DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oguzhan et al. (WO2014189477) in view of Koo et al. (KR20240005504) and Minoda et al. (U.S. PGPub 2014/0083575).
Claim 5: Oguzhan discloses a processing method of a trunk lid hinge arm (1 – page 4, lines 17-18), the method comprising: preparing aluminum extruded material (page 4, lines 21-22). Oguzhan alludes to providing the shape to the hinge arm following extrusion (page 4, lines 28-30), but is silent to the exact method and thus does not disclose inserting a processing apparatus as claimed into an internal space of the extruded material; rotating the extruded material; and extracting the processing apparatus.
However, Koo et al. teaches that trunk lid hinge arms are made by a process involving inserting a processing apparatus (mandrel including core 10 and body 20) into an internal space of the material (tube 50); rotating (bending) the material to form a bending part of the trunk lid hinge arm while the processing apparatus is inserted in the internal space (Figs. 4a-4b; paragraphs 2, 31-37); and extracting the processing apparatus (implied, as the mandrel would not form part of the final product) wherein the processing apparatus comprises: a mandrel body (20) extending in a longitudinal direction of the trunk lid (the body extends in a direction and would be capable of extending in a longitudinal direction of the trunk lid), and configured to be insertable into an internal space of [the] extruded material (as cited above); and a mandrel core (10) fastened to a front end of the mandrel body; wherein the mandrel core comprises: a molded surface (e.g. 15 or 16) corresponding to a front surface of the mandrel core; a side surface (sides as shown in Fig. 1) extending in a longitudinal direction of the mandrel core; and an edge surface between the molded surface and the side surface (evident in the figures). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the method of Koo et al. in producing the trunk lid hinge arm of Oguzhan since it is configured to completely support the internal space of an asymmetrical pipe so that the bent portion or adjacent portion can be bent in a gentle curve without deformation (paragraph 1).
A radius of curvature of the molded surface is substantially greater than a radius of curvature of the edge surface (paragraphs 21-22, where the radius of the surfaces 15 and 16 appear to be larger than that of the edges) such that the ratio between them is clearly substantially greater than 1, though the actual value of the ratio is not clear from the disclosure. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed a radius of curvature of the molded surface to a radius of curvature of the edge surface to be 27.5 to 65 since it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). Please note that in the instant application, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the ratio.
Oguzhan and Koo are silent regarding the bending part of the trunk lid hinge arm having grains with an average size of 80 μm to 100 μm. However, Minoda et al. teaches that in bending an aluminum alloy material, the average crystal grain size is most preferably 100 μm or less to avoid orange peel (paragraph 26). It thus would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have controlled grain size as taught by Minoda et al. since one of ordinary skill would have reasonably expected to avoid orange peel by doing so. To the extent that the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art", a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP 2144.05.
Claim 10: Referring to Oguzhan, the aluminum extruded material comprises an Al-Mg-Si alloy (page 3, lines 1-3).
Claim 11: While Oguzhan discloses an Al-Mg-Si alloy as cited above, Oguzhan and Koo do not disclose or teach the specific alloy claimed. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the claimed alloy since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material (e.g. known alloys such as A6063 or A6N01) on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). Please note that in the instant application, paragraph 67, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the use of the specific alloy.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oguzhan and Koo as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Freiberg et al. (U.S. PGPub 2022/0371071).
Oguzhan and Koo teach a method substantially as claimed except for after extracting the processing apparatus, heat treating the aluminum extruded material. However, Freiberg et al. teaches heat treating an aluminum tube following a bending process (e.g. paragraphs 53-54). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have heat treated the extruded material to provide recovery of work hardening during bending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/2/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the claimed ratio, while Applicant appears to have support for these values as derived from various combinations of disclosed radii, the disclosure makes no mention of ratio specifically and thus provides no particular reason why the selected range of ratio is important.
Applicant also argues the following:
With respect to the grain size limitation (average grain size of 80 pm to 100 pm in the bending part), Applicants acknowledge the Examiner's citation of Minoda for the general proposition that controlling average grain size to 100 pm or less is preferred to avoid orange peel during bending of an aluminum alloy. However, Applicants respectfully submit that this limitation should not be considered in isolation, but rather in combination with the newly added ratio limitation discussed above. The specification demonstrates, through a comparison of Example 1 (using an A6063 ingot and a mandrel core having a molded-surface curvature of 60.SR) and Example 2 (using an A6N01 ingot and the same mandrel core geometry), that even though both examples fall within the broad compositional range recited in claim 11, only Example 1 (bending- part grain size of 91 pm, within the claimed range) exhibited no wrinkling or orange peel, whereas Example 2 (bending-part grain size of 320 pm) exhibited clear orange peel - notwithstanding that Example 2 exhibited higher yield strength and tensile strength than Example 1. This data supports that the claimed grain size range is achieved through, and is functionally tied to, the specific mandrel core geometry now recited in claim 5, rather than through composition selection alone, and that the resulting surface-quality benefit was not predictable from Minoda's general teaching alone.
As disclosed in the instant application, the grain size is present in the base aluminum material (e.g. paragraphs 21, 81). The claimed range is disclosed to prevent orange peel from occurring during bending. This suggests the grain size would be present prior to bending, as orange peel is a potential side effect from bending. For example paragraph 101 recites “[i]n other words, in the case of materials with a large grain size, the orange peel phenomenon appears during the bending molding”. For this reason, the examiner disagrees that there is a link between the claimed mold geometry and the claimed grain size. Even so, Minoda still provides motivation to seek the claimed grain size for the reason for preventing bending, regardless of if Applicant has other reasons. The fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/Matthew P Travers/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726