ancillary information data that matches the attribute information as the reference data. Claim 6 recites the processing circuitry and specifies the processing circuitry acquires the piece of the reference data that matches the identified scene using the proficiency information included in the ancillary information data. Claim 8 recites the processing circuitry and specifies the processing circuitry acquires the piece of the reference data that matches the identified scene using the favorable prognosis score included in the ancillary information data. Claim 9 recites the processing circuitry and specifies the processing circuitry identifies the identified scene based on an image of the medical treatment performed on the patient. Claim 10 recites the previously recited processing circuitry and display and specifies the processing circuitry causes the display to display the piece of reference data and the image side by side. Hence, Claims 1-10 do not include any additional elements that amount to “significantly more” than the judicial exception.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea identified above. Furthermore, looking at the limitations as an ordered combination does not add anything that is already present when looking at the elements taken individually, and there is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of computer or improves any other technology, and their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation.
Therefore, whether taken individually or as an ordered combination, Claims 1-10 are nonetheless rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Oosake et al. (US 20200305698 A1) in view of Kenichi et al. (JP 2015203920 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Oosake discloses the following:
A medical information processing apparatus comprising: a display; and processing circuitry configured to (Oosake discloses an endoscope system 9 shown in FIG. 1 comprises an endoscope 10,… a processor device 12, a display device 13, an image processing device 14, an input device 15, and a monitor device 16. The endoscope system 9 is connected to a storage device 18 through a network 17 so as to perform communication [0074].)
identify a scene in a medical treatment performed on a patient as an identified scene, (Oosake discloses an object of the invention is to provide an image processing device, an endoscope system, an image processing method, and a program capable of automatically differentiating a medical image including a scene of interest and supporting saving of the medical image according to a differentiation result [0012]. The endoscope system 9 shown in FIG. 1 displays, on the display device 13, an endoscope image 38 obtained by imaging a body cavity using the imaging element 28 provided in the distal end part 27 of the endoscope 10. The practitioner can perform inspection, treatment, and the like while confirming the image displayed on the display device 13 [0108].)
calculate attribute information relating to an attribute of the identified scene, (Oosake discloses the image processing device of the first aspect may further comprise a medical image feature quantity extraction unit that extracts a feature quantity from the medical image,…[0019]. In the image processing device of any one aspect of the first aspect to the fourth aspects, the scene-of-interest recognition unit may recognize a scene including a lesion as the scene of interest [0026]. The Examiner interprets the feature quantity being the attribute information as feature quantities are calculated to analyze information.)
…acquire a piece of reference data … (Oosake discloses the image processing device of the first aspect or the second aspect may further comprise a standard image acquisition unit that acquires the standard image,…[0021]. The standard image acquisition unit 42 acquires a standard image candidate 39a to be a candidate of a standard image from among medical images that are managed using a database management system or the like. The standard image is represented by reference numeral 39 and is displayed in FIG. 4 [0150].)
Oosake does not disclose the use of a medical database to find reference data which is met by Kenichi:
search a medical database to acquire a piece of reference data that matches the identified scene based on the attribute information, (Kenichi teaches the similar case search server device 120-1 is a device that executes search processing. The similar case search server device 120-1 includes a feature amount extraction unit 121, a first search unit 122, a second search unit 123, and a medical knowledge information storage unit 124 (p. 3, ¶ 0006). The Examiner interprets the medical knowledge information storage as being a medical database and the similar case data as the reference data.)
wherein medical data generated in the past is accumulated in the medical database, (Kenichi teaches as an attempt to effectively use the accumulation of medical information in such a medical institution, a similar case search that extracts similar cases from past examination texts and examination images stored in the storage and is used as a reference for the current diagnosis is performed. By referring to a past case similar to the case to be diagnosed at the time of diagnosis by a clinician or a specialist, the accuracy of diagnosis can be improved (p. 2, ¶ 0002).)
and cause the display to display the piece of the reference data. (Kenichi teaches the search result display unit 112 displays similar case information (including medical information including the medical action of the similar case and the result of the medical action) for a search user such as a doctor to view the search result. It is a display means (p. 3, ¶ 0005). The Examiner interprets the similar case data as the reference data.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modifying the system for identifying a scene and calculating attribute information relating to an attribute of the scene as disclosed by Oosake to incorporate the reference data coming from a medical database and displayed as taught by Kenichi. This modification would create a system which, by referring to a past case similar to the case at hand, improves the accuracy of medical treatment (see Kenichi, p. 2, ¶ 0002).
Regarding Claim 9, Oosake and Kenichi teach the limitations as seen in the rejection of Claim 1 above. Oosake further discloses the following:
wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to identify the identified scene based on an image of the medical treatment performed on the patient. (Oosake discloses to provide an image processing device, an endoscope system, an image processing method, and a program capable of automatically differentiating a medical image including a scene of interest and supporting saving of the medical image according to a differentiation result [0012]. The endoscope system 9 shown in FIG. 1 displays on the display device 13, an endoscope image 38 obtained by imaging a body cavity using the imaging element 28 provided in the distal end part 27 of the endoscope 10. The practitioner can perform inspection, treatment, and the like while confirming the image displayed on the display device 13 [0108].)
Regarding Claim 10, Oosake and Kenichi teach the limitations as seen in the rejection of Claim 9 above. Oosake further discloses the following:
wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to cause the display to display the piece of the reference data and the image [side by side] on the display. (Oosake discloses Fig. 13 is a configuration diagram of a display screen showing a first example of static image saving notification. FIG. 13 shows an example where the static image 38c saved using the image storage unit 48 is displayed on a display screen of the endoscope image…[0295, Fig. 13].)
Oosake teaches the displaying of the reference data and the image together but not side by side:
Although the display of the reference data and the image is superimposed instead of side by side, this configuration still provides the same improvements of allowing the medical technician to observe and compare the two pieces of image data easily (see Applicant's specification, ¶ 0068). Since the adjustment of the configuration to display images and data/text together or simultaneously is a key factor in allowing for the analysis and comparison of the images, the configuration is a key factor in display setup. The practice of displaying data side-by-side with data or text is well known in displays and would be obvious to try. Therefore, it would have been obvious to try, by one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to incorporate the side-by-side display of images into the system of Oosake since there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions to display images and data/text for analysis simultaneously and one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 2, 3, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Oosake and Kenichi in view of Baldauf-Lenschen et al. (US 20240387041 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Oosake and Kenichi teach the limitations as seen in the rejection of Claim 1 above. Oosake does not disclose the following limitations met by Kenichi:
wherein the medical data accumulated in the medical database comprises: medical treatment information data of the patient, (Kenichi teaches the second search unit 123 performs processing for acquiring treatment information that is included in medical information and is a type of medical information by search (p. 4, ¶ 0001).)
wherein the medical treatment information data is associated with each scene; (Kenichi teaches the search result display unit 112 displays information on the search result case obtained as a result of the search in steps S203 and S204 (the treatment including the treatment result of the search result case and the treatment result in the treatment action) (p. 6, ¶ 0003).)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modifying the system for identifying a scene and calculating attribute information relating to an attribute of the scene as disclosed by Oosake to incorporate the reference data coming from a medical database and displayed as taught by Kenichi. This modification would create a system which, by referring to a past case similar to the case at hand, improves the accuracy of medical treatment (see Kenichi, p. 2, ¶ 0002).
Oosake and Kenichi do not teach the use of ancillary data which is met by Baldauf-Lenschen:
and ancillary information data, which is information associated with the medical… data. (Baldauf-Lenschen teaches medical data metadata 610… can be mapped to, and/or can otherwise indicate model-generated prognosis data 635, which can include one or more medical outcome prognosis scores 636, each corresponding to a predicted score (e.g. a computed probability value between 0 and 1; a corresponding predicted continuous value corresponding to a predicted measurement; a corresponding predicted category of a set of two or more categories; a predicted outcome for the medical outcome; etc.) associated with a corresponding medical outcome type 637 (e.g. a corresponding type of measurement and/or determination),…[0229]. The Examiner interprets the prognosis score as the ancillary data.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modifying the system for identifying a scene and calculating attribute information relating to an attribute of the scene as disclosed by Oosake to incorporate the use of ancillary data as taught by Baldauf-Lenschen. This modification would create a system capable of improving the technology of treatments/products/scientific fields being studied (see Baldauf-Lenschen, ¶ 0389).
Regarding Claim 3, Oosake and Kenichi teach the limitations as seen in the rejection of Claim 2 above. Oosake further discloses:
a piece of the medical treatment information data corresponding to a piece of the…information data that matches the attribute information as the reference data. (Oosake discloses the image processing device of the first aspect may further comprise a medical image feature quantity extraction unit that extracts a feature quantity from the medical image,…[0019]. In the image processing device of any one aspect of the first aspect to the fourth aspects, the scene-of-interest recognition unit may recognize a scene including a lesion as the scene of interest [0026]. The Examiner interprets the feature quantity being the attribute information as feature quantities are calculated to analyze information.)
the processing circuitry is further configured to, when acquiring the piece of the reference data, (Oosake discloses the image processing device of the first aspect or the second aspect may further comprise a standard image acquisition unit that acquires the standard image,…[0021]. The standard image candidate acquisition unit 42 acquires a standard image candidate 39a to be a candidate of a standard image from among medical images that are managed using a database management system or the like. The standard image is represented by reference numeral 39 and is displayed in FIG. 4 [0150].)
Oosake does not teach the following limitation met by Kenichi:
…search through…information data in the medical database based on the attribute information, (Kenichi teaches the similar case search server device 120-1 is a device that executes search processing. The similar case search server device 120-1 includes a feature amount extraction unit 121, a first search unit 122, a second search unit 123, and a medical knowledge information storage unit 124 (p. 3, ¶ 0006). The Examiner interprets the medical knowledge information storage as being a medical database and the similar case data as the reference data.)
and acquires a piece of the medical treatment information data corresponding to a piece of the…information data that matches the attribute information as the reference data (Kenichi teaches processing for acquiring medical information including a medical practice and a result of the medical practice from the search result cases obtained as a result of the search by the first search unit 122 by searching. The medical information obtained as a result of the search by the second search unit 123 is information for supporting the planning of a treatment plan by a doctor or the like (p. 3, ¶ 0009).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modifying the system for identifying a scene and calculating attribute information relating to an attribute of the scene as disclosed by Oosake to incorporate the reference data coming from a medical database as taught by Kenichi. This modification would create a system which, by referring to a past case similar to the case at hand, improves the accuracy of medical treatment (see Kenichi, p. 2, ¶ 0002).
Oosake and Kenichi do not teach the following limitation met by Baldauf-Lenschen:
…the ancillary information data…based on the attribute information,… corresponding to a piece of the ancillary information data (Baldauf-Lenschen teaches medical data metadata 610…can be mapped to, and/or can otherwise indicate model-generated prognosis data 635, which can include one or more medical outcome prognosis scores…[0029].)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modifying the system for identifying a scene and calculating attribute information relating to an attribute of the scene as disclosed by Oosake to incorporate the use of ancillary data as taught by Baldauf-Lenschen. This modification would create a system capable of improving the technology of treatments/products/scientific fields being studied (see Baldauf-Lenschen, ¶ 0389).
Regarding Claim 7, Oosake, Kenichi, and Baldauf-Lenschen teach the limitations as seen in the rejection of Claim 2 above. Oosake and Kenichi do not teach the following limitations met by Baldauf-Lenschen:
wherein the medical database comprises a favorable prognosis score as the ancillary information data, (Baldauf-Lenschen teaches medical data metadata 610…can be mapped to, and/or can otherwise indicate model-generated prognosis data 635, which can include one or more medical outcome prognosis scores 636, each corresponding to a predicted score (e.g. a computed probability value between 0 and 1; a corresponding predicted continuous value corresponding to a predicted measurement; a corresponding predicted category of a set of two or more categories; a predicted outcome for the medical outcome; etc.) associated with a corresponding medical outcome type 637 (e.g. a corresponding type of measurement and/or determination), …[0229]. The Examiner interprets the prognosis score as the ancillary data.)
wherein the favorable prognosis score indicates a favorable prognosis tendency after the medical treatment is performed. (Baldauf-Lenschen teaches medical outcome prognosis scores 636 of the corresponding medical outcome type 637 for this set of prospective participants; and/or to have this set of prospective participants grouped into at least one control group for the clinical trial and into at least one investigative group (i.e. experimental group and/or treatment group) for the clinical trial, via a randomization algorithm, as a function of these medical outcome prognosis scores 636…[0297].)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modifying the system for identifying a scene and calculating attribute information relating to an attribute of the scene as disclosed by Oosake to incorporate the use of ancillary data as taught by Baldauf-Lenschen. This modification would create a system capable of improving the technology of treatments/products/scientific fields being studied (see Baldauf-Lenschen, ¶ 0389).
Regarding Claim 8, Oosake, Kenichi, and Baldauf-Lenschen teach the limitations as seen in the rejection of Claim 2 above. Oosake does not disclose the following limitations met by Kenichi:
wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to acquire the piece of the reference data that matches the identified scene (Kenichi teaches the similar case search server device 120-1 is a device that executes search processing. The similar case search server device 120-1 includes a feature amount extraction unit 121, a first search unit 122, a second search unit 123, and a medical knowledge information storage unit 124 (p. 3, ¶ 0006). The Examiner interprets the medical knowledge information storage as being a medical database and the similar case data as the reference data.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modifying the system for identifying a scene and calculating attribute information relating to an attribute of the scene as disclosed by Oosake to incorporate the reference data coming from a medical database and displayed as taught by Kenichi. This modification would create a system which, by referring to a past case similar to the case at hand, improves the accuracy of medical treatment (see Kenichi, p. 2, ¶ 0002).
Oosake and Kenichi do not teach the following limitations met by Baldauf-Lenschen:
…using the favorable prognosis score included in the ancillary information data. (Baldauf-Lenschen teaches medical data metadata 610…can be mapped to, and/or can otherwise indicate model-generated prognosis data 635, which can include one or more medical outcome prognosis scores 636, each corresponding to a predicted score …associated with a corresponding medical outcome type 637… [0229]. The Examiner interprets the prognosis score as the ancillary data.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modifying the system for identifying a scene and calculating attribute information relating to an attribute of the scene as disclosed by Oosake to incorporate the use of ancillary data as taught by Baldauf-Lenschen. This modification would create a system capable of improving the technology of treatments/products/scientific fields being studied (see Baldauf-Lenschen, ¶ 0389).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Oosake, Kenichi, and Baldauf-Lenschen in view of Kang et al. (KR 20200105065 A).
Regarding Claim 4, Oosake, Kenichi, and Baldauf-Lenschen teach the limitations as seen in the rejection of Claim 2 above. Oosake, Kenichi, and Baldauf-Lenschen do not teach the following limitations met by Kang:
wherein in the medical database, the medical treatment and a plurality of scenes included in the medical treatment are associated with each other. (Kang teaches the processor 104 associates the medical treatment -related information input through the user terminal 300 with image data and stores it in the memory unit RM (p. 6, ¶ 0003).)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modifying the system for identifying a scene and calculating attribute information relating to an attribute of the scene as disclosed by Oosake to incorporate the medical treatment being associated with the image scenes as taught by Kang. This modification would create a system capable of efficiently managing and utilizing medical image data (see Kang, p. 2, ¶ 0004).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Oosake, Kenichi, and Baldauf-Lenschen in view of Jesneck et al. (US 20240249831 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Oosake, Kenichi, and Baldauf-Lenschen teach the limitations as seen in the rejection of Claim 2 above. Oosake does not disclose the following limitations met by Kenichi:
wherein the medical database stores… (Kenichi teaches the similar case search server device 120-1 is a device that executes search processing. The similar case search server device 120-1 includes a feature amount extraction unit 121,… a medical knowledge information storage unit 124 (p. 3, ¶ 0006). The Examiner interprets the medical knowledge information storage as being a medical database.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modifying the system for identifying a scene and calculating attribute information relating to an attribute of the scene as disclosed by Oosake to incorporate the reference data coming from a medical database as taught by Kenichi. This modification would create a system which, by referring to a past case similar to the case at hand, improves the accuracy of medical treatment (see Kenichi, p. 2, ¶ 0002).
Oosake, Kenichi, and Baldauf-Lenschen do not teach the ancillary data being proficiency information which is met by Jesneck:
…proficiency information as the ancillary information data, (Jesneck teaches FIG. 7A is a pie-chart representation of a distribution of outcome probabilities for multiple component tasks of a procedure, and also shows a related competency score (either for an individual practitioner or for a group of practitioners) for the tasks. FIG. 7B displays an exemplary aggregate competency distribution for the tasks [0090]. The Examiner interprets competency levels as proficiency information.)
wherein the proficiency information relates to a degree of proficiency of a medical technician who performed the medical treatment on the patient. (Jesneck teaches a competency score may be calculated for a single individual, a team, a department, entire hospital, etc. Moreover, a competency score may be calculated for a portion of a task, a whole task, a procedure, a set of procedures, etc. [0079].)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modifying the system for identifying a scene and calculating attribute information relating to an attribute of the scene as disclosed by Oosake to incorporate the ancillary data being proficiency information as taught by Jesneck. This modification would create a system capable of assessing the overall quality and performance of an individual or hospital, particularly in view of outcomes (see Jesneck, ¶ 0003).
Regarding Claim 6, Oosake, Kenichi, and Baldauf-Lenschen teach the limitations as seen in the rejection of Claim 2 above. Oosake further discloses:
wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to acquire the piece of the reference data that matches the identified scene (Oosake discloses the image processing device of the first aspect or the second aspect may further comprise a standard image acquisition unit that acquires the standard image,…[0021]. The standard image candidate acquisition unit 42 acquires a standard image candidate 39a to be a candidate of a standard image from among medical images that are managed using a database management system or the like. The standard image is represented by reference numeral 39 and is displayed in FIG. 4 [0150].)
Oosake, Kenichi, and Baldauf-Lenschen do not disclose the use of proficiency information as the ancillary data which is met by Jesneck:
using the proficiency information included in the ancillary information data. (Jesneck teaches FIG. 7A is a pie-chart representation of a distribution of outcome probabilities for multiple component tasks of a procedure, and also shows a related competency score (either for an individual practitioner or for a group of practitioners) for the tasks. FIG. 7B displays an exemplary aggregate competency distribution for the tasks [0090].)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modifying the system for identifying a scene and calculating attribute information relating to an attribute of the scene as disclosed by Oosake to incorporate the ancillary data being proficiency information as taught by Jesneck. This modification would create a system capable of assessing the overall quality and performance of an individual or hospital, particularly in view of outcomes (see Jesneck, ¶ 0003).
Conclusion
/OLIVIA R. GEDRA/Examiner, Art Unit 3681
/PETER H CHOI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3681