DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group I and Species E in the reply filed on 01/12/2026 is acknowledged. Applicant asserts this election reads on claims 14-21.
Applicant's election with traverse of Species E in the reply filed on 01/12/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that it would not be unduly burdensome to search and simultaneously examine all claims. The traversal is not persuasive because each species requires a completely different configuration of the handgrip mechanism. In addition, the search queries would be different for each species and would not overlap, and the prior art applicable to one species would not likely be applicable to another species.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-13 and 22-35 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 01/12/2026.
Foreign Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copies have been received.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/18/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2020/0100655 to Morishima et al. (hereinafter “Morishima”) to U.S. Publication No. 2020/0289377 to Shie.
Regarding claim 14, Morishima discloses an endoscope device with a replacement insertion tube mechanism, adapted for connection with a catheter, the catheter including a connecting portion and a tubular body portion, said endoscope device comprising: a handgrip mechanism including a handgrip unit (104, Fig. 2, [0041]), a connecting unit (103, Fig. 2, [0038]) connected to said handgrip unit and having a first mating end portion distal to said handgrip unit (102, Fig. 2, [0038]), and a signal connector signally connected to said handgrip unit and exposed from said first mating end portion (102f, Fig. 5A, [0060]), said connecting unit including a connecting tube defining said first mating end portion (107, Fig. 5A, [0056]); and a replaceable insertion tube mechanism including an insertion tube unit (101, Fig. 4, [0052]) having a second mating end portion (proximal surface of 101a, Fig. 4, [0054]) and an insertion end portion opposite to each other (Fig. 3), and an image capturing unit mounted on said insertion tube unit (31, Fig. 3, [0051]), said image capturing unit having an image capture device mounted on said insertion end portion ([0051]), and a signal terminal signally connected to said image capture device and exposed from said second mating end portion (101h, Fig. 3, [0054]-[0055]), said image capture device being configured to capture image outside an end of the tubular body portion of the catheter ([0051]), said insertion tube unit including an insertion tube defining said second mating end portion and said insertion end portion (101b, Fig. 4, [0054]); said second mating end portion being detachably and coaxially connected to said first mating end portion ([0053]-[0054], Fig. 4), and bringing said signal terminal to detachably and signally connect with said signal connector ([0053]-[0054], Fig. 4).
Morishima fails to expressly teach a first locking ring mounted on an outside of said first mating end portion movably along a length of said connecting tube, and a third locking ring mounted on an outside of said second mating end portion movably along a length of said insertion tube, said first locking ring being detachably and threadedly connected to an outside of said second mating end portion so as to connect and secure said first mating end portion and said second mating end portion in an end-to-end manner, said insertion tube being configured to be extendable and insertable in the tubular body portion by way of inserting said insertion end portion into the connecting portion of the catheter, said third locking ring having a third ring portion sleeved on the outside of said second mating end portion and movable toward said insertion end portion for limiting position, and a third engaging fourth ring portion configured to sleeve threadedly on an outside of connecting portion.
However, Shie teaches of an analogous device (Fig. 1) including a first locking ring mounted on an outside of said first mating end portion movably along a length of said connecting tube (18, Fig. 1, [0048]), and a third locking ring mounted on an outside of said second mating end portion movably along a length of said insertion tube (51, Fig. 1, [0048]), said first locking ring being detachably and threadedly connected to an outside of said second mating end portion so as to connect and secure said first mating end portion and said second mating end portion in an end-to-end manner ([0048]), said insertion tube being configured to be extendable and insertable in the tubular body portion by way of inserting said insertion end portion into the connecting portion of the catheter (4, Fig. 1, [0041]), said third locking ring having a third ring portion sleeved on the outside of said second mating end portion and movable toward said insertion end portion for limiting position (5, Fig. 1, [0048]), and a third engaging fourth ring portion configured to sleeve threadedly on an outside of the connecting portion (6, Fig. 1, [0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Morishima to utilize the locking rings in the manner taught by Shie. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of connecting the components securely ([0048] of Shie).
Regarding claim 15, Morishima, in view of Shie, teaches the endoscope device with a replaceable insertion tube mechanism as claimed in claim 14.
Morishima, in view of Shie, fails to expressly teach wherein said third locking ring is rotatably sleeved on the outside of said second mating end portion.
However, Shie further teaches wherein said third locking ring is rotatably sleeved on the outside of said second mating end portion (51, Fig. 1, [0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Morishima, in view of Shie, to utilize the locking ring in the manner taught by Shie. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of connecting the components securely ([0048] of Shie).
Regarding claim 16, Morishima, in view of Shie, teaches the endoscope device with a replaceable insertion tube mechanism as claimed in claim 14.
Morishima, in view of Shie, fails to expressly teach wherein said third ring portion is configured for abutment with and for limiting the connecting portion in a direction toward said connecting tube.
However, Shie further teaches wherein said third ring portion is configured for abutment with and for limiting the connecting portion in a direction toward said connecting tube (5, Fig. 1, [0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Morishima, in view of Shie, to utilize the third ring portion in the manner taught by Shie. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of connecting the components securely ([0048] of Shie).
Regarding claim 17, Morishima, in view of Shie, teaches the endoscope device with a replaceable insertion tube mechanism as claimed in claim 14, and Morishima further discloses wherein said insertion tube further has an extension tube portion connected between said second mating end portion and said insertion end portion, said second mating end portion having an outer diameter greater than an outer diameter of said extension tube portion, said insertion tube being configured to use said second mating end portion for abutment with and for limiting the connecting portion in a direction toward said connecting tube (101b, Fig. 4, [0054]).
Regarding claim 18, Morishima discloses an endoscope device with a replaceable insertion tube mechanism, adapted for connection with a catheter, the catheter including a connecting portion and a tubular body portion, said endoscope device comprising: a handgrip mechanism including a handgrip unit (104, Fig. 2, [0041]), a connecting unit (103, Fig. 2, [0038]) connected to said handgrip unit and having a first mating end portion distal to said handgrip unit (102, Fig. 2, [0038]), and a signal connector signally connected to said handgrip unit and exposed from said first mating end portion (102f, Fig. 5A, [0060]), said connecting unit including a connecting tube having defining said first mating end portion (107, Fig. 5A, [0056]); and a replaceable insertion tube mechanism including an insertion tube unit (101, Fig. 4, [0052]) having a second mating end portion (proximal surface of 101a, Fig. 4, [0054]) and an insertion end portion opposite to each other (Fig. 3), and an image capturing unit mounted on said insertion tube unit (31, Fig. 3, [0051]), said image capturing unit having an image capture device mounted on said insertion end portion ([0051]), and a signal terminal signally connected to said image capture device and exposed from said second mating end portion (101h, Fig. 3, [0054]-[0055]), said image capture device being configured to capture image outside an end of the tubular body portion of the catheter ([0051]), said insertion tube unit including an insertion tube defining said second mating end portion and said insertion end portion (101b, Fig. 4, [0054]), said second mating end portion being detachably and coaxially connected to said first mating end portion ([0053]-[0054], Fig. 4), and bringing said signal terminal to detachably and signally connect with said signal connector ([0053]-[0054], Fig. 4)
Morishima fails to expressly teach a second locking ring mounted on an outside of said second mating end portion movably along a length of said insertion tube, and a third locking ring sleeved mounted on the outside of said second mating end portion movably along the length of said insertion tube, said second locking ring being detachably and threadedly connected to an outside of said first mating end portion so as to connected and secure said first mating end portion and said second mating end portion in an end-to-end manner, said insertion tube being configured to be extendable and insertable in the tubular body portion by way of inserting said insertion end portion into the connecting portion of the catheter, said third locking ring having a third ring portion sleeved on an outside of said second mating end portion movably toward said insertion end portion for limiting position and a fourth ring portion configured to sleeve threadedly on an outside of the connecting portion.
However, Shie teaches of an analogous device (Fig. 1) including a second locking ring mounted on an outside of said second mating end portion movably along a length of said insertion tube (51, Fig. 1, [0048]), and a third locking ring sleeved mounted on the outside of said second mating end portion movably along the length of said insertion tube (6, Fig. 1, [0048]), said second locking ring being detachably and threadedly connected to an outside of said first mating end portion so as to connected and secure said first mating end portion and said second mating end portion in an end-to-end manner ([0048]), said insertion tube being configured to be extendable and insertable in the tubular body portion by way of inserting said insertion end portion into the connecting portion of the catheter (4, Fig. 1, [0041]), said third locking ring having a third ring portion sleeved on an outside of said second mating end portion movably toward said insertion end portion for limiting position and a fourth ring portion configured to sleeve threadedly on an outside of the connecting portion (6, Fig. 1, [0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Morishima to utilize the locking rings in the manner taught by Shie. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of connecting the components securely ([0048] of Shie).
Regarding claim 19, Morishima, in view of Shie teaches the endoscope device with a replaceable insertion tube mechanism as claimed in claim 18.
Morishima, in view of Shie, fails to expressly teach wherein said third locking ring is rotatably sleeved on the outside of said second mating end portion.
However, Shie further teaches wherein said third locking ring is rotatably sleeved on the outside of said second mating end portion (51, Fig. 1, [0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Morishima, in view of Shie, to utilize the locking ring in the manner taught by Shie. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of connecting the components securely ([0048] of Shie).
Regarding claim 20, Morishima, in view of Shie, teaches the endoscope device with a replaceable insertion tube mechanism as claimed in claim 18.
Morishima, in view of Shie fails to expressly teach wherein said third ring portion is configured for abutment with and for limiting the connecting portion in a direction toward said connecting tube.
However, Shie further teaches wherein said third ring portion is configured for abutment with and for limiting the connecting portion in a direction toward said connecting tube (5, Fig. 1, [0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Morishima, in view of Shie, to utilize the third ring portion in the manner taught by Shie. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of connecting the components securely ([0048] of Shie).
Regarding claim 21, Morishima, in view of Shie, teaches the endoscope device with a replaceable insertion tube mechanism as claimed in claim 18, and Morishima further discloses wherein said insertion tube further has a maintain extension tube portion connected between said second mating end portion and said insertion end portion, said second mating end portion having an outer diameter greater than an outer diameter of said extension tube portion said insertion tube being configured to use said second mating end portion for abutment with and for limiting the connecting portion in a direction toward said connecting tube (101b, Fig. 4, [0054]).
Conclusion
/C.A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/MICHAEL J CAREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795