DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
As per instant Amendment, Claims 1 and 13 are independent claims. Claims 1-24 have been examined and are pending. This Action is made Non-FINAL.
Response to Arguments
The Double Patenting Rejection will be held in abeyance until a terminal disclaimer is filed and approved.
Applicants’ arguments in the instant Amendment, filed on 06/23/2026, with respect to limitations listed below, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue: “the Examiner has failed to establish a prima facie case of obviousness.”
The Examiner disagrees with the Applicants. The Examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Huber teaches access management to femto cell service through access control list(s), Krishnaswamy teaches facilitating access to a communication session for a client, and Su teaches identifying a user geo-location as an authentication factor and prevent potential fraud. Huber, Krishnaswamy and Su are both from the same analogous art and therefore they are combinable. One of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would been motivated to combine the two references to drive at applicant invention. Therefore, the examiner finds this argument not persuasive.
Applicants argue: “the combination of Huber and Krishnaswamy fails to teach or suggest “extract, from the resource request, one or more resource request factors, including one or more actual mobile-device factors associated with the requesting mobile device,” of independent claims 1 and 13.”
The Examiner disagrees with the Applicants. The Examiner respectfully submits that Murayama discloses extract, from the resource request, one or more resource request factors, including one or more actual mobile-device factors associated with the requesting mobile device (Huber: par. 0052 access list management component 310 can exploit data mining component 415 to extract data from data storage 360, or substantially any set of databases that contain femto service subscriber intelligence [] to extract data pertinent to subscribers linked to mobile identifier attribute field within white list(s) 362). More specifically, Huber discloses functionality to authorize, permanently or temporarily, or deny or revoke access to specific subscribers, or subscriber station(s), comprise what is herein termed as an access control list(s) (e.g., white list(s) or black list(s))-an instrument for management of access to femto cell coverage [] various attributes can be defined for access list(s); for example, mobile device identifier attribute, which uniquely identifies the mobile device [] a device identifier attribute in access list(s) (e.g., white list(s) or black list(s)) can support up to N fields [] for unique mobile phone numbers (e.g., mobile subscriber number integrated digital services network numbers (MSIDSN s ), international mobile subscriber identity numbers (IMS Is)), or any suitable codes (e.g., electronic serial numbers (ESNs), subscriber identity module (SIM) credentials) or tokens that identify a mobile device [par. 0043], black list(s) include a single attribute field which uniquely identifies a mobile device, the identified device is denied femto access service [par. 0044], and device(s) 1010 can convey, e.g., through signaling, a request or query 1015 to access coverage of femto AP 130 [] query 1015 can be received by communication platform 957, and access management component 955 can be configured to allow or reject the request; allowance or rejection of a request can be based on various metrics, such as security, type of device, profile of subscriber linked to the device that requests access, and so on. Configuration to allow or reject the request includes exchange of network signaling 1025 in order to access relevant information associated with mobile device 1010. In an aspect, access management component 1020, which can operate in substantially the same manner as access list management component 810, can facilitate validation of requester device(s) 1010 based upon the aforementioned metrics [par. 0092]. Therefore, the examiner finds this argument not persuasive.
The amended claims 1, and 13 have been addressed in rejection below.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 121266997. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all limitations recited in claims 1-24 of the instant application are encompassed all limitations recited in claims 1-15 of the patent ‘997, respectively. Refer to the comparison table below for details.
Instant Application 18/921470
Patent No. 12126997 (Application No. 17/389800)
Claim 1: A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a server, cause the server to:
receive, from a mobile device, an access request to access a network that is managed by the server;
determine that the access request received from the mobile device is used by a member of the network;
assign a network address for accessing the network based on device data and authentication factors associated with the mobile device:
control access of the mobile device to the network based on the network address receive, from the mobile device, a resource request to access a resource through the network;
extract, from the resource request, one or more resource request factors, including one or more actual mobile-device factors associated with the requesting mobile device; and
authenticate the mobile device when the authentication factors respectively correspond with the one or more resource request factors.
Claim 1: A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more computer processors of a server, cause the server to:
receive, from a mobile device, an access request to access a network, wherein the access request includes at least a network identifier of the mobile device;
examine a database of network identifiers assigned to mobile devices for members of the network to determine that the mobile device is used by a member of the network when the identifier of the mobile device is in the database, wherein the network identifier is assigned to the mobile device based on device data of the mobile device and one or more mobile authentication factors of the mobile device;
receive, from the mobile device, a resource request to access a resource within the network;
extract, from the resource request, one or more resource request factors, wherein the extraction includes an inspection of the resource request for a set of permissions for the mobile device by looking up a profile of a user of the mobile device;
authenticate the mobile device based on the set of permissions when the one or more mobile authentication factors respectively correspond with the one or more resource request factors;
determine a location identification of the mobile device, wherein the location identification is determined using cellular triangulation;
compare the location identification with an expected location identification stored in the database; and
provide the authenticated mobile device access to the network in accordance with the set of permission, wherein the mobile device is configured to perform one or more device functions based on the user and a location of the mobile device in one or more coverage areas of the network.
Claim 13: A method comprising:
receiving, from a mobile device, an access request to access a network that is managed by the server;
determining that the access request received from the mobile device is used by a member of the network;
assigning a network address for accessing the network based on device data and authentication factors associated with the mobile device;
controlling access of the mobile device to the network based on the network address;
receiving, from the mobile device, a resource request to access a resource through the network;
extracting, from the resource request, one or more resource request factors, including one or more actual mobile-device factors associated with the requesting mobile device; and
authenticating the mobile device when the authentication factors respectively correspond with the one or more resource request factors.
Claim 11: A method comprising:
receiving, from a mobile device, an access request to access a network, wherein the access request includes at least a network identifier of the mobile device;
examining a database of network identifiers assigned to mobile devices for members of the network to determine that the mobile device is used by a member of the network when the identifier of the mobile device is in the database, wherein the network identifier is assigned to the mobile device based on device data of the mobile device and one or more mobile authentication factors of the mobile device;
receiving, from the mobile device, a resource request to access a resource within the network;
extracting, from the resource request, one or more resource request factors, wherein the extraction includes an inspection of the resource request for a set of permissions for the mobile device by looking up a profile of a user of the mobile device;
authenticating the mobile device based on the set of permissions when the one or more mobile authentication factors respectively correspond with the one or more resource request factors;
determining a location identification of the mobile device, wherein the location identification is determined using cellular triangulation;
comparing the location identification with an expected location identification stored in the database; and
providing the mobile device access to the network in accordance with the set of permission, wherein the mobile device is configured to perform one or more device functions based on the user and a location of the mobile device in one or more coverage areas of the network.
Claims 1-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11082839. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all limitations recited in claims 1-24 of the instant application are encompassed all limitations recited in claims 1-20 of the patent ‘839, respectively. Refer to the comparison table below for details.
Instant Application 18/921470
Patent No. 11082839 (application No. 16/110365)
Claim 1: A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a server, cause the server to:
receive, from a mobile device, an access request to access a network that is managed by the server;
determine that the access request received from the mobile device is used by a member of the network;
assign a network address for accessing the network based on device data and authentication factors associated with the mobile device:
control access of the mobile device to the network based on the network address receive, from the mobile device, a resource request to access a resource through the network;
extract, from the resource request, one or more resource request factors, including one or more actual mobile-device factors associated with the requesting mobile device; and
authenticate the mobile device when the authentication factors respectively correspond with the one or more resource request factors.
Claim 1: A mobile virtual network operator (“MVNO”)-hosted mobile authentication platform comprising:
one or more processors; and
at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored therein instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
receive, from a registered mobile device of the MVNO-hosted mobile authentication platform, an access request to access an enterprise network associated with the MVNO;
determine that the access request is received from a member of the enterprise network;
gather device data and authentication factor data for the registered mobile device;
assign a network address for accessing the enterprise network over a dedicated connection for the enterprise network through the MVNO-hosted mobile authentication platform based on the device data and the authentication factor data to the registered mobile device;
control access of the registered mobile device to the enterprise network over the dedicated connection based on the network address assigned to the registered mobile device;
inspect subsequent requests from the registered mobile device to access one or more resources of the enterprise network including one or more access-restricted enterprise resources of the enterprise network using the dedicated connection;
look up user permissions of a user of the registered mobile device; and
control access of the registered mobile device to access the one or more resources for the subsequent requests based on the user permissions and the network address assigned to the registered mobile device.
Claim 13: A method comprising:
receiving, from a mobile device, an access request to access a network that is managed by the server;
determining that the access request received from the mobile device is used by a member of the network;
assigning a network address for accessing the network based on device data and authentication factors associated with the mobile device;
controlling access of the mobile device to the network based on the network address;
receiving, from the mobile device, a resource request to access a resource through the network;
extracting, from the resource request, one or more resource request factors, including one or more actual mobile-device factors associated with the requesting mobile device; and
authenticating the mobile device when the authentication factors respectively correspond with the one or more resource request factors.
Claim 9: A computer-implemented method comprising:
receiving, from a registered mobile device of a MVNO -hosted mobile authentication platform, an access request to access an enterprise network associated with the MVNO;
determining that the access request is received from a member of the enterprise network;
gathering device data and authentication factor data for the registered mobile device;
assigning, by the MVNO-hosted mobile authentication platform, a network address for accessing the enterprise network over a dedicated connection for the enterprise network through the MVNO-hosted mobile authentication platform based on the device data and the authentication factor data to the registered mobile device;
controlling, by the MVNO-hosted mobile authentication platform, access of the registered mobile device to the enterprise network over the dedicated connection based on the network address assigned to the registered mobile device;
inspecting subsequent requests from the registered mobile device to access one or more resources of the enterprise network including one or more access-restricted enterprise resources of the enterprise network using the dedicated connection;
looking up user permissions of a user of the registered mobile device; and
controlling access of the registered mobile device to access the one or more resources for the subsequent requests based on the user permissions and the network address assigned to the registered mobile device.
Claims 1-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10063998. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all limitations recited in claims 1-24 of the instant application are encompassed all limitations recited in claims 1-20 of the patent ‘998, respectively. Refer to the comparison table below for details.
Instant Application 18921470
Patent No. 10063998 (Application No. 14/934051)
Claim 1: A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a server, cause the server to:
receive, from a mobile device, an access request to access a network that is managed by the server;
determine that the access request received from the mobile device is used by a member of the network;
assign a network address for accessing the network based on device data and authentication factors associated with the mobile device:
control access of the mobile device to the network based on the network address receive, from the mobile device, a resource request to access a resource through the network;
extract, from the resource request, one or more resource request factors, including one or more actual mobile-device factors associated with the requesting mobile device; and
authenticate the mobile device when the authentication factors respectively correspond with the one or more resource request factors.
Claim 1: A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more computer processors of a server, cause the server to:
receive a request to register one or more mobile devices with a mobile virtual network operator (MVNO)-hosted mobile authentication platform;
store mobile devices data for the one or more registered mobile devices and user profile data by the MVNO-hosted mobile authentication platform;
establish a dedicated connection for routing requests from carrier networks through the MVNO-hosted mobile authentication platform for the one or more registered mobile devices to an enterprise network managed by the server;
receive, from a portion of the MVNO-hosted mobile authentication platform residing on a mobile device, an access request to access the enterprise network through the dedicated connection;
determine if the access request is received from a member of the enterprise network through the one or more registered mobile devices;
gather device data for the mobile device from the mobile devices data for the one or more registered mobile devices using the access request received from the mobile device, the device data for the mobile device including a mobile device network identifier of the mobile device making the request, the MVNO hosted mobile authentication platform configured to maintain a database of network identifiers assigned to mobile devices of registered members of the enterprise network, the mobile device network identifier being unique to the mobile device and the mobile device network identifier is assigned to the mobile device based on one or more mobile authentication factors for the mobile device;
receive, from the mobile device, a resource request to access a resource through the enterprise network; extract, from the resource request, one or more resource request factors;
authenticate the mobile device when the one or more mobile authentication factors respectively correspond with the one or more resource request factors; and
provide the mobile device access to the enterprise network.
Claim 13: A method comprising:
receiving, from a mobile device, an access request to access a network that is managed by the server;
determining that the access request received from the mobile device is used by a member of the network;
assigning a network address for accessing the network based on device data and authentication factors associated with the mobile device;
controlling access of the mobile device to the network based on the network address;
receiving, from the mobile device, a resource request to access a resource through the network;
extracting, from the resource request, one or more resource request factors, including one or more actual mobile-device factors associated with the requesting mobile device; and
authenticating the mobile device when the authentication factors respectively correspond with the one or more resource request factors.
Claim 11: A computer-implemented method comprising:
receiving a request to register one or more mobile devices with a mobile virtual network operator (MVNO)-hosted mobile authentication platform;
storing mobile devices data for one or more registered mobile devices and user profile data by the MVNO-hosted mobile authentication platform;
establishing a dedicated connection for routing requests from carrier networks through the MVNO-hosted mobile authentication platform for the one or more registered mobile devices to an enterprise network managed by a server;
receiving, in the server from a portion of the MVNO-hosted mobile authentication platform residing on a mobile device, an access request to access the enterprise network through the dedicated connection;
gathering device data for the mobile device from the mobile devices data for the one or more registered mobile devices using the access request received from the mobile device, the device data for the mobile device including a mobile device network identifier of the mobile device making the request, the MVNO hosted mobile authentication platform configured to maintain a database of network identifiers assigned to mobile devices of registered members of the enterprise network, the mobile device network identifier being unique to the mobile device and the mobile device network identifier is assigned to the mobile device based on one or more mobile authentication factors for the mobile device;
receiving, from the mobile device, a resource request to access a resource through the enterprise network;
extracting, from the resource request, one or more resource request factors;
authenticating the mobile device when the one or more mobile authentication factors respectively correspond with the one or more resource request factors; and
providing the mobile device access to the enterprise network.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-9, 11-14, 17-21, and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huber et al. (“Huber,” US 2009/0286509) in view of Krishnaswamy et al. (“Krishnaswamy,” US 2010/0017861).
Regarding claim 1: Huber discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a server, cause the server to:
receive, from a mobile device, an access request to access a network that is managed by the server (Huber: par. 0040 as a subscriber station, e.g., UE 120 A' leaves macro coverage (e.g., cell 105) and enters femto coverage (e.g., area 125), as illustrated in environment 100, UE 120A attempts to attach to the femto AP 130 through transmission and reception of attachment signaling);
determine that the access request received from the mobile device is used by a member of the network (Huber: par. 0058 access list management component 310 can validate whitelist(s) 362, stored in data storage 360, against current subscriber accounts for femto service and associated subscriber station identifier numbers (e.g., MSISDNs, IMSIs), codes, or tokens, for a service provider);
assign a network address for accessing the network based on device data and authentication factors associated with the mobile device (Huber: par. 0095 a secure tunnel can be established from the device/client through the femto cell's internet protocol (IP) connection or the default connection of a radio access network);
control access of the mobile device to the network based on the network address (Huber: par. 0070 in connection with authorization for access to fem to cell coverage, example system 800 facilitates generation of a white list profile which includes parameters that control, or facilitate access logic to, femto cell coverage as provided (e.g., granted or denied) through access control list(s) (e.g., white list(s) or black list (s)));
receive, from the mobile device, a resource request to access a resource through the network (Huber: par. 0084 mobile device 905 can send signaling 925 to request add-on services associated with a device identifier attribute field in a white list 842. Such add-on service can be supported at least in part through server(s) 850);
extract, from the resource request, one or more resource request factors, including one or more actual mobile-device factors associated with the requesting mobile device (Huber: par. 0052 access list management component 310 can exploit data mining component 415 to extract data from data storage 360, or substantially any set of databases that contain femto service subscriber intelligence [] to extract data pertinent to subscribers linked to mobile identifier attribute field within white list(s) 362).
Huber does not explicitly disclose authenticate the mobile device when the authentication factors respectively correspond with the one or more resource request factors.
However, Krishnaswamy discloses authenticate the mobile device when the authentication factors respectively correspond with the one or more resource request factors (Krishnaswamy: par. 0063 credential manager 502 can authenticate or reject the client 104, based on client credentials that may accompany access request 504, for communication session 108 and may transmit a response to MNO 106 to forward to client 104).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Krishnaswamy with the system/method of Huber to include authenticate the mobile device when the authentication factors respectively correspond with the one or more resource request factors. One would have been motivated to facilitating mobile access to a communication session over a network based on the client connection parameters (Krishnaswamy: par. 0011).
Regarding claim 2: Huber in view of Krishnaswamy discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1.
Krishnaswamy further discloses wherein the instructions are further effective to cause the server to:
control access of the mobile device to the resource based on whether one or more additional authentication factors correspond to the authentication factors (Krishnaswamy: par. 0061 access request 504 may be transmitted from client 104 [] when client 104 attempts to establish a communication session [] client credentials may be information, such as an IMEI, a phone number, a token, etc., that identify a client or an allowed service for the client).
The motivation is the same that of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 5: Huber in view of Krishnaswamy discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1.
Huber further discloses wherein the device data includes a unique subscriber identification module number (Huber: par. 0043 subscriber identity module (SIM) credentials)).
Regarding claim 6: Huber in view of Krishnaswamy discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1.
Krishnaswamy further discloses wherein the instructions are further effective to cause the server to establish a dedicated connection in response to a request to register one or more mobile devices, including the mobile device, with the network (Krishnaswamy: par. 0102 a communication session may be established over a network once the client is authenticated and connection data and instructions are communication between the client and a third party with which the communication session is being held).
The motivation is the same that of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 7: Huber in view of Krishnaswamy discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 6.
Krishnaswamy further discloses wherein the request to register the one or mobile devices is generated by the network (Krishnaswamy: par. 0043 the client device can be authenticated with credentials supplied by the client to a local wireless carrier's network ( e.g., an MNO). These credentials can then be forwarded to the MVNO. Thus, the client can be registered with and authenticated by the MVNO).
The motivation is the same that of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 8: Huber in view of Krishnaswamy discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 6.
Huber further discloses wherein the instructions are further effective to cause the server to store user data of a user associated with the mobile device in response to the request to register the one or more mobile devices (Huber: par. 0065 the privacy attribute field(s) entered by a subscriber that shares (e.g., submits) a white list. The aforementioned approval can be determined via privacy policy(ies) 652 associated with the end user, or subscriber linked to a mobile device, which can be stored in a subscriber database 650).
Regarding claim 9: Huber in view of Krishnaswamy discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1.
Huber further discloses wherein the instructions are further effective to cause the server to:
receive requests that originate from a wireless network associated with the network (Huber: par. 0040 UE 120A attempts to attach to the femto AP 130 through transmission and reception of attachment signaling).
Krishnaswamy further discloses verify the authentication factors when an access point routes traffic to an authentication platform (Krishnaswamy: par. 0049 MNO 106 can receive client credentials from client 104 and forward those credentials to MVNO 102. Subsequently, MVNO 102 can authenticate client 104 for establishing communication session 108 using resources of MNO 106).
The motivation is the same that of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 11: Huber in view of Krishnaswamy discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1.
Huber further discloses wherein the instructions are further effective to cause the server to:
generate a network identifier from the authentication factors (Huber: par. 0098 service network(s) (e.g., internet protocol (IP) multimedia subsystem (IMS)) that provide services to a mobile network platform administered by the service provider); and
assign the network identifier to the mobile device in response to authenticating the mobile device (Huber: par. 0095 a secure tunnel can be established from the device/client through the femto cell's internet protocol (IP) connection or the default connection of a radio access network).
Regarding claim 12: Huber in view of Krishnaswamy discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1.
Huber further discloses wherein the instructions to extract, from the resource request, one or more resource request factors are further effective to cause the server to:
compare a network identifier of the mobile device with an assigned network identifier stored in a database (Huber: par. 0097 a subscriber 1105 who utilizes account device(s) 1115, can provision femto AP 130 and associate account device(s) 1115 with a service account via networked interface component 935 (e.g., an online account management system) which can look up into substantially all subscriber station(s) identifier numbers (e.g., MSISDNs), codes or tokens associated with the service account, and automatically populate access list(s)); and
flag the resource request upon determining that the network identifier of the mobile device does not match the assigned network identifier (Huber: par. 0065 security component 640, or authorization layer, can ensure that unauthorized mobile subscriber numbers (e.g., MSISDNs, IMSIs ... ), codes or tokens, are not provided when not approved by end users [] security component 640 can generate election flags).
Regarding claim 13: Huber discloses a method comprising:
receiving, from a mobile device, an access request to access a network that is managed by the server (Huber: par. 0040 as a subscriber station, e.g., UE 120 A' leaves macro coverage (e.g., cell 105) and enters femto coverage (e.g., area 125), as illustrated in environment 100, UE 120A attempts to attach to the femto AP 130 through transmission and reception of attachment signaling);
determining that the access request received from the mobile device is used by a member of the network (Huber: par. 0058 access list management component 310 can validate whitelist(s) 362, stored in data storage 360, against current subscriber accounts for femto service and associated subscriber station identifier numbers (e.g., MSISDNs, IMSIs), codes, or tokens, for a service provider);
assigning a network address for accessing the network based on device data and authentication factors associated with the mobile device (Huber: par. 0095 a secure tunnel can be established from the device/client through the femto cell's internet protocol (IP) connection or the default connection of a radio access network);
controlling access of the mobile device to the network based on the network address (Huber: par. 0070 in connection with authorization for access to fem to cell coverage, example system 800 facilitates generation of a white list profile which includes parameters that control, or facilitate access logic to, femto cell coverage as provided (e.g., granted or denied) through access control list(s) (e.g., white list(s) or black list (s)));
receiving, from the mobile device, a resource request to access a resource through the network (Huber: par. 0084 mobile device 905 can send signaling 925 to request add-on services associated with a device identifier attribute field in a white list 842. Such add-on service can be supported at least in part through server(s) 850);
extracting, from the resource request, one or more resource request factors, including one or more actual mobile-device factors associated with the requesting mobile device (Huber: par. 0052 access list management component 310 can exploit data mining component 415 to extract data from data storage 360, or substantially any set of databases that contain femto service subscriber intelligence [] to extract data pertinent to subscribers linked to mobile identifier attribute field within white list(s) 362).
Huber does not explicitly disclose authenticating the mobile device when the authentication factors respectively correspond with the one or more resource request factors.
However, Krishnaswamy discloses authenticating the mobile device when the authentication factors respectively correspond with the one or more resource request factors (Krishnaswamy: par. 0063 credential manager 502 can authenticate or reject the client 104, based on client credentials that may accompany access request 504, for communication session 108 and may transmit a response to MNO 106 to forward to client 104).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Krishnaswamy with the system/method of Huber to include authenticate the mobile device when the authentication factors respectively correspond with the one or more resource request factors. One would have been motivated to facilitating mobile access to a communication session over a network based on the client connection parameters (Krishnaswamy: par. 0011).
Regarding claim 14: Claim 14 is similar in scope to claim 2, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claims 17-21: Claims 17-21 are similar in scope to claims 5-9, respectively, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claims 23-24: Claims 23-24 are similar in scope to claims 11-12, respectively, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 3-4, 10, 15-16, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huber et al. (“Huber,” US 2009/0286509) in view of Krishnaswamy et al. (“Krishnaswamy,” US 2010/0017861) and SU (“Su,” US 2015/0094021).
Regarding claim 3: Huber in view of Krishnaswamy discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 2.
Huber in view of Krishnaswamy does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more additional authentication factors include first location data and the authentication factors includes second location data.
However, Su discloses wherein the one or more additional authentication factors include first location data and the authentication factors includes second location data (Su: par. 0047 assume that that user utilizes user device 210 at a variety of physical locations, such as a first location and a second location. When the user utilizes user device 210 at the different locations, location information 510 associated with user device 210 and the user may be determined by user device 210 and/or location system 230).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Su with the system/method of Huber and Krishnaswamy to include additional authentication factors include first location data and the authentication factors includes second location data. One would have been motivated to identifying a user geo-location has become a factor used to authenticate a user and prevent potential fraud (Su: par. 0001).
Regarding claim 4: Huber in view of Krishnaswamy and Su discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 3.
Su further discloses wherein the first location data includes a baseband-derived location identification and the second location data includes an application layer-derived device location identification (Su: par. 0020 Geo-location server 220 may calculate a probability of the user being in the geo-location pattern(s) based on the user's current location. Geo-location server 220 may calculate a distance of the user from a center of a geolocation pattern based on the current location).
The motivation is the same that of claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 10: Huber in view of Krishnaswamy discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1.
Huber in view of Krishnaswamy does not explicitly disclose wherein the authentication factors includes a location, or an identification of one or more mobile towers in proximity of the location.
However, Su discloses wherein the authentication factors includes a location, or an identification of one or more mobile towers in proximity of the location (Su: par. 0017 the user location information may be used to authenticate the user for utilization of a variety of resources).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Su with the system/method of Huber and Krishnaswamy to include the authentication factors includes a location. One would have been motivated to identifying a user geo-location has become a factor used to authenticate a user and prevent potential fraud (Su: par. 0001).
Regarding claims 15-16: Claims 15-16 are similar in scope to claims 3-4, respectively, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 22: Claim 22 is similar in scope to claim 10, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
/FAHIMEH MOHAMMADI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2439
/LUU T PHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2439