DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5, 7 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Son et al. (US 2018/0356674).
As to claim 1, Son discloses in figure 7: a display cell component 320; a front polarizer component 328, the front polarizer component being contiguous with a portion of a top surface of the display cell component; and, a rear polarizer component 326, the rear polarizer component being contiguous with a portion of a bottom surface of the display cell component, the front polarizer component and the rear polarizer component providing a polarizer edge, the polarizer edge extending extends along a periphery of the display cell component.
As to claim 4, Son discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. Son further discloses in figure 7, wherein the front polarizer component 328 comprises a dark printed surface 400, the dark printed surface extending along a periphery of the front polarizer component.
As to claim 5, Son discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 4. Son further discloses in figure 7, wherein an interior edge of the dark printed surface 400 is substantially parallel with an exterior edge of the rear polarizer component 326.
As to claim 7, Son discloses in figure 7: an optical sheets component 316; a display cell component 320; a front polarizer component 328, the front polarizer component being contiguous with a portion of a top surface of the display cell component; and, a rear polarizer component 326, the rear polarizer component being contiguous with a portion of a bottom surface of the display cell component, the front polarizer component and the rear polarizer component providing a polarizer edge, the polarizer edge extending extends along a periphery of the display cell component.
As to claim 10, Son discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 7. Son further discloses in figure 7, wherein the front polarizer component 328 comprises a dark printed surface 400, the dark printed surface extending along a periphery of the front polarizer component.
As to claim 11, Son discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 10. Son further discloses in figure 7, wherein an interior edge of the dark printed surface 400 is substantially parallel with an exterior edge of the rear polarizer component 326.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son et al. (US 2018/0356674) in view of Yamabuchi et al. (US 7,202,923).
Son discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claims 1 and 7, but does not disclose wherein the front polarizer component includes a slanted edge, the slanted edge extending along a periphery of the front polarizer component. However, this was a conventional structure as evidenced by figure 21 of Yamabuchi. Yamabuchi discloses in figure 21, a front polarizer component 106a which includes a slanted edge, the slanted edge extending along a periphery of the front polarizer component. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Son wherein the front polarizer component includes a slanted edge, the slanted edge extending along a periphery of the front polarizer component, as disclosed by Yamabuchi, because conventional structures were known to be cost-effective and reliable.
Claims 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son et al. (US 2018/0356674) in view of Jeong (US 9,341,874).
Son discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claims 1 and 7, but does not disclose wherein the display cell component includes an associated side sealing element, the side sealing element extending along a periphery of the display cell component. Jeong discloses in figures 5B and 5C, wherein the display cell component 410 includes an associated side sealing element 480, the side sealing element extending along a periphery of the display cell component. Jeong discloses in column 10, lines 21-24, that the side sealing element 480 may mitigate external impact to the LCD device 400. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Son wherein the display cell component includes an associated side sealing element, the side sealing element extending along a periphery of the display cell component as disclosed by Jeong, in order to mitigate external impact to the display cell component.
Claims 13 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son et al. (US 2018/0356674) in view of Gu et al. (US 2010/0207857).
As to claim 13, Son discloses in figure 7: an optical sheets component 316; a display cell component 320; a front polarizer component 328, the front polarizer component being contiguous with a portion of a top surface of the display cell component; and, a rear polarizer component 326, the rear polarizer component being contiguous with a portion of a bottom surface of the display cell component, the front polarizer component and the rear polarizer component providing a polarizer edge, the polarizer edge extending extends along a periphery of the display cell component.
Son does not disclose a processor, and a data bus coupled to the processor. Gu discloses in figure 1 and paragraph [0035], processor(s) 18 which may be coupled to one or more data buses for transferring data and instructions between various components of the display device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Son by providing a processor, and a data bus coupled to the processor as disclosed by Gu in order to transfer data and instructions between various components of the display device.
As to claim 16, Son in view of Gu discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 13. Son further discloses in figure 7, wherein the front polarizer component 328 comprises a dark printed surface 400, the dark printed surface extending along a periphery of the front polarizer component.
As to claim 17, Son in view of Gu discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 16. Son further discloses in figure 7, wherein an interior edge of the dark printed surface 400 is substantially parallel with an exterior edge of the rear polarizer component 326.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son et al. (US 2018/0356674) in view of Gu et al. (US 2010/0207857) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Yamabuchi et al. (US 7,202,923).
Son in view of Gu discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 13, but does not disclose wherein the front polarizer component includes a slanted edge, the slanted edge extending along a periphery of the front polarizer component. However, this was a conventional structure as evidenced by figure 21 of Yamabuchi. Yamabuchi discloses in figure 21, a front polarizer component 106a which includes a slanted edge, the slanted edge extending along a periphery of the front polarizer component. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Son wherein the front polarizer component includes a slanted edge, the slanted edge extending along a periphery of the front polarizer component, as disclosed by Yamabuchi, because conventional structures were known to be cost-effective and reliable.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son et al. (US 2018/0356674) in view of Gu et al. (US 2010/0207857) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Jeong (US 9,341,874).
Son in view of Gu discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 13, but does not disclose wherein the display cell component includes an associated side sealing element, the side sealing element extending along a periphery of the display cell component. Jeong discloses in figures 5B and 5C, wherein the display cell component 410 includes an associated side sealing element 480, the side sealing element extending along a periphery of the display cell component. Jeong discloses in column 10, lines 21-24, that the side sealing element 480 may mitigate external impact to the LCD device 400. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Son wherein the display cell component includes an associated side sealing element, the side sealing element extending along a periphery of the display cell component as disclosed by Jeong, in order to mitigate external impact to the display cell component.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 9 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: none of the prior art taught or fairly suggested the borderless polarizer system of claim 3, or the display device of claim 9, or the system of claim 15, wherein the display device includes a middle frame component, the middle frame component including a slanted edge; and, the slanted edge of the front polarizer component abutting a slanted edge of the middle frame component.
Conclusion
/DAVID Y CHUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871