DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a pumping system” in claim 1 and “a retaining mechanism” in claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 (dependent on claims 6, 5, 2, and 1) recites “the retaining mechanism”. This limitation lacks clear antecedent basis. It is unclear what is being referred to and/or whether the dependencies are correct.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oehring et alia (US Patent Number 10,119,381), hereinafter “Oehring”, alone or in combination with Bishop (US Patent Number 10,830,029).
Re claim 1, Oehring discloses a mobile fracking unit comprising: a trailer (81, see col. 6, lines 17-40 including line 32 referring to the trailer); a pumping system (36 or 361), the pumping system having a fluid end (86, see Fig. 3), the pumping system mounted on the trailer (see col. 6, lines 17-40 and Fig. 2); and a hose mounting and support system mounted to the trailer, the hose mounting and support system including: a fluid end clamp (including 88, 90, see Fig. 3), the fluid end clamp attached to a first hose end of a hose (74 or 78) and the fluid end of the pumping system (36 or 361, see Fig. 3); a midpoint saddle (which can be read as dampener 82, 84 or various of the cable coil assemblies 104 near the midpoint), the midpoint saddle affixed to the trailer, the midpoint saddle adapted to receive the hose (74 or 78). Oehring is silent as to any detail of the second end of the hose and a hose end clamp. However, based on the teachings of Oehring, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to have used the end clamp disclosed in Oehring to both ends of the hose for the pivotable connection and vibration reduction as taught by Oehring.
Additionally, or alternatively, Bishop discloses a similar mobile fracking unit comprising: a trailer (see Fig. 10 and other Figs. with chassis 105); a pumping system (130, 146, 147), the pumping system having a fluid end (at 146, see Fig. 9), the pumping system mounted on the trailer; and a hose mounting and support system (with pipe clamps 169 holding hose 166, 167) mounted to the trailer, the hose mounting and support system including: connections at the fluid end (the connection at a first hose end of a hose 167 and the fluid end of the pumping system at 147); a midpoint saddle (the center clamp 169 holding the hose 166), the midpoint saddle affixed to the trailer (at chassis 105), the midpoint saddle adapted to receive the hose; and a hose end connection to a second hose end of the hose (the connection at a second hose end of a hose 167 and the fluid end of the pumping system at 146). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to have added the end clamp of Oehring to both connection ends as shown in Bishop as the hose is connected at both ends. It would have also been obvious to have the saddle of Oehring be at the midpoint to support the hose as taught in Bishop in order to support the hose symmetrically as shown in Fig. 9 of Bishop.
Re claim 2, the modified Oehring discloses the mobile fracking unit of claim 1 further comprising a spring isolator (104) between the fluid end clamp and the midpoint saddle through which the hose passes (see Fig. 2 showing various locations of the spring isolators as well as Figs. 4, 6, and 7 with many of these being between the fluid end clamp and midpoint saddle in the modified Oehring).
Re claim 3, the modified Oehring discloses the mobile fracking unit of claim 2, wherein the spring isolator includes springs (coils 106, 106B) supporting a pass-through hose clamp (see Figs. 4, 6, and 7 in Oehring).
Re claim 4, the modified Oehring discloses the mobile fracking unit of claim 2, wherein the spring isolator is mounted on a mounting arm, the mounting arm attached to the trailer (in Fig. 6, the unnumbered vertical structure on the right-most spring isolator is considered a mounting arm and the entire structure is attached to the trailer).
Re claim 5-7, the modified Oehring discloses the mobile fracking unit of claim 2 further comprising: a hose tray, the hose tray positioned between the midpoint saddle and the hose end clamp along the hose, the hose tray mounted to the trailer; wherein a hose tray isolator is positioned between the hose tray and the trailer, and wherein the hose tray isolator is adapted to damp vibration of the hose (any of the spring isolators are considered hose trays with isolators as the portion that the hose rests in can reasonably be considered a tray and the spring coils damp vibration. Since there are multiple structure that can be considered both spring isolators and hose trays that dampen vibration, claims 2-4 as well as claims 5-7 are met by the modified Oehring).
Re claim 11, the modified Oehring discloses the mobile fracking unit of claim 1, wherein the midpoint saddle includes a pivot (see Oehring, Figs. 4, 6, and 7 and Bishop, Figs. 9 and 10).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oehring in view of Bishop as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Buckner (US Patent Application Publication 2013/0340297 A1).
The modified Oehring discloses the mobile fracking unit of claim 1, but is silent as to handles on the hose end clamp. Buckner discloses a similar pump system with hoses. Buckner also discloses handle (104) on hose clamp (105). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to have use the handle of Buckner with the mobile fracking unit of the modified Oehring in order to allow easy connection and disconnection as taught by Buckner (see paragraph 0016).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 9, and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims (assuming the amendment is to make claim 10 dependent on claim 9).
Conclusion
/ERIC KEASEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753