DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgements
The claims filed 11/15/2024 are acknowledged.
Claims 1-24 are pending.
Claims 1-24 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
In the instant case, claims 1-6 are directed to a method, claims 7-12 are directed to a system comprising a first and second computing device, each comprising one or more processor and memory, claims 13-18 are directed to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, and claims 19-22 are directed to a computing device having one or more processors and memory. Therefore, these claims fall within the four statutory categories of invention.
The claims recite requesting access to content, receiving a license or rights for accessing the content, and preventing use of the content when the conditions of the license or rights are not satisfied, which is an abstract idea. Specifically, the claims recite “send[ing] a request for a content asset,” “receiv[ing] digital rights management (DRM) data associated with the content asset, wherein the DRM data indicates a maximum quantity of authorized [users] that are authorized for outputting the content asset,” “prevent[ing], based on the request and the maximum quantity of authorized [users], output, by a [second/third] [user], of the content asset,” and “send the DRM data associated with the content asset,” which is grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas in prong one of step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test (MPEP 2106.04 & 2106.04(a)) because these steps describe a process for requesting access to a content item, receiving a license including conditions for accessing the content item, and enforcing the terms of the license by preventing use of the content item when the conditions are not met, which is a commercial or legal interaction. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea (See MPEP 2106.04(a)).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because, when analyzed under prong two of step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test (See MPEP 2106.04(d)), the additional elements of the claims such as the use of a first computing device, authorized computing devices, a second computing device, a system comprising a first computing device and a second computing device, wherein the first computing device comprises one or more first processors and memory storing instructions, and the second computing device comprises one or more second processors and memory storing instructions, one or more non-transitory computer-readable media, and a computing device comprising one or more processors and memory storing instructions, merely use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Specifically, these additional elements perform the steps or functions of “send[ing] a request for a content asset,” “receiv[ing] digital rights management (DRM) data associated with the content asset, wherein the DRM data indicates a maximum quantity of authorized [users] that are authorized for outputting the content asset,” “prevent[ing], based on the request and the maximum quantity of authorized [users], output, by a [second/third] [user], of the content asset,” and “send the DRM data associated with the content asset.” Viewed as a whole, the use of a processor/computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it requires no more than a computer performing functions that correspond to acts required to carry out the abstract idea. The additional elements do not involve improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field (MPEP 2106.05(a)), and the claims do not apply or use the abstract idea in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP 2106.05(e) and Vanda Memo). Therefore, the claims do not, for example, purport to improve the functioning of a computer. Nor do they effect an improvement in any other technology or technical field. Accordingly, the additional elements do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when analyzed under step 2B of the Alice/Mayo test (See MPEP 2106.05), the additional elements of using a first computing device, authorized computing devices, a second computing device, a system comprising a first computing device and a second computing device, wherein the first computing device comprises one or more first processors and memory storing instructions, and the second computing device comprises one or more second processors and memory storing instructions, one or more non-transitory computer-readable media, and a computing device comprising one or more processors and memory storing instructions to perform the steps amounts to no more than using a computer or processor to automate and/or implement the abstract idea of requesting access to content, receiving a license or rights for accessing the content, and preventing use of the content when the conditions of the license or rights are not satisfied. As discussed above, taking the claim elements separately, these additional elements perform the steps or functions of “send[ing] a request for a content asset,” “receiv[ing] digital rights management (DRM) data associated with the content asset, wherein the DRM data indicates a maximum quantity of authorized [users] that are authorized for outputting the content asset,” “prevent[ing], based on the request and the maximum quantity of authorized [users], output, by a [second/third] [user], of the content asset,” and “send the DRM data associated with the content asset.” These functions correspond to the actions required to perform the abstract idea. Viewed as a whole, the combination of elements recited in the claims merely recite the concept of requesting access to content, receiving a license or rights for accessing the content, and preventing use of the content when the conditions of the license or rights are not satisfied. Therefore, the use of these additional elements does no more than employ the computer as a tool to automate and/or implement the abstract idea. The use of a computer or processor to merely automate and/or implement the abstract idea cannot provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself (MPEP 2106.05 (f) & (h)). Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 2-6, 8-12, 14-18, and 20-24 further describe the abstract idea of requesting access to content, receiving a license or rights for accessing the content, and preventing use of the content when the conditions of the license or rights are not satisfied. Specifically, claims 2, 8, 14, and 20 describe permitting use of the content when the license conditions are met, claims 3, 9, 15, and 21 describe restricting use of the content based on a condition, claims 4, 10, 16, and 22 describe preventing additional requests for content when the license conditions are not met, and claims 6, 12, 18, and 24 describe preventing use of one version of the content while permitting use of another version of the content based on whether certain license conditions are not met. These claims further describe enforcing the license or rights, and are directed to the abstract idea. The use of various computing devices and the type of connection between the computing devices does not provide a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because it only involves using a computer as a tool to automate and/or implement the abstract idea. Claims 5, 11, 17, and 23 further describes the manner of preventing use of the content by preventing use of a decryption key. This further describes the abstract idea as it further describes the manner of enforcing the license or rights. Additionally, encryption or decryption using a key only involves performing mathematical calculations on data, which is also abstract. The dependent claims do not include additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or that provide significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the dependent claims are also not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 7-8, 10, 13-14, 16, 19-20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee, et al. (US 2005/0065891) (“Lee”).
Regarding claims 1, 7, 13, and 19, Lee discloses a method, one or more non-transitory computer-readable media, and a system comprising:
a first computing device (Lee Figure 5A; ¶¶ 20, 48);
a second computing device (Lee Figure 5A; ¶¶ 20, 48);
wherein the first computing device comprises: one or more processors; and memory storing first instructions that, when executed by the one or more first processors of the first computing device, configure the first computing device to perform the method comprising:
sending a request for a content asset (Lee ¶¶ 41, 49-50);
receiving digital rights management (DRM) data associated with the content asset, wherein the DRM data indicates a maximum quantity of authorized computing devices that are authorized for outputting the content asset (Lee Figures 6A-B; ¶¶ 20, 23, 42, 49, 53-54); and
preventing, based on the request and the maximum quantity of authorized computing devices, output, by a third computing device, of the content asset (Lee Figures 6A-B; ¶¶ 23, 53-54); and
wherein the second computing device comprises: one or more second processors; and memory storing second instructions that, when executed by the one or more second processors of the second computing device, configure the second computing device to:
send the DRM data associated with the content asset (Lee ¶¶ 20, 49-50, 54).
Regarding claims 2, 8, 14, and 20, Lee discloses determining, by the first computing device, that a current quantity of authorized computing devices that are authorized for outputting the content asset is less than the maximum quantity; and permitting, based on the determination, output, by a third [or fourth] computing device, of the content asset (Lee Figures 6A-B; ¶¶ 23, 53-54).
Regarding claims 4, 10, 16, and 22, Lee discloses preventing, based on the maximum quantity of authorized computing devices, sending a second request for the content asset (Lee Figures 6A-B; ¶¶ 22-23, 46, 49, 54).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 9, 15, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Robinson (US 2014/0130083).
Regarding claims 3, 9, 15, and 21, Lee does not specifically disclose restricting output of the content asset to one or more versions of a plurality of versions of the content asset based on whether a connection between the first computing device and one of the authorized computing devices is configured to use a High-Bandwidth Digital Content Protection (HDCP) protection scheme.
Robinson discloses restricting output of the content asset to one or more versions of a plurality of versions of the content asset based on whether a connection between the first computing device and one of the authorized computing devices is configured to use a High-Bandwidth Digital Content Protection (HDCP) protection scheme (Robinson ¶¶ 17-18, 28-29, 35).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the present application to modify the method of Lee to include restricting output of the content asset to one or more versions of a plurality of versions of the content asset based on whether a connection between the first computing device and one of the authorized computing devices is configured to use a High-Bandwidth Digital Content Protection (HDCP) protection scheme, as disclosed in Robinson, in order to provide high-definition content in a reduced resolution format to prevent unauthorized use and protect premium services (Robinson ¶ 2).
Claims 5-6, 11-12, 17-18, and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Brueck, et al. (US 2011/0058675) (“Brueck”).
Regarding claims 5, 11, 17, and 23, Lee discloses that the DRM data comprises a decryption key that is configured to decrypt the content asset (Lee ¶ 12).
Lee does not specifically disclose that preventing output of the content asset comprises preventing processing the decryption key.
Brueck discloses preventing output of the content asset comprises preventing processing the decryption key (Brueck ¶¶ 19, 33, 42, 50, 54, 61, 63, 65, 71).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the present application to modify the method of Lee to include preventing output of the content asset comprises preventing processing the decryption key, as disclosed in Robinson, in order to provide greater flexibility in the distribution of multiple versions of the same content while still allowing a content owner to maintain control over their content by preventing circumvention of access control (Brueck ¶¶ 4-5, 50-51).
Regarding claims 6, 12, 18, and 24, Lee discloses that preventing output of the content asset comprises preventing output of a first version of the content asset, and the method further comprising:
permitting, based on the maximum quantity of authorized computing devices, output, by the second [or third] computing device, of the version of the content asset (Lee Figures 6A-B; ¶¶ 23, 53-54).
Lee does not specifically disclose that the first version of the content asset is formatted in a first resolution, receiving a second version of the content asset, and permitting output of the second version of the content asset based on whether a condition is satisfied, wherein the second version of the content asset is formatted in a second resolution that is lower than the first resolution.
Brueck discloses that a first version of the content asset is formatted in a first resolution, receiving a second version of the content asset, and permitting output of the second version of the content asset based on whether a condition is satisfied, wherein the second version of the content asset is formatted in a second resolution that is lower than the first resolution (Brueck ¶¶ 19, 31, 33, 42, 50, 54, 61, 63, 65, 71).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the present application to modify the method of Lee to include a first version of the content asset formatted in a first resolution, receiving a second version of the content asset, and permitting output of the second version of the content asset based on whether a condition is satisfied, wherein the second version of the content asset is formatted in a second resolution that is lower than the first resolution, as disclosed in Robinson, in order to provide greater flexibility in the distribution of multiple versions of the same content while still allowing a content owner to maintain control over their content by preventing circumvention of access control (Brueck ¶¶ 4-5, 50-51).
Conclusion
/Mohammad A. Nilforoush/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3697