CTNF 18/921,510 CTNF 83834 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-2, 5 and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beak et al. (US. Pat: 11,158,700 B2~hereinafter “Beak”) of record in view of Lee (KR-2010-0055970 A~ hereinafter “Lee”). The Examiner is using the machine generated English translation of the foreign reference . Regarding claim 1, Beak discloses (in at least figs. 2-5) a light emitting display device, comprising: a substrate (101) including a display region in which first, second, and third subpixels of different colors are arranged (best seen in at least fig. 3; col. 8, lines 2-6); a first electrode (132) disposed in each of the first, second, and third subpixels (as evident by at least fig. 3); a partition wall (138) of an overhang structure which extends along a boundary between the first subpixel and the second and third subpixels (see at least figs. 2 and 3), and includes a protrusion portion protruding outward (see fig. 2); a connection electrode (164) disposed under the protrusion portion of the partition wall at the boundary of the first subpixel (see fig. 2); first and second light emitting stacks disposed on the first electrode of the first subpixel and on the first electrodes of the second and third subpixels (see at least figs. 2 and 3; col. 7, line 51-col. 8, line 6), a charge generation layer between the first and second light emitting stacks (col. 7, lines 51-60), and a second electrode (136) on the second light emitting stack, wherein the first and second light emitting stacks, the charge generation layer, and the second electrode are separated by the partitional wall (as evident by at least figs. 2 and 3). Beak does not expressly disclose an intermediate electrode which is separated by the partition wall and disposed in the first subpixel, is located between the charge generation layer and the second light emitting stack in the first subpixel, and is connected to the connection electrode. Beak does not expressly disclose an intermediate electrode which is separated by the partition wall and disposed in the first subpixel, is located between the charge generation layer and the second light emitting stack in the first subpixel, and is connected to the connection electrode. Lee discloses (in at least fig. 1) a light emitting display device comprised of, in part, an intermediate electrode (30) that is located between a charge generation layer (150) and a second light emitting stack (200) for the benefit of providing a light emitting display device with improve luminous efficiency (abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the light emitting display device of Beak with the intermediate electrode of Lee such that the intermediate electrode which is separated by the partition wall and disposed in the first subpixel, is located between the charge generation layer and the second light emitting stack in the first subpixel, and is connected to the connection electrode for the benefit of providing a light emitting display device with improve luminous efficiency (abstract). Regarding claim 2, Beak does not expressly disclose a color filter layer disposed on the second electrode, wherein the color filter layer includes first and second color filter patterns that correspond to the second and third subpixels and generate the colors of the second and third subpixels, respectively, and a transparent pattern corresponding to the first subpixel. However, Beak discloses (in at least col. 7, lines 56-66) “the light-emitting stack 134 may include first and second light-emitting stacks, which are opposite each other with a charge generation layer interposed therebetween. In this case, an organic emission layer of any one of the first and second light-emitting stacks generates blue light, and an organic emission layer of the remaining one of the first and second light-emitting stacks generates yellow-green light, with the result that white light is generated via the first and second light-emitting stacks. Because the white light is introduced into a color filter (not shown) disposed on the light-emitting stack 134 , the organic light-emitting display device is capable of realizing a color image. “ It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the color filter of Beak on the second electrode, wherein the color filter layer includes first and second color filter patterns that correspond to the second and third subpixels and generate the colors of the second and third subpixels, respectively, and a transparent pattern corresponding to the first subpixel for purpose of providing an organic light-emitting display device capable of realizing a color image. Regarding claim 5, Beak discloses (in at least figs. 2-5) each of the second electrode (136) of the first subpixel and the second electrode of the second and third subpixels extends along the partition wall (138), and is connected to a voltage line (160) disposed in a non-display region outside the display region to receive a low-potential driving voltage (see at least fig. 2). Regarding claim 7, Beak discloses (in at least figs. 2-5; col. 7, line 51-col. 8, line 6) the second light emitting stack includes a second, first light emitting stack and a second, second light emitting stack on the second, first light emitting stack, and wherein the first, second, and third subpixels are blue, red, and green subpixels, respectively. Regarding claim 8, Beak discloses (in at least figs. 2-5; col. 7, line 51-col. 8, line 6) the first, second, and third subpixels are blue, red, and green subpixels, respectively. Regarding claim 9, Beak discloses (in at least figs. 2-5) the partition wall (138) is formed to extend in a column direction along both boundaries of the first subpixel (see fig. 2). Beak does not expressly disclose the partition wall is not formed along a boundary between the second and third subpixels. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to arrange the partition wall of Beak such that it is not formed along a boundary between the second and third subpixels, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involve only routine skill in the art. Regarding claim 10, Lee discloses (in at least fig. 1) the intermediate electrode (30) is continuously formed along the first subpixels arranged in the same column line . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 3-4 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 12-151-07 AIA 07-97 12-51-07 Claim s 11-19 are allowed. 13-03 AIA The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Regarding claim 11, Beak discloses (in at least figs. 2-5) a light emitting display device, comprising: a substrate (101) including a display region in which a plurality of subpixels are arranged (col. 8, lines 2-6); a first electrode (132) disposed for each subpixel; a partition wall (138) disposed along a boundary of the subpixel (see at least fig. 2), and includes first to two partition walls (138, 166) which are stacked upward, each have an overhang structure (see fig. 2), and respectively include first to two protrusion portions protruding outward (see fig. 2); a first connection electrode (164) formed below the first protrusion portion (see fig. 2), but fails to disclose a second connection electrode disposed on a top surface of the first protrusion portion, and a third connection electrode disposed on a top surface of the second protrusion portion; and first, second, and third light emitting stacks stacked on the first electrode and emitting different colors, a second electrode on the third light emitting stack, a first charge generation layer between the first and second light emitting stacks, a second charge generation layer between the second and third light emitting stacks, a first intermediate electrode between the first charge generation layer and the second light emitting stack, and a second intermediate electrode between the second charge generation layer and the third light emitting stack, wherein the first to third light emitting stacks, the first and second charge generation layers, the first and second intermediate electrodes, and the second electrode are separated for each subpixel by the partitional wall, and wherein the first and second intermediate electrodes and the second electrode are respectively connected to the first, second and third connection electrodes. Claims 12-19 are allowed due to their dependency upon claim 11 . Any comments considered necessary by applicant must be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submissions should be clearly labeled “Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance.” Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ELMITO BREVAL whose telephone number is (571)270-3099. The examiner can normally be reached M-Th~ 7:30-5:30. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, James R. Greece can be reached at 571-272-3711. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. ELMITO BREVAL Primary Examiner Art Unit 2875 /ELMITO BREVAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875 Application/Control Number: 18/921,510 Page 2 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 18/921,510 Page 3 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 18/921,510 Page 4 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 18/921,510 Page 5 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 18/921,510 Page 6 Art Unit: 2875