DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-24 and 27-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Hansson et al. (US20080291271) (hereinafter Hansson).
Per claim 1, Hansson discloses A method, comprising: at a first device: receiving, from a second device different from the first device, first respective position information of the second device; and in response to receiving the first respective position information of the second device: in accordance with a determination that the first respective position information includes first position information, changing, based on the first respective position information, a state of an input and/or output (I/O) component of the first device; and in accordance with a determination that the first respective position information includes second position information different from the first position information, changing, based on the first respective position information, a state of an I/O component of a third device different from the first device and the second device. a method (figs.6A-6K), comprising: at a first device (paragraph 0067, Fig 4, "camera 410 of surveillance system 120"): receiving, from a second device different from the first device, first respective position information of the second device ("exemplary implementations of how movement of user device 110 may control or effect movement of camera 410", figs.6A-6K, par.[0067]); and in response to receiving the first respective position information of the second device: in accordance with a determination that the first respective position information includes first position information, changing, based on the first respective position information, a state of an input and/or output (I/O) component of the first device (paragraph 0069 Fig 6k, "user device 110 may be moved in a direction 680 away from a user, and/or in a direction 690 toward the user. If user device 110 is moved in direction 680 away from the user, camera 410[now shown] may perform a zoom in operation [e.g., on a person(s), place(s), thing(s), etc.].If user device 110 is moved in direction 690 toward the user, camera 410 may perform a zoom out operation. Alternatively, and/or additionally, a zoom feature of camera 270 of user device 110 may be used to cause camera 410 to perform zoom in and/or out operations") and in accordance with a determination that the first respective position information includes second position information different from the first position information, changing, based on the first respective position information, a state
of an I/O component of a third device different from the first device and the second device ("as shown in FIGS. 6A and 6B, if user device 110 is stationary, camera 410 may be stationary as well. For example, if camera 410 is viewing a particular person, place, and/or thing, camera 410 may continue to view the particular person, place, and/or thing. As shown in FIGS. 6C and 6D, if user device 110 is moved in a downward direction 600, camera 410 may move downward in a corresponding downward direction 610. As shown in FIGS. 6E and 6F, if user device 110 is moved in an upward direction 620, camera 410 may move upward in a corresponding upward direction 630", figs.6A-D, par. [0069]).
Per claim 2, Hansson discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first respective position information is received via a first communication mode (paragraph 0068, FIGS. 6A and 6B, if user device 110 is stationary, camera 410 may be stationary as well. For example, if camera 410 is viewing a particular person, place, and/or thing, camera 410 may continue to view the particular person, place, and/or thing) and wherein changing the state of the I/O component of the third device includes sending, to the third device via a second communication mode different from the first communication mode (paragraph 0068, i.e. As shown in FIGS. 6C and 6D, if user device 110 is moved in a downward direction 600, camera 410 may move downward in a corresponding downward direction 610, also see paragraph 0049, For example, display 230 may display text input into user device 110, text, images, video, and/or graphics received from another device, such as surveillance system 120, and/or information regarding incoming or outgoing calls or text messages, emails, media, games, phone books, address books, the current time, etc. Control buttons 240 may permit the user to interact with user device 110 to cause user device 110 to perform one or more operations. For example, control buttons 240 may be used to cause user device 110 to transmit information ), a request to change the state of the I/O component of the third device (paragraph 0049, as addressed above and paragraph 0068, i.e. in FIGS. 6E and 6F, if user device 110 is moved in an upward direction 620, camera 410 may move upward in a corresponding upward direction 630).
Per claim 3, Hansson discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the first communication mode has a first communication range (0056, examiner interprets wired as a first range or cellular wireless and wired), and wherein the second communication mode has a second communication range shorter than the first communication range (paragraph 0056, examiner interprets wireless as a shorter range, such as WI-FI, Bluetooth or nearfield).
Per claim 4, Hansson discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the second communication mode is lower power than the first communication mode (paragraph 0056, wireless [Wi-Fi} is lower power than the combination of cellular wired and wireless network).
Per claim 5, Hansson discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the second communication mode is a peer-to-peer communication (paragraph 0086, Fig 8a, phone [110] link 850 to 410 [camera]).
Per claim 6, Hansson discloses the method of claim 1, wherein changing the state of the I/O component of the first device includes moving the I/O component of the first device from a first physical position to a second physical position different from the first physical position (paragraph 0068 and 0069, Fig 6c-6j, viewing a person, place and/or thing).
Per claim 7, Hansson discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first device is in communication with a first camera, and wherein changing the state of the I/O component of the first device includes zooming the first camera of the first device (paragraph 0069, i.e user device 110 may be moved in a direction 680 away from a user, and/or in a direction 690 toward the user. If user device 110 is moved in direction 680 away from the user, camera 410 (now shown) may perform a zoom in operation (e.g., on a person(s), place(s), thing(s), etc.). If user device 110 is moved in direction 690 toward the user, camera 410 may perform a zoom out operation).
Per claim 8, Hansson discloses the method of claim 1, wherein changing the state of the I/O component of the third device includes moving the I/O component of the third device from a third physical position to a fourth physical position different from the third physical position (paragraph 0090, Fig 9, i.e. arranged in circular manner which is interpreted as many camera positions which relates to different positions).
Per claim 9, Hansson discloses the method of claim 1, wherein changing the state of the I/O component of the first device includes converting the first respective position information into a first set of one or more instructions for the I/O component of the first device (paragraph 0049, i.e. For example, display 230 may display text input into user device 110, text, images, video, and/or graphics received from another device, such as surveillance system 120, and/or information regarding incoming or outgoing calls or text messages, emails, media, games, phone books, address books, the current time, etc. Control buttons 240 may permit the user to interact with user device 110 to cause user device 110 to perform one or more operations. For example, control buttons 240 may be used to cause user device 110 to transmit information).
Per claim 10, Hansson discloses the method of claim 9, wherein: the second device includes a first mobility range; the first device includes a second mobility range different from the first mobility range; and the second mobility range includes a larger amount of mobility than the first mobility range (paragraph 0090, Fig 9, degrees of freedom of each of the multiple cameras 410 arranged in a circular manner are less than the degrees of freedom of the user device 110).
Per claim 11, Hansson discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the I/O component includes a second camera, and wherein the first set of one or more instructions includes a digital zoom instruction for the second camera (paragraph 0049, for performing operations, and paragraph 0082 and 0083, Fig 9, surveillance system 120 (e.g., server 400) may determine movement of one or more of cameras 410 based on the calculated zoom direction and/or magnitude. For example, surveillance system 120 may determine whether camera 410 may zoom in or zoom out based on the calculated zoom direction and/or magnitude).
Per claim 12, Hansson discloses the method of claim 1, wherein changing the state of the I/O component of the third device includes: in accordance with a determination that the first respective position information corresponds to a first position and that the I/O component of the third device is not able to move to the first position, moving the I/O component of the third device to a second position different from the first position; and in accordance with a determination that the first respective position information corresponds to the first position and that the I/O component of the third device is able to move to the first position, moving the I/O component of the third device to the first position (paragraph 0090, Fig 9, degrees of freedom of each of the multiple cameras 410 arranged in a circular manner are less than the degrees of freedom of the user device 110).
Per claim 13, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 9 (see paragraph 0049 and 0090, performing one more operations and sending data to one or more camera’s).
Per claim 14, Hansson discloses the method of claim 13, wherein changing the state of the I/O component of the third device does not include sending the first respective position information to the third device (paragraph 0049, i.e. Control buttons 240 may permit the user to interact with user device 110 to cause user device 110 to perform one or more operations, examiner interprets without sending a text to a camera 410) .
Per claim 15, Hansson discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the state of the I/O component of the first device is a first state, wherein the state of the I/O component of the third device is a second state, the method further comprising: in response to receiving the first respective position information of the second device and in accordance with a determination that the first respective position information includes third position information, changing, based on the first respective position information, a third state of the I/O component of the first device and a fourth state of the I/O component of the third device (paragraphs 0067-0070, Fig 6a-6j, 6k, which relate to changing both the state of the I/O component of the first and of the third device, based on receiving a predetermined position information of the second device, which is an option easily derivable by combining the teachings of Fig 6a-6j with one of 6k).
Per claim 16, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 15[forgoing changing both the state of the I/O component of the first and of the third device, based on receiving a predetermined position information of the second device, which represent merely one equally attractive option the skilled person would select, in accordance with circumstances].
Per claim 17, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 15[changing (or not) a state of the I/O component of the third device, in accordance with a determination that the first device is in communication with the third device via a first manner. Being said "first manner" no better specified, said features represent merely one of the possible options the skilled person would implement, in accordance with circumstances].
Per claim 18, Hansson discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first device is in communication with the third device while the first device receives, from the second device, the first respective position information (paragraph 0086, i.e. camera 270 of user device 110 may capture an image(s) of an object 800 [e.g., via a field of view 810 of camera 270] in the form of a video [e.g., video 150] and user device 110 may communicate video 150 to camera 410 via a link 850 [e.g., via network 130 and/or server 400] and video 150 may be used by server 400 of surveillance system 120 to control video 140 captured by camera 410).
Per claim 19, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 18, (paragraph 0086, i.e. camera 270 of user device 110 may capture an image(s) of an object 800 [e.g., via a field of view 810 of camera 270] in the form of a video [e.g., video 150] ,examiner interprets that initially the camera of the user device is capturing an object or image without communication with the 410 surveillance cameras).
Per claim 20, Hansson discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: while receiving, from the second device, the first respective position information, sending, to the second device, data (paragraph 0057, i.e. server 400 may receive audio, video, images, etc. captured by one or more of cameras 410, may control
operation [e.g., movement, activation, deactivation, etc.] of one or more of cameras 410, and/or may communicate with user device 110 [e.g., via network 130] to enable user device 110 to control operation of one or more of cameras).
Per claim 21, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 20.
Per claim 22, Hansson discloses the method of claim 21, further comprising: before receiving the first respective position information, receiving, from the third device, the third position information (paragraph 0087 and 0090, Fig 8A-G and Fig 9, i.e. Video 140 may be captured by camera 410 and provided to user device 110 for display [e.g., by display 230 of user device 110]).
Per claim 23, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 22, Fig 9, circular cameras for capturing image from a third camera or [one or more cameras].
Per claim 24, Hansson discloses the method of claim 20, wherein the data includes first media data (paragraph 0057, video images).
Per claim 27, Hansson discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: after changing the state of the I/O component of the first device, receiving, from the second device, third respective position information of the second device, wherein the third respective position information is different from the first respective position information; and in response to receiving the third respective position information of the second device, changing, based on the third respective position information, the state of the I/O component of the third device (paragraph 0069, i.e. Fig 6A-D).
Per claim 28, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 27.
Per claim 29, Hansson discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first respective position information corresponds to a first field of view, the method further comprising: after changing the state of the third device, sending, to the second device, media data corresponding to the first field of view (paragraph 0087 and 0090, i.e. diagrams of video 140 captured by camera 410 of surveillance system 120, where the captured video 140 of FIGS. 8E-8G corresponds to the generated video 140 of FIGS. 8B-8D, respectively. Video 140 may be captured by camera 410 and provided to user device 110 for display (e.g., by display 230 of user device 110).
Per claim 30, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 1, see paragraph 0065, computer readable medium.
Per claim 31, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 1, see paragraphs 0063, processors and memory.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hansson and He et al. (US20220329976) (hereinafter He).
Per claim 25, Hansson discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the third device is a mount (cameras mounted) but fails to disclose wherein the second device is a head mounted display device,
In an analogous field of endeavor, He discloses the second device is a head mounted display device (paragraph 0085, HMD).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of He into the invention Hansson, Hansson provides a system receives video from a user device, the video providing an indication of user device motion, and determines movement of a camera, separate from the user device, based on the user device motion and He provides A device searching method includes: a first device obtains a relative location between a second device and the first device based on location information of the first device and the location information of the second device; if it is determined, based on the relative location in order to have better quality of service by the improvement of a user experience, the user can still find the wristband(or HMD) via prompting without establishing a connection between the mobile phone and the wristband, thereby improving user experience, See He, paragraph 0202).
Per claim 26, the combination discloses the method of claim 25, wherein Hansson discloses the first device is a personal device (paragraph 0042, PDA).
Conclusion
/JOSEPH E DEAN, JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647