DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 13-14 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 13 states, “the PCB comprises a plurality of the cavities”. However the cavities previously defined in claim 1 are within the main board. It appears the instance of PCB in claim 13 should state “main board”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 20 states, “wherein the PCB is arranged on the first side of positioned on the main board”. This appears grammatically incorrect. The claim shall be interpreted to state, “wherein the PCB is arranged on the first side [[of]] and positioned on the main board”. Although this appears to solve the grammatical issue the claim language itself appears lacking (unclear which “first side” is being reference) and should be reviewed/amended further. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 15-16 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kraft et al. (US PG. Pub. 2013/0203274).
Regarding claim 1 - Kraft teaches a circuit board system (figs. 1-4, 5) comprising: a main board (1 [paragraph 0020] Kraft states, “first circuit board 1”) having a top side and a bottom side, wherein the main board (1) has at least one cavity (fig. 3, 10 [paragraph 0022] Kraft states, “recess 10”) on the top side thereof; a printed circuit board (PCB) (2 [paragraph 0018] Kraft states, “second circuit board 2”) having a top side and a bottom side; and at least one first electronic component (27 [paragraph 0026] Kraft states, “components 27, 28”) arranged on the top side of the PCB (2), and at least one second electronic component (28) arranged on the bottom side of the PCB (2), wherein the PCB (2) is arranged on the top side of main board (1), and wherein the at least one second electronic component (28) on the bottom side of the PCB (2) extends into the at least one cavity (10) on the top side of the main board (1 [paragraph 0028] Kraft states, “at least one electronic component 28 is arranged on that bottom side 22 and extends at least partly into a recess 10 formed in the first circuit board 1”).
Regarding claim 2 – Kraft teaches the circuit board system of claim 1, wherein the at least one cavity (fig. 3, 10) extends through the main board (1) from the top side to the bottom side ([paragraph 0023] Kraft states, “a recess 10 may be a hole that extends completely through the first circuit board 1”).
Regarding claim 4 – Kraft teaches the circuit board system of claim 1 comprising: a plurality of the second electronic components (fig. 3, see two components 28) arranged on the bottom side of the PCB (2), wherein one or more of the second electronic components (see two components 28) extend into one or more corresponding ones of the at least one cavity (10).
Regarding claim 5 – Kraft teaches the circuit board system of claim 1, wherein the PCB (fig. 3, 2) is connected to the main board through a ball grid array (BGA) (25 [paragraph 0019] Kraft states, “such a grid may be a ball grid array (BGA) in case of solder balls 25 or a land grid array (LGA) in case of lands instead of the solder balls 25”).
Regarding claim 6 – Kraft teaches the circuit board system of claim 1, wherein the PCB (fig. 3, 2) is connected to the main board (1) through a land grid array (LGA) ([paragraph 0019] Kraft states, “such a grid may be a ball grid array (BGA) in case of solder balls 25 or a land grid array (LGA) in case of lands instead of the solder balls 25”).
Regarding claim 15 - Kraft teaches a circuit board system (figs. 1-4, 5) comprising: a main board (1 [paragraph 0020] Kraft states, “first circuit board 1”) having a top side and a bottom side, wherein the main board (1) has at least one cavity (fig. 3, 10 [paragraph 0022] Kraft states, “recess 10”) on the top side thereof; a printed circuit board (PCB) (2 [paragraph 0018] Kraft states, “second circuit board 2”) having a top side and a bottom side; and at least one first electronic component (27 [paragraph 0026] Kraft states, “components 27, 28”) arranged on the top side of the PCB (2), and at least one second electronic component (28) arranged on the bottom side of the PCB (2), wherein the PCB (2) is positioned on the main board (1), and wherein the at least one second electronic component (28) on the bottom side of the PCB (2) extends into the at least one cavity (10) on the top side of the main board (1 [paragraph 0028] Kraft states, “at least one electronic component 28 is arranged on that bottom side 22 and extends at least partly into a recess 10 formed in the first circuit board 1”).
Regarding claim 16 – Kraft teaches the circuit board system of claim 15, wherein the at least one cavity (fig. 3, 10) extends through the main board (1) from the top side to the bottom side ([paragraph 0023] Kraft states, “a recess 10 may be a hole that extends completely through the first circuit board 1”).
Regarding claim 18 – Kraft teaches the circuit board system of claim 15 comprising: a plurality of the second electronic components (fig. 3, see two components 28) arranged on the bottom side of the PCB (2), wherein one or more of the second electronic components (see two components 28) extend into one or more corresponding ones of the at least one cavity (10).
Regarding claim 19 – Kraft teaches the circuit board system of claim 15, wherein the PCB (fig. 3, 2) is connected to the main board through a ball grid array (BGA) (25 [paragraph 0019] Kraft states, “such a grid may be a ball grid array (BGA) in case of solder balls 25 or a land grid array (LGA) in case of lands instead of the solder balls 25”).
Regarding claim 20 – Kraft teaches a circuit board system (figs. 1-4, 5) comprising: a main board (1 [paragraph 0020] Kraft states, “first circuit board 1”) having a first side (top side) and a second side (bottom side), wherein the main board (1) has at least one cavity (fig. 3, 10 [paragraph 0022] Kraft states, “recess 10”) on the first side (top side) thereof; a printed circuit board (PCB) (2 [paragraph 0018] Kraft states, “second circuit board 2”) having a first side (top side) and a second side (bottom side); and at least one first electronic component (27 [paragraph 0026] Kraft states, “components 27, 28”) arranged on the first side (top side) of the PCB (2), and at least one second electronic component (28) arranged on the second side (bottom side) of the PCB (2), wherein the PCB (2) is arranged on the first side (top side) of positioned on the main board (1), and wherein the at least one second electronic component (28) on the second side (bottom side) of the PCB (2) extends into the at least one cavity (10) on the first side (top side) of the main board (1 [paragraph 0028] Kraft states, “at least one electronic component 28 is arranged on that bottom side 22 and extends at least partly into a recess 10 formed in the first circuit board 1”).
Claim(s) 1, 3, 8, 9, 12, 13, 15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Proschwitz et al. (US PG. Pub. 2023/0317544)
Regarding claim 1 - Proschwitz teaches a circuit board system (fig. 2) comprising: a main board (133 [paragraph 0027] Proschwitz states, “circuit board 133”) having a top side and a bottom side, wherein the main board (133) has at least one cavity (108 [paragraph 0036] Proschwitz states, “cavity 108”) on the top side thereof; a printed circuit board (PCB) (102 [paragraph 0027] Proschwitz states, “substrate 102”) having a top side and a bottom side; and at least one first electronic component (114-4 [paragraph 0027] Proschwitz states, “die 114”) arranged on the top side of the PCB (102), and at least one second electronic component (114-6 & 114-1) arranged on the bottom side of the PCB (102), wherein the PCB (102) is arranged on the top side of main board (133), and wherein the at least one second electronic component (114-6) on the bottom side of the PCB (102) extends into the at least one cavity (108-2) on the top side of the main board (133).
Regarding claim 3 – Proschwitz teaches the circuit board system of claim 1 comprising: a plurality of the second electronic components (fig. 2, 114-6, 114-3 & 114-1) arranged on the bottom side of the PCB (102); and a plurality of cavities (108-2, 108-3 & 108-4) on the top side of the main board (133), wherein the plurality of cavities (108-2, 108-3 & 108-4) is arranged to match locations of and receive the plurality of the second electronic components (114-6, 114-3 & 114-1) at the bottom side of the PCB (102).
Regarding claim 8 – Proschwitz teaches the circuit board system of claim 1, wherein the at least one second electronic component (fig. 2, 114-3) is attached to a heat sink, heat spreader (156-2 [paragraph 0041] Proschwitz states, “The heat transfer structures 156 may include any suitable thermally conductive material (e.g., metal, appropriate ceramics, graphite, etc.), and may include any suitable features, such as a heat spreader (e.g., 156-2)”), chassis cover or metal-sheet cover at the bottom side of the PCB.
Regarding claim 9 – Proschwitz teaches the circuit board system of claim 8, wherein the at least one second electronic component (fig. 2, 114-3) is attached to the heat sink, heat spreader (156-2), chassis cover or metal-sheet cover through a thermally conductive mold compound (154 [paragraph 0041 & 0030] Proschwitz states, “further include a TIM 154 in thermal contact with the heat transfer structure 156 to more readily dissipate heat…The TIM 154 may be a thermal interface material paste, a thermal gel, a thermal gad pad, a thermally conductive adhesive, or a thermally conductive epoxy (which may be a fluid when applied and may harden upon curing, as known in the art)”) or resin.
Regarding claim 12 – Proschwitz teaches the circuit board system of claim 1, wherein the at least one second electronic component (fig. 2, 114-6 & 114-3 [paragraph0037] Proschwitz states, “dies 114”) comprises one or more dynamic random-access memories ([paragraph 0037] Proschwitz states, “the dies may include a central processing unit (CPU), a platform controller hub (PCH), a dynamic random access memory (DRAM), a graphic processing unit (GPU), and a field programmable gate array (FPGA)”) and/or one or more multilayer ceramic chip capacitors (MLCCs).
Regarding claim 13 – Proschwitz teaches the circuit board system of claim 1, wherein the PCB (fig. 2, 102) comprises a plurality of the cavities (108-2, 108-3, 108-4) and one or more bridges (see material of main board between the cavities) positioned between the cavities (claimed structure shown in figure 2).
Regarding claim 15 - Proschwitz teaches a circuit board system (fig. 2) comprising: a main board (133 [paragraph 0027] Proschwitz states, “circuit board 133”) having a top side and a bottom side, wherein the main board (133) has at least one cavity (108 [paragraph 0036] Proschwitz states, “cavity 108”) on the top side thereof; a printed circuit board (PCB) (102 [paragraph 0027] Proschwitz states, “substrate 102”) having a top side and a bottom side; and at least one first electronic component (114-4 [paragraph 0027] Proschwitz states, “die 114”) arranged on the top side of the PCB (102), and at least one second electronic component (114-6 & 114-1) arranged on the bottom side of the PCB (102), wherein the PCB (102) is positioned on the main board (133), and wherein the at least one second electronic component (114-6) on the bottom side of the PCB (102) extends into the at least one cavity (108-2) on the top side of the main board (133).
Regarding claim 17 – Proschwitz teaches the circuit board system of claim 15 comprising: a plurality of the second electronic components (fig. 2, 114-6, 114-3 & 114-1) arranged on the bottom side of the PCB (102); and a plurality of cavities (108-2, 108-3 & 108-4) on the top side of the main board (133), wherein the plurality of cavities (108-2, 108-3 & 108-4) is arranged to match locations of and receive the plurality of the second electronic components (114-6, 114-3 & 114-1) at the bottom side of the PCB (102).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kraft et al. in view of Li et al. (US PG. Pub. 2021/0195779).
Regarding claim 7 – Kraft teaches the circuit board system of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the at least one first electronic component is attached to a heat sink at the top side of the PCB.
Li teaches wherein the at least one first electronic component (fig. 1, 20 [paragraph 0030] Li states, “first component 20”) is attached to a heat sink (8 [paragraph 0030] Li states, “heat sink 8”) at the top side of the PCB (9 [paragraph 0032] Li states, “system board 9”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit board system having a first electronic component as taught by Kraft with the first electronic component attached to a heat sink at the top side of the PCB as taught by Li because the heat sink will actively remove heat from the component extending the life of the components.
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kraft et al. in view of Swaminathan et al. (US PG. Pub. 2018/0270957).
Regarding claim 10 – Kraft teaches the circuit board system of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the at least one first electronic component comprises a system on chip (SoC).
Swaminathan teaches wherein the at least one first electronic component (fig. 4, 104) comprises a system on chip (SoC) ([paragraph 0030] Swaminathan states, “the package 104 attached to the PCB 102 via BGA 110 may comprise a system on chip (SOC)”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit board system having a first electronic component as taught by Kraft with the first electronic component being a system of chip (SOC) as taught by Swaminathan because system-on-chip allow for compact design, improved power efficiency and performance when compared to separate connected components.
Regarding claim 11 – Kraft in view of Swaminathan teach the circuit board system of claim 10, wherein the at least one second electronic component (Swaminathan; fig. 4, 118) comprises one or more passive electronic components ([paragraph 0025] Swaminathan states, “the discrete components 118 may comprise at least one of: a capacitor, an inductor, a resistor”) arranged on the bottom side of the PCB (102 [paragraph 0034] Swaminathan states, “PCB 102”) opposite to the SoC (104) that is arranged on the top side of the PCB (102).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Proschwitz et al. in view of Weng et al. (US PG. Pub. 2023/0292438).
Regarding claim 14 – Proschwitz teaches the circuit board system of claim 13, comprising a plurality of pins, pads or balls on the one or more bridges for connecting the PCB to the main board.
Weng teaches a circuit board system (fig. 1) comprising a plurality of pins, pads (114 [paragraph 0071] Weng states, “metal bonding structure 114”) or balls on the one or more bridges (see bridges shown on opposite sides of cavities 124) for connecting the PCB (110 [paragraph 0072] Weng states, “first functional substrate 110”) to the main board (120 [paragraph 0072] Weng states, “second functional substrate 120”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit board system having a main board with a plurality of cavities and one or more bridges between the cavities as taught by Proschwitz with pads on the one or more bridges that connected the PCB to the main board as taught by Weng because Weng states, “the second metal portion 126B is bonded with the metal bonding structure 114 to combine the first functional substrate 110 and the second functional substrate 120 and seal the cavity” [paragraph 0072]. The pads on the bridge will seal the cavities as well as ground the PCB and the main board to each other.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Goh et al. (US PG. Pub. 2018/0331081) discloses an integrated system in package (SIP) with input/output (IO) board.
Wong et al. (US PG. Pub. 2018/0240757) discloses an EMI shielded integrated circuit package.
Paynter et al. (US PG. Pub. 2021/0307218) discloses a patch substrate.
Proschwitz et al. (US PG. Pub. 2023/0300975) discloses an integrated circuit package.
/STEVEN T SAWYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847