Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-10 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McMenemy et al (2024/0187085 A1) (hereinafter “McManamy”) in view of Abedini et al (11,005,538 B2) (hereinafter “Abedini”).
Regarding claim 1, McManamy teaches a repeater to relay a radio signal between a network node (BS) and a user equipment (UE) in a mobile communication system using beamforming (par [102,163]), the repeater receives receive, from the network node, configuration information (control signal) to direct a beam to the user equipment (par [231,235, 236, 246]); McManamy also teaches the configuration information (control signal) comprises mode configuration information used to switch a control mode related to beamforming among a plurality of control modes (See on/off mode, communication mode, operational mode, amplification mode, power mode, mixed mode, zero power mode, out-of-range mode, spatial mode in par [58, 210, 211, 271, 300, 306, 313, 315, 319, 321, 334, 353, 356, 403, 405, 416, 417]).
McManamy does not explicitly teach that the repeater comprises a control terminal that controls a relaying apparatus for repeating a radio signal between a network node and a UE. However, such arrangement is old and well known in the art. For example, Abedini teaches a repeater (640) that comprises a control terminal (530 & 540) and a relaying apparatus (510 & 520). The control terminal (530 & 540) controls a relay apparatus (510 & 520) for relaying a radio signal between a network node (110) and a user equipment (120) in a mobile communication system (See figure 6). The control terminal comprises a receiver (504) configured to receive, from the network node, configuration information used by the relay apparatus to direct a beam to the user equipment (par [68]) to improve communication reliability. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to apply Abedini’s teaching of using a control terminal and a relaying apparatus in McManamy’ repeater with the motivation being to improve communication reliability.
Regarding claim 2, McManamy further teaches plurality of control modes comprise a network node control mode in which the control terminal controls the relay apparatus according to control from the network node (See on/off mode, communication mode, operational mode, amplification mode, power mode, mixed mode, zero power mode, out-of-range mode, spatial mode in par [58, 210, 211, 271, 300, 306, 313, 315, 319, 321, 334, 353, 356, 403, 405, 416, 417]).
.
Regarding claim 3, McManamy further teaches an autonomous control mode in which the control terminal autonomously controls the relay apparatus without depending on the control from the network node (see par [369]).
Regarding claim 4, McManamy further teaches the plurality of control modes further comprise a hybrid control mode in which the control from the network node and the autonomous control of the control terminal are used in combination (modes could be set up dynamically and adaptively for performance optimization; par [369]).
Regarding claim 6, McManamy further teaches that the receiver is configured to receive, from the network node, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message comprising the mode configuration information, a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) comprising the mode configuration information, or Downlink Control Information (DCI) comprising the mode configuration information (par [217]).
Regarding claim 7, McManamy further teaches the mode configuration information comprises information used to switch any one of a control mode of the beamforming of the relay apparatus, a control mode of timing switching of the relay apparatus, and a control mode of on/off control of the relay apparatus (par [58, 210, 211, 271, 300, 306, 313, 315, 319, 321, 334, 353, 356, 403, 405, 416, 417]).
Regarding claim 8, McManamy further teaches that the mode configuration information comprises information designating timing of switching of the control mode (par [63, 102, 211, 231, 403]).
Regarding claim 9, McManamy teaches a network node (base station) used in a mobile communication system comprising a control terminal (repeater) configured to control a relay apparatus (repeater) configured to relay a radio signal between the network node (base station) and a user equipment, the network node (base station) comprising: a transmitter (base station’s transmitter) configured to transmit, to the control terminal (repeater), configuration information used by the relay apparatus (repeater) to direct a beam to the user equipment, wherein the configuration information comprises mode configuration information used to switch a control mode related to beamforming among a plurality of control modes. The repeater receives, from the network node, configuration information (control signal) to direct a beam to the user equipment (par [231,235, 236, 246]); McManamy also teaches the configuration information (control signal) comprises mode configuration information used to switch a control mode related to beamforming among a plurality of control modes (See on/off mode, communication mode, operational mode, amplification mode, power mode, mixed mode, zero power mode, out-of-range mode, spatial mode in par [58, 210, 211, 271, 300, 306, 313, 315, 319, 321, 334, 353, 356, 403, 405, 416, 417]).
McManamy does not explicitly teach that the repeater comprises a control terminal that controls a relaying apparatus for repeating a radio signal between a network node and a UE. However, such arrangement is old and well known in the art. For example, Abedini teaches a repeater (640) that comprises a control terminal (530 & 540) and a relaying apparatus (510 & 520). The control terminal (530 & 540) controls a relay apparatus (510 & 520) for relaying a radio signal between a network node (110) and a user equipment (120) in a mobile communication system (See figure 6). The control terminal comprises a receiver (504) configured to receive, from the network node, configuration information used by the relay apparatus to direct a beam to the user equipment (par [68]) to improve communication reliability. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to apply Abedini’s teaching of using a control terminal and a relaying apparatus in McManamy’ repeater with the motivation being to improve communication reliability.
Regarding claim 10, McManamy teaches a communication method performed by a control terminal (repeater) configured to control a relay apparatus (repeater) configured to relay a radio signal between a network node and a user equipment in a mobile communication system, the communication method comprising: receiving, from the network node (base station), configuration information (control information) used by the relay apparatus (repeater) to direct a beam to the user equipment; and controlling the relay apparatus (repeater) to direct the beam to the user equipment, based on the configuration information, wherein the configuration information comprises mode configuration information used to switch a control mode related to beamforming among a plurality of control modes, and the controlling the relay apparatus includes controlling the relay apparatus to direct the beam to the user equipment by using the control mode configured according to the mode configuration information (par [231,235, 236, 246] and in par [58, 210, 211, 271, 300, 306, 313, 315, 319, 321, 334, 353, 356, 403, 405, 416, 417]).
McManamy does not explicitly teach that the repeater comprises a control terminal that controls a relaying apparatus for repeating a radio signal between a network node and a UE. However, such arrangement is old and well known in the art. For example, Abedini teaches a repeater (640) that comprises a control terminal (530 & 540) and a relaying apparatus (510 & 520). The control terminal (530 & 540) controls a relay apparatus (510 & 520) for relaying a radio signal between a network node (110) and a user equipment (120) in a mobile communication system (See figure 6). The control terminal comprises a receiver (504) configured to receive, from the network node, configuration information used by the relay apparatus to direct a beam to the user equipment (par [68]) to improve communication reliability. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to apply Abedini’s teaching of using a control terminal and a relaying apparatus in McManamy’ repeater with the motivation being to improve communication reliability.
Regarding claim 12, McManamy teaches a repeater to relay a radio signal between a network node (BS) and a user equipment (UE) in a mobile communication system using beamforming (par [102,163]), the repeater receives receive, from the network node, configuration information (control signal) to direct a beam to the user equipment (par [231,235, 236, 246]); McManamy also teaches the configuration information (control signal) comprises mode configuration information used to switch a control mode related to beamforming among a plurality of control modes (See on/off mode, communication mode, operational mode, amplification mode, power mode, mixed mode, zero power mode, out-of-range mode, spatial mode in par [58, 210, 211, 271, 300, 306, 313, 315, 319, 321, 334, 353, 356, 403, 405, 416, 417]).
McManamy does not explicitly teach that the repeater comprises a control terminal that controls a relaying apparatus for repeating a radio signal between a network node and a UE and that the repeater comprises non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising, stored thereupon, computer program instructions for execution by a control terminal configured to control a relay apparatus configured to relay a radio signal between a network node and a user equipment in a mobile communication system. However, such arrangement is old and well known in the art. For example, Abedini teaches a repeater (640) that comprises a control terminal (530 & 540) and a relaying apparatus (510 & 520). The control terminal (530 & 540) controls a relay apparatus (510 & 520) for relaying a radio signal between a network node (110) and a user equipment (120) in a mobile communication system (See figure 6). Abedini further teaches that the repeater comprises memory for storing instructions for execution of the repeater’s operations (par [6, 7]). The control terminal comprises a receiver (504) configured to receive, from the network node, configuration information used by the relay apparatus to direct a beam to the user equipment (par [68]) to improve communication reliability. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to apply Abedini’s teaching of using a control terminal and a relaying apparatus and memory in McManamy’ repeater with the motivation being to improve communication reliability.
Regarding claim 13, McManamy teaches a mobile communication system comprising a repeater to relay a radio signal between a network node and a user equipment, wherein: the repeater receives, from the network node, configuration information used by the repeater to direct a beam to the user equipment; and control the repeater to direct the beam to the user equipment, based on the configuration information, wherein the configuration information comprises mode configuration information used to switch a control mode related to beamforming among a plurality of control modes. The repeater receives, from the network node, configuration information (control signal) to direct a beam to the user equipment (par [231,235, 236, 246]); McManamy also teaches the configuration information (control signal) comprises mode configuration information used to switch a control mode related to beamforming among a plurality of control modes (See on/off mode, communication mode, operational mode, amplification mode, power mode, mixed mode, zero power mode, out-of-range mode, spatial mode in par [58, 210, 211, 271, 300, 306, 313, 315, 319, 321, 334, 353, 356, 403, 405, 416, 417]).
McManamy does not explicitly teach that the repeater comprises a control terminal that controls a relaying apparatus for repeating a radio signal between a network node and a UE. However, such arrangement is old and well known in the art. For example, Abedini teaches a repeater (640) that comprises a control terminal (530 & 540) and a relaying apparatus (510 & 520). The control terminal (530 & 540) controls a relay apparatus (510 & 520) for relaying a radio signal between a network node (110) and a user equipment (120) in a mobile communication system (See figure 6). The control terminal comprises a receiver (504) configured to receive, from the network node, configuration information used by the relay apparatus to direct a beam to the user equipment (par [68]) to improve communication reliability. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to apply Abedini’s teaching of using a control terminal and a relaying apparatus in McManamy’ repeater with the motivation being to improve communication reliability.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McManamy et al (2024/0187085 A1) (hereinafter “McManamy”) in view of Abedini et al (11,005,538 B2) (hereinafter “Abedini”) and further in view of Takahashi et al (WO 2017195494 A1) (hereinafter “Takahashi”).
Regarding claim 5, McManamy in view of Abedini does not teach a beam sweeping control mode in which a beam direction of the relay apparatus is sequentially switched. However, Takahashi teaches a technique called beam sweeping that transmits a plurality of narrow beams within a cell and that sequentially switches the beam direction over time to ensure coverage over the entire 360-degree area for enhancing area coverage. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to apply Takahashi’s teaching of called beam sweeping that transmits a plurality of narrow beams within a cell and that sequentially switches the beam direction over time to ensure coverage over the entire 360-degree area for enhancing area coverage in McManamy’ repeater with the motivation being to improve coverage area.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McManamy et al (2024/0187085 A1) (hereinafter “McManamy”) in view of Abedini et al (11,005,538 B2) (hereinafter “Abedini”) and further in view of Hormis et al (20200314601 A1) (hereinafter “Hormis”).
McManamy teaches a repeater to relay a radio signal between a network node (BS) and a user equipment (UE) in a mobile communication system using beamforming (par [102,163]), the repeater receives receive, from the network node, configuration information (control signal) to direct a beam to the user equipment (par [231,235, 236, 246]); McManamy also teaches the configuration information (control signal) comprises mode configuration information used to switch a control mode related to beamforming among a plurality of control modes (See on/off mode, communication mode, operational mode, amplification mode, power mode, mixed mode, zero power mode, out-of-range mode, spatial mode in par [58, 210, 211, 271, 300, 306, 313, 315, 319, 321, 334, 353, 356, 403, 405, 416, 417]).
McManamy does not explicitly teach that the repeater comprises a control terminal that controls a relaying apparatus for repeating a radio signal between a network node and a UE and that the repeater comprises non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising, stored thereupon, computer program instructions for execution by a control terminal configured to control a relay apparatus configured to relay a radio signal between a network node and a user equipment in a mobile communication system. However, such arrangement is old and well known in the art. For example, Abedini teaches a repeater (640) that comprises a control terminal (530 & 540) and a relaying apparatus (510 & 520). The control terminal (530 & 540) controls a relay apparatus (510 & 520) for relaying a radio signal between a network node (110) and a user equipment (120) in a mobile communication system (See figure 6). Abedini further teaches that the repeater comprises memory for storing instructions for execution of the repeater’s operations (par [6, 7]). The control terminal comprises a receiver (504) configured to receive, from the network node, configuration information used by the relay apparatus to direct a beam to the user equipment (par [68]) to improve communication reliability. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to apply Abedini’s teaching of using a control terminal and a relaying apparatus and memory in McManamy’ repeater with the motivation being to improve communication reliability.
Regarding claim 11, A chipset for a control terminal configured to control a relay apparatus configured to relay a radio signal between a network node and a user equipment in a mobile communication system, the chipset configured to execute processing of: receiving, from the network node, configuration information used by the relay apparatus to direct a beam to the user equipment; and controlling the relay apparatus to direct the beam to the user equipment, based on the configuration information, wherein the configuration information comprises mode configuration information used to switch a control mode related to beamforming among a plurality of control modes, and the processing of controlling the relay apparatus includes a processing of controlling the relay apparatus to direct the beam to the user equipment by using the control mode configured according to the mode configuration information.
McManamy in view of Abedini does not explicitly teach the use of a chip set to implement control terminal. However, Hormis teaches that the control terminal (communication manager 1215) can be implemented using of a chip set ASIC (par [174). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to apply Hormis’s teaching of using a chip set in the control terminal in the system of McManamy in view of Abedini with the motivation being to enhance system performance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pawar et al (US 10,594,390 B1) teaches a relay wireless device for relaying signals between the base station and the UE.
HUY D. VU
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461