Detailed Action
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of copending Application No. 18/822,940 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because -
A method, the method comprising (A method for enhancing availability of a user equipment UE location for location-based routing of a wireless emergency call, the method comprising):
generating, by a wireless device, device data (determining, based on a sensor of the UE, a distance of a current location of the UE from a cached location of the UE); and
transmitting, by the wireless device (based on the determining, communicating a location of the UE to a gateway), a call request and the device data to a public safety answering point PSAP using a wireless network (based on the determining, communicating a location of the UE to a gateway; and based on the location communicated to the gateway, initiating communication between the UE and a public safety answer point PSAP).
Depending claims 2 – 9 are also provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of copending Application No. 18/822,940 (reference application).
Claim 10 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 15 of copending Application No. 18/822,940.
Similarly, analyzing and comparing independent claims 10 and 19 including its dependent claims of the pending application with independent claims 15 and 1 including its dependent claims of 18/822,940, it was found that they recite the same limitations with wording variations.
Depending claims 11 - 18 are also provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of copending Application No. 18/822,940 (reference application).
Claim 19 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/822,940.
Depending claim 20 also provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/822,940 (reference application).
Note the issued claims of current application are broader in scope such that the claimed limitations as recited in pending application 18/822,940.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 10, 11, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by
Lan US PGPub: US 2021/0377715 A1 Dec. 2, 2021.
Regarding claims 1, 19, Lan discloses,
a method and a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions, when executed by at least one processor (conveying user equipment location with an emergency call. The system appends the emergency call to a public safety answering point PSAP with a location, including an amended or up-to-the-minute location, from which the emergency call occurred. A user equipment, which places the emergency call, includes cache memory. The location is stored in or retained in the cache memory. The UE, upon recognizing the “911” string for the emergency call, retrieves the location from the UE and appends the call with the location. A location module is used to determine the location of UE. A movement module determines UE movement, including direction, speed, acceleration, and the like. The location of the UE can be amended based on the movement of the UE – ABSTRACT, Figs. 1 – 3, paragraphs 0008 – 0010. To ensure the emergency service can properly locate a user requesting or requiring the emergency service, a location, including a current location or current location based on last known location, of the UE can be provided to the emergency service – paragraph 0009. The UE location can be transmitted with the instruction or request to initiate the communication session or in response to a data pass. The voice signal can be transmitted on an established user plane separate from the instruction or request pathway – paragraph 0037), the method comprising, and configuring the at least one processor to:
generating, by a wireless device, device data (the UE 102 includes a location module 220 - e.g., aGPS, Wi-Fi, aGNSS, a hybrid positioning system, the like, or combinations or multiples thereof which is programmed to determine and track the location of the UE 102 at any given time – paragraph 0027. The UE 102 can also include a movement module 210 to determine the rate, direction, or both of the movement of the UE 102. The movement module 210 can include a magnetometer 216, a gyroscope 214, an accelerometer 212, a pedometer 218, the like, or combinations or multiples thereof – paragraph 0029. The accelerometer 212 can also determine the change in location, whether on its own or with another component of the movement module 210, such as the magnetometer. As another example, the pedometer 218 can also determine the change in UE location based on calculated or detected movement – paragraph 0039); and
transmitting, by the wireless device (to ensure the emergency service can properly locate a user requesting or requiring the emergency service, a location, including a current location or current location based on last known location, of the UE can be provided to the emergency service – paragraphs 0008, 0033, 0038), a call request (an instruction or request is transmitted from the UE 102 via the access network 104 to the SGW 116 then to the PGW 118. The instruction or request is then transmitted from the PGW 118 to the P-CSCF 124 – paragraph 0033) and the device data (the instruction can include the location information – paragraph 0009) to a public safety answering point PSAP (to ensure the emergency service can properly locate a user requesting or requiring the emergency service, a location, including a current location or current location based on last known location, of the UE can be provided to the emergency service – paragraphs 0008, 0033, 0038. A user places the emergency call, which triggers an input prompt for the UE to initiate a protocol that generates an instruction eventually transmitted to a public safety answering point – paragraph 0009) using a wireless network (UE 102 communicates with telecommunication network 100 – Fig. 1, paragraphs 0011, 0033).
Regarding claims 2, 11, Lan discloses,
the method of claim 1, wherein the call request is a session initiated protocol SIP invite (an instruction or request is transmitted from the UE 102 via the access network 104 to the SGW 116 then to the PGW 118. The instruction or request is then transmitted from the PGW 118 to the P-CSCF 124. The P-CSCF 124 detects an emergency request uniform resource identifier R-URI from the instruction or request and the SIP INVITE to the E-CSCF 126 – paragraph 0033).
Regarding claim 10, Lan discloses,
a system (conveying user equipment location with an emergency call. The system appends the emergency call to a public safety answering point PSAP with a location, including an amended or up-to-the-minute location, from which the emergency call occurred. A user equipment, which places the emergency call, includes cache memory. The location is stored in or retained in the cache memory. The UE, upon recognizing the “911” string for the emergency call, retrieves the location from the UE and appends the call with the location. A location module is used to determine the location of UE. A movement module determines UE movement, including direction, speed, acceleration, and the like. The location of the UE can be amended based on the movement of the UE – ABSTRACT, Figs. 1 – 3, paragraphs 0008 – 0010. To ensure the emergency service can properly locate a user requesting or requiring the emergency service, a location, including a current location or current location based on last known location, of the UE can be provided to the emergency service – paragraph 0009. The UE location can be transmitted with the instruction or request to initiate the communication session or in response to a data pass. The voice signal can be transmitted on an established user plane separate from the instruction or request pathway – paragraph 0037), the system comprising:
a wireless network (UE 102 communicates with telecommunication network 100 – Fig. 1, paragraphs 0011, 0033);
a computing device (UE 102 – Fig. 1, paragraphs 0011, 0033) communicatively connected to the wireless network (UE 102 is communication with telecommunication network 100 – Fig. 1, paragraphs 0011, 0033), wherein the computing device comprises at least one processor (the user equipment or server may include one or more of a central processing unit CPU, micro processing unit MPU, or other circuitry, such as a processor, and may include a network of separate user equipment or servers or separate computer processors – Fig. 2, paragraph 0047) configured to:
generate device data (the UE 102 includes a location module 220 - e.g., aGPS, Wi-Fi, aGNSS, a hybrid positioning system, the like, or combinations or multiples thereof which is programmed to determine and track the location of the UE 102 at any given time – paragraph 0027. The UE 102 can also include a movement module 210 to determine the rate, direction, or both of the movement of the UE 102. The movement module 210 can include a magnetometer 216, a gyroscope 214, an accelerometer 212, a pedometer 218, the like, or combinations or multiples thereof – paragraph 0029. The accelerometer 212 can also determine the change in location, whether on its own or with another component of the movement module 210, such as the magnetometer. As another example, the pedometer 218 can also determine the change in UE location based on calculated or detected movement – paragraph 0039); and
transmit (to ensure the emergency service can properly locate a user requesting or requiring the emergency service, a location, including a current location or current location based on last known location, of the UE can be provided to the emergency service – paragraphs 0008, 0033, 0038) a call request (an instruction or request is transmitted from the UE 102 via the access network 104 to the SGW 116 then to the PGW 118. The instruction or request is then transmitted from the PGW 118 to the P-CSCF 124 – paragraph 0033) and the device data (the instruction can include the location information – paragraph 0009) to a public safety answering point PSAP (to ensure the emergency service can properly locate a user requesting or requiring the emergency service, a location, including a current location or current location based on last known location, of the UE can be provided to the emergency service – paragraphs 0008, 0033, 0038. A user places the emergency call, which triggers an input prompt for the UE to initiate a protocol that generates an instruction eventually transmitted to a public safety answering point – paragraph 0009) using the wireless network (UE 102 communicates with telecommunication network 100 – Fig. 1, paragraphs 0011, 0033).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 – 9, 12 - 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Lan US PGPub: US 2021/0377715 A1 Dec. 2, 2021 and in view of
Edge US PGPub: US 2025/0260964 A1 Aug. 14, 2025.
Regarding claims 3, 12, Lan discloses all the claimed features,
but does not disclose, the method of claim 2, wherein the device data is session description protocol SDP carried by the SIP invite.
Edge teaches reliable emergency short message service over internet protocol IP multimedia subsystem IMS, for sending an emergency related Short Message Service message SM from a user equipment UE to a Public Safety Answering Point PSAP with higher reliability and security and lower delay. Following detection of a user input emergency SM, a UE establishes a Session Initiation Protocol SIP dialogue with a PSAP, where the SIP dialogue has no active SIP media, which can be compliant with SIP protocol rules. The emergency SM is sent to the PSAP in association with the SIP dialogue, as are any subsequent SMs, and PSAP SM replies are similarly returned to the UE (ABSTRACT, Figs. 1, 3, 4, 7, paragraphs 0004 - 0008).
The UE or the PSAP may optionally add a SIP media session - e.g., for voice, at any time after stage 6 by sending a SIP INVITE to the other party via the IMS and ESInet, where the SIP INVITE includes a Session Description Protocol SDP description for the SIP media session (paragraphs 0069, 0073, 0126).
Sending a location of the UE to the PSAP in the SIP INVITE or in a SIP UPDATE (paragraph 0126).
The one or more contents of the SIP INVITE message may comprise an emergency number or SOS Uniform Resource Name URN, a SIP header indicating a SIP dialogue to enable transfer of SMS messages, an indication that the UE is able to receive and send SMS messages, an SMS message, an indication that an active SIP media session will not be established, or any combination thereof (paragraph 0132).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the conveying user equipment location with an emergency call of Lan (Lan, ABSTRACT, Figs. 1 – 3, paragraphs 0008 – 0010, 0032) wherein the system of Lan, would have incorporated, sending an emergency related Short Message Service message SM from a user equipment UE to a Public Safety Answering Point PSAP with higher reliability and security and lower delay of Edge (EDGE, ABSTRACT, Figs. 1, 3, 4, 7, paragraphs, 0069, 0126, 0132) for SM transfer reliability and PSAP response reliability may not be high, SM transfer delay may be high and devices that are roaming or in limited service state may not be supported (Edge, paragraph 0003).
Regarding claims 4, 13, Lan discloses all the claimed features,
but does not disclose, the method of claim 3, wherein the SIP invite is an SOS invite.
Edge teaches reliable emergency short message service over internet protocol IP multimedia subsystem IMS, for sending an emergency related Short Message Service message SM from a user equipment UE to a Public Safety Answering Point PSAP with higher reliability and security and lower delay. Following detection of a user input emergency SM, a UE establishes a Session Initiation Protocol SIP dialogue with a PSAP, where the SIP dialogue has no active SIP media, which can be compliant with SIP protocol rules. The emergency SM is sent to the PSAP in association with the SIP dialogue, as are any subsequent SMs, and PSAP SM replies are similarly returned to the UE (ABSTRACT, Figs. 1, 3, 4, 7, paragraphs 0004 - 0008).
The UE or the PSAP may optionally add a SIP media session - e.g., for voice, at any time after stage 6 by sending a SIP INVITE to the other party via the IMS and ESInet, where the SIP INVITE includes a Session Description Protocol SDP description for the SIP media session (paragraphs 0069, 0073, 0126).
Sending a location of the UE to the PSAP in the SIP INVITE or in a SIP UPDATE (paragraph 0126).
The one or more contents of the SIP INVITE message may comprise an emergency number or SOS Uniform Resource Name URN, a SIP header indicating a SIP dialogue to enable transfer of SMS messages, an indication that the UE is able to receive and send SMS messages, an SMS message, an indication that an active SIP media session will not be established, or any combination thereof (paragraph 0132).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the conveying user equipment location with an emergency call of Lan (Lan, ABSTRACT, Figs. 1 – 3, paragraphs 0008 – 0010, 0032) wherein the system of Lan, would have incorporated, sending an emergency related Short Message Service message SM from a user equipment UE to a Public Safety Answering Point PSAP with higher reliability and security and lower delay of Edge (EDGE, ABSTRACT, Figs. 1, 3, 4, 7, paragraphs, 0069, 0126, 0132) for SM transfer reliability and PSAP response reliability may not be high, SM transfer delay may be high and devices that are roaming or in limited service state may not be supported (Edge, paragraph 0003).
Regarding claims 5, 14, Lan discloses,
the method of claim 3, wherein the device data comprises sensor (the UE 102 includes a location module 220 - e.g., aGPS, Wi-Fi, aGNSS, a hybrid positioning system, the like, or combinations or multiples thereof which is programmed to determine and track the location of the UE 102 at any given time – paragraph 0027. The UE 102 can also include a movement module 210 to determine the rate, direction, or both of the movement of the UE 102. The movement module 210 can include a magnetometer 216, a gyroscope 214, an accelerometer 212, a pedometer 218, the like, or combinations or multiples thereof – paragraph 0029. The accelerometer 212 can also determine the change in location, whether on its own or with another component of the movement module 210, such as the magnetometer. As another example, the pedometer 218 can also determine the change in UE location based on calculated or detected movement – paragraph 0039)
or media data (the access network 104 transmits data, including data packets, between user equipment UE 102 and a public switched telephone network PSTN 140, such as through a data core 110 and IP multimedia subsystem IMS core 120 – Fig. 1, paragraph 0011)
Regarding claims 6, 15, 20, Lan discloses,
the method of claim 3, further comprising generating a second set of device data subsequent to the transmission of the call request and the device data to the PSAP (determining rate of location change and amending the locating can be repeated any number of times with the amended location being stored in the memory 240 – paragraph 0043), the second set of device data including an update of at least some of the device data (the emergency call can be appended with the most recent UE location, even if the UE 102 is still moving - i.e., when the emergency call occurs between amends. The current location of the UE 102 can be transmitted to the PSAP 142, such as upon amending the location of the UE 102 – Fig. 3, paragraph 0044. The location of the UE 102 - i.e., current location is transmitted to the PSAP 142 – Fig. 3/308, paragraph 0033).
Regarding claims 7, 16, Lan discloses,
the method of claim 6, further comprising transmitting the second set of device data to the PSAP using the wireless network (UE 102 communicates with telecommunication network 100 – Fig. 1, paragraphs 0011, 0033).
Regarding claims 8, 17, Lan discloses all the claimed features,
but, does not disclose, the method of claim 6, wherein the second set of data is a session description protocol SDP payload carried by a session initiation protocol SIP UPDATE.
Edge teaches reliable emergency short message service over internet protocol IP multimedia subsystem IMS, for sending an emergency related Short Message Service message SM from a user equipment UE to a Public Safety Answering Point PSAP with higher reliability and security and lower delay. Following detection of a user input emergency SM, a UE establishes a Session Initiation Protocol SIP dialogue with a PSAP, where the SIP dialogue has no active SIP media, which can be compliant with SIP protocol rules. The emergency SM is sent to the PSAP in association with the SIP dialogue, as are any subsequent SMs, and PSAP SM replies are similarly returned to the UE (ABSTRACT, Figs. 1, 3, 4, 7, paragraphs 0004 - 0008).
The UE or the PSAP may optionally add a SIP media session - e.g., for voice, at any time after stage 6 by sending a SIP INVITE to the other party via the IMS and ESInet, where the SIP INVITE includes a Session Description Protocol SDP description for the SIP media session (paragraphs 0069, 0073, 0126).
Sending a location of the UE to the PSAP in the SIP INVITE or in a SIP UPDATE (paragraph 0126).
The one or more contents of the SIP INVITE message may comprise an emergency number or SOS Uniform Resource Name URN, a SIP header indicating a SIP dialogue to enable transfer of SMS messages, an indication that the UE is able to receive and send SMS messages, an SMS message, an indication that an active SIP media session will not be established, or any combination thereof (paragraph 0132).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the conveying user equipment location with an emergency call of Lan (Lan, ABSTRACT, Figs. 1 – 3, paragraphs 0008 – 0010, 0032) wherein the system of Lan, would have incorporated, sending an emergency related Short Message Service message SM from a user equipment UE to a Public Safety Answering Point PSAP with higher reliability and security and lower delay of Edge (EDGE, ABSTRACT, Figs. 1, 3, 4, 7, paragraphs, 0069, 0126, 0132) for SM transfer reliability and PSAP response reliability may not be high, SM transfer delay may be high and devices that are roaming or in limited service state may not be supported (Edge, paragraph 0003).
Regarding claims 9, 18, Lan discloses,
the method of claim 6, further comprising generating the second set of device data in response to a trigger comprising a change in sensor data (determining rate of location change and amending the locating can be repeated any number of times with the amended location being stored in the memory 240 – paragraph 0043)
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Shrivastava US PGPub: US 2023/0209322 A1 Jun. 29, 2023.
During positioning of a user equipment (UE), for example, during an emergency call, a civic location of the UE may be determined. For example, during a location session in a wireless network, a UE may detect a WiFi access point (AP) and obtain the civic location of the WiFi AP from the AP. The UE may provide the civic location to a location server in the wireless network, which may treat the civic location as the civic location of the UE. The location server may validate the civic location using a geodetic location, e.g., obtained based on measurements from a satellite positioning system and/or base stations in the wireless network. The location server may further verify that the UE is proximate to the WiFi AP using WiFi positioning measurements performed by the UE. The validated civic location can be provided to an external client, e.g. a PSAP.
Choe US PGPub: US 2018/0054721 A1 Feb. 22, 2018.
A device is capable of making calls over the Internet to an IP Multimedia Subsystem (IMS) core to a Public-Safety Answering Point (PSAP). The device computes location information based on its actual or estimated physical location. The location information may be computed prior to making an emergency call, for instance by a location platform or service running on the computing device. When the device makes an emergency call, the device uses its location information to inform the emergency call. Specifically, a SIP message is formatted with the location information. The SIP message might be a SIP invitation formatted with a header indicating that an emergency call is being requested. The device might be capable of making only IP-based calls.
Lan US PGPub: US 2023/0188944 A1 Jun. 15, 2023.
Systems and methods for providing timely location estimates when a user equipment initiates a call to an emergency number. The system enables a user equipment to send the earliest available location that the user equipment can come up with, after detecting an emergency message - e.g., detecting a 911 digit string. The location engine 308 can reside in memory at UE 302 - e.g., as an app or can reside at a remote server that is communicatively coupled to UE 302. The location engine 308 identifies the current location of the UE using one or more location mechanisms, such as a fused location provider API - e.g., Google® Play FLP location app, built-in GPS sensors, and so on.
Ginter US Patent: UE 10,805,462 B1 Oct. 13, 2020.
Techniques for providing SOS call routing for emergency calls.
Felt US 2013/0057696 A1 Mar. 7, 2013.
Personal mobile surveillance systems and methods, where, a mobile user device subsystem 1) acquiring, during operation in a normal surveillance mode, a first set of surveillance data, 2) transmitting, during operation in the normal surveillance mode, the first set of surveillance data to a server subsystem, 3) detecting, during operation in the normal surveillance mode, a trigger event, 4) transitioning, in response to the detecting of the trigger event, from operation in the normal surveillance mode to operation in an enhanced surveillance mode, 5) acquiring, during operation in the enhanced surveillance mode, a second set of surveillance data; and 6) transmitting, during operation in the enhanced surveillance mode, the second set of surveillance data to the server subsystem, wherein the second set of surveillance data comprises an enhanced set of data compared to the first set of surveillance data.
Yau US PGPub: US 2026/0156442 A1 Jun. 4, 2026.
Methods for sending situational information to a PSAP, where transmitting a call from a wireless device to a public safety access point (PSAP), receiving from the PSAP a request for situational information from the wireless device, generating situational information by the wireless device in response to the request from the PSAP, and transmitting using session initiation protocol (SIP), by the wireless device, the situational information to the PSAP using a wireless network.
Contact Information
/NIMESH PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642