Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the climbing means configured to engage with climbing elements of the uprights of the storage racks facing said vertical circulation column , the engagement member of the maintenance vehicle being configured to cooperate with said climbing elements of the uprights(claim 13) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
The following limitations in claim 13 listed below have been identified as means plus function limitations with their corresponding structure from the subject specification. “climbing means”- claim 13 line 8 (motorized gear wheel).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3-9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3 line 2;
claim 5, lines 3,4;
claim 7, line 2;
claim 8, line 2;
claim 9, line 2, the use of “in particular”, “for example”, and “preferable” is indefinite in a claim because it is not clear if what follows that term is, or is not, a required limitation of the claim, thus rendering the scope of the claim unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8,12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zombori(US 20170121110 A1) in view of Bellheimer (DE 20103565 U1).
Regarding claim 1, Zombori discloses a vehicle (4) for a storage and retrieval system (para 0001) comprising storage racks (2) ,the storage racks comprising vertical uprights(1) , wherein the vehicle comprises: - a chassis(see fig below) able to move on a floor(para 0035-0037), a platform (see fig below) coupled to the chassis - a guardrail (12) mounted on the platform , - an ascent and descent system (para 0031) comprising an engagement member (13) configured to cooperate with the uprights (para 0031, 1) so as to drive the ascent and descent of the vehicle in a vertical direction.
Zombori does not disclose the platform receives an operator. However, Bellheimer discloses a vehicle(fig 1) wherein the platform(3) is intended to receive an operator(15). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zombori such that the vehicle can accommodate a passenger to provide instantaneous analysis/solutions to mechanical issues.
Regarding claim 2, Zombori discloses wherein the engagement member comprises gear wheels(13a, para 0036 discloses a toothed lifting element), each gear wheel being configured to mesh with a climbing element extending along the height of an upright (para 0031) .
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Zombori in view of Bellheimer discloses wherein the engagement member, in particular the gear wheels of the maintenance vehicle is driven by one or more motors(para 0019-0022; Bellheimer discloses the use of motors to drive vertical movement).
Regarding claim 4, Zombori does not disclose a man-machine interface. However, Bellheimer discloses a man-machine interface(17) configured to enable control of the one or more motors by an operator(para 0027). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zombori such that it comprises a man-made interface to allow improved precision with user inputs as required.
Regarding claim 5,the combination of Zombori and Bellheimer discloses wherein the ascent and descent system comprises a manual ascent and descent mechanism(para 0015,0019,0020; Bellheimer) which is configured to enable the engagement member to be driven, in particular the gear wheels to be driven on the climbing elements(Zombori para 0031) , when the manual ascent and descent mechanism is actuated by an operator(para 0017), the manual ascent and descent mechanism preferably comprising a crank.
Regarding claim 6, Zombori does not specify wherein the ascent and descent system comprises a transmission selectively enabling drive by the one or more motors, or by the manual ascent and descent mechanism. It is noted that the ascent and descent system of Bellheimer is driven by motors (see the rejection of claim 3 above). The examiner takes official notice that the such a motor driven ascent and descent system includes a transmission.
Regarding claim 7, Zombori discloses wherein the engagement member is configured to cooperate with at least six uprights , for example six, eight, ten or twelve uprights(fig 1, claim 1,2 para 0009,0010)
Regarding claim 8, Zombori discloses wheels(6) , preferably freewheels, mounted on the chassis so as to allow the chassis to move on the floor(para 0033).
Regarding claim 12, Zombori discloses a storage and retrieval system (Para 0033) comprising storage racks (2) with consecutive columns of cells(fig 1-4), the storage racks comprising vertical uprights(1) , the storage and retrieval system further comprising a vehicle (4) according to claim 1(See the above rejection of claim 1, para 0033,0038-0040).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zombori(US 20170121110 A1) and Bellheimer (DE 20103565 U1) in view of Zhou(CN 204281241 U) and Weaver(US 5193878 A)
Regarding claim 9, Zombori does not disclose the platform and the guardrails are foldable. However, Zhou discloses a platform with the use of foldable guardrails(fig 1). It would have been obvious to modify Zhou such that the platform comprises foldable guardrails to provide a convenient storage method for the vehicle.
Weaver further discloses the use of foldable platforms(fig 2) in vehicles. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventio to modify Zombori to make the base vehicle foldable for ease of storage when the vehicle is not in use.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zombori(US 20170121110 A1) and Bellheimer (DE 20103565 U1) in view of Gebhardt(EP 4455054 A1)
Regarding claim 10, Zombori does not disclose safety mechanisms however Gebhardt discloses a vehicle (54) comprising a safety mechanism (55) configured to prevent tilting of the platform in the vertical direction. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zombori such that the vehicle comprises safety mechanisms to prevent mechanical instability leading to failure.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zombori(US 20170121110 A1) and Bellheimer(DE 20103565 U1) in view of Lert(AU 2016270946 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Zombori does not disclose retractable engagement members. However, Lert discloses a similar vehicle comprising a mechanism for deploying and retracting the engagement member (para 00231, fig 32), with respect to the chassis, from a retracted configuration where the maintenance vehicle takes up less space, to a deployed configuration of the engagement member configured to engage with the uprights(para 00231). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zombori such that the vehicle comprises retractable engagement members to allow the vehicle to be compactly stored.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13-15 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 13, the closes prior art on record is Zombori(US 20170121110 A1). However does not show disclose or render obvious the combination of the storage and retrieval system according to claim 12, wherein the storage racks are arranged so as to form at least one circulation aisle between two respective storage racks, each of the at least one circulation aisle, between two respective storage racks, being formed of a plurality of consecutive vertical circulation columns, each vertical circulation column giving access to at least one respective cell column, wherein the storage and retrieval system further comprises at least one automated guided vehicle configured to ascend and descend in one of the vertical circulation columns. More specifically wherein, each of the at least one automated guided vehicle comprising climbing means configured to engage with climbing elements of the uprights of the storage racks facing said vertical circulation column, the engagement member of the maintenance vehicle being configured to cooperate with said climbing elements of the uprights.
Regarding claim 14, the closes prior art on record is Zombori(US 20170121110 A1). However does not show disclose or render obvious the combination of the storage and retrieval system according to claim 13, wherein the climbing means of one of the at least one automated guided vehicle arranged in a vertical circulation column and the engagement member of the maintenance vehicle guided in at least one vertical circulation column adjoining the vertical circulation column in which the automated guided vehicle is arranged, are configured to cooperate simultaneously with the same upright of one of the storage racks without hindering the movement, in the direction of the upright, of the automated guided vehicle or the maintenance vehicle respectively with respect to said same upright.
Regarding claim 15, the closes prior art on record is Zombori(US 20170121110 A1). However does not show disclose or render obvious the combination of a maintenance method of maintaining a storage and retrieval system according to claim 13, the maintenance method comprising: - moving the maintenance vehicle in said at least one circulation aisle to a vertical circulation column consecutive to a vertical circulation column in which an automated guided vehicle is blocked, - coupling the engagement member of the ascent and descent system with uprights facing the respective circulation aisle , - elevate the platform to the height of the blocked automated guided vehicle by driving the engagement member.
Conclusion
SHAMS . DHANANI
Examiner
Art Unit 3614
/JASON D SHANSKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614