Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi (US 2020/0363578).
Regarding claim 1, Choi teaches a system (Fig. 14-17, [0103-0141]), comprising:
a transmitter (105 in Fig. 15) configured to generate a light beam having a first beam width (the width of the beam from 105 in Fig. 14, [0105, 0109, 0110]) and transmit the light beam along a transmission path (Fig. 14); and
a cascaded waveguide system (the system corresponding to 205 and 215 in Fig. 14, [0104]) comprising a plurality of waveguides (205 and 215 in Fig. 14, [0104]) arranged along the transmission path (Fig. 14), the plurality of waveguides (205 and 215 in Fig. 14, [0104]) including a first waveguide (205 in Fig. 14, [0104]) and a second waveguide (215 in Fig. 14, [0104]),
wherein the first waveguide (205 in Fig. 14, [0104]) comprises a first output structure (605 in Fig. 14, [0104]) and is configured to receive the light beam (Fig. 8) and output a first expanded light beam (the beam output from 605 in Fig. 8) at the first output structure (605 in Fig. 14, [0104]),
wherein the first expanded light beam (the beam output from 605 in Fig. 8) has a second beam width (the width of the beam output from 605 in Fig. 8) greater than ([0105, 0110]) the first beam width (the width of the bean from 105 in Fig. 14, [0105, 0109, 0110]), and
wherein the first expanded light beam (the beam output from 605 in Fig. 8) is output via a first side of the first waveguide (the top side of 205 in Fig. 14) where the first output structure (605 in Fig. 14, [0104]) is configured to be (Fig. 18), and
wherein the second waveguide (215 in Fig. 14, [0104]) comprises a second output structure (615 in Fig. 14),
wherein the second waveguide (215 in Fig. 14, [0104]) is configured to receive, via a first side of the second waveguide (the bottom side of 215 in Fig. 14), the first expanded light beam (the beam output from 605 in Fig. 8) from the first side of the first waveguide (the top side of 205 in Fig. 14) and output the first expanded light beam multiple times (Fig. 18) from the second output structure (615 in Fig. 14) as a plurality of output light beams (Fig. 14) via a second side of the second waveguide (the top side of 215 in Fig. 14),
wherein the first side of the second waveguide (the bottom side of 215 in Fig. 14) faces (Fig. 14) the first side of the first waveguide (the top side of 205 in Fig. 14),
wherein the second side of the second waveguide (the top side of 215 in Fig. 14) is configured to be on an opposite side (Fig. 14) of the first side of the second waveguide (the bottom side of 215 in Fig. 14), facing away (Fig. 14) from the first side of the first waveguide (the top side of 205 in Fig. 14),
wherein the second output structure (615 in Fig. 14) is configured to be on the second side of the second waveguide (the top side of 215 in Fig. 14), and
wherein each of the plurality of output light beams (Fig. 14) is output from a different area (Fig. 14, [0113-0114]) of the second output structure (615 in Fig. 14) along a propagation direction (Fig. 14) of the second waveguide (215 in Fig. 14, [0104]).
Regarding claim 8, Choi teaches a device (Fig. 14-17, [0003-0004, 0103-0141]), comprising:
a system (Fig. 14-17, [0103-0141]), comprising:
a plurality of waveguides (205 and 215 in Fig. 14, [0104]) arranged along a transmission path (Fig. 14) of a light beam having a first beam width (the width of the beam from 105 in Fig. 14, [0105, 0109, 0110]), the plurality of waveguides (205 and 215 in Fig. 14, [0104]) including a first waveguide (205 in Fig. 14, [0104]) and a second waveguide (215 in Fig. 14, [0104]),
wherein the first waveguide (205 in Fig. 14, [0104]) comprises a first output structure (605 in Fig. 14, [0104]) and is configured to receive the light beam (Fig. 8) and output a first expanded light beam (the beam output from 605 in Fig. 8) at the first output structure (605 in Fig. 14, [0104]),
wherein the first expanded light beam (the beam output from 605 in Fig. 8) has a second beam width (the width of the beam output from 605 in Fig. 8) greater than ([0105, 0110]) the first beam width (the width of the bean from 105 in Fig. 14, [0105, 0109, 0110]), and
wherein the first expanded light beam (the beam output from 605 in Fig. 8) is output via a first side of the first waveguide (the top side of 205 in Fig. 14) where the first output structure (605 in Fig. 14, [0104]) is configured to be (Fig. 18), and
wherein the second waveguide (215 in Fig. 14, [0104]) comprises a second output structure (615 in Fig. 14),
wherein the second waveguide (215 in Fig. 14, [0104]) is configured to receive, via a first side of the second waveguide (the bottom side of 215 in Fig. 14), the first expanded light beam (the beam output from 605 in Fig. 8) from the first side of the first waveguide (the top side of 205 in Fig. 14) and output the first expanded light beam multiple times (Fig. 18) from the second output structure (615 in Fig. 14) as a plurality of output light beams (Fig. 14) via a second side of the second waveguide (the top side of 215 in Fig. 14),
wherein the first side of the second waveguide (the bottom side of 215 in Fig. 14) faces (Fig. 14) the first side of the first waveguide (the top side of 205 in Fig. 14),
wherein the second side of the second waveguide (the top side of 215 in Fig. 14) is configured to be on an opposite side (Fig. 14) of the first side of the second waveguide (the bottom side of 215 in Fig. 14), facing away (Fig. 14) from the first side of the first waveguide (the top side of 205 in Fig. 14),
wherein the second output structure (615 in Fig. 14) is configured to be on the second side of the second waveguide (the top side of 215 in Fig. 14), and
wherein each of the plurality of output light beams (Fig. 14) is output from a different area (Fig. 14, [0113-0114]) of the second output structure (615 in Fig. 14) along a propagation direction (Fig. 14) of the second waveguide (215 in Fig. 14, [0104]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8-10 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NouI (US 2022/0197034) in view of Choi (US 2020/0363578).
Regarding claim 1, the embodiment of Fig. 1 and 7 of NouI teaches a system (Fig. 1-10, [0044-0075]), comprising:
a transmitter (10 in Fig. 1-2 and 7, [0045-0046]) configured to generate a light beam (14 in Fig. 1-2 and 7) having a first beam width (the width corresponding to A1/14 in Fig. 1-2 and 7) and transmit the light beam along a transmission path (Fig. 1-2 and 7); and
a waveguide system (the waveguide system corresponding to 12 in Fig. 1 and 7) including a first waveguide (12 in Fig. 1 and 7) arranged sequentially along the transmission path (Fig. 1 and 7) of a light beam having a first beam width (A1 in Fig. 1 and 7), and output a plurality of output light beams (16 in Fig. 1 and 7) with a beam width (A2 in Fig. 1 and 7) greater than the first beam width (A1 in Fig. 1 and 7), wherein each of the plurality of output light beams (16 in Fig. 1 and 7) is output from a different area of an output structure along a propagation direction of the waveguide system (Fig. 1 and 7).
The embodiment of Fig. 1 and 7 of Noul does not teach that the waveguide system is a cascaded waveguide system comprising a plurality of waveguides arranged along the transmission path, the plurality of waveguides including a first waveguide and a second waveguide, wherein the first waveguide comprises a first output structure and is configured to receive the light beam and output a first expanded light beam at the first output structure, wherein the first expanded light beam has a second beam width greater than the first beam width, and wherein the first expanded light beam is output via a first side of the first waveguide where the first output structure is configured to be, and wherein the second waveguide comprises a second output structure, wherein the second waveguide is configured to receive, via a first side of the second waveguide, the first expanded light beam from the first side of the first waveguide and output the first expanded light beam multiple times from the second output structure as a plurality of output light beams via a second side of the second waveguide, wherein the first side of the second waveguide faces the first side of the first waveguide, wherein the second side of the second waveguide is configured to be on an opposite side of the first side of the second waveguide, facing away from the first side of the first waveguide, wherein the second output structure is configured to be on the second side of the second waveguide, and wherein each of the plurality of output light beams is output from a different area of the second output structure along a propagation direction of the second waveguide.
Choi teaches that a waveguide system is a cascaded waveguide system (the system corresponding to 205 and 215 in Fig. 14, [0104]) comprising a plurality of waveguides (205 and 215 in Fig. 14, [0104]) arranged along the transmission path (Fig. 14), the plurality of waveguides (205 and 215 in Fig. 14, [0104]) including a first waveguide (205 in Fig. 14, [0104]) and a second waveguide (215 in Fig. 14, [0104]), wherein the first waveguide (205 in Fig. 14, [0104]) comprises a first output structure (605 in Fig. 14, [0104]) and is configured to receive the light beam (Fig. 8) and output a first expanded light beam (the beam output from 605 in Fig. 8) at the first output structure (605 in Fig. 14, [0104]), wherein the first expanded light beam (the beam output from 605 in Fig. 8) has a second beam width (the width of the beam output from 605 in Fig. 8) greater than ([0105, 0110]) the first beam width (the width of the bean from 105 in Fig. 14, [0105, 0109, 0110]), and wherein the first expanded light beam (the beam output from 605 in Fig. 8) is output via a first side of the first waveguide (the top side of 205 in Fig. 14) where the first output structure (605 in Fig. 14, [0104]) is configured to be (Fig. 18), and wherein the second waveguide (215 in Fig. 14, [0104]) comprises a second output structure (615 in Fig. 14), wherein the second waveguide (215 in Fig. 14, [0104]) is configured to receive, via a first side of the second waveguide (the bottom side of 215 in Fig. 14), the first expanded light beam (the beam output from 605 in Fig. 8) from the first side of the first waveguide (the top side of 205 in Fig. 14) and output the first expanded light beam multiple times (Fig. 18) from the second output structure (615 in Fig. 14) as a plurality of output light beams (Fig. 14) via a second side of the second waveguide (the top side of 215 in Fig. 14), wherein the first side of the second waveguide (the bottom side of 215 in Fig. 14) faces (Fig. 14) the first side of the first waveguide (the top side of 205 in Fig. 14), wherein the second side of the second waveguide (the top side of 215 in Fig. 14) is configured to be on an opposite side (Fig. 14) of the first side of the second waveguide (the bottom side of 215 in Fig. 14), facing away (Fig. 14) from the first side of the first waveguide (the top side of 205 in Fig. 14), wherein the second output structure (615 in Fig. 14) is configured to be on the second side of the second waveguide (the top side of 215 in Fig. 14), and wherein each of the plurality of output light beams (Fig. 14) is output from a different area (Fig. 14, [0113-0114]) of the second output structure (615 in Fig. 14) along a propagation direction (Fig. 14) of the second waveguide (215 in Fig. 14, [0104]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Choi for the system of the embodiment of Fig. 1 and 7 of NouI such that in the system of the embodiment of Fig. 1 and 7 of NouI, a cascaded waveguide system comprising a plurality of waveguides arranged along the transmission path, the plurality of waveguides including a first waveguide and a second waveguide, wherein the first waveguide comprises a first output structure and is configured to receive the light beam and output a first expanded light beam at the first output structure, wherein the first expanded light beam has a second beam width greater than the first beam width, and wherein the first expanded light beam is output via a first side of the first waveguide where the first output structure is configured to be, and wherein the second waveguide comprises a second output structure, wherein the second waveguide is configured to receive, via a first side of the second waveguide, the first expanded light beam from the first side of the first waveguide and output the first expanded light beam multiple times from the second output structure as a plurality of output light beams via a second side of the second waveguide, wherein the first side of the second waveguide faces the first side of the first waveguide, wherein the second side of the second waveguide is configured to be on an opposite side of the first side of the second waveguide, facing away from the first side of the first waveguide, wherein the second output structure is configured to be on the second side of the second waveguide, and wherein each of the plurality of output light beams is output from a different area of the second output structure along a propagation direction of the second waveguide. The motivation is to provide a waveguide system outputting the light having an increased beam width and few stripes (Choi, Abs, [0104, 0115, 0081]).
Regarding claim 8, the embodiment of Fig. 1 and 7 of NouI teaches a device (Fig. 1-10, [0044-0075]), comprising:
a waveguide system (the waveguide system corresponding to 12 in Fig. 1 and 7) including a first waveguide (12 in Fig. 1 and 7) arranged sequentially along the transmission path (Fig. 1 and 7) of a light beam having a first beam width (A1 in Fig. 1 and 7), and output a plurality of output light beams (16 in Fig. 1 and 7) with a beam width (A2 in Fig. 1 and 7) greater than the first beam width (A1 in Fig. 1 and 7), wherein each of the plurality of output light beams (16 in Fig. 1 and 7) is output from a different area of an output structure along a propagation direction of the waveguide system (Fig. 1 and 7).
The embodiment of Fig. 1 and 7 of Noul does not teach that a plurality of waveguides arranged along a transmission path of a light beam having a first beam width, the plurality of waveguides including a first waveguide and a second waveguide, wherein the first waveguide comprises a first output structure and is configured to receive the light beam and output a first expanded light beam at the first output structure, wherein the first expanded light beam has a second beam width greater than the first beam width, and wherein the first expanded light beam is output via a first side of the first waveguide where the first output structure is configured to be, and wherein the second waveguide comprises a second output structure, wherein the second waveguide is configured to receive, via a first side of the second waveguide, the first expanded light beam from the first side of the first waveguide and output the first expanded light beam multiple times from the second output structure as a plurality of output light beams via a second side of the second waveguide, wherein the first side of the second waveguide faces the first side of the first waveguide, wherein the second side of the second waveguide is configured to be on an opposite side of the first side of the second waveguide, facing away from the first side of the first waveguide, wherein the second output structure is configured to be on the second side of the second waveguide, and wherein each of the plurality of output light beams is output from a different area of the second output structure along a propagation direction of the second waveguide.
Choi teaches that a plurality of waveguides (205 and 215 in Fig. 14, [0104]) arranged along a transmission path (Fig. 14) of a light beam having a first beam width (the width of the beam from 105 in Fig. 14, [0105, 0109, 0110]), the plurality of waveguides (205 and 215 in Fig. 14, [0104]) including a first waveguide (205 in Fig. 14, [0104]) and a second waveguide (215 in Fig. 14, [0104]), wherein the first waveguide (205 in Fig. 14, [0104]) comprises a first output structure (605 in Fig. 14, [0104]) and is configured to receive the light beam (Fig. 8) and output a first expanded light beam (the beam output from 605 in Fig. 8) at the first output structure (605 in Fig. 14, [0104]), wherein the first expanded light beam (the beam output from 605 in Fig. 8) has a second beam width (the width of the beam output from 605 in Fig. 8) greater than ([0105, 0110]) the first beam width (the width of the bean from 105 in Fig. 14, [0105, 0109, 0110]), and wherein the first expanded light beam (the beam output from 605 in Fig. 8) is output via a first side of the first waveguide (the top side of 205 in Fig. 14) where the first output structure (605 in Fig. 14, [0104]) is configured to be (Fig. 18), and wherein the second waveguide (215 in Fig. 14, [0104]) comprises a second output structure (615 in Fig. 14), wherein the second waveguide (215 in Fig. 14, [0104]) is configured to receive, via a first side of the second waveguide (the bottom side of 215 in Fig. 14), the first expanded light beam (the beam output from 605 in Fig. 8) from the first side of the first waveguide (the top side of 205 in Fig. 14) and output the first expanded light beam multiple times (Fig. 18) from the second output structure (615 in Fig. 14) as a plurality of output light beams (Fig. 14) via a second side of the second waveguide (the top side of 215 in Fig. 14), wherein the first side of the second waveguide (the bottom side of 215 in Fig. 14) faces (Fig. 14) the first side of the first waveguide (the top side of 205 in Fig. 14), wherein the second side of the second waveguide (the top side of 215 in Fig. 14) is configured to be on an opposite side (Fig. 14) of the first side of the second waveguide (the bottom side of 215 in Fig. 14), facing away (Fig. 14) from the first side of the first waveguide (the top side of 205 in Fig. 14), wherein the second output structure (615 in Fig. 14) is configured to be on the second side of the second waveguide (the top side of 215 in Fig. 14), and wherein each of the plurality of output light beams (Fig. 14) is output from a different area (Fig. 14, [0113-0114]) of the second output structure (615 in Fig. 14) along a propagation direction (Fig. 14) of the second waveguide (215 in Fig. 14, [0104]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Choi for the system of the embodiment of Fig. 1 and 7 of NouI such that in the system of the embodiment of Fig. 1 and 7 of NouI, a plurality of waveguides arranged along a transmission path of a light beam having a first beam width, the plurality of waveguides including a first waveguide and a second waveguide, wherein the first waveguide comprises a first output structure and is configured to receive the light beam and output a first expanded light beam at the first output structure, wherein the first expanded light beam has a second beam width greater than the first beam width, and wherein the first expanded light beam is output via a first side of the first waveguide where the first output structure is configured to be, and wherein the second waveguide comprises a second output structure, wherein the second waveguide is configured to receive, via a first side of the second waveguide, the first expanded light beam from the first side of the first waveguide and output the first expanded light beam multiple times from the second output structure as a plurality of output light beams via a second side of the second waveguide, wherein the first side of the second waveguide faces the first side of the first waveguide, wherein the second side of the second waveguide is configured to be on an opposite side of the first side of the second waveguide, facing away from the first side of the first waveguide, wherein the second output structure is configured to be on the second side of the second waveguide, and wherein each of the plurality of output light beams is output from a different area of the second output structure along a propagation direction of the second waveguide. The motivation is to provide a waveguide system outputting the light having an increased beam width and few stripes (Choi, Abs, [0104, 0115, 0081]).
Regarding claim 15, the embodiment of Fig. 1 and 7 of NouI teaches a device (Fig. 1-10, [0044-0075]), comprising:
a waveguide system (the waveguide system corresponding to 12 in Fig. 1 and 7) including a first waveguide (12 in Fig. 1 and 7) arranged sequentially along the transmission path (Fig. 1 and 7) of a light beam having a first beam width (A1 in Fig. 1 and 7), and output a plurality of output light beams (16 in Fig. 1 and 7) with a beam width (A2 in Fig. 1 and 7) greater than the first beam width (A1 in Fig. 1 and 7), wherein each of the plurality of output light beams (16 in Fig. 1 and 7) is output from a different area of an output structure along a propagation direction of the waveguide system (Fig. 1 and 7), and
a combiner glass (the glass corresponding to 8 and 13/33 in Fig. 1 and 7, [0045]) that receives the plurality of output light beams (16 in Fig. 1 and 7) and projects the plurality of output light beams (Fig. 1 and 7).
The embodiment of Fig. 1 and 7 of Noul does not teach that a plurality of waveguides arranged along a transmission path of a light beam having a first beam width, the plurality of waveguides including a first waveguide and a second waveguide, wherein the first waveguide comprises a first output structure and is configured to receive the light beam and output a first expanded light beam at the first output structure, wherein the first expanded light beam has a second beam width greater than the first beam width, and wherein the first expanded light beam is output via a first side of the first waveguide where the first output structure is configured to be, and wherein the second waveguide comprises a second output structure, wherein the second waveguide is configured to receive, via a first side of the second waveguide, the first expanded light beam from the first side of the first waveguide and output the first expanded light beam multiple times from the second output structure as a plurality of output light beams via a second side of the second waveguide, wherein the first side of the second waveguide faces the first side of the first waveguide, wherein the second side of the second waveguide is configured to be on an opposite side of the first side of the second waveguide, facing away from the first side of the first waveguide, wherein the second output structure is configured to be on the second side of the second waveguide, and wherein each of the plurality of output light beams is output from a different area of the second output structure along a propagation direction of the second waveguide.
Choi teaches that a plurality of waveguides (205 and 215 in Fig. 14, [0104]) arranged along a transmission path (Fig. 14) of a light beam having a first beam width (the width of the beam from 105 in Fig. 14, [0105, 0109, 0110]), the plurality of waveguides (205 and 215 in Fig. 14, [0104]) including a first waveguide (205 in Fig. 14, [0104]) and a second waveguide (215 in Fig. 14, [0104]), wherein the first waveguide (205 in Fig. 14, [0104]) comprises a first output structure (605 in Fig. 14, [0104]) and is configured to receive the light beam (Fig. 8) and output a first expanded light beam (the beam output from 605 in Fig. 8) at the first output structure (605 in Fig. 14, [0104]), wherein the first expanded light beam (the beam output from 605 in Fig. 8) has a second beam width (the width of the beam output from 605 in Fig. 8) greater than ([0105, 0110]) the first beam width (the width of the bean from 105 in Fig. 14, [0105, 0109, 0110]), and wherein the first expanded light beam (the beam output from 605 in Fig. 8) is output via a first side of the first waveguide (the top side of 205 in Fig. 14) where the first output structure (605 in Fig. 14, [0104]) is configured to be (Fig. 18), and wherein the second waveguide (215 in Fig. 14, [0104]) comprises a second output structure (615 in Fig. 14), wherein the second waveguide (215 in Fig. 14, [0104]) is configured to receive, via a first side of the second waveguide (the bottom side of 215 in Fig. 14), the first expanded light beam (the beam output from 605 in Fig. 8) from the first side of the first waveguide (the top side of 205 in Fig. 14) and output the first expanded light beam multiple times (Fig. 18) from the second output structure (615 in Fig. 14) as a plurality of output light beams (Fig. 14) via a second side of the second waveguide (the top side of 215 in Fig. 14), wherein the first side of the second waveguide (the bottom side of 215 in Fig. 14) faces (Fig. 14) the first side of the first waveguide (the top side of 205 in Fig. 14), wherein the second side of the second waveguide (the top side of 215 in Fig. 14) is configured to be on an opposite side (Fig. 14) of the first side of the second waveguide (the bottom side of 215 in Fig. 14), facing away (Fig. 14) from the first side of the first waveguide (the top side of 205 in Fig. 14), wherein the second output structure (615 in Fig. 14) is configured to be on the second side of the second waveguide (the top side of 215 in Fig. 14), and wherein each of the plurality of output light beams (Fig. 14) is output from a different area (Fig. 14, [0113-0114]) of the second output structure (615 in Fig. 14) along a propagation direction (Fig. 14) of the second waveguide (215 in Fig. 14, [0104]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Choi for the system of the embodiment of Fig. 1 and 7 of NouI such that in the system of the embodiment of Fig. 1 and 7 of NouI, a plurality of waveguides arranged along a transmission path of a light beam having a first beam width, the plurality of waveguides including a first waveguide and a second waveguide, wherein the first waveguide comprises a first output structure and is configured to receive the light beam and output a first expanded light beam at the first output structure, wherein the first expanded light beam has a second beam width greater than the first beam width, and wherein the first expanded light beam is output via a first side of the first waveguide where the first output structure is configured to be, and wherein the second waveguide comprises a second output structure, wherein the second waveguide is configured to receive, via a first side of the second waveguide, the first expanded light beam from the first side of the first waveguide and output the first expanded light beam multiple times from the second output structure as a plurality of output light beams via a second side of the second waveguide, wherein the first side of the second waveguide faces the first side of the first waveguide, wherein the second side of the second waveguide is configured to be on an opposite side of the first side of the second waveguide, facing away from the first side of the first waveguide, wherein the second output structure is configured to be on the second side of the second waveguide, and wherein each of the plurality of output light beams is output from a different area of the second output structure along a propagation direction of the second waveguide. The motivation is to provide a waveguide system outputting the light having an increased beam width and few stripes (Choi, Abs, [0104, 0115, 0081]).
Regarding claims 2-3, 9-10, 16-18, NouI also teaches the following elements:
(Claims 2, 9 and 17) the light beam that the first waveguide (12 in Fig. 1 and 7) receives is received via a mirror (11 in Fig. 1 and 7, [0047]).
(Claims 3, 10 and 18) the mirror (11 in Fig. 1 and 7, [0047]) is a microelectromechanical system (MEMS) mirror configured to rotate about at least one scanning axis (Fig. 1 and 7, [0047]).
(Claim 16) the combiner glass (the glass corresponding to 8 and 13/33 in Fig. 1 and 7, [0045]) projects the plurality of output light beams (Fig. 1 and 7) based on a virtual projection plane that corresponds to a virtual distance at which images are to be perceived (Fig. 1 and 7, [0051-0053, 0066]).
Claims 7, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NouI in view of Choi as applied to claims 1, 8 and 15 above, and further in view of Shih (US 2021/0141230).
Regarding claims 7, 14 and 20, NouI does not teach the following elements.
Shih teaches the following elements (Fig. 1A, [0025-0026]):
(Claims 7, 14 and 20) a first waveguide (100 in Fig. 1A) and a second waveguide (200 in Fig. 1A) are coupled together by an adhesive layer ([0026]) that has a lower refractive index than the first waveguide and the second waveguide ([0026]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Shih for the system of NouI in view of Choi such that in the system of NouI in view of Choi,
(Claims 7, 14 and 20) the first waveguide and the second waveguide are coupled together by an adhesive layer that has a lower refractive index than the first waveguide and the second waveguide.
The motivation is to bond the first optical waveguide and the second optical waveguide together, and the image beam can be totally reflected in the first optical waveguide and the second optical waveguide (Shih, [0026]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 11-13 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
None of the prior art of record discloses or suggests all the combination of an image projection system as set forth in claims 4-6, 11-13 and 19.
Regarding claims 4-6, 11-13 and 19, none of the prior art discloses or suggests an image projection system recited in claims 2, 9 and 17, wherein “the mirror is arranged inside a package that includes a housing that includes the first waveguide” in combination with the other required elements of the claim.
Conclusion
/Shan Liu/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871