DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“driving mechanism” in claim 14. The specification discloses that “The driving mechanism 20 may include a drive rail and a motor”
“base member” in claim 14. The structure of the base member is disclosed in the figures and includes first and second spaces.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” or a generic placeholder thereof but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“porous plate member” introduced in claim 1, 14, 20. The term “plate” plus the further recited structure of “porous material” is sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function
“base member” introduced claim 1 and 20 (but not as used in claim 14). The recitation of “first space” and “second space” is sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function as it conveys that the base member is a structural base with first and second spaces.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terada (JP 2019110227 A) in view of Okamoto (US 20080233680 A1) and Meguro (US 20190080950 A1).
As to claim 1, Terada discloses a semiconductor bonding apparatus comprising:
a porous plate member including a porous material having air permeability (“adsorption portion 51 is a plate-like porous body,”), the porous plate member having a first surface configured to contact a semiconductor chip (“an adsorption surface 51S for adsorbing the semiconductor chip SC.”) and a second surface being opposite to the first surface;
a base member (frame portion 52) bonded (via adhesive layer 512) to the second surface of the porous plate member, the base member including a second space (“the groove 52C”) configured to introduce at least negative pressure into a peripheral region of the second surface of the porous plate member.
a negative pressure supply (“pressure reduction pump 8”) configured to supply negative pressure (“through pipe 81”) to the second space of the base member such that the semiconductor chip is absorbed and held by the porous plate member (“the pressure reduction channel is in communication with the pressure reduction pump 8 through the pipe 81”);
See Figures 1-4, below:
See the translation, disclosing:
The bonding head 5 includes at least an attachment tool 50 for holding the semiconductor chip SC by suction and a heater 53 for heating the semiconductor chip SC via the attachment tool 50, as an example shown in FIG. 12 (cited reference 1). Here, in order for the attachment tool 50 to hold the semiconductor chip SC by suction, a pressure reduction channel 59 is provided in the bonding head 5, and the pressure reduction channel is in communication with the pressure reduction pump 8 through the pipe 81.
FIG. 13 shows an example of the shape of the attachment tool 50, and the shape seen from the suction surface holding the semiconductor chip SC is FIG. 13 (b), this AA cross section, CC cross section and DD 13 (a), 13 (c) and 13 (d) show the cross section, and a groove 50C communicating with the pressure reducing channel 59 is provided on the adsorption surface. Therefore, if the semiconductor chip SC is positioned in a state of closing the groove 50C, the inside of the groove 50C is decompressed by the operation of the decompression pump 8, and the semiconductor chip SC is adsorbed and held by the attachment tool 50.
…
Unlike the conventional attachment tool 50 shown in FIG. 13, the attachment tool 50 of the present invention is constituted by a suction unit 51 and a frame 52 as shown in FIG. 1.
The adsorption portion 51 is a plate-like porous body, and the lower surface is an adsorption surface 51S for adsorbing the semiconductor chip SC. The material of the adsorbing portion 51 is selected to have heat resistance to withstand heat and pressure at the time of thermocompression bonding, rigidity, dimensional stability, and heat conductivity to transmit the heat of the heater 53. Specifically, metal and ceramics are preferable, but resin or glass may be used according to the temperature and pressure at the time of thermocompression bonding.
The frame portion 52 holds the suction portion 51, and its shape is shown in FIG. 2 (b) is a view as seen from the lower surface of the frame 52, and FIG. 2 (a) and FIG. 2 (c) show an AA cross section and a CC cross section in FIG. 2 (b). is there. The frame portion 52 is a two-step plate-like member, the large area side has the same surface shape as the heater 53, and the small area side has a recess 52V, and the bottom surface of the recess 52V A groove 52C communicating with the pressure reducing channel 59 is provided in 52B. The inner frame shape of the recess 52V is the same as or slightly larger than that of the suction surface 51S, and the suction portion 51 can be fitted into the recess 52V. The material of the frame portion 52 is also required to have heat resistance, rigidity, dimensional stability and resistance to heat and pressure at the time of thermocompression bonding as in the adsorption portion 51, and to have heat conductivity for transmitting the heat of the heater 53. However, those having excellent processability are more desirable. Specifically, a metal, a ceramic, a glass, a resin, and a composite material thereof may be selected in consideration of the temperature, pressure, heat conductivity, and processability at the time of thermocompression bonding.
It is FIG. 3 which showed the shape of the attachment tool 50 which inserted the adsorption | suction part 51 in the frame part 52. As shown in FIG. FIG. 3B is a view of the attachment tool 50 as viewed from the side of the suction surface 51S (bottom surface), and is a sectional view of the attachment tool 50 taken along the lines A-A and C-C in FIG. It is FIG. 3 (a) and FIG.3 (c). 3 (a) is a cross section of the portion where the groove 52C is provided in the bottom 52B of the frame 52, and in FIG. 1 also shows the cross section of the portion where the groove 52C is provided.
The suction surface 51S of the suction portion 51 shown in FIG. 3 has a surface shape substantially equal to that of the semiconductor chip SC. When holding the semiconductor chip SC, almost the entire suction surface 51S is in contact with the semiconductor chip SC. It has become. Here, with regard to the pore diameter of the porous body forming the adsorbing portion 51, if it is too small, the adsorption force at the time of holding the semiconductor chip SC will decrease from the relationship of pressure loss. Since there is a concern that the chip SC may be deformed, it is necessary to set it in an appropriate range. As a specific numerical value, the average pore diameter is 4 to 50 μm, more preferably 10 to 30 μm.
When fitting the suction portion 51 into the frame portion 52, the suction portion 51 needs to be securely fixed to the frame portion 52. For this reason, as shown in FIG. 4, it is desirable to fix the suction part 51 to the frame 52 through the adhesive layer 512. As a material of the adhesive layer 512, glass welding having heat resistance is desirable, but a resin adhesive may be used as long as it has long-term heat resistance to the temperature at the time of thermocompression bonding. In the case of using the adsorption portion 51 and the frame portion 52 having different coefficients of thermal expansion, the adhesion layer 512 may be formed of the adhesion layer 512 in order to suppress peeling of the adhesion layer 512 during thermal expansion (or contraction). It is desirable to select one having a thermal expansion coefficient between the thermal expansion coefficient and the thermal expansion coefficient of the frame 52.
In the attachment tool 50 of the present invention, the suction portion 51 has a thickness exceeding the depth of the concave portion of the frame 52, and the distance between the suction portion 51 and the frame 52 is as shown in FIGS. Only DP stands out. As described above, the reason why the suction unit 51 is protruded with respect to the frame 52 is to avoid the interference between the adjacent (mounted) semiconductor chip SC and the frame 52 when the semiconductor chip SC is thermocompression-bonded. It is. Here, in order to prevent interference between the frame 52 and the adjacent semiconductor chip SC, it is preferable that the distance DP by which the suction unit 51 protrudes with respect to the frame 52 be 0.1 mm or more. However, as the distance DP increases, the porous holes are exposed in addition to the adsorption surface 51S for adsorbing the semiconductor chip SC, so that not only the ability to adsorb the semiconductor chip SC decreases, but also the suction of the outside air. There are also concerns about temperature drops (during heating). For this reason, as shown in FIG. 4, it is desirable to close the holes of the protrusions other than the suction surface 51S by forming a curtain of the same material as the adhesive layer 512 around the suction portion 51 protruding from the frame 52 .
By the way, although groove 52C provided in bottom 52B of crevice 52V is formed in cross shape in attachment tool 50 of Drawing 3, since adsorption part 51 is a porous body, by decompressing decompression channel 59, pressure is reduced. Not only the portion facing the groove 52C but also the entire surface of the suction surface 51S has a suction force. However, due to the influence of pressure loss, the adsorption power is slightly different between the portion immediately below the groove 52C and the other portion. Therefore, when it is intended to obtain a strong adsorption force on the entire surface of the suction surface 51S, as shown in FIG. 5, the groove 52C can reduce the pressure on the opposite side of the suction surface 51S of the suction portion 51 as wide as possible. Form. However, in the case of the example of FIG. 5, since the adsorbing portion 51 is supported only in the vicinity of the outer peripheral portion, there is a concern that it may be curved at the time of thermocompression bonding. As a countermeasure, the adsorption part 51 may be thickened, but in some cases the thickness can not be increased from the viewpoint of pressure loss and heat conduction, so as shown in FIG. The groove 52C may be provided on the bottom surface 52B of the recess 52V (of the frame portion).
Even in the frame portion 52 having the groove 52C as shown in FIG. 6, the bottom surface 52B (of the recess 52V in the frame portion 52) is in close contact with the upper side at the outer peripheral portion of the suction portion 51 as shown in FIG. Because it is blocked, the flow path to the groove 52C is long. For this reason, the suction force at the outer peripheral portion of the suction portion 51 is slightly reduced, and there may be a case where the suction failure occurs at the outer peripheral portion depending on the thickness and the shape of the semiconductor chip SC. Therefore, as illustrated in FIG. 8, the groove provided on the bottom surface 52B of the recess 52V in the frame 52 may be formed to extend to the outer peripheral portion of the bottom 52B.
By the way, the production technology for obtaining the plate-like porous body used for the adsorption part 51 of the present invention is advanced, and an attachment constituted by the adsorption part 51 made of a porous body and the frame 52 for holding the same. The tool 50 can be manufactured inexpensively as compared with precision processing in which a large number of fine suction holes or grooves are formed on the suction surface of the conventional method.
Terada, however, does not disclose including a first space (chamber 24) configured to introduce at least positive pressure into a central region of the second surface of the porous plate member (“a port 26 is provided for expelling pressurized gas, preferably air, indicated by arrow 28”), the peripheral region being outside the central region (see vacuum groove 16, which surrounds ), and a positive pressure supply configured to supply positive pressure to the first space of the base member such that the semiconductor chip absorbed and held by the porous plate member is deformed into a convex shape.
Okamoto and Meguro, however, discloses and makes obvious including a first space configured to introduce at least positive pressure into a central region of the second surface of the porous plate member, the peripheral region being outside the central region, and a positive pressure supply configured to supply positive pressure to the first space of the base member such that the semiconductor chip absorbed and held by the porous plate member is deformed into a convex shape. See Okamoto Figures 2A and 4A
See also Okamoto paragraphs 0028-30, disclosing:
[0028] In general, the invention provides a die handling collet and related systems and methods for improved die handling in semiconductor device manufacturing processes, particularly die attach processes. Referring primarily to FIG. 1 and FIG. 2A, a bottom view (FIG. 1) and cutaway side view (FIG. 2A) of a collet 10 according to a preferred embodiment of the invention is described. A body 12, preferably made from plastic, metal, or other suitably rigid material, is capable of receiving a die 14 (FIG. 2A). A vacuum groove 16 is provided at the edge of the body 12. The vacuum groove 16 is incorporated into a die-bearing surface 18 of the body 12, preferably entirely around the periphery. The vacuum groove 16 is in communication with vacuum ports 20 for transmitting a vacuum force, indicated by arrow 22, generated by a suitable mechanism such as a pump (not shown). The vacuum groove 16 preferably distributes the vacuum force around the periphery of the die-bearing surface 18 for holding a die 14 during handling and placement. A chamber 24 is incorporated within the body 12 and is preferably encompassed by the die-bearing surface 18. One side of the chamber 24 is open such that a die 14 placed on the bearing surface 18 completes the enclosure. Within the chamber 24, a port 26 is provided for expelling pressurized gas, preferably air, indicated by arrow 28. The expelled gas 28 pressurizes the chamber 24, exerting a pushing force on the adjacent surface of the die 14. The pushing force preferably opposes the die flexion which tends to occur due to the application of the vacuum force 22, preventing or reducing the temporary formation of a concavity on the outer surface of the die 14 due to flexing. Preferably, during die attach, the chamber 24 is sufficiently pressurized to cause the die 14 to bow outward slightly in a position convex to the adjacent die pad 32 or intervening die attach adhesive 30 (FIG. 2A).
[0029] Now referring primarily to FIG. 2B, the collet 10 is shown in the context of further steps in a die attach method according to preferred embodiments of the invention. As illustrated, using the preferred embodiment of the collet 10 shown and described above, the expelled air 28 within the chamber 24 is preferably used to flex the die 14 in order to present a convex surface to the die attach material 30 pre-applied to the die pad 32. The convex surface of the die 14, as indicated by arrows 34, tends to expel air from between the die 14 and die attach adhesive 30 during the ultimate placement of the die, reducing the frequency and magnitude of void formation. Although the use of a convex surface is preferred, in an alternative embodiment, the die may be flexed by the expelled air 28 by an amount adapted to counter any inward flexion caused by the vacuum 22, and calculated to prevent the outward flexion of the die 14. This implementation may be preferred for example with particularly delicate dice, preventing or attenuating flexion and presenting a substantially flat die surface to the die pad 32 and the intervening die attach adhesive 30, promoting a uniform thickness of die attach material 30. It should be appreciated by those skilled in the arts that other alternative embodiments are possible without departure from the invention, for example, die attach processes using die adhesive film may also advantageously use the invention. As depicted in FIG. 2C, as the collet 10 brings the die 14 into position on the die attach adhesive 30, the pushing and vacuum forces may be reduced or eliminated, ultimately enabling the collet 10 to be removed after the die 14 is placed.
[0030] An alternative preferred embodiment of a collet 40 of the invention is depicted in a bottom view in FIG. 3, and in corresponding cutaway side views in FIG. 4A through 4C showing an example of a system and method for its use. As described elsewhere herein, the collet 40 has a body 12 preferably made from plastic, metal, or like material and is capable of receiving a die 14 as shown. A vacuum groove 16 is incorporated into the die-bearing surface 18 of the collet 40, preferably at the edge of the body 12 and around its periphery. The vacuum groove 16 is provided with a vacuum force 22 through suitable vacuum ports 20. The vacuum groove 16 preferably evenly distributes the vacuum force 22 around the periphery of the die-bearing surface 18 for holding a die 14 during handling and placement. An interior chamber 24 is incorporated within the die-bearing surface 18 of the body 12. A port 26 is provided for expelling pressurized air or other gas 28 into the chamber 24. As in the other preferred embodiment described, the expelled air 28 pressurizes the chamber 24 to prevent the formation of a concavity in the outer surface of an adjacent die 14 due to flexion in response to the application of the vacuum force 22. Preferably, during die attach the chamber 24 is sufficiently pressurized to cause the die to bow outward slightly in a position convex to the adjacent die attach adhesive 30 as shown in FIG. 4A and FIG. 4B. In this alternative embodiment, the collet 40 also includes a support skin 42. The support skin 42 is preferably permanently attached to the die bearing surface 18 of the collet body 12. The support skin 42 is made from a flexible material such as, for example, a thin film of Teflon, Mylar, (both registered trademarks of DuPont Corporation), polymer, or the like. In operation, while the vacuum 22 exerted in the vacuum groove 16 holds the die 14, the pushing force of air 28 expelled into the cavity 24 pressurizes the support skin 42. As a result, the center region of the die 14 may be caused to bow outward in a shape convex relative to the die attach adhesive 30. As with the above-described embodiments, using this preferred method, the bowed center region of the die 14 die contacts the die attach adhesive 30 first and then spreads outward toward the periphery as it is moved toward the die pad and as the pushing force on the die 14 is diminished. This sequence avoids the trapping of air during die attach, helps to form the die attach adhesive into a bond line 30 of uniform thickness, and fosters the formation of suitable fillets 36. Alternatively, for example in cases where the die 14 may be particularly susceptible to damage from flexing, the outward pressure 28 may be regulated to hold the die 14 substantially flat relative to the die pad 32 and attach adhesive 30. Thus the invention may be used for regulating the shape of the die surface presented to the die attach locale, balancing against inward flexion exerted by the vacuum force 22, but refraining from bowing the die 14 outward in order to prevent inducing stress on the die 14 in cases where increased gentleness is required. In another alternative embodiment, illustrated in the final position of the die 14 in FIG. 4C, the bond line 30 is cured with a "smile" profile as shown, preferably uniformly thinner in the central region of the die 14 and progressively thicker approaching the periphery.
Meguro discloses a first space configured to introduce at least positive pressure into a central region of the second surface of a member and a second space configured to introduce at least negative pressure into a peripheral region of the second surface of a member, the peripheral region being outside the central region; a negative pressure supply configured to supply negative pressure to the second space of the base member such that the semiconductor substrate is absorbed and held by the member; and a positive pressure supply configured to supply positive pressure to the first space of the base member such that the semiconductor substrate absorbed and held by the member is deformed into a convex shape. See also Meguro, Figure 1, showing both a negative pressure supply (gas supply source 13) and positive pressure supply (vacuum pump 16) and Figures 3 and 4, showing concave and convex shapes.
See also Meguro, paragraphs 0014-23, disclosing:
[0014] The semiconductor manufacturing apparatus of FIG. 1 includes a vacuum chamber 11, an electrostatic chuck stage 12, a gas supply source 13, a gas introduction pipe 14, a gas introduction valve 15, a vacuum pump 16, a gas discharge pipe 17, a gas discharge valve 18, a power supply 19 and a switch 20. The electrostatic chuck stage 12 includes an insulating portion 12a, an electrode plate 12b, a base portion 12c, a first gas introduction groove 12d which is an example of a first opening, a second gas introduction groove 12e which is an example of a second opening, and a gas discharge groove 12f which is an example of an opening.
[0015] The semiconductor manufacturing apparatus of FIG. 1 further includes a first flow meter 21, a first pressure gauge 22, a second flow meter 23, a second pressure gauge 24 and an information processing unit 25. The first flow meter 21 and the first pressure gauge 22 are examples of a first measuring device or measurement instrument. The second flow meter 23 and the second pressure gauge 24 are examples of a second measuring device or measurement instrument. The information processing unit 25 is an example of an output unit. The information processing unit 25 includes a display unit 25a.
[0016] As shown in FIG. 1, the vacuum chamber 11 accommodates the wafer 1, and the electrostatic chuck stage 12 holds (chucks) the wafer 1. The electrostatic chuck stage 12 includes the electrode plate 12b between the insulating portion 12a and the base portion 12c, and electrostatically attracts the wafer 1 by the electrode plate 12b. The first gas introduction groove 12d, the second gas introduction groove 12e and the gas discharge groove 12f have an annular shape and are provided on the upper surface of the electrostatic chuck stage 12. The side surfaces of these grooves are covered with an insulating film, not shown.
[0017] FIG. 2 is a perspective view schematically showing the outer shape of the electrostatic chuck stage 12 of FIG. 1.
[0018] The point C represents the center of the upper surface of the electrostatic chuck stage 12. The first gas introduction groove 12d, the second gas introduction groove 12e and the gas discharge groove 12f of the embodiment have a circular shape centered on the point C. Here, the diameter of the first gas introduction groove 12d is 10 mm, the diameter of the second gas introduction groove 12e is 280 mm, and the diameter of the gas discharge groove 12f is 50 mm. Therefore, the second gas introduction groove 12e surrounds the first gas introduction groove 12d, and the gas discharge groove 12f is located between the first gas introduction groove 12d and the second gas introduction groove 12e.
[0019] Referring to FIG. 1 again, the description of the semiconductor manufacturing apparatus will be continued.
[0020] The gas supply source 13 supplies gas to the electrostatic chuck stage 12 via the gas introduction pipe 14. An example gas is an inert gas such as argon gas. The gas introduction pipe 14 includes pipes A1 to A7.
[0021] The pipe A1 is connected to the gas supply source 13, and has the gas introduction valve 15. The pipe A1 branches to the pipes A2 and A3, the pipe A2 branches to the pipes A4 and A5, and the pipe A3 branches to the pipes A6 and A7. The first gas introduction groove 12d is supplied with gas from the pipes A4 and A5, and supplies gas to the lower surface of the wafer 1. The second gas introduction groove 12e is supplied with gas from the pipes A6 and A7, and supplies gas to the lower surface of the wafer 1. The first gas introduction groove 12d may be supplied with gas from three or more pipes. In addition, the second gas introduction groove 12e may also be supplied with gas from three or more pipes. The process of supplying gas from the gas supply source 13 to the electrostatic chuck stage 12 can be controlled by the opening and closing and the opening degree of the gas introduction valve 15.
[0022] The vacuum pump 16 discharges gas supplied to the wafer 1 via the gas discharge groove 12f and the gas discharge pipe 17. The gas discharge pipe 17 includes pipes B1 to B3.
[0023] The pipe B1 is connected to the vacuum pump 16, and has a gas discharge valve 18. The pipe B1 branches to the pipes B2 and B3. The gas supplied to the wafer 1 is discharged from the gas discharge groove 12f to the pipes B2 and B3, and transferred from the pipes B2 and B3 to the pipe B1. The gas discharge groove 12f may discharge gas from three or more pipes. The process of discharging gas from the electrostatic chuck stage 12 by the vacuum pump 16 can be controlled by the opening and closing and the opening degree of the gas discharge valve 18.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized including a first space configured to introduce at least positive pressure into a central region of the second surface of the porous plate member, the peripheral region being outside the central region, and a positive pressure supply configured to supply positive pressure to the first space of the base member such that the semiconductor chip absorbed and held by the porous plate member is deformed into a convex shape as taught by Okamoto and Meguro in order to enable attaching particularly delicate dice, by preventing or attenuating flexion and presenting a substantially flat die surface to the die pad and the intervening die attach adhesive, thereby promoting a uniform thickness of die attach material and achieve control over the state of the held substrate.
As to claim 12, Terada discloses further comprising: a shape sensor (“image recognition means) configured to measure a shape of the semiconductor chip and feedback a measurement result thereof to the positive pressure supply.
See the translation, disclosing:
First, after aligning the semiconductor chip SC held by the attachment tool 50 of the bonding head 5 of the mounting apparatus 1 of FIG. 11 and the substrate PB held by the stage 4 using the image recognition means 7, the bonding head 5 is assembled. The heating and thermocompression bonding of the semiconductor chip SC while being processed is the same as a mounting method using a conventional mounting apparatus.
Additionally, Meguro as incorporated discloses determining the warpage (i.e., the shape) of the substrate based on the determination results from the pressure gauges and flow meters. See paragraph 0037-38, disclosing:
[0037] In this case, the information processing unit 25 can determine that there is an abnormality in the wafer 1 in the vicinity of the first gas introduction groove 12d, and that there is no abnormality in the wafer 1 in the vicinity of the second gas introduction groove 12e. As a result, it can be determined that the wafer 1 has convex warpage. The information processing unit 25 displays on the display unit 25a the determination result that the wafer 1 has convex warpage.
[0038] FIG. 4 shows a case where the wafer 1 warped in the pulling direction (concave direction) is placed on the electrostatic chuck stage 12. In this case, the distance between the wafer 1 and the electrostatic chuck stage 12 is increased in the vicinity of the second gas introduction groove 12e, and the increased gas flows from the second gas introduction groove 12e to the vacuum chamber 11. As a result, the second flow rate from the second flow meter 23 increases, and the second pressure from the second pressure gauge 24 decreases. On the other hand, the first flow rate from the first flow meter 21 and the first pressure from the first pressure gauge 22 are maintained substantially constant.
[0039] In this case, the information processing unit 25 can determine that there is abnormality in the wafer 1 in the vicinity of the second gas introduction groove 12e, and there is no abnormality in the wafer 1 in the vicinity of the first gas introduction groove 12d. As a result, it can be determined that the wafer 1 has concave warpage. The information processing unit 25 displays on the display unit 25a the determination result that the wafer 1 has concave warpage.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized further comprising: a shape sensor (“image recognition means) configured to measure a shape of the semiconductor chip and feedback a measurement result thereof to the positive pressure supply as suggested by Meguro in order to determinate the warp shape of a substrate.
As to claim 13, the apparatus of Terada, Okamoto and Meguro is capable of being used with a semiconductor chip wherein a diameter of a hole of the porous material is smaller than a thickness of the semiconductor chip.
See MPEP 2114 and 2115. In this case, the thickness of the semiconductor chip is a feature of the material worked upon, which does not limit apparatus claims.
Claim(s) 2-7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terada (JP 2019110227 A) in view of Okamoto (US 20080233680 A1) and Meguro (US 20190080950 A1) as applied to claim 1 and 12-13 above, and further in view of Bourkel (US 5445188 A).
As to claim 2, Terada does not disclose wherein the positive pressure supply includes a servo valve configured to adjust the positive pressure supplied to the first space of the base member by combining positive pressure supplied from a positive pressure source and negative pressure supplied from a negative pressure source.
However, Meguro disclose wherein the positive pressure supply includes a valve configured to adjust the positive pressure supplied to the first space of the base member by combining positive pressure supplied from a positive pressure source and negative pressure supplied from a negative pressure source. See especially paragraph 0021, disclosing
[0021] The pipe A1 is connected to the gas supply source 13, and has the gas introduction valve 15. The pipe A1 branches to the pipes A2 and A3, the pipe A2 branches to the pipes A4 and A5, and the pipe A3 branches to the pipes A6 and A7. The first gas introduction groove 12d is supplied with gas from the pipes A4 and A5, and supplies gas to the lower surface of the wafer 1. The second gas introduction groove 12e is supplied with gas from the pipes A6 and A7, and supplies gas to the lower surface of the wafer 1. The first gas introduction groove 12d may be supplied with gas from three or more pipes. In addition, the second gas introduction groove 12e may also be supplied with gas from three or more pipes. The process of supplying gas from the gas supply source 13 to the electrostatic chuck stage 12 can be controlled by the opening and closing and the opening degree of the gas introduction valve 15.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the positive pressure supply includes a valve configured to adjust the positive pressure supplied to the first space of the base member by combining positive pressure supplied from a positive pressure source and negative pressure supplied from a negative pressure source as taught by Meguro in order to achieve control over the degree of gas supply.
However, Meguro discloses a valve for controlling the supply of gas, i.e., a throttle valve, and does not disclose a servo valve.
Additionally, Bourkel discloses that servo valves can be used for valves.. Bourkel teaches in column 2, line 27 that “the servo valve of the invention, which can be integrated in a space-saving manner into a control block, has a clearly defined safety position, and has good dynamic properties.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the servo valve of Bourkel for the valve of Meguro because the servo valve can be integrated in a space-saving manner into a control block, has a clearly defined safety position, and has good dynamic properties.
As to claim 3, Terada discloses wherein the base member is on a lower portion of a case of a bonding head,
However, Terada does not disclose a servo valve and thus does not disclose that the servo valve is in or around the case of the bonding head.
However, Meguro teaches using a valve and Bourkel discloses the benefits of servo valves. Additionally, changes in size and shape and reversal or rearrangement of parts is often obvious absent unexpected results or persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is significant. See MPEP 2144.04 IV and VI:
IV. CHANGES IN SIZE, SHAPE, OR SEQUENCE OF ADDING INGREDIENTS
A. Changes in Size/Proportion
In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) (Claims directed to a lumber package "of appreciable size and weight requiring handling by a lift truck" were held unpatentable over prior art lumber packages which could be lifted by hand because limitations relating to the size of the package were not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art.); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976) ("mere scaling up of a prior art process capable of being scaled up, if such were the case, would not establish patentability in a claim to an old process so scaled." 531 F.2d at 1053, 189 USPQ at 148.).
In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
B. Changes in Shape
In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.).
…
VI. REVERSAL, DUPLICATION, OR REARRANGEMENT OF PARTS
A. Reversal of Parts
In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955) (Prior art disclosed a clock fixed to the stationary steering wheel column of an automobile while the gear for winding the clock moves with steering wheel; mere reversal of such movement, so the clock moves with wheel, was held to be an obvious modification.).
…
C. Rearrangement of Parts
In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the servo valve of Bourkel for the valve of Meguro and to place it that the servo valve is in or around the case of the bonding head because the servo valve can be integrated in a space-saving manner into a control block, has a clearly defined safety position, and has good dynamic properties and because changes is size and shape and reversal or rearrangement of parts is often obvious absent unexpected results or persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is significant..
As to claim 4, Terada does not disclose further comprising: a throttle valve between the servo valve and the first space.
However, Meguro discloses a gas introduction valve wherein the opening degree can be controlled, which reads on the limitation of a throttle valve. See especially paragraph 0021, disclosing
[0021] The pipe A1 is connected to the gas supply source 13, and has the gas introduction valve 15. The pipe A1 branches to the pipes A2 and A3, the pipe A2 branches to the pipes A4 and A5, and the pipe A3 branches to the pipes A6 and A7. The first gas introduction groove 12d is supplied with gas from the pipes A4 and A5, and supplies gas to the lower surface of the wafer 1. The second gas introduction groove 12e is supplied with gas from the pipes A6 and A7, and supplies gas to the lower surface of the wafer 1. The first gas introduction groove 12d may be supplied with gas from three or more pipes. In addition, the second gas introduction groove 12e may also be supplied with gas from three or more pipes. The process of supplying gas from the gas supply source 13 to the electrostatic chuck stage 12 can be controlled by the opening and closing and the opening degree of the gas introduction valve 15.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized further comprising: a throttle valve between the servo valve and the first space as taught by Meguro’s gas introduction valve in order to achieve control over the degree of gas supply.
As to claim 5, Terada does not disclose further comprising: a pressure sensor between the servo valve and the first space, wherein an output of the pressure sensor is feedbacked to the servo valve.
However, Meguro discloses and makes obvious further comprising: a pressure sensor between the servo valve and the first space, wherein an output of the pressure sensor is feedbacked to the servo valve. See paragraph 0029, disclosing:
[0029] The second flow meter 23 and the second pressure gauge 24 are provided in the pipe A3, and measure the flow rate and pressure of gas flowing through the pipe A3. The flow rate measurement result is output from the second flow meter 23 to the information processing unit 25. The pressure measurement result is output from the second pressure gauge 24 to the information processing unit 25. These flow rate and pressure correspond to the flow rate and pressure of the gas supplied to the second gas introduction groove 12e.
Additionally, Bourkel as applied above discloses and makes obvious servo valves.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized further comprising: a pressure sensor between the servo valve and the first space, wherein an output of the pressure sensor is feedbacked to the servo valve as taught by Meguro and Bourkel in order to measure the flow rate and pressure of gas flowing for control.
As to claim 6, Terada does not disclose further comprising: a flow rate sensor between the servo valve and the first space, wherein an output of the flow rate sensor is feedbacked to the servo valve.
However, Meguro discloses and makes obvious further comprising: a flow rate sensor between the servo valve and the first space, wherein an output of the flow rate sensor is feedbacked to the servo valve. See paragraph 0029, disclosing:
[0029] The second flow meter 23 and the second pressure gauge 24 are provided in the pipe A3, and measure the flow rate and pressure of gas flowing through the pipe A3. The flow rate measurement result is output from the second flow meter 23 to the information processing unit 25. The pressure measurement result is output from the second pressure gauge 24 to the information processing unit 25. These flow rate and pressure correspond to the flow rate and pressure of the gas supplied to the second gas introduction groove 12e.
Additionally, Bourkel as applied above discloses and makes obvious servo valves.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized further comprising: a flow rate sensor between the servo valve and the first space, wherein an output of the flow rate sensor is feedbacked to the servo valve as taught by Meguro and Bourkel in order to measure the flow rate and pressure of gas flowing for control.
As to claim 7, Terada does not disclose further comprising: an electromagnetic valve between the servo valve and the first space, the electromagnetic valve configured to switch between a first state in which the first space is connected to the servo valve and a second state in which the first space is released to an atmosphere.
However, Bourkel discloses and makes obvious further comprising: an electromagnetic valve (clearing valve 62) between the servo valve and the first space, the electromagnetic valve configured to switch between a first state in which the first space is connected to the servo valve and a second state in which the first space is released to an atmosphere (“When clearing valve 62 is in its spring-biased position (i.e. the solenoid is not energized), first control chamber 26 (which contains actuating surface 14) is depressurized (relieved in the direction of the tank).”). See column 8, line 29, disclosing:
A further feature illustrated in the fourth embodiment is a clearing valve 62, connected between four-way pilot servo valve 60 and first control chamber 26. The ports of pilot servo valve 60 are identified similarly to those of servo valve 3--its pilot pressure port (coupled to control pressure line X) is identified as P', its pilot tank port (coupled to unpressuized control line Y) is identified as T', its first pilot working port (coupled via line 56 and clearing valve 62 to first control chamber 26) is identified as A', and its second pilot working port (coupled to second control chamber 27) is identified as B'. When clearing valve 62 is in its spring-biased position (i.e. the solenoid is not energized), first control chamber 26 (which contains actuating surface 14) is depressurized (relieved in the direction of the tank). Therefore, regardless of the position of pilot servo valve 60, main control piston 6 is urged into its first end position. Pilot servo valve 60 only becomes effective for positioning main control piston 6 when clearing valve 62 is energized into its second position, in which second pilot working port B' is coupled to first control chamber 26.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized further comprising: an electromagnetic valve between the servo valve and the first space, the electromagnetic valve configured to switch between a first state in which the first space is connected to the servo valve and a second state in which the first space is released to an atmosphere in combination with the servo valve of Bourkel as a safety feature because the servo valve can be integrated in a space-saving manner into a control block, has a clearly defined safety position, and has good dynamic properties.
As to claim 9, Terada does not disclose wherein the servo valve is configured to supply negative pressure to the first space during any time other than a time period during which the semiconductor chip is being deformed into a convex shape.
However, Bourkel as applied above discloses and makes obvious the use of servo valves. Additionally, Okamoto does disclose supply negative pressure to the first space during any time other than a time period during which the semiconductor chip is being deformed into a convex shape. See the citations in claims 1 and 2, above.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the servo valve is configured to supply negative pressure to the first space during any time other than a time period during which the semiconductor chip is being deformed into a convex shape in combination with the servo valve of Bourkel as a safety feature because the servo valve can be integrated in a space-saving manner into a control block, has a clearly defined safety position, and has good dynamic properties in order to achieve the shapes of Okamoto in order to enable attaching particularly delicate dice, by preventing or attenuating flexion and presenting a substantially flat die surface to the die pad and the intervening die attach adhesive, thereby promoting a uniform thickness of die attach material.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terada (JP 2019110227 A) in view of Okamoto (US 20080233680 A1) and Meguro (US 20190080950 A1) and Bourkel (US 5445188 A) as applied to claims 2-7 and 9 above, and further in view of Tsukamoto (US 20040036850 A1).
As to claim 8, Terada, Okamoto, Meguro and Bourkel do not disclose further comprising: a first regulator configured to adjust the positive pressure supplied from the positive pressure source; and a second regulator configured to adjust the negative pressure supplied from the negative pressure source.
However, Tsukamoto discloses and makes obvious further comprising: a first regulator configured to adjust the positive pressure supplied from the positive pressure source; and a second regulator configured to adjust the negative pressure supplied from the negative pressure source. See paragraph 0223, disclosing:
[0223] As regards the vacuum pressures at the wafer central portion and the peripheral portion, preferably they should be kept at a desired constant level without being influenced by a variation in atmospheric pressure, for example. To this end, a precision regulator, for example, may be used to supply a constant vacuum pressure, or the vacuum pressers may be detected and controlled to a constant level. Particularly, in this case, it is desirable since a good reproducibility of the wafer distortion distribution shape is assured thereby.
See also Figure 2, below:
Additionally, duplication of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized further comprising: a first regulator configured to adjust the positive pressure supplied from the positive pressure source; and a second regulator configured to adjust the negative pressure supplied from the negative pressure source because Tsukamoto discloses that a precision regulator, for example, may be used to supply a constant vacuum pressure, or the vacuum pressers may be detected and controlled to a constant level.
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terada (JP 2019110227 A) in view of Okamoto (US 20080233680 A1) and Meguro (US 20190080950 A1) as applied to claim 1 and 12-13 above, and further in view of Ishimoto (US 20230369078 A1).
As to claim 10, Terada, Okamoto and Meguro do not disclose wherein the positive pressure supply includes a pump configured to supply positive pressure to the first space of the base member.
Ishimoto, however, makes obvious wherein the positive pressure supply includes a pump (such as a booster pump) configured to supply positive pressure to the first space of the base member. See especially paragraph 0035, disclosing:
[0035] The pressurization source 107 presses the semiconductor wafer 10 by supplying a fluid to the blow holes 116 through the flow rate control valve 108. The fluid may be a gas. According to embodiments, the fluid may be an inert gas. For example, the pressurization source 107 may be a booster pump or a gas-filled bombe.
See also Figure 1, showing that the pressurization source is separate from the vacuum source.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the positive pressure supply includes a pump configured to supply positive pressure to the first space of the base member in order to ensure proper holding as in Ishimoto.
As to claim 11, Terada discloses wherein the base member is on a lower portion of a case of a bonding head.
However, Terada does not disclose that the pump is in or around the case of the bonding head.
Ishimoto discloses using a pump as discussed in parent claim 10. Additionally, changes in size and shape and reversal or rearrangement of parts is often obvious absent unexpected results or persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is significant. See MPEP 2144.04 IV and VI:
IV. CHANGES IN SIZE, SHAPE, OR SEQUENCE OF ADDING INGREDIENTS
A. Changes in Size/Proportion
In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) (Claims directed to a lumber package "of appreciable size and weight requiring handling by a lift truck" were held unpatentable over prior art lumber packages which could be lifted by hand because limitations relating to the size of the package were not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art.); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976) ("mere scaling up of a prior art process capable of being scaled up, if such were the case, would not establish patentability in a claim to an old process so scaled." 531 F.2d at 1053, 189 USPQ at 148.).
In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
B. Changes in Shape
In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.).
…
VI. REVERSAL, DUPLICATION, OR REARRANGEMENT OF PARTS
A. Reversal of Parts
In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955) (Prior art disclosed a clock fixed to the stationary steering wheel column of an automobile while the gear for winding the clock moves with steering wheel; mere reversal of such movement, so the clock moves with wheel, was held to be an obvious modification.).
…
C. Rearrangement of Parts
In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the pump of Ishimoto and to place it such that the pump is in or around the case of the bonding head because changes is size and shape and reversal or rearrangement of parts is often obvious absent unexpected results or persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is significant.
Claim(s) 14-15 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terada (JP 2019110227 A) in view of Ishimoto (US 20230178394 A1), Okamoto (US 20080233680 A1) and Meguro (US 20190080950 A1).
As to claim 14, Terada discloses a semiconductor bonding apparatus comprising:
a bonding head (“bonding head 5”) configured to absorb and hold a semiconductor chip;
a driving mechanism configured to move the bonding head in a horizontal direction (“In the mounting apparatus 1 of FIG. 11, the stage 4 holds the substrate PB, and the bonding head 5 has a function of performing heat and pressure bonding on the substrate PB in a state where the semiconductor chip SC is adsorbed and held. The semiconductor chip SC can be thermocompression-bonded to a predetermined location on the substrate PB by the movement.”);
a stage configured to support a substrate on which the semiconductor chip is to be bonded (“In the mounting apparatus 1 of FIG. 11, the stage 4 holds the substrate PB, and the bonding head 5 has a function of performing heat and pressure bonding on the substrate PB in a state where the semiconductor chip SC is adsorbed and held.”); and
a shape sensor configured to measure a shape of the semiconductor chip (See the translation, disclosing “First, after aligning the semiconductor chip SC held by the attachment tool 50 of the bonding head 5 of the mounting apparatus 1 of FIG. 11 and the substrate PB held by the stage 4 using the image recognition means 7, the bonding head 5 is assembled. ”),
wherein the bonding head (attachment tool 50) includes a holding portion and a head body portion, the holding portion configured to absorb and bond the semiconductor chip, the head body portion configured to supply negative pressure (via “pressure reduction pump 8”) to the holding portion, and
the holding portion includes a base member connected to a lower portion of the head body portion and a porous plate member bonded to a bottom surface of the base member, the porous plate member including a porous material having air permeability (“adsorption portion 51 is a plate-like porous body,”), the porous plate member having a first surface configured to contact the semiconductor chip (“an adsorption surface 51S for adsorbing the semiconductor chip SC.”).
See Figures 1-4, below:
See the translation, disclosing:
The bonding head 5 includes at least an attachment tool 50 for holding the semiconductor chip SC by suction and a heater 53 for heating the semiconductor chip SC via the attachment tool 50, as an example shown in FIG. 12 (cited reference 1). Here, in order for the attachment tool 50 to hold the semiconductor chip SC by suction, a pressure reduction channel 59 is provided in the bonding head 5, and the pressure reduction channel is in communication with the pressure reduction pump 8 through the pipe 81.
FIG. 13 shows an example of the shape of the attachment tool 50, and the shape seen from the suction surface holding the semiconductor chip SC is FIG. 13 (b), this AA cross section, CC cross section and DD 13 (a), 13 (c) and 13 (d) show the cross section, and a groove 50C communicating with the pressure reducing channel 59 is provided on the adsorption surface. Therefore, if the semiconductor chip SC is positioned in a state of closing the groove 50C, the inside of the groove 50C is decompressed by the operation of the decompression pump 8, and the semiconductor chip SC is adsorbed and held by the attachment tool 50.
…
Unlike the conventional attachment tool 50 shown in FIG. 13, the attachment tool 50 of the present invention is constituted by a suction unit 51 and a frame 52 as shown in FIG. 1.
The adsorption portion 51 is a plate-like porous body, and the lower surface is an adsorption surface 51S for adsorbing the semiconductor chip SC. The material of the adsorbing portion 51 is selected to have heat resistance to withstand heat and pressure at the time of thermocompression bonding, rigidity, dimensional stability, and heat conductivity to transmit the heat of the heater 53. Specifically, metal and ceramics are preferable, but resin or glass may be used according to the temperature and pressure at the time of thermocompression bonding.
The frame portion 52 holds the suction portion 51, and its shape is shown in FIG. 2 (b) is a view as seen from the lower surface of the frame 52, and FIG. 2 (a) and FIG. 2 (c) show an AA cross section and a CC cross section in FIG. 2 (b). is there. The frame portion 52 is a two-step plate-like member, the large area side has the same surface shape as the heater 53, and the small area side has a recess 52V, and the bottom surface of the recess 52V A groove 52C communicating with the pressure reducing channel 59 is provided in 52B. The inner frame shape of the recess 52V is the same as or slightly larger than that of the suction surface 51S, and the suction portion 51 can be fitted into the recess 52V. The material of the frame portion 52 is also required to have heat resistance, rigidity, dimensional stability and resistance to heat and pressure at the time of thermocompression bonding as in the adsorption portion 51, and to have heat conductivity for transmitting the heat of the heater 53. However, those having excellent processability are more desirable. Specifically, a metal, a ceramic, a glass, a resin, and a composite material thereof may be selected in consideration of the temperature, pressure, heat conductivity, and processability at the time of thermocompression bonding.
It is FIG. 3 which showed the shape of the attachment tool 50 which inserted the adsorption | suction part 51 in the frame part 52. As shown in FIG. FIG. 3B is a view of the attachment tool 50 as viewed from the side of the suction surface 51S (bottom surface), and is a sectional view of the attachment tool 50 taken along the lines A-A and C-C in FIG. It is FIG. 3 (a) and FIG.3 (c). 3 (a) is a cross section of the portion where the groove 52C is provided in the bottom 52B of the frame 52, and in FIG. 1 also shows the cross section of the portion where the groove 52C is provided.
The suction surface 51S of the suction portion 51 shown in FIG. 3 has a surface shape substantially equal to that of the semiconductor chip SC. When holding the semiconductor chip SC, almost the entire suction surface 51S is in contact with the semiconductor chip SC. It has become. Here, with regard to the pore diameter of the porous body forming the adsorbing portion 51, if it is too small, the adsorption force at the time of holding the semiconductor chip SC will decrease from the relationship of pressure loss. Since there is a concern that the chip SC may be deformed, it is necessary to set it in an appropriate range. As a specific numerical value, the average pore diameter is 4 to 50 μm, more preferably 10 to 30 μm.
When fitting the suction portion 51 into the frame portion 52, the suction portion 51 needs to be securely fixed to the frame portion 52. For this reason, as shown in FIG. 4, it is desirable to fix the suction part 51 to the frame 52 through the adhesive layer 512. As a material of the adhesive layer 512, glass welding having heat resistance is desirable, but a resin adhesive may be used as long as it has long-term heat resistance to the temperature at the time of thermocompression bonding. In the case of using the adsorption portion 51 and the frame portion 52 having different coefficients of thermal expansion, the adhesion layer 512 may be formed of the adhesion layer 512 in order to suppress peeling of the adhesion layer 512 during thermal expansion (or contraction). It is desirable to select one having a thermal expansion coefficient between the thermal expansion coefficient and the thermal expansion coefficient of the frame 52.
In the attachment tool 50 of the present invention, the suction portion 51 has a thickness exceeding the depth of the concave portion of the frame 52, and the distance between the suction portion 51 and the frame 52 is as shown in FIGS. Only DP stands out. As described above, the reason why the suction unit 51 is protruded with respect to the frame 52 is to avoid the interference between the adjacent (mounted) semiconductor chip SC and the frame 52 when the semiconductor chip SC is thermocompression-bonded. It is. Here, in order to prevent interference between the frame 52 and the adjacent semiconductor chip SC, it is preferable that the distance DP by which the suction unit 51 protrudes with respect to the frame 52 be 0.1 mm or more. However, as the distance DP increases, the porous holes are exposed in addition to the adsorption surface 51S for adsorbing the semiconductor chip SC, so that not only the ability to adsorb the semiconductor chip SC decreases, but also the suction of the outside air. There are also concerns about temperature drops (during heating). For this reason, as shown in FIG. 4, it is desirable to close the holes of the protrusions other than the suction surface 51S by forming a curtain of the same material as the adhesive layer 512 around the suction portion 51 protruding from the frame 52 .
By the way, although groove 52C provided in bottom 52B of crevice 52V is formed in cross shape in attachment tool 50 of Drawing 3, since adsorption part 51 is a porous body, by decompressing decompression channel 59, pressure is reduced. Not only the portion facing the groove 52C but also the entire surface of the suction surface 51S has a suction force. However, due to the influence of pressure loss, the adsorption power is slightly different between the portion immediately below the groove 52C and the other portion. Therefore, when it is intended to obtain a strong adsorption force on the entire surface of the suction surface 51S, as shown in FIG. 5, the groove 52C can reduce the pressure on the opposite side of the suction surface 51S of the suction portion 51 as wide as possible. Form. However, in the case of the example of FIG. 5, since the adsorbing portion 51 is supported only in the vicinity of the outer peripheral portion, there is a concern that it may be curved at the time of thermocompression bonding. As a countermeasure, the adsorption part 51 may be thickened, but in some cases the thickness can not be increased from the viewpoint of pressure loss and heat conduction, so as shown in FIG. The groove 52C may be provided on the bottom surface 52B of the recess 52V (of the frame portion).
Even in the frame portion 52 having the groove 52C as shown in FIG. 6, the bottom surface 52B (of the recess 52V in the frame portion 52) is in close contact with the upper side at the outer peripheral portion of the suction portion 51 as shown in FIG. Because it is blocked, the flow path to the groove 52C is long. For this reason, the suction force at the outer peripheral portion of the suction portion 51 is slightly reduced, and there may be a case where the suction failure occurs at the outer peripheral portion depending on the thickness and the shape of the semiconductor chip SC. Therefore, as illustrated in FIG. 8, the groove provided on the bottom surface 52B of the recess 52V in the frame 52 may be formed to extend to the outer peripheral portion of the bottom 52B.
By the way, the production technology for obtaining the plate-like porous body used for the adsorption part 51 of the present invention is advanced, and an attachment constituted by the adsorption part 51 made of a porous body and the frame 52 for holding the same. The tool 50 can be manufactured inexpensively as compared with precision processing in which a large number of fine suction holes or grooves are formed on the suction surface of the conventional method.
Terada does not disclose the head body portion configured to supply positive pressure to the holding portion. Terada can also be argued to not disclose either a head body portion and to disclose a driving mechanism configured to move the bonding head in a horizontal direction.
Okamoto and Meguro disclose a head body portion and that the head body portion configured to supply positive pressure to the holding portion as well as negative pressure. See Okamoto Figures 2A and 4A
See also Okamoto paragraphs 0028-30, disclosing:
[0028] In general, the invention provides a die handling collet and related systems and methods for improved die handling in semiconductor device manufacturing processes, particularly die attach processes. Referring primarily to FIG. 1 and FIG. 2A, a bottom view (FIG. 1) and cutaway side view (FIG. 2A) of a collet 10 according to a preferred embodiment of the invention is described. A body 12, preferably made from plastic, metal, or other suitably rigid material, is capable of receiving a die 14 (FIG. 2A). A vacuum groove 16 is provided at the edge of the body 12. The vacuum groove 16 is incorporated into a die-bearing surface 18 of the body 12, preferably entirely around the periphery. The vacuum groove 16 is in communication with vacuum ports 20 for transmitting a vacuum force, indicated by arrow 22, generated by a suitable mechanism such as a pump (not shown). The vacuum groove 16 preferably distributes the vacuum force around the periphery of the die-bearing surface 18 for holding a die 14 during handling and placement. A chamber 24 is incorporated within the body 12 and is preferably encompassed by the die-bearing surface 18. One side of the chamber 24 is open such that a die 14 placed on the bearing surface 18 completes the enclosure. Within the chamber 24, a port 26 is provided for expelling pressurized gas, preferably air, indicated by arrow 28. The expelled gas 28 pressurizes the chamber 24, exerting a pushing force on the adjacent surface of the die 14. The pushing force preferably opposes the die flexion which tends to occur due to the application of the vacuum force 22, preventing or reducing the temporary formation of a concavity on the outer surface of the die 14 due to flexing. Preferably, during die attach, the chamber 24 is sufficiently pressurized to cause the die 14 to bow outward slightly in a position convex to the adjacent die pad 32 or intervening die attach adhesive 30 (FIG. 2A).
[0029] Now referring primarily to FIG. 2B, the collet 10 is shown in the context of further steps in a die attach method according to preferred embodiments of the invention. As illustrated, using the preferred embodiment of the collet 10 shown and described above, the expelled air 28 within the chamber 24 is preferably used to flex the die 14 in order to present a convex surface to the die attach material 30 pre-applied to the die pad 32. The convex surface of the die 14, as indicated by arrows 34, tends to expel air from between the die 14 and die attach adhesive 30 during the ultimate placement of the die, reducing the frequency and magnitude of void formation. Although the use of a convex surface is preferred, in an alternative embodiment, the die may be flexed by the expelled air 28 by an amount adapted to counter any inward flexion caused by the vacuum 22, and calculated to prevent the outward flexion of the die 14. This implementation may be preferred for example with particularly delicate dice, preventing or attenuating flexion and presenting a substantially flat die surface to the die pad 32 and the intervening die attach adhesive 30, promoting a uniform thickness of die attach material 30. It should be appreciated by those skilled in the arts that other alternative embodiments are possible without departure from the invention, for example, die attach processes using die adhesive film may also advantageously use the invention. As depicted in FIG. 2C, as the collet 10 brings the die 14 into position on the die attach adhesive 30, the pushing and vacuum forces may be reduced or eliminated, ultimately enabling the collet 10 to be removed after the die 14 is placed.
[0030] An alternative preferred embodiment of a collet 40 of the invention is depicted in a bottom view in FIG. 3, and in corresponding cutaway side views in FIG. 4A through 4C showing an example of a system and method for its use. As described elsewhere herein, the collet 40 has a body 12 preferably made from plastic, metal, or like material and is capable of receiving a die 14 as shown. A vacuum groove 16 is incorporated into the die-bearing surface 18 of the collet 40, preferably at the edge of the body 12 and around its periphery. The vacuum groove 16 is provided with a vacuum force 22 through suitable vacuum ports 20. The vacuum groove 16 preferably evenly distributes the vacuum force 22 around the periphery of the die-bearing surface 18 for holding a die 14 during handling and placement. An interior chamber 24 is incorporated within the die-bearing surface 18 of the body 12. A port 26 is provided for expelling pressurized air or other gas 28 into the chamber 24. As in the other preferred embodiment described, the expelled air 28 pressurizes the chamber 24 to prevent the formation of a concavity in the outer surface of an adjacent die 14 due to flexion in response to the application of the vacuum force 22. Preferably, during die attach the chamber 24 is sufficiently pressurized to cause the die to bow outward slightly in a position convex to the adjacent die attach adhesive 30 as shown in FIG. 4A and FIG. 4B. In this alternative embodiment, the collet 40 also includes a support skin 42. The support skin 42 is preferably permanently attached to the die bearing surface 18 of the collet body 12. The support skin 42 is made from a flexible material such as, for example, a thin film of Teflon, Mylar, (both registered trademarks of DuPont Corporation), polymer, or the like. In operation, while the vacuum 22 exerted in the vacuum groove 16 holds the die 14, the pushing force of air 28 expelled into the cavity 24 pressurizes the support skin 42. As a result, the center region of the die 14 may be caused to bow outward in a shape convex relative to the die attach adhesive 30. As with the above-described embodiments, using this preferred method, the bowed center region of the die 14 die contacts the die attach adhesive 30 first and then spreads outward toward the periphery as it is moved toward the die pad and as the pushing force on the die 14 is diminished. This sequence avoids the trapping of air during die attach, helps to form the die attach adhesive into a bond line 30 of uniform thickness, and fosters the formation of suitable fillets 36. Alternatively, for example in cases where the die 14 may be particularly susceptible to damage from flexing, the outward pressure 28 may be regulated to hold the die 14 substantially flat relative to the die pad 32 and attach adhesive 30. Thus the invention may be used for regulating the shape of the die surface presented to the die attach locale, balancing against inward flexion exerted by the vacuum force 22, but refraining from bowing the die 14 outward in order to prevent inducing stress on the die 14 in cases where increased gentleness is required. In another alternative embodiment, illustrated in the final position of the die 14 in FIG. 4C, the bond line 30 is cured with a "smile" profile as shown, preferably uniformly thinner in the central region of the die 14 and progressively thicker approaching the periphery.
Meguro also discloses a head body portion and that the head body portion configured to supply positive pressure to the holding portion as well as negative pressure. See also Meguro, Figure 1, showing both a negative pressure supply (gas supply source 13) and positive pressure supply (vacuum pump 16) and Figures 3 and 4, showing concave and convex shapes.
See also Meguro, paragraphs 0014-23, disclosing:
[0014] The semiconductor manufacturing apparatus of FIG. 1 includes a vacuum chamber 11, an electrostatic chuck stage 12, a gas supply source 13, a gas introduction pipe 14, a gas introduction valve 15, a vacuum pump 16, a gas discharge pipe 17, a gas discharge valve 18, a power supply 19 and a switch 20. The electrostatic chuck stage 12 includes an insulating portion 12a, an electrode plate 12b, a base portion 12c, a first gas introduction groove 12d which is an example of a first opening, a second gas introduction groove 12e which is an example of a second opening, and a gas discharge groove 12f which is an example of an opening.
[0015] The semiconductor manufacturing apparatus of FIG. 1 further includes a first flow meter 21, a first pressure gauge 22, a second flow meter 23, a second pressure gauge 24 and an information processing unit 25. The first flow meter 21 and the first pressure gauge 22 are examples of a first measuring device or measurement instrument. The second flow meter 23 and the second pressure gauge 24 are examples of a second measuring device or measurement instrument. The information processing unit 25 is an example of an output unit. The information processing unit 25 includes a display unit 25a.
[0016] As shown in FIG. 1, the vacuum chamber 11 accommodates the wafer 1, and the electrostatic chuck stage 12 holds (chucks) the wafer 1. The electrostatic chuck stage 12 includes the electrode plate 12b between the insulating portion 12a and the base portion 12c, and electrostatically attracts the wafer 1 by the electrode plate 12b. The first gas introduction groove 12d, the second gas introduction groove 12e and the gas discharge groove 12f have an annular shape and are provided on the upper surface of the electrostatic chuck stage 12. The side surfaces of these grooves are covered with an insulating film, not shown.
[0017] FIG. 2 is a perspective view schematically showing the outer shape of the electrostatic chuck stage 12 of FIG. 1.
[0018] The point C represents the center of the upper surface of the electrostatic chuck stage 12. The first gas introduction groove 12d, the second gas introduction groove 12e and the gas discharge groove 12f of the embodiment have a circular shape centered on the point C. Here, the diameter of the first gas introduction groove 12d is 10 mm, the diameter of the second gas introduction groove 12e is 280 mm, and the diameter of the gas discharge groove 12f is 50 mm. Therefore, the second gas introduction groove 12e surrounds the first gas introduction groove 12d, and the gas discharge groove 12f is located between the first gas introduction groove 12d and the second gas introduction groove 12e.
[0019] Referring to FIG. 1 again, the description of the semiconductor manufacturing apparatus will be continued.
[0020] The gas supply source 13 supplies gas to the electrostatic chuck stage 12 via the gas introduction pipe 14. An example gas is an inert gas such as argon gas. The gas introduction pipe 14 includes pipes A1 to A7.
[0021] The pipe A1 is connected to the gas supply source 13, and has the gas introduction valve 15. The pipe A1 branches to the pipes A2 and A3, the pipe A2 branches to the pipes A4 and A5, and the pipe A3 branches to the pipes A6 and A7. The first gas introduction groove 12d is supplied with gas from the pipes A4 and A5, and supplies gas to the lower surface of the wafer 1. The second gas introduction groove 12e is supplied with gas from the pipes A6 and A7, and supplies gas to the lower surface of the wafer 1. The first gas introduction groove 12d may be supplied with gas from three or more pipes. In addition, the second gas introduction groove 12e may also be supplied with gas from three or more pipes. The process of supplying gas from the gas supply source 13 to the electrostatic chuck stage 12 can be controlled by the opening and closing and the opening degree of the gas introduction valve 15.
[0022] The vacuum pump 16 discharges gas supplied to the wafer 1 via the gas discharge groove 12f and the gas discharge pipe 17. The gas discharge pipe 17 includes pipes B1 to B3.
[0023] The pipe B1 is connected to the vacuum pump 16, and has a gas discharge valve 18. The pipe B1 branches to the pipes B2 and B3. The gas supplied to the wafer 1 is discharged from the gas discharge groove 12f to the pipes B2 and B3, and transferred from the pipes B2 and B3 to the pipe B1. The gas discharge groove 12f may discharge gas from three or more pipes. The process of discharging gas from the electrostatic chuck stage 12 by the vacuum pump 16 can be controlled by the opening and closing and the opening degree of the gas discharge valve 18.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized a head body portion and that the head body portion configured to supply positive pressure to the holding portion as well as negative pressure as taught by Okamoto and Meguro in order to enable attaching particularly delicate dice, by preventing or attenuating flexion and presenting a substantially flat die surface to the die pad and the intervening die attach adhesive, thereby promoting a uniform thickness of die attach material and achieve control over the state of the held substrate.
Additionally, Ishimoto discloses a pickup device, which is a driving mechanism configured to move the bonding head in a horizontal direction. See paragraphs 0070-71, disclosing:
[0070] When it is determined that the chip 10 is sufficiently peeled off the tape 20 based on the captured image of the infrared camera 340, the chip peeling apparatus 1000c moves the pickup device 200c to a pickup position. The pickup position means a position in which the chip 10 may be picked up. FIG. 10 is a schematic diagram illustrating an overview of a method of moving the pickup device 200c.
[0071] When the chip 10 is sufficiently peeled off the tape 20, the casing 310 moves in the X-axis forward direction as marked with an arrow 40. At this time, as marked with a dash-dotted line, the pickup device 200c is arranged right above the chip 10. Next, the casing 310 moves in the Z-axis reverse direction (the −Z-axis direction) as marked with an arrow 41. Accordingly, the pickup device 200c moves the chip 10 to the position in which the chip 10 may be picked up.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized a driving mechanism configured to move the bonding head in a horizontal direction such as the pickup device of Ishimoto in order to moves the chip to the position in which the chip may be picked up
As to claim 15, Terada discloses wherein the base member (frame portion 52) includes a metal material. See the translation, disclosing:
The material of the frame portion 52 is also required to have heat resistance, rigidity, dimensional stability and resistance to heat and pressure at the time of thermocompression bonding as in the adsorption portion 51, and to have heat conductivity for transmitting the heat of the heater 53. However, those having excellent processability are more desirable. Specifically, a metal, a ceramic, a glass, a resin, and a composite material thereof may be selected in consideration of the temperature, pressure, heat conductivity, and processability at the time of thermocompression bonding.
As to claim 17, Terada does not disclose wherein the base member includes a first space and a second space on a second surface of the porous plate member, the second surface being opposite to the first surface, and the head body portion is configured to introduce positive pressure into the first space and negative pressure into the second space.
However, Okamoto and Meguro also discloses wherein the base member includes a first space and a second space on a second surface of the porous plate member, the second surface being opposite to the first surface, and the head body portion is configured to introduce positive pressure into the first space and negative pressure into the second space. See the citations above in claim 14, especially the marked up Figures.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the base member includes a first space and a second space on a second surface of the porous plate member, the second surface being opposite to the first surface, and the head body portion is configured to introduce positive pressure into the first space and negative pressure into the second space as taught by Okamoto and Meguro in order to enable attaching particularly delicate dice, by preventing or attenuating flexion and presenting a substantially flat die surface to the die pad and the intervening die attach adhesive, thereby promoting a uniform thickness of die attach material and achieve control over the state of the held substrate.
As to claim 18, Terada does not disclose wherein the second space is spaced apart from the first space and surrounds the first space, on the bottom surface of the base member.
However, Okamoto and Meguro as applied discloses wherein the second space is spaced apart from the first space and surrounds the first space, on the bottom surface of the base member. See the citations above in claim 14, especially the marked up Figures.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the second space is spaced apart from the first space and surrounds the first space, on the bottom surface of the base member as taught by Okamoto and Meguro in order to enable attaching particularly delicate dice, by preventing or attenuating flexion and presenting a substantially flat die surface to the die pad and the intervening die attach adhesive, thereby promoting a uniform thickness of die attach material and achieve control over the state of the held substrate.
As to claim 19, Terada discloses wherein the driving mechanism (movement of the stage 4 and bonding head 5) is configured to move the bonding head, between a first position in which the bonding head is on the stage and a second position in which the bonding head is on the shape sensor, and the shape sensor (image recognition means 7) is configured to measure a convex shape of the semiconductor chip absorbed and held by the bonding head.
See the translation, disclosing:
In the mounting apparatus 1 of FIG. 11, the stage 4 holds the substrate PB, and the bonding head 5 has a function of performing heat and pressure bonding on the substrate PB in a state where the semiconductor chip SC is adsorbed and held. The semiconductor chip SC can be thermocompression-bonded to a predetermined location on the substrate PB by the movement.
…
First, after aligning the semiconductor chip SC held by the attachment tool 50 of the bonding head 5 of the mounting apparatus 1 of FIG. 11 and the substrate PB held by the stage 4 using the image recognition means 7, the bonding head 5 is assembled. The heating and thermocompression bonding of the semiconductor chip SC while being processed is the same as a mounting method using a conventional mounting apparatus.
Terada also teaches the shape sensor in the form of image recognition means.
See the translation, disclosing:
First, after aligning the semiconductor chip SC held by the attachment tool 50 of the bonding head 5 of the mounting apparatus 1 of FIG. 11 and the substrate PB held by the stage 4 using the image recognition means 7, the bonding head 5 is assembled. The heating and thermocompression bonding of the semiconductor chip SC while being processed is the same as a mounting method using a conventional mounting apparatus.
Additionally, Meguro as incorporated discloses determining the warpage (i.e., the shape) of the substrate based on the determination results from the pressure gauges and flow meters. See paragraph 0037-38, disclosing:
[0037] In this case, the information processing unit 25 can determine that there is an abnormality in the wafer 1 in the vicinity of the first gas introduction groove 12d, and that there is no abnormality in the wafer 1 in the vicinity of the second gas introduction groove 12e. As a result, it can be determined that the wafer 1 has convex warpage. The information processing unit 25 displays on the display unit 25a the determination result that the wafer 1 has convex warpage.
[0038] FIG. 4 shows a case where the wafer 1 warped in the pulling direction (concave direction) is placed on the electrostatic chuck stage 12. In this case, the distance between the wafer 1 and the electrostatic chuck stage 12 is increased in the vicinity of the second gas introduction groove 12e, and the increased gas flows from the second gas introduction groove 12e to the vacuum chamber 11. As a result, the second flow rate from the second flow meter 23 increases, and the second pressure from the second pressure gauge 24 decreases. On the other hand, the first flow rate from the first flow meter 21 and the first pressure from the first pressure gauge 22 are maintained substantially constant.
[0039] In this case, the information processing unit 25 can determine that there is abnormality in the wafer 1 in the vicinity of the second gas introduction groove 12e, and there is no abnormality in the wafer 1 in the vicinity of the first gas introduction groove 12d. As a result, it can be determined that the wafer 1 has concave warpage. The information processing unit 25 displays on the display unit 25a the determination result that the wafer 1 has concave warpage.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized further comprising: a shape sensor (“image recognition means) configured to measure a shape of the semiconductor chip and feedback a measurement result thereof to the positive pressure supply as suggested by Meguro in order to determinate the warp shape of a substrate.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terada (JP 2019110227 A) in view of Okamoto (US 20080233680 A1) and Meguro (US 20190080950 A1) as applied to claim 14-15 and 17-19 above, and further in view of Ishikawa (JP 2008006529 A)
As to claim 16, Terada discloses wherein the porous plate member includes ceramics. See the translation, disclosing “Specifically, metal and ceramics are preferable, but resin or glass may be used according to the temperature and pressure at the time of thermocompression bonding.”
Terada does not disclose wherein the porous plate member includes aluminum oxide or silicon carbide.
However, Ishikawa discloses porous body mainly made of silicon carbide and thus makes obvious wherein the porous plate member includes aluminum oxide or silicon carbide. See the abstract and advantageous effects section, disclosing:
Abstract
<P>PROBLEM TO BE SOLVED: To make heat conductivity and rigidity of a vacuum chuck itself low, and to make ventilation resistance of the vacuum chuck high. <P>SOLUTION: This vacuum chuck 1 is provided with a mounting part 2 made of porous body mainly made of silicon carbide and provided with a suction surface 2b to suck and hold a body to be sucked, and a supporting part 3 made of dense body mainly made of silicon carbide, provided with a suction passage 3a communicated with the suction surface 2b at the inside and supporting the mounting part 2 by surrounding the mounting part 2. The porous body forming the mounting part 2 is made by joining crystal grains of silicon carbide by silicon, and thickness of the mounting part 2 is ≤35% (except 0%) of that of the supporting part 3.
…
ADVANTAGEOUS-EFFECTS
According to the vacuum chuck of the present invention, the porous material forming the mounting part is made by bonding a silicon crystal grains of silicon carbide, and, the thickness of the support portion, the thickness of the placing section 35 % Since a (excluding 0%) or less, because it is joined by silicon crystal grains of silicon carbide, wettability silicon carbide crystal grains of times, and a porous body forming the mounting portion to which silicon Since its thermal conductivity is high, it is possible to increase the thermal conductivity and stiffness of the vacuum chuck itself. At the same time, the thickness of the mounting portion so that a more than 35% of the thickness of the support portion, the thickness of the support portion made of a relatively dense material is as high as 65% or more, and the length of the suction passage of the support section within the It can not only be increased is to reduce flow resistance and to increase the rigidity and thermal conductivity in the thickness direction of the vacuum chuck in particular.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the porous plate member includes aluminum oxide or silicon carbide as taught by Ishikawa because since (silicon carbide’s) thermal conductivity is high, it is possible to increase the thermal conductivity and stiffness of the vacuum chuck itself
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terada (JP 2019110227 A) in view of Okamoto (US 20080233680 A1), Meguro (US 20190080950 A1) and Bourkel (US 5445188 A).
As to claim 20, Terada discloses a semiconductor bonding apparatus comprising:
a porous plate member including a porous material having air permeability (“adsorption portion 51 is a plate-like porous body,”), the porous plate member having a first surface configured to contact a semiconductor chip (“an adsorption surface 51S for adsorbing the semiconductor chip SC.”) and a second surface being opposite to the first surface;
a base member (frame portion 52) bonded (via adhesive layer 512) to the second surface of the porous plate member, the base member including a second space (“the groove 52C”) configured to introduce at least negative pressure into a peripheral region of the second surface of the porous plate member; and
a head body portion (such as Figure 1 and 11 and 13) configured to supply negative pressure (from “pressure reduction pump 8”) to the second space of the base member (“the pressure reduction channel is in communication with the pressure reduction pump 8 through the pipe 81”).
See Figures 1-4, below:
See the translation, disclosing:
The bonding head 5 includes at least an attachment tool 50 for holding the semiconductor chip SC by suction and a heater 53 for heating the semiconductor chip SC via the attachment tool 50, as an example shown in FIG. 12 (cited reference 1). Here, in order for the attachment tool 50 to hold the semiconductor chip SC by suction, a pressure reduction channel 59 is provided in the bonding head 5, and the pressure reduction channel is in communication with the pressure reduction pump 8 through the pipe 81.
FIG. 13 shows an example of the shape of the attachment tool 50, and the shape seen from the suction surface holding the semiconductor chip SC is FIG. 13 (b), this AA cross section, CC cross section and DD 13 (a), 13 (c) and 13 (d) show the cross section, and a groove 50C communicating with the pressure reducing channel 59 is provided on the adsorption surface. Therefore, if the semiconductor chip SC is positioned in a state of closing the groove 50C, the inside of the groove 50C is decompressed by the operation of the decompression pump 8, and the semiconductor chip SC is adsorbed and held by the attachment tool 50.
…
Unlike the conventional attachment tool 50 shown in FIG. 13, the attachment tool 50 of the present invention is constituted by a suction unit 51 and a frame 52 as shown in FIG. 1.
The adsorption portion 51 is a plate-like porous body, and the lower surface is an adsorption surface 51S for adsorbing the semiconductor chip SC. The material of the adsorbing portion 51 is selected to have heat resistance to withstand heat and pressure at the time of thermocompression bonding, rigidity, dimensional stability, and heat conductivity to transmit the heat of the heater 53. Specifically, metal and ceramics are preferable, but resin or glass may be used according to the temperature and pressure at the time of thermocompression bonding.
The frame portion 52 holds the suction portion 51, and its shape is shown in FIG. 2 (b) is a view as seen from the lower surface of the frame 52, and FIG. 2 (a) and FIG. 2 (c) show an AA cross section and a CC cross section in FIG. 2 (b). is there. The frame portion 52 is a two-step plate-like member, the large area side has the same surface shape as the heater 53, and the small area side has a recess 52V, and the bottom surface of the recess 52V A groove 52C communicating with the pressure reducing channel 59 is provided in 52B. The inner frame shape of the recess 52V is the same as or slightly larger than that of the suction surface 51S, and the suction portion 51 can be fitted into the recess 52V. The material of the frame portion 52 is also required to have heat resistance, rigidity, dimensional stability and resistance to heat and pressure at the time of thermocompression bonding as in the adsorption portion 51, and to have heat conductivity for transmitting the heat of the heater 53. However, those having excellent processability are more desirable. Specifically, a metal, a ceramic, a glass, a resin, and a composite material thereof may be selected in consideration of the temperature, pressure, heat conductivity, and processability at the time of thermocompression bonding.
It is FIG. 3 which showed the shape of the attachment tool 50 which inserted the adsorption | suction part 51 in the frame part 52. As shown in FIG. FIG. 3B is a view of the attachment tool 50 as viewed from the side of the suction surface 51S (bottom surface), and is a sectional view of the attachment tool 50 taken along the lines A-A and C-C in FIG. It is FIG. 3 (a) and FIG.3 (c). 3 (a) is a cross section of the portion where the groove 52C is provided in the bottom 52B of the frame 52, and in FIG. 1 also shows the cross section of the portion where the groove 52C is provided.
The suction surface 51S of the suction portion 51 shown in FIG. 3 has a surface shape substantially equal to that of the semiconductor chip SC. When holding the semiconductor chip SC, almost the entire suction surface 51S is in contact with the semiconductor chip SC. It has become. Here, with regard to the pore diameter of the porous body forming the adsorbing portion 51, if it is too small, the adsorption force at the time of holding the semiconductor chip SC will decrease from the relationship of pressure loss. Since there is a concern that the chip SC may be deformed, it is necessary to set it in an appropriate range. As a specific numerical value, the average pore diameter is 4 to 50 μm, more preferably 10 to 30 μm.
When fitting the suction portion 51 into the frame portion 52, the suction portion 51 needs to be securely fixed to the frame portion 52. For this reason, as shown in FIG. 4, it is desirable to fix the suction part 51 to the frame 52 through the adhesive layer 512. As a material of the adhesive layer 512, glass welding having heat resistance is desirable, but a resin adhesive may be used as long as it has long-term heat resistance to the temperature at the time of thermocompression bonding. In the case of using the adsorption portion 51 and the frame portion 52 having different coefficients of thermal expansion, the adhesion layer 512 may be formed of the adhesion layer 512 in order to suppress peeling of the adhesion layer 512 during thermal expansion (or contraction). It is desirable to select one having a thermal expansion coefficient between the thermal expansion coefficient and the thermal expansion coefficient of the frame 52.
In the attachment tool 50 of the present invention, the suction portion 51 has a thickness exceeding the depth of the concave portion of the frame 52, and the distance between the suction portion 51 and the frame 52 is as shown in FIGS. Only DP stands out. As described above, the reason why the suction unit 51 is protruded with respect to the frame 52 is to avoid the interference between the adjacent (mounted) semiconductor chip SC and the frame 52 when the semiconductor chip SC is thermocompression-bonded. It is. Here, in order to prevent interference between the frame 52 and the adjacent semiconductor chip SC, it is preferable that the distance DP by which the suction unit 51 protrudes with respect to the frame 52 be 0.1 mm or more. However, as the distance DP increases, the porous holes are exposed in addition to the adsorption surface 51S for adsorbing the semiconductor chip SC, so that not only the ability to adsorb the semiconductor chip SC decreases, but also the suction of the outside air. There are also concerns about temperature drops (during heating). For this reason, as shown in FIG. 4, it is desirable to close the holes of the protrusions other than the suction surface 51S by forming a curtain of the same material as the adhesive layer 512 around the suction portion 51 protruding from the frame 52 .
By the way, although groove 52C provided in bottom 52B of crevice 52V is formed in cross shape in attachment tool 50 of Drawing 3, since adsorption part 51 is a porous body, by decompressing decompression channel 59, pressure is reduced. Not only the portion facing the groove 52C but also the entire surface of the suction surface 51S has a suction force. However, due to the influence of pressure loss, the adsorption power is slightly different between the portion immediately below the groove 52C and the other portion. Therefore, when it is intended to obtain a strong adsorption force on the entire surface of the suction surface 51S, as shown in FIG. 5, the groove 52C can reduce the pressure on the opposite side of the suction surface 51S of the suction portion 51 as wide as possible. Form. However, in the case of the example of FIG. 5, since the adsorbing portion 51 is supported only in the vicinity of the outer peripheral portion, there is a concern that it may be curved at the time of thermocompression bonding. As a countermeasure, the adsorption part 51 may be thickened, but in some cases the thickness can not be increased from the viewpoint of pressure loss and heat conduction, so as shown in FIG. The groove 52C may be provided on the bottom surface 52B of the recess 52V (of the frame portion).
Even in the frame portion 52 having the groove 52C as shown in FIG. 6, the bottom surface 52B (of the recess 52V in the frame portion 52) is in close contact with the upper side at the outer peripheral portion of the suction portion 51 as shown in FIG. Because it is blocked, the flow path to the groove 52C is long. For this reason, the suction force at the outer peripheral portion of the suction portion 51 is slightly reduced, and there may be a case where the suction failure occurs at the outer peripheral portion depending on the thickness and the shape of the semiconductor chip SC. Therefore, as illustrated in FIG. 8, the groove provided on the bottom surface 52B of the recess 52V in the frame 52 may be formed to extend to the outer peripheral portion of the bottom 52B.
By the way, the production technology for obtaining the plate-like porous body used for the adsorption part 51 of the present invention is advanced, and an attachment constituted by the adsorption part 51 made of a porous body and the frame 52 for holding the same. The tool 50 can be manufactured inexpensively as compared with precision processing in which a large number of fine suction holes or grooves are formed on the suction surface of the conventional method.
Terada, however, does not disclose the base member including a first space configured to introduce at least positive pressure into a central region of the second surface of the porous plate member, the peripheral region being outside the central region; a head body portion that also is configured to supply positive pressure to the first space of the base member, the head body portion including a servo valve configured to adjust the positive pressure supplied to the first space of the base member.
Okamoto and Meguro, however, discloses and makes obvious including the base member including a first space configured to introduce at least positive pressure into a central region of the second surface of the porous plate member, the peripheral region being outside the central region; a head body portion that also is configured to supply positive pressure to the first space of the base member. See Okamoto Figures 2A and 4A
See also Okamoto paragraphs 0028-30, disclosing:
[0028] In general, the invention provides a die handling collet and related systems and methods for improved die handling in semiconductor device manufacturing processes, particularly die attach processes. Referring primarily to FIG. 1 and FIG. 2A, a bottom view (FIG. 1) and cutaway side view (FIG. 2A) of a collet 10 according to a preferred embodiment of the invention is described. A body 12, preferably made from plastic, metal, or other suitably rigid material, is capable of receiving a die 14 (FIG. 2A). A vacuum groove 16 is provided at the edge of the body 12. The vacuum groove 16 is incorporated into a die-bearing surface 18 of the body 12, preferably entirely around the periphery. The vacuum groove 16 is in communication with vacuum ports 20 for transmitting a vacuum force, indicated by arrow 22, generated by a suitable mechanism such as a pump (not shown). The vacuum groove 16 preferably distributes the vacuum force around the periphery of the die-bearing surface 18 for holding a die 14 during handling and placement. A chamber 24 is incorporated within the body 12 and is preferably encompassed by the die-bearing surface 18. One side of the chamber 24 is open such that a die 14 placed on the bearing surface 18 completes the enclosure. Within the chamber 24, a port 26 is provided for expelling pressurized gas, preferably air, indicated by arrow 28. The expelled gas 28 pressurizes the chamber 24, exerting a pushing force on the adjacent surface of the die 14. The pushing force preferably opposes the die flexion which tends to occur due to the application of the vacuum force 22, preventing or reducing the temporary formation of a concavity on the outer surface of the die 14 due to flexing. Preferably, during die attach, the chamber 24 is sufficiently pressurized to cause the die 14 to bow outward slightly in a position convex to the adjacent die pad 32 or intervening die attach adhesive 30 (FIG. 2A).
[0029] Now referring primarily to FIG. 2B, the collet 10 is shown in the context of further steps in a die attach method according to preferred embodiments of the invention. As illustrated, using the preferred embodiment of the collet 10 shown and described above, the expelled air 28 within the chamber 24 is preferably used to flex the die 14 in order to present a convex surface to the die attach material 30 pre-applied to the die pad 32. The convex surface of the die 14, as indicated by arrows 34, tends to expel air from between the die 14 and die attach adhesive 30 during the ultimate placement of the die, reducing the frequency and magnitude of void formation. Although the use of a convex surface is preferred, in an alternative embodiment, the die may be flexed by the expelled air 28 by an amount adapted to counter any inward flexion caused by the vacuum 22, and calculated to prevent the outward flexion of the die 14. This implementation may be preferred for example with particularly delicate dice, preventing or attenuating flexion and presenting a substantially flat die surface to the die pad 32 and the intervening die attach adhesive 30, promoting a uniform thickness of die attach material 30. It should be appreciated by those skilled in the arts that other alternative embodiments are possible without departure from the invention, for example, die attach processes using die adhesive film may also advantageously use the invention. As depicted in FIG. 2C, as the collet 10 brings the die 14 into position on the die attach adhesive 30, the pushing and vacuum forces may be reduced or eliminated, ultimately enabling the collet 10 to be removed after the die 14 is placed.
[0030] An alternative preferred embodiment of a collet 40 of the invention is depicted in a bottom view in FIG. 3, and in corresponding cutaway side views in FIG. 4A through 4C showing an example of a system and method for its use. As described elsewhere herein, the collet 40 has a body 12 preferably made from plastic, metal, or like material and is capable of receiving a die 14 as shown. A vacuum groove 16 is incorporated into the die-bearing surface 18 of the collet 40, preferably at the edge of the body 12 and around its periphery. The vacuum groove 16 is provided with a vacuum force 22 through suitable vacuum ports 20. The vacuum groove 16 preferably evenly distributes the vacuum force 22 around the periphery of the die-bearing surface 18 for holding a die 14 during handling and placement. An interior chamber 24 is incorporated within the die-bearing surface 18 of the body 12. A port 26 is provided for expelling pressurized air or other gas 28 into the chamber 24. As in the other preferred embodiment described, the expelled air 28 pressurizes the chamber 24 to prevent the formation of a concavity in the outer surface of an adjacent die 14 due to flexion in response to the application of the vacuum force 22. Preferably, during die attach the chamber 24 is sufficiently pressurized to cause the die to bow outward slightly in a position convex to the adjacent die attach adhesive 30 as shown in FIG. 4A and FIG. 4B. In this alternative embodiment, the collet 40 also includes a support skin 42. The support skin 42 is preferably permanently attached to the die bearing surface 18 of the collet body 12. The support skin 42 is made from a flexible material such as, for example, a thin film of Teflon, Mylar, (both registered trademarks of DuPont Corporation), polymer, or the like. In operation, while the vacuum 22 exerted in the vacuum groove 16 holds the die 14, the pushing force of air 28 expelled into the cavity 24 pressurizes the support skin 42. As a result, the center region of the die 14 may be caused to bow outward in a shape convex relative to the die attach adhesive 30. As with the above-described embodiments, using this preferred method, the bowed center region of the die 14 die contacts the die attach adhesive 30 first and then spreads outward toward the periphery as it is moved toward the die pad and as the pushing force on the die 14 is diminished. This sequence avoids the trapping of air during die attach, helps to form the die attach adhesive into a bond line 30 of uniform thickness, and fosters the formation of suitable fillets 36. Alternatively, for example in cases where the die 14 may be particularly susceptible to damage from flexing, the outward pressure 28 may be regulated to hold the die 14 substantially flat relative to the die pad 32 and attach adhesive 30. Thus the invention may be used for regulating the shape of the die surface presented to the die attach locale, balancing against inward flexion exerted by the vacuum force 22, but refraining from bowing the die 14 outward in order to prevent inducing stress on the die 14 in cases where increased gentleness is required. In another alternative embodiment, illustrated in the final position of the die 14 in FIG. 4C, the bond line 30 is cured with a "smile" profile as shown, preferably uniformly thinner in the central region of the die 14 and progressively thicker approaching the periphery.
Meguro discloses a first space configured to introduce at least positive pressure into a central region of the second surface of a member and a second space configured to introduce at least negative pressure into a peripheral region of the second surface of a member, the peripheral region being outside the central region; a negative pressure supply configured to supply negative pressure to the second space of the base member such that the semiconductor substrate is absorbed and held by the member; and a positive pressure supply configured to supply positive pressure to the first space of the base member such that the semiconductor substrate absorbed and held by the member is deformed into a convex shape. See also Meguro, Figure 1, showing both a negative pressure supply (gas supply source 13) and positive pressure supply (vacuum pump 16) and Figures 3 and 4, showing concave and convex shapes.
See also Meguro, paragraphs 0014-23, disclosing:
[0014] The semiconductor manufacturing apparatus of FIG. 1 includes a vacuum chamber 11, an electrostatic chuck stage 12, a gas supply source 13, a gas introduction pipe 14, a gas introduction valve 15, a vacuum pump 16, a gas discharge pipe 17, a gas discharge valve 18, a power supply 19 and a switch 20. The electrostatic chuck stage 12 includes an insulating portion 12a, an electrode plate 12b, a base portion 12c, a first gas introduction groove 12d which is an example of a first opening, a second gas introduction groove 12e which is an example of a second opening, and a gas discharge groove 12f which is an example of an opening.
[0015] The semiconductor manufacturing apparatus of FIG. 1 further includes a first flow meter 21, a first pressure gauge 22, a second flow meter 23, a second pressure gauge 24 and an information processing unit 25. The first flow meter 21 and the first pressure gauge 22 are examples of a first measuring device or measurement instrument. The second flow meter 23 and the second pressure gauge 24 are examples of a second measuring device or measurement instrument. The information processing unit 25 is an example of an output unit. The information processing unit 25 includes a display unit 25a.
[0016] As shown in FIG. 1, the vacuum chamber 11 accommodates the wafer 1, and the electrostatic chuck stage 12 holds (chucks) the wafer 1. The electrostatic chuck stage 12 includes the electrode plate 12b between the insulating portion 12a and the base portion 12c, and electrostatically attracts the wafer 1 by the electrode plate 12b. The first gas introduction groove 12d, the second gas introduction groove 12e and the gas discharge groove 12f have an annular shape and are provided on the upper surface of the electrostatic chuck stage 12. The side surfaces of these grooves are covered with an insulating film, not shown.
[0017] FIG. 2 is a perspective view schematically showing the outer shape of the electrostatic chuck stage 12 of FIG. 1.
[0018] The point C represents the center of the upper surface of the electrostatic chuck stage 12. The first gas introduction groove 12d, the second gas introduction groove 12e and the gas discharge groove 12f of the embodiment have a circular shape centered on the point C. Here, the diameter of the first gas introduction groove 12d is 10 mm, the diameter of the second gas introduction groove 12e is 280 mm, and the diameter of the gas discharge groove 12f is 50 mm. Therefore, the second gas introduction groove 12e surrounds the first gas introduction groove 12d, and the gas discharge groove 12f is located between the first gas introduction groove 12d and the second gas introduction groove 12e.
[0019] Referring to FIG. 1 again, the description of the semiconductor manufacturing apparatus will be continued.
[0020] The gas supply source 13 supplies gas to the electrostatic chuck stage 12 via the gas introduction pipe 14. An example gas is an inert gas such as argon gas. The gas introduction pipe 14 includes pipes A1 to A7.
[0021] The pipe A1 is connected to the gas supply source 13, and has the gas introduction valve 15. The pipe A1 branches to the pipes A2 and A3, the pipe A2 branches to the pipes A4 and A5, and the pipe A3 branches to the pipes A6 and A7. The first gas introduction groove 12d is supplied with gas from the pipes A4 and A5, and supplies gas to the lower surface of the wafer 1. The second gas introduction groove 12e is supplied with gas from the pipes A6 and A7, and supplies gas to the lower surface of the wafer 1. The first gas introduction groove 12d may be supplied with gas from three or more pipes. In addition, the second gas introduction groove 12e may also be supplied with gas from three or more pipes. The process of supplying gas from the gas supply source 13 to the electrostatic chuck stage 12 can be controlled by the opening and closing and the opening degree of the gas introduction valve 15.
[0022] The vacuum pump 16 discharges gas supplied to the wafer 1 via the gas discharge groove 12f and the gas discharge pipe 17. The gas discharge pipe 17 includes pipes B1 to B3.
[0023] The pipe B1 is connected to the vacuum pump 16, and has a gas discharge valve 18. The pipe B1 branches to the pipes B2 and B3. The gas supplied to the wafer 1 is discharged from the gas discharge groove 12f to the pipes B2 and B3, and transferred from the pipes B2 and B3 to the pipe B1. The gas discharge groove 12f may discharge gas from three or more pipes. The process of discharging gas from the electrostatic chuck stage 12 by the vacuum pump 16 can be controlled by the opening and closing and the opening degree of the gas discharge valve 18.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the base member including a first space configured to introduce at least positive pressure into a central region of the second surface of the porous plate member, the peripheral region being outside the central region; a head body portion that also is configured to supply positive pressure to the first space of the base member as taught by Okamoto and Meguro in order to enable attaching particularly delicate dice, by preventing or attenuating flexion and presenting a substantially flat die surface to the die pad and the intervening die attach adhesive, thereby promoting a uniform thickness of die attach material and achieve control over the state of the held substrate.
However, Meguro discloses a valve for controlling the supply of gas, i.e., a throttle valve, and does not disclose a servo valve.
Additionally, Bourkel discloses that servo valves can be used for valves, and thus makes obvious the head body portion including a servo valve configured to adjust the positive pressure supplied to the first space of the base member. Bourkel teaches in column 2, line 27 that “the servo valve of the invention, which can be integrated in a space-saving manner into a control block, has a clearly defined safety position, and has good dynamic properties.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the servo valve of Bourkel for the valve of Meguro such that the head body portion including a servo valve configured to adjust the positive pressure supplied to the first space of the base member because the servo valve can be integrated in a space-saving manner into a control block, has a clearly defined safety position, and has good dynamic properties.
Conclusion
The examiner can normally be reached M-F 10-6:30.
/GEORGE R KOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745
GRK