DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/21/24 and 1/21/26 is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 35-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,156,088. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the mapping below:
As to claim 35, Patent ‘088 teaches a network entity, comprising: circuitry comprising any of a processor, memory, and transceiver, the circuitry configured to
receive, from a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), a first message indicating a requested service continuity by the WTRU
establish a first connection associated with the requested service continuity
determine, based on the requested service continuity, that a second connection associated with the requested service continuity should be established in addition to the established first session and
send a second message, to the WTRU, to trigger establishment of the second session in addition to the established first session
wherein the first connection is not released until after establishment of the second connection is complete (‘088 Claim 1)
As to claim 36, Patent ‘088 teaches wherein: the first connection is associated with a first internet protocol (IP) address and the second connection is associated with a second internet protocol (IP) address (‘088 Claim 3)
As to claim 37, Patent ‘088 teaches wherein: the first connection is associated with a first anchor point; and the second connection is associated with a second anchor point (‘088 Claim 4)
As to claim 38, Patent ‘088 teaches wherein the first anchor point corresponds to a first gateway and the second anchor point corresponds to a second, different gateway (‘088 Claim 5)
As to claim 39, Patent ‘088 teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to send, to the WTRU, information indicating one or more policies associated with the application of the WTRU, and wherein the requested continuity type is based on the one or more indicated policies (‘088 Claim 6)
As to claim 40, Patent ‘088 teaches wherein the second message is a non-access stratum message (‘088 Claim 7)
Claims 47 and 50 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,751,116. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the mapping below.
As to claim 47, Patent ‘116 teaches a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), comprising: circuitry, including any of a processor and transceiver, configured to operate using a first connection associated with a first gateway
transmit, to a network entity, an indication with respect to service continuity
receive, from the network entity in response to the indication with respect to service continuity, a message triggering establishment of a second connection associated with a second gateway
initiate the establishment of the second connection associated with the second gateway); and
move existing traffic from the first connection associated with the first gateway to the second connection associated with the second gateway
wherein the first connection is deactivated after the existing traffic is moved to the second connection associated with the second gateway (’116 Claim 10)
As to claim 50, Patent ‘840 teaches A method, implemented by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising
operating using a first connection associated with a first gateway
transmitting, to a network entity, an indication with respect to service continuity
receiving, from the network entity in response to the indication with respect to service continuity, a message triggering establishment of a second connection associated with a second gateway
initiating the establishment of the second connection associated with the second gateway and
moving existing traffic from the first connection associated with the first gateway to the second connection associated with the second gateway
wherein the first connection is deactivated after moving the existing traffic to the second connection associated with the second gateway (‘116 Claim 1)
Claims 50 and 52 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,405,840 Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the mapping below:
As to claim 50, Patent ‘840 teaches A method, implemented by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising
operating using a first connection associated with a first gateway
transmitting, to a network entity, an indication with respect to service continuity
receiving, from the network entity in response to the indication with respect to service continuity, a message triggering establishment of a second connection associated with a second gateway
initiating the establishment of the second connection associated with the second gateway and
moving existing traffic from the first connection associated with the first gateway to the second connection associated with the second gateway
wherein the first connection is deactivated after moving the existing traffic to the second connection associated with the second gateway (‘840 Claim 1)
As to claim 52, Patent ‘840 teaches the indication with respect to service continuity is included in an information element (IE) (‘840 Claim 7)
Claims 47 and 50 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 10,645,625. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the mapping below.
As to claim 47, Patent ‘625 teaches a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), comprising: circuitry, including any of a processor and transceiver, configured to operate using a first connection associated with a first gateway
transmit, to a network entity, an indication with respect to service continuity
receive, from the network entity in response to the indication with respect to service continuity, a message triggering establishment of a second connection associated with a second gateway
initiate the establishment of the second connection associated with the second gateway); and
move existing traffic from the first connection associated with the first gateway to the second connection associated with the second gateway
wherein the first connection is deactivated after the existing traffic is moved to the second connection associated with the second gateway (’625 Claim 10)
As to claim 50, Patent ‘625 teaches A method, implemented by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising
operating using a first connection associated with a first gateway
transmitting, to a network entity, an indication with respect to service continuity
receiving, from the network entity in response to the indication with respect to service continuity, a message triggering establishment of a second connection associated with a second gateway
initiating the establishment of the second connection associated with the second gateway and
moving existing traffic from the first connection associated with the first gateway to the second connection associated with the second gateway
wherein the first connection is deactivated after moving the existing traffic to the second connection associated with the second gateway (‘625 Claim 1)
Claims 47 and 50 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 10,104,591. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the mapping below.
As to claim 47, Patent ‘591 teaches a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), comprising: circuitry, including any of a processor and transceiver, configured to operate using a first connection associated with a first gateway
transmit, to a network entity, an indication with respect to service continuity
receive, from the network entity in response to the indication with respect to service continuity, a message triggering establishment of a second connection associated with a second gateway
initiate the establishment of the second connection associated with the second gateway); and
move existing traffic from the first connection associated with the first gateway to the second connection associated with the second gateway
wherein the first connection is deactivated after the existing traffic is moved to the second connection associated with the second gateway (‘591 Claim 10)
As to claim 50, Patent ‘591 teaches A method, implemented by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising
operating using a first connection associated with a first gateway
transmitting, to a network entity, an indication with respect to service continuity
receiving, from the network entity in response to the indication with respect to service continuity, a message triggering establishment of a second connection associated with a second gateway
initiating the establishment of the second connection associated with the second gateway and
moving existing traffic from the first connection associated with the first gateway to the second connection associated with the second gateway
wherein the first connection is deactivated after moving the existing traffic to the second connection associated with the second gateway (‘591 Claim 1)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 39 recites the limitation "the application" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 35-39, 47, 48, 50, 51, 53 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawashima et al (Pub No: 2005/0227692).
As to claim 35, Kawashima teaches a network entity, comprising: circuitry comprising any of a processor, memory, and transceiver, the circuitry configured to (Kawashima, [0068], a base station Node-B, which has a processor, memory and transceiver)
receive, from a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), a first message indicating a requested service continuity by the WTRU (Kawashima, [0271]-[0278], Fig 20, receive from a terminal a request ASP automatic selection service connection setup (which indicates service continuity via CDMA) ;
establish a first connection associated with the requested service continuity (Kawashima, [0271]-[0278], Fig 20, establish the WLAN connection setup to continue communication service);
determine, based on the requested service continuity, that a second connection associated with the requested service continuity should be established in addition to the established first session (Kawashima, [0271]-[0278], Fig 20, determine that CDMA should be established due to deteriorating WLAN); and
send a second message, to the WTRU, to trigger establishment of the second session in addition to the established first session(Kawashima, [0271]-[0278], Fig 20, send a CDMA connection setup message);
wherein the first connection is not released until after establishment of the second connection is complete (Kawashima, [0271]-[0278], Fig 20, after the CDMA connection is completed, the WLAN connection is released).
As to claim 36, Kawashima teaches wherein: the first connection is associated with a first internet protocol (IP) address (Kawashima, Fig 20, the first WLAN connection is assigned an IP address); and the second connection is associated with a second internet protocol (IP) address (Kawashima, Fig 20, the CDMA connection is assigned an IP address);.
As to claim 37, Kawashima teaches wherein: the first connection is associated with a first anchor point; and the second connection is associated with a second anchor point (Kawashima, Fig 2, the connection (1st) is associated with a AP, and the second connection with a RNC).
As to claim 38, Kawashima teaches wherein the first anchor point corresponds to a first gateway and the second anchor point corresponds to a second, different gateway (Kawashima, Fig 2, corresponding to an a gateway that is a router and other connection a RNC/MSC).
As to claim 39, Kawashima teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to send, to the WTRU, information indicating one or more policies associated with the application of the WTRU, and wherein the requested continuity type is based on the one or more indicated policies (Kawashima, [0230]-[0234], the WTRU is sent by the ASP indicating the service registration (policies/types) available).
As to claim 47, Kawashima teaches a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), comprising: circuitry, including any of a processor and transceiver, configured to operate using a first connection associated with a first gateway (Kawashima, [0068] Fig 20, a terminal using a first CDMA connection associated with an RNC);
transmit, to a network entity, an indication with respect to service continuity (Kawashima, [0271]-[0278], Fig 20, transmit a request indication to establish ASP automatic service continuity) ;
receive, from the network entity in response to the indication with respect to service continuity, a message triggering establishment of a second connection associated with a second gateway (Kawashima, [0271]-[0278], Fig 20, receive a response (for the CDMA connection setup) Fig 2 CDMA has a different gateway) ;
initiate the establishment of the second connection associated with the second gateway (Kawashima, [0271]-[0278], Fig 20, initiate/setup the CDMA connection with the CDMA network (gateway); and
move existing traffic from the first connection associated with the first gateway to the second connection associated with the second gateway (Kawashima, [0271]-[0278], Fig 20, the communication traffic changes from WLAN network to CDMA network),
wherein the first connection is deactivated after the existing traffic is moved to the second connection associated with the second gateway (Kawashima, [0271]-[0278], Fig 20, after the CDMA connection is completed, the WLAN connection is released).
As to claim 48, Kawashima teaches wherein the first connection and the second connection are established using a cellular-based access technology (Kawashima, [0134][0135] the connections are between a CDMA and GSM or CDMA and PHS mobile/cellular based networks in one embodiment).
As to claim 50, Kawashima teaches A method, implemented by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising (Kawashima, [0271]-[0278], Fig 20, method by a terminal):
operating using a first connection associated with a first gateway (Kawashima, [0068] Fig 20, a terminal using a first CDMA connection associated with an RNC;
transmitting, to a network entity, an indication with respect to service continuity (Kawashima, [0271]-[0278], Fig 20, transmit a request indication to establish ASP automatic service continuity);
receiving, from the network entity in response to the indication with respect to service continuity, a message triggering establishment of a second connection associated with a second gateway (Kawashima, [0271]-[0278], Fig 20, receive a response (for the CDMA connection setup) Fig 2 CDMA has a different gateway);
initiating the establishment of the second connection associated with the second gateway (Kawashima, [0271]-[0278], Fig 20, initiate/setup the CDMA connection with the CDMA network (gateway); and
moving existing traffic from the first connection associated with the first gateway to the second connection associated with the second gateway (Kawashima, [0271]-[0278], Fig 20, the communication traffic changes from WLAN network to CDMA network),
wherein the first connection is deactivated after moving the existing traffic to the second connection associated with the second gateway (Kawashima, [0271]-[0278], Fig 20, after the CDMA connection is completed, the WLAN connection is released).
As to claim 51, Kawashima teaches wherein the first connection and the second connection are established using a cellular-based access technology (Kawashima, [0134][0135] the connections are between a CDMA and GSM or CDMA and PHS mobile/cellular based networks in one embodiment).
As to claim 53, Kawashima teaches wherein the requested service continuity is associated with an application of the WTRU (Kawashima, [0230]-[0234], the WTRU is sent by the ASP indicating the service registration (policies/types/application) available).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 40, 49, 52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawashima as applied to claims above, and further in view of Chin et al (Pub No: 2016/0183156).
As to claim 40, Kawashima teaches the second message.
Kawashima does not explicitly teach wherein the second message is a non-access stratum message.
However, Chin teaches the second message is a non-access stratum message (Chin, [0061], messages exchanged for connection procedures can be NAS protocol messages).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “NAS messages” as taught by Chin in the system of Kawashima, so that it would manage IP access for connections from mobility of user equipment (Chin, [0002])
As to claim 49, Kawashima teaches the indication with respect to service continuity (Kawashima, [0271]-[0278], Fig 20, receive from a terminal a request ASP automatic selection service connection setup (which indicates service continuity via CDMA).
Kawashima does not explicitly teach wherein the indication is included in an information element (IE).
However, Chin teaches (Chin, [0272]-[0273], information for service setup in a network is exchanged via information element).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “an information element” as taught by Chin in the system of Kawashima, so that it would manage IP access for connections from mobility of user equipment (Chin, [0002])
As to claim 52, Kawashima teaches the indication with respect to service continuity (Kawashima, [0271]-[0278], Fig 20, receive from a terminal a request ASP automatic selection service connection setup (which indicates service continuity via CDMA).
Kawashima does not explicitly teach wherein the indication is included in an information element (IE).
However, Chin teaches (Chin, [0272]-[0273], information for service setup in a network is exchanged via information element).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “an information element” as taught by Chin in the system of Kawashima, so that it would manage IP access for connections from mobility of user equipment (Chin, [0002])
Conclusion
/AFSHAWN M TOWFIGHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2427