DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12141927 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they can read on to each other, see the following mapping table.
Current Application
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
Patent application
1
2
3
4
5
6
9
8
9
Current Application
10
11
12
13
14
Patent application
10
11
12
13
14
Current Application
15
16
17
18
19
20
Patent application
15
16
17
18
19
20
Also, shown below is a mapping between the limitations of independent claims of current application U.S. Patent Application 18921586 and independent claims of U.S. Patent Application 12141927 B2.
Claims
Current Application
Claims
Patent Application
1
1.A computerized system comprising: one or more computer processors; and computer memory storing computer-useable instructions that, when used by the one or more computer processors, cause the one or more computer processors to perform operations, the operations comprising:
1.
A system for rendering augmented reality display data based on physical presentation environments, the system comprising: a presentation environment configuration component configured to:
accessing a physical presentation environment configuration; determining features of presentation attributes of augmented reality data for the physical presentation environment, wherein determining the features is based on at least one of: a retrieved data property identifying the features; and a retrieved layout property of the features;
access a physical presentation environment configuration, wherein the physical presentation environment configuration comprises locations of a physical presentation environment for mapping augmented reality display data to the physical presentation environment; an augmented reality display data attribute component configured to: determine presentation attributes of the augmented reality display data, wherein the presentation attributes comprise features of the augmented reality display data, and wherein the augmented reality display data comprises a plurality of augmented reality objects to be rendered for display,
determine the features of the presentation attributes based on at least one of: a retrieved data property identifying the features; and a retrieved layout property of the features;
generating a presentation configuration for the augmented reality display data based on the physical presentation environment configuration and the features of the presentation attributes, wherein the presentation configuration comprises a mapping of the augmented reality display data to the physical presentation environment; and rendering the augmented reality display data based on the presentation configuration.
a data mapping component configured to: generate a presentation configuration for the augmented reality display data based on the physical presentation environment configuration and the presentation attributes, wherein the presentation configuration comprises a mapping of the augmented reality display data to the physical presentation environment; and a data rendering component configured to: render the augmented reality display data based on the presentation configuration.
10
A computer-implemented method, the method comprising: accessing a physical presentation environment configuration; determining features of presentation attributes of the augmented reality display data; generating a presentation configuration for the augmented reality display data based on the physical presentation environment configuration and the features of the presentation attributes, wherein generating the presentation configuration is based on at least one of: a previously generated presentation configuration for the physical presentation environment; and
10
A computer-implemented method for rendering augmented reality display data based on physical presentation environments, the method comprising: accessing a physical presentation environment configuration, wherein the physical presentation environment configuration comprises locations of a physical presentation environment for mapping augmented reality display data to the physical presentation environment; determining presentation attributes of the augmented reality display data, wherein the presentation attributes comprise features of the augmented reality display data, and wherein the augmented reality display data comprises a plurality of augmented reality objects to be rendered for display; generating a presentation configuration for the augmented reality display data based on the physical presentation environment configuration and the presentation attributes,
wherein generating the presentation configuration is based on at least one of: a previously generated presentation configuration for the physical presentation environment; and
a previously generated presentation configuration for a different physical presentation environment, wherein the presentation configuration comprises a mapping of the augmented reality display data to the physical presentation environment; and rendering the augmented reality display data based on the presentation configuration.
a previously generated presentation configuration for a different physical presentation environment, wherein the presentation configuration comprises a mapping of the augmented reality display data to the physical presentation environment; and rendering the augmented reality display data based on the presentation configuration.
15
One or more computer storage media having computer-executable instructions embodied thereon that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform a method, the method comprising: accessing a first presentation configuration corresponding to a first physical presentation environment configuration; accessing a second physical presentation environment configuration; determining features of presentation attributes of augmented reality display data of the first physical presentation environment configuration, wherein determining the features is based on at least one of: a retrieved data property identifying the features; and a retrieved layout property of the features;
15
One or more computer storage media having computer-executable instructions embodied thereon that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform a method for rendering augmented reality display data based on physical presentation environments, the method comprising: accessing a first presentation configuration corresponding to a first physical presentation environment configuration, wherein a physical presentation environment configuration comprises locations of a physical presentation environment for mapping augmented reality display data to a physical presentation environment; accessing a second physical presentation environment configuration, wherein the second physical presentation environment configuration comprises locations of a second physical presentation environment; determining presentation attributes of the augmented reality display data, wherein the presentation attributes comprise features of the augmented reality display data, and wherein the augmented reality display data comprises a plurality of augmented reality objects to be rendered for display;
determining the features of the presentation attributes based on at least one of: a retrieved data property identifying the features; and a retrieved layout property of the features;
generating a second presentation configuration for the augmented reality display data based on the second physical presentation environment configuration and the features of the presentation attributes, wherein the second presentation configuration comprises a mapping of the augmented reality display data to the second physical presentation environment based at least in part on the first presentation configuration; and rendering the augmented reality display data based on the second presentation configuration.
generating a second presentation configuration for the augmented reality display data based on the second physical presentation environment configuration and the presentation attributes, wherein the second presentation configuration comprises a mapping of the augmented reality display data to the second physical presentation environment based at least in part on the first presentation configuration; and rendering the augmented reality display data based on the second presentation configuration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, 8, 10, 11, 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mount et al. (Publication: US 2013/0141419 A1) in view of Citi (NPL: Citi HoloLens Holographic Workstation; Youtube; 06/14/2016 ; https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0NogltmewmQ), Redenbach (Publication: US 2017/0131874 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Mount discloses computerized system comprising: one or more computer processors; and computer memory storing computer-useable instructions that, when used by the one or more computer processors, cause the one or more computer processors to perform operations, the operations comprising ( [0078] to [0080] - Fig. 5 - HMD, the device includes memory stores software, processed by the processor to perform:):
accessing a physical presentation environment configuration ([0057] - mapping the shared virtual reality environment may include transforming the coordinate system of the second physical space from the perspective of the second see-through display to the coordinate system of the first physical space from the perspective of the first see-through device . In other words, the coordinate systems of the perspectives of the first and second see-through displays may be aligned to share the shared coordinate system “physical presentation environment configuration”.);
generating a presentation configuration for the augmented reality display data based on the physical presentation environment configuration and the features of the presentation attributes ([0057] - mapping the shared virtual reality environment may include transforming the coordinate system of the second physical space from the perspective of the second see-through display to the coordinate system of the first physical space from the perspective of the first see-through device . In other words, the coordinate systems of the perspectives of the first and second see-through displays may be aligned to share the shared coordinate system “physical presentation environment configuration”.
[0060] - When the shared virtual reality environment is leveraged from observing incongruent first and second physical spaces, the shared virtual reality environment may include a mapped second real world object that is physically present in the second physical space but not physically present in the first physical space. Therefore, the second real world object may be represented in the shared virtual reality environment such that the second real world object is visible through the second see-through display, and the second real world object is displayed as a virtual object through the first see-through display, “presentation attributes” .
Abs- A head-mounted display device is configured to visually augment an observed physical space to a user.),
wherein the presentation configuration comprises a mapping of the augmented reality display data to the physical presentation environment ([0057] - mapping the shared virtual reality environment may include transforming the coordinate system of the second physical space from the perspective of the second see-through display to the coordinate system of the first physical space from the perspective of the first see-through device . In other words, the coordinate systems of the perspectives of the first and second see-through displays may be aligned to share the shared coordinate system. Under the shared virtual reality environment, there is a first presentation of a see-through display and second presentation of another see-through display.).
Mount does not disclose however Citi discloses
determining features of presentation attributes of augmented reality data for the physical presentation environment (time 2:15 to 3:15 - For displaying crude data purpose, HoloLens determines the attributes (month, year) of crude data for displaying on top half of the workstation, the attributes of crude data comprises month and year “features”, and the crude data “augmented reality display data” comprises GUIs “augmented reality objects” that represent years for display.
time 2:30 to 3:00 - current market volume of March 2016 “augmented reality display data” is displayed on the bottom half of the workstation based on presentation of crude data for current market volume of March 2016 “the physical presentation configuration”);
and rendering the augmented reality display data based on the presentation configuration (time 2:30 to 3:00 - current market volume of March 2016 “augmented reality display data” is displayed on the bottom half of the workstation based on presentation of crude data for current market volume of March 2016 “the physical presentation configuration”).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mount with accessing a physical presentation environment configuration; determining features of presentation attributes of augmented reality data for the physical presentation environment; and rendering the augmented reality display data based on the presentation configuration as taught by Citi. The motivation for doing is to enhance user’s augmented reality experience and further help user’s understanding the benefits of using HoloLens.
Mount in view of Citi do not disclose; however Redenbach discloses
determining, wherein determining the features is based on at least one of: a retrieved data property identifying the features; and a retrieved layout property of the features
(
[0051], [0053], [0054] – FIG. 4 shows an illustrative example of a user's ability to position or “pin” an information display in a certain orientation and in a certain place, i.e., setting its location at a particular position within the AR/VR environment. the user has created two two-dimensional information displays 109 and 110 and positioned them flush with the walls, as a painting or flatscreen television set might be hung on the walls, in a three-dimensional AR/VR environment. The proposed method and system will allow the user in design view to set an absolute orientation and position for the information display. The user has decided to move the information display 109 closer to the user's position at a certain location in the AR/VR environment, and fix the display, fully visible display in a new orientation and position 111 regardless of any change in the orientation or position of other physical objects, such as the chair 112, within the room. The proposed method and system will also allow the user in design view to set a relative orientation and position for the information display. The user may wish to orient an information display horizontally and position it at an apparent distance of 0.5 meters above a specific object in the room, such as a table, and fix the display so that it appears and persists in that same orientation and position relative to the table. As the end user approaches the display within the AR/VR environment, the responsive information display can be seen dynamically reconfiguring its contents in accordance with the design previously made and set by the user who designed the display. The information display responds to inputs and transition between different features, contents, and/or layouts. Thus “determining, wherein determining the features is based” can be read on.
[0008] The system and methods allow the user to create a multitude of different tile arrangements and configurations with the software design tool, and to position them so that they are responsive based on the apparent proximity of the viewer to the information display within the AR/VR environment.
).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mount in view of Chi with determining, wherein determining the features is based on at least one of: a retrieved data property identifying the features; and a retrieved layout property of the features as taught by Redenbach. The motivation for doing is to enable users to create and modify an information display for an AR/VR environment and permit the user to easily change the content .
Regarding claim 4, Mount in view of Citi, Redenbach disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Citi discloses wherein the presentation configuration is generated based on a previously generated presentation configuration for a different physical presentation environment (time 2:30 to 3:00 - software “component” is operated by HoloLens. presentation of crude data for current market volume of March 2016 “presentation configuration “ for bottom half workstation “physical presentation environment “ is presented based on presentation of crude data “previously presentation configuration” (e.g. including market volume of March 2016 ) for top half workstation “physical presentation environment “ thus “different physical presentation environment” reads on because bottom half workstation is physically different from first half workstation.
Presentation of crude data for current market volume of March 2016 “presentation configuration “ is mapped from presentation of crude data “previous presentation configuration” (e.g. including market volume of March 2016 ).),
the previously generated presentation configuration is generated based on the different physical presentation environment configuration and the features of the presentation attributes of the augmented reality display data (time 2:00 to 2:30 – presentation of crude data “previous presentation configuration” (e.g. including years 2016, 2017, 2018, unfiltered) is generated based on top half of the workstation which is physically different from bottom half of the work station and the March 2016 (month, year) of filtered crude data.).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mount in view of Citi, Redenbach with wherein the presentation configuration is generated based on a previously generated presentation configuration for a different physical presentation environment in order to maintain at least one mapping characteristic of the previously generated presentation configuration, the previously generated presentation configuration is generated based on the different physical presentation environment configuration and the features of the presentation attributes of the augmented reality display data as taught by Citi. The motivation for doing is to enhance user’s augmented reality experience and further help user’s understanding the benefits of using HoloLens.
Regarding claim 5, Mount in view of Citi, Redenbach disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Redenbach discloses generating the presentation configuration based one of: a previously generated presentation configuration for the physical presentation environment; and a previously generated presentation configuration for a different physical presentation environment.
([0051], [0053], [0054] – FIG. 4 shows an illustrative example of a user's ability to position or “pin” an information display in a certain orientation and in a certain place, i.e., setting its location at a particular position within the AR/VR environment. the user has created two two-dimensional information displays 109 and 110 and positioned them flush with the walls, as a painting or flatscreen television set might be hung on the walls, in a three-dimensional AR/VR environment. The proposed method and system will allow the user in design view to set an absolute orientation and position for the information display. The user has decided to move the information display 109 closer to the user's position at a certain location in the AR/VR environment, and fix the display, fully visible display in a new orientation and position 111 regardless of any change in the orientation or position of other physical objects, such as the chair 112, within the room. The proposed method and system will also allow the user in design view to set a relative orientation and position for the information display. The user may wish to orient an information display horizontally and position it at an apparent distance of 0.5 meters above a specific object in the room, such as a table, and fix the display so that it appears and persists in that same orientation and position relative to the table. As the end user approaches the display within the AR/VR environment, the responsive information display can be seen dynamically reconfiguring its contents in accordance with the design previously made and set by the user who designed the display. The information display responds to inputs and transition between different features, contents, and/or layouts. Thus “previously generated presentation configuration” can be read on.
[0008] The system and methods allow the user to create a multitude of different tile arrangements and configurations with the software design tool, and to position them so that they are responsive based on the apparent proximity of the viewer to the information display within the AR/VR environment.
).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mount in view of Chi with generating the presentation configuration based one of: a previously generated presentation configuration for the physical presentation environment; and a previously generated presentation configuration for a different physical presentation environment as taught by Redenbach. The motivation for doing is to enable users to create and modify an information display for an AR/VR environment and permit the user to easily change the content .
Regarding claim 8, Mount in view of Citi, Redenbach disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Citi discloses wherein rendering the augmented reality display data based on the presentation configuration comprises rendering each of the plurality of augmented reality objects to a respective one of the locations of the physical presentation environment (HoloLens is a platform comprising HoloLens as a head mounted device and performs 3D holograms of real-time financial data in the physical workstation; time 2:30 to 3:00 - software “component” is operated by HoloLens. the chart shows crude data for current market volume of March 2016 “augmented reality display data” to the bottom half of the workstation “physical presentation environment” comprises displaying the charts representing the selected month, March 2016, to the bottom half of the desktop “one of the locations of the physical presentation environment”.).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mount in view of Citi, Redenbach with wherein rendering the augmented reality display data based on the presentation configuration comprises rendering each of the plurality of augmented reality objects to a respective one of the locations of the physical presentation environment as taught by Citi. The motivation for doing is to enhance user’s augmented reality experience and further help user’s understanding the benefits of using HoloLens.
Regarding claim 10, Mount discloses a computer-implemented method, the method comprising ([0078] to [0080] - Fig. 5 - HMD, the device includes memory stores software, processed by the processor to perform method:):
accessing a physical presentation environment configuration ([0057] - mapping the shared virtual reality environment may include transforming the coordinate system of the second physical space from the perspective of the second see-through display to the coordinate system of the first physical space from the perspective of the first see-through device . In other words, the coordinate systems of the perspectives of the first and second see-through displays may be aligned to share the shared coordinate system “physical presentation environment configuration”.);
generating a presentation configuration for the augmented reality display data based on the physical presentation environment configuration and the features of the presentation attributes ([0057] - mapping the shared virtual reality environment may include transforming the coordinate system of the second physical space from the perspective of the second see-through display to the coordinate system of the first physical space from the perspective of the first see-through device . In other words, the coordinate systems of the perspectives of the first and second see-through displays may be aligned to share the shared coordinate system “physical presentation environment configuration”.
[0060] - When the shared virtual reality environment is leveraged from observing incongruent first and second physical spaces, the shared virtual reality environment may include a mapped second real world object that is physically present in the second physical space but not physically present in the first physical space. Therefore, the second real world object may be represented in the shared virtual reality environment such that the second real world object is visible through the second see-through display, and the second real world object is displayed as a virtual object through the first see-through display, “presentation attributes” .
Abs- A head-mounted display device is configured to visually augment an observed physical space to a user.),
wherein the presentation configuration comprises a mapping of the augmented reality display data to the physical presentation environment ([0057] - mapping the shared virtual reality environment may include transforming the coordinate system of the second physical space from the perspective of the second see-through display to the coordinate system of the first physical space from the perspective of the first see-through device . In other words, the coordinate systems of the perspectives of the first and second see-through displays may be aligned to share the shared coordinate system. Under the shared virtual reality environment, there is a first presentation of a see-through display and second presentation of another see-through display.).
Mount does not disclose however Citi discloses
determining features of presentation attributes of the augmented reality display data (time 2:15 to 3:15 - For displaying crude data purpose, HoloLens determines the attributes (month, year) of crude data for displaying on top half of the workstation, the attributes of crude data comprises month and year “features”, and the crude data “augmented reality display data” comprises GUIs “augmented reality objects” that represent years for display.);
and rendering the augmented reality display data based on the presentation configuration (time 2:30 to 3:00 - current market volume of March 2016 “augmented reality display data” is displayed on the bottom half of the workstation based on presentation of crude data for current market volume of March 2016 “the physical presentation configuration”).
Mount in view of Citi do not disclose; however Redenbach discloses
generating a presentation configuration, wherein generating the presentation configuration is based on at least one of: a previously generated presentation configuration for the physical presentation environment; a previously generated presentation configuration for a different physical presentation environment
([0051], [0053], [0054] – FIG. 4 shows an illustrative example of a user's ability to position or “pin” an information display in a certain orientation and in a certain place, i.e., setting its location at a particular position within the AR/VR environment. the user has created two two-dimensional information displays 109 and 110 and positioned them flush with the walls, as a painting or flatscreen television set might be hung on the walls, in a three-dimensional AR/VR environment. The proposed method and system will allow the user in design view to set an absolute orientation and position for the information display. The user has decided to move the information display 109 closer to the user's position at a certain location in the AR/VR environment, and fix the display, fully visible display in a new orientation and position 111 regardless of any change in the orientation or position of other physical objects, such as the chair 112, within the room. The proposed method and system will also allow the user in design view to set a relative orientation and position for the information display. The user may wish to orient an information display horizontally and position it at an apparent distance of 0.5 meters above a specific object in the room, such as a table, and fix the display so that it appears and persists in that same orientation and position relative to the table. As the end user approaches the display within the AR/VR environment, the responsive information display can be seen dynamically reconfiguring its contents in accordance with the design previously made and set by the user who designed the display. The information display responds to inputs and transition between different features, contents, and/or layouts. Thus “previously generated presentation configuration” can be read on.
[0008] The system and methods allow the user to create a multitude of different tile arrangements and configurations with the software design tool, and to position them so that they are responsive based on the apparent proximity of the viewer to the information display within the AR/VR environment.
).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mount in view of Chi with generating a presentation configuration, wherein generating the presentation configuration is based on at least one of: a previously generated presentation configuration for the physical presentation environment; a previously generated presentation configuration for a different physical presentation environment as taught by Redenbach. The motivation for doing is to enable users to create and modify an information display for an AR/VR environment and permit the user to easily change the content .
Regarding claim 11, Mount in view of Citi, Redenbach disclose all the limitations of claim 10.
Citi discloses wherein the presentation configuration is generated based on a previously generated presentation configuration for a different physical presentation environment in order to maintain at least one mapping characteristic of the previously generated presentation configuration (time 2:30 to 3:00 - software “component” is operated by HoloLens. presentation of crude data for current market volume of March 2016 “presentation configuration “ for bottom half workstation “physical presentation environment “ is presented based on presentation of crude data “previously presentation configuration” (e.g. including market volume of March 2016 ) for top half workstation “physical presentation environment “ thus “different physical presentation environment” reads on because bottom half workstation is physically different from first half workstation.
Presentation of crude data for current market volume of March 2016 “presentation configuration “ is mapped from presentation of crude data “previous presentation configuration” (e.g. including market volume of March 2016 ) and the “mapping characteristics” is month (e.g. March of 2016) thus “mapping characteristic of the previously generated presentation configuration“ can be read on .), and
wherein the previously generated presentation configuration is generated based on the different physical presentation environment configuration and the presentation attributes of the augmented reality display data (time 2:00 to 2:30 – presentation of crude data “previous presentation configuration” (e.g. including years 2016, 2017, 2018, unfiltered) is generated based on top half of the workstation which is physically different from bottom half of the work station and the March 2016 (month, year) of filtered crude data.).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mount in view of Citi, Redenbach with wherein the presentation configuration is generated based on a previously generated presentation configuration for a different physical presentation environment in order to maintain at least one mapping characteristic of the previously generated presentation configuration, and wherein the previously generated presentation configuration is generated based on the different physical presentation environment configuration and the presentation attributes of the augmented reality display data as taught by Citi. The motivation for doing is to enhance user’s augmented reality experience and further help user’s understanding the benefits of using HoloLens.
Regarding claim 12, Mount in view of Citi, Redenbach disclose all the limitations of claim 10.
Citi discloses wherein the presentation configuration is generated based on a previously generated presentation configuration for the physical presentation environment, wherein the presentation configuration at least one of (HoloLens is a platform comprising HoloLens as a head mounted device and performs 3D holograms of real-time financial data in the physical workstation; ;time 2:30 to 3:00 - presentation of crude data for current market volume of March 2016 “presentation configuration “ for bottom half workstation “physical presentation environment “ is generated based on presentation of crude data “previously presentation configuration” (e.g. including market volume of March 2016 ) for top half workstation “physical presentation environment “.
The presentation of crude data for current market volume of March 2016 “presentation configuration “ for bottom half workstation at least one of: ):
maintains a mapping characteristic of the previously generated presentation configuration,
maintains a received mapping preference for the previously generated presentation configuration,
maintains a received mapping limitation for the previously generated presentation configuration, and
modifies a mapping characteristic of the previously generated presentation configuration (time 2:30 to 3:00 - Presentation of crude data for current market volume of March 2016 with filtered March 2016 data “presentation configuration “ is mapped from presentation of crude data “previous presentation configuration” thus “modifies a mapping characteristic” can be read on).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mount in view of Citi, Redenbach with wherein the presentation configuration is generated based on a previously generated presentation configuration for the physical presentation environment, wherein the presentation configuration at least one of: maintains a mapping characteristic of the previously generated presentation configuration, maintains a received mapping preference for the previously generated presentation configuration, maintains a received mapping limitation for the previously generated presentation configuration, and modifies a mapping characteristic of the previously generated presentation configuration as taught by Citi. The motivation for doing is to enhance user’s augmented reality experience and further help user’s understanding the benefits of using HoloLens.
Regarding claim 15, Mount discloses one or more computer storage media having computer-executable instructions embodied thereon that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform a method, the method comprising ( [0078] to [0080] - Fig. 5 - HMD, the device includes memory stores software, processed by the processor to perform: ) :
generating a second presentation configuration for the augmented reality display data based on the second physical presentation environment configuration and the features of the presentation attributes ([0057] - mapping the shared virtual reality environment may include transforming the coordinate system of the second physical space from the perspective of the second see-through display to the coordinate system of the first physical space from the perspective of the first see-through device . In other words, the coordinate systems of the perspectives of the first and second see-through displays may be aligned to share the shared coordinate system “physical presentation environment configuration”.
[0060] - When the shared virtual reality environment is leveraged from observing incongruent first and second physical spaces, the shared virtual reality environment may include a mapped second real world object that is physically present in the second physical space but not physically present in the first physical space. Therefore, the second real world object may be represented in the shared virtual reality environment such that the second real world object is visible through the second see-through display, and the second real world object is displayed as a virtual object through the first see-through display, “presentation attributes” .
Abs- A head-mounted display device is configured to visually augment an observed physical space to a user.),
wherein the second presentation configuration comprises a mapping of the augmented reality display data to the second physical presentation environment based at least in part on the first presentation configuration ([0057] - mapping the shared virtual reality environment may include transforming the coordinate system of the second physical space from the perspective of the second see-through display to the coordinate system of the first physical space from the perspective of the first see-through device . In other words, the coordinate systems of the perspectives of the first and second see-through displays may be aligned to share the shared coordinate system. Under the shared virtual reality environment, there is a first presentation of a see-through display and second presentation of another see-through display.).
Mount does not disclose however Citi discloses
accessing a first presentation configuration corresponding to a first physical presentation environment configuration (HoloLens is a platform comprising HoloLens as a head mounted device and performs 3D holograms of real-time financial data in the physical workstation; ;time 2:00 to 2:30 – operator is able to view presentation of crude data “first presentation configuration” (e.g. including market volume of March 2016 ) that is presented based on the crude data (e.g. including March 2016 ) located on the top half of the workstation “first physical presentation environment configuration”.
the crude data (e.g. including market volume of March 2016 ) located on top half of the workstation comprises the top half of the workstation “physical presentation environment” that maps the crude data (e.g. including market volume of March 2016 ) “augmented reality display data” to the top half of the workstation “physical presentation environment”.
);
accessing a second physical presentation environment configuration (
time 2:30 to 3:00 - software “component” is operated by HoloLens. operator is able to view the crude data for current market volume of March 2016 “second physical presentation environment configuration”, the crude data for current market volume of March 2016 comprises locations of the bottom half of the workstation “second physical presentation environment” as indicated by chart.
);
determining features of presentation attributes of augmented reality display data of the first physical presentation environment configuration (time 2:15 to 3:15 - For displaying crude data purpose, HoloLens determines the attributes (month, year) of crude data for displaying on top half of the workstation, the attributes of crude data comprises month and year “features”, and the crude data “augmented reality display data” comprises GUIs “augmented reality objects” that represent years for display.);
rendering the augmented reality display data based on the second presentation configuration (time 2:30 to 3:00 - current market volume of March 2016 “augmented reality display data” is displayed on the bottom half of the workstation based on presentation of crude data for current market volume of March 2016 “the second presentation configuration”).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mount with accessing a first presentation configuration corresponding to a first physical presentation environment configuration; accessing a second physical presentation environment configuration; determining features of presentation attributes of augmented reality display data of the first physical presentation environment configuration; rendering the augmented reality display data based on the second presentation configuration as taught by Citi. The motivation for doing is to enhance user’s augmented reality experience and further help user’s understanding the benefits of using HoloLens.
Mount in view of Citi do not disclose; however Redenbach discloses
determining , wherein determining the features is based on at least one of: a retrieved data property identifying the features; and a retrieved layout property of the features
(
[0051], [0053], [0054] – FIG. 4 shows an illustrative example of a user's ability to position or “pin” an information display in a certain orientation and in a certain place, i.e., setting its location at a particular position within the AR/VR environment. the user has created two two-dimensional information displays 109 and 110 and positioned them flush with the walls, as a painting or flatscreen television set might be hung on the walls, in a three-dimensional AR/VR environment. The proposed method and system will allow the user in design view to set an absolute orientation and position for the information display. The user has decided to move the information display 109 closer to the user's position at a certain location in the AR/VR environment, and fix the display, fully visible display in a new orientation and position 111 regardless of any change in the orientation or position of other physical objects, such as the chair 112, within the room. The proposed method and system will also allow the user in design view to set a relative orientation and position for the information display. The user may wish to orient an information display horizontally and position it at an apparent distance of 0.5 meters above a specific object in the room, such as a table, and fix the display so that it appears and persists in that same orientation and position relative to the table. As the end user approaches the display within the AR/VR environment, the responsive information display can be seen dynamically reconfiguring its contents in accordance with the design previously made and set by the user who designed the display. The information display responds to inputs and transition between different features, contents, and/or layouts. Thus “determining, wherein determining the features is based” can be read on.
[0008] The system and methods allow the user to create a multitude of different tile arrangements and configurations with the software design tool, and to position them so that they are responsive based on the apparent proximity of the viewer to the information display within the AR/VR environment.
).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mount in view of Chi with determining, wherein determining the features is based on at least one of: a retrieved data property identifying the features; and a retrieved layout property of the features as taught by Redenbach. The motivation for doing is to enable users to create and modify an information display for an AR/VR environment and permit the user to easily change the content .
Claims 2, 3, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ooi et al. (Publication: US 2012/0210255 A1) in view of Citi (NPL: Citi HoloLens Holographic Workstation; Youtube; 6/14/2016 ; https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0NogltmewmQ), Redenbach (Publication: US 2017/0131874 A1), and Microsoft (NPL: Microsoft HoloLens: Spatial Mapping; Youtube; 2/29/2016; https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zff2aQ1RaVo ).
Regarding claim 2, Mount in view of Citi, Redenbach disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Mount in view of Citi, Redenbach do not disclose; however Microsoft discloses
generating a scanned image of the physical presentation environment, and automatically perform a location recognition operation on the scanned image to determine the locations of the physical presentation environment for mapping the augmented reality display data (time 0.05 to 0.40 - spatial mapping data of entire physical environment is generated, and HoloLens, without out human interaction, recognizes the scanned real object of the spatial mapping data of entire physical environment that determines the location of the real object (e.g. sofa ) for mapping with the hologram “augmented reality display data” without human interaction “automatically”.
).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mount in view of Citi, Redenbach with further comprising generating a scanned image of the physical presentation environment, and automatically perform a location recognition operation on the scanned image to determine the locations of the physical presentation environment for mapping the augmented reality display data as taught by Citi. The motivation for doing so the presentation can be presented more accurately.
Regarding claim 3, Mount in view of Citi, Redenbach and Microsoft disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Citi discloses wherein the location recognition operation determines the locations of the physical presentation environment based on one or more location mapping factors , the one or more location mapping factors comprising at least one of (HoloLens is a platform comprising HoloLens as a head mounted device and performs 3D holograms of real-time financial data in the physical workstation; time 2:30 to 3:00 –Operator uses hand to drag the data, in this case, the HoloLens determines the locations of the bottom half of the workstation displaying based on the mapping between physical area located in the bottom half of the workstation and the crude data with graph representing market volume of March 2016 crude trading. The mapping factor includes: ):
a location of one or more planar surfaces in the physical presentation environment for mapping one or more of the plurality of augmented reality objects ( time 2:30 to 3:00 – the physical area “planar surface” located in the bottom half of the workstation for mapping the graph representing market volume of March 2016 crude trading.);
a location of one or more objects in the physical presentation environment for mapping one or more of the plurality of augmented reality objects;
a location of one or more avoidance areas in the physical presentation environment for restricting the mapping of one or more of the plurality of augmented reality objects; and
a location of a user in the physical presentation environment.
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mount in view of Citi, Redenbach with further comprising a physical environment scanning component configured to: generate a scanned image of the physical presentation environment, and automatically perform a location recognition operation on the scanned image to determine the locations of the physical presentation environment for mapping the augmented reality display data as taught by Citi. The motivation for doing so the presentation can be presented more accurately.
Regarding claim 13, Mount in view of Citi, Redenbach disclose all the limitations of claim 10.
Microsoft discloses wherein accessing a physical presentation environment configuration comprises (time 0.15 to 0.45 - HoloLens uses Spatial mapping to scan “accessing” the objects in physical environment.): receiving a scanned image of the physical presentation environment that includes the locations (time 0.05 to 0.40 - HoloLens receives the scanned objects from physical environment that determines locations of the real objects (e.g. sofa ) for mapping with the holograms.); performing a location recognition operation on the scanned image to determine the locations based on one or more location mapping factors, the one or more location mapping factors comprising at least one of (time 0.05 to 0.40 - spatial mapping data of entire physical environment is generated, and HoloLens recognizes the scanned real object of entire physical environment that determines the locations of the real objects (e.g. sofa ) for mapping with the holograms based on the spatial mapping data “location mapping factors”.
):
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mount in view of Citi, Redenbach with wherein accessing a physical presentation environment configuration comprises: receiving a scanned image of the physical presentation environment that includes the locations; performing a location recognition operation on the scanned image to determine the locations based on one or more location mapping factors, the one or more location mapping factors comprising at least one of as taught by Microsoft . The motivation for doing so the presentation can be presented more accurately.
Remaining language, see rejection on claim 3.
Claims 6, 7, 9, 14, 16 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mount et al. (Publication: US 2013/0141419 A1) in view of Citi (NPL: Citi HoloLens Holographic Workstation; Youtube; 6/14/2016 ; https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0NogltmewmQ), Redenbach (Publication: US 2017/0131874 A1), and Acharya (NPL: HoloLens | Holo Lens Studio Demo | Windows 10 | Microsoft HoloLens; Youtube; 1/21/2015; https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qym11JnFQBM)
Regarding claim 6, Mount in view of Citi, Redenbach disclose all the limitations of claim 1 including data mapping component as stated above.
Mount in view of Citi, Redenbach do not disclose; however Acharya discloses
wherein the component is further configured to generate a modified presentation configuration for the augmented reality display data based on a received input indicating at least one of (time 0:05 to 0:45 – Holo Lens Studio generated different size of TV screen that maps the physical wall with the size of the TV screen thus “modified presentation configuration” can be read on.
“for the augmented reality display data based on a received input“ reads on because the size of the TV screen “augmented reality display data” is modified based on user’s hand interaction with the arrow dynamically.):
a mapping preference for the augmented reality display data (time 0:05 to 0:45 –The size of the TV screen maps to the physical wall and is modified to a desired size “mapping preference” to the size of TV screen .); and
a mapping limitation for the augmented reality display data.
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mount in view of Citi, Redenbach with wherein the component is further configured to generate a modified presentation configuration for the augmented reality display data based on a received input indicating at least one of: a mapping preference for the augmented reality display data; and a mapping limitation for the augmented reality display data as taught by Acharya. The motivation for doing so the presentation can be presented more accurately.
Regarding claim 7, Mount in view of Citi, Redenbach disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Mount in view of Citi, Redenbach do not disclose; however Acharya discloses
further comprising a virtual control screen generation component configured to generate a virtual control screen for mapping to the physical presentation environment with the augmented reality display data (time 0:05 to 0:45 – The window with arrow “virtual control screen” for adjusting the TV size can be adjusted to generated different size of TV screen that maps the physical wall “physical presentation environment “ with the size of the TV screen “augmented reality display data”.
),
wherein the virtual control screen is configured to modify the presentation configuration and the rendering of the augmented reality display data in response to dynamic interaction with the virtual control screen (time 0:05 to 0:45 – the window with arrow can modified the display of the environment “presentation configuration” and the size of the TV screen “augmented reality display data” when user interact with the window by using the arrow of the window to adjust the TV size dynamically). .
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mount in view of Citi, Redenbach with further comprising a virtual control screen generation component configured to generate a virtual control screen for mapping to the physical presentation environment with the augmented reality display data, wherein the virtual control screen is configured to modify the presentation configuration and the rendering of the augmented reality display data in response to dynamic interaction with the virtual control screen as taught by Acharya. The motivation for doing so the presentation can be presented more accurately.
Regarding claim 9, Mount in view of Citi, Redenbach disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Mount in view of Citi, Redenbach do not disclose; however Acharya discloses
wherein rendering the augmented reality display data comprises rendering at least one of the plurality of augmented reality objects to an object in the physical presentation environment (time 0:05 to 0:45 – Display the size of the TV screen “augmented reality display data” comprises display the window of TV “one of the plurality of augmented reality objects” that maps to the physical wall “physical presentation environment “ ), and
wherein the at least one augmented reality object rendered to the object in the physical presentation environment is modifiable based on dynamic interaction with the object (time 0:05 to 0:45 – The size of the display of the window TV with arrow to the physical wall “physical presentation environment” can modified based on user’s hand interaction with the arrow dynamically.
).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify wherein rendering the augmented reality display data comprises rendering at least one of the plurality of augmented reality objects to an object in the physical presentation environment, and wherein the at least one augmented reality object rendered to the object in the physical presentation environment is modifiable based on dynamic interaction with the object as taught by Acharya. The motivation for doing so the presentation can be presented more accurately.
Regarding claim 14, Mount in view of Citi, Redenbach disclose all the limitations of claim 10.
Mount in view of Citi, Redenbach do not disclose; however Acharya discloses
receiving an input for the mapping of the augmented reality display data, the input comprising at least one of (time 0:05 to 0:45 – The window with arrow for adjusting the TV size can be adjusted by user’s hand to generated different size of TV screen that maps the physical wall with the size of the TV screen “augmented reality display data”. The input comprising: ):
a mapping preference (time 0:05 to 0:45 –The size of the TV screen maps to the physical wall and is modified to a desired size “mapping preference” .), and
a mapping limitation;
generating a modified presentation configuration for the augmented reality display data based on the received input (time 0:05 to 0:45 –The size of the TV screen “augmented reality display data” is modified based on user’s hand interaction with the arrow dynamically.
time 0:05 to 0:45 – generating different size of TV screen that maps the physical wall with the size of the TV screen thus “modified presentation configuration” can be read on.); and
rendering the augmented reality display data based on the modified presentation configuration (time 0:05 to 0:45 – Display the modified size of the TV screen “augmented reality display data” with physical wall on the environment based on the mapping of the physical wall with the size of the TV screen.).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mount in view of Citi, Redenbach with receiving an input for the mapping of the augmented reality display data, the input comprising at least one of: a mapping preference, and a mapping limitation; generating a modified presentation configuration for the augmented reality display data based on the received input; and rendering the augmented reality display data based on the modified presentation configuration as taught by Acharya. The motivation for doing so the presentation can be presented more accurately.
Regarding claim 16, Mount in view of Citi, Redenbach disclose all the limitations of claim 15.
Mount in view of Citi, Redenbach do not disclose; however Acharya discloses
Acharya discloses wherein the rendered augmented reality display data includes a dynamically interactive augmented reality object (time 0:05 to 0:45 –The size of the TV screen “augmented reality display data” is modified with the modified method includes user’s hand interaction with the arrow of Window TV dynamically.), and wherein the rendered augmented reality display data is modifiable based on dynamic interaction with at least one of (time 0:05 to 0:45 –The size of the TV screen “augmented reality display data” is modified with the modified method includes user’s hand interaction with the arrow of Window TV dynamically.):
the dynamically interactive augmented reality object (time 0:05 to 0:45 – HoloLens receives user’s hand interaction with the arrow of Window TV dynamically in real time.); and
an object in the physical presentation environment associated with the dynamically interactive augmented reality object (time 0:05 to 0:45 – physical wall in the environment maps to the arrow of Window TV dynamically in real time.).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mount in view of Citi, Redenbach with wherein the rendered augmented reality display data includes a dynamically interactive augmented reality object : the dynamically interactive augmented reality object; and an object in the physical presentation environment associated with the dynamically interactive augmented reality object as taught by Acharya. The motivation for doing so the presentation can be presented more accurately.
Regarding claim 17, Mount in view of Citi, Redenbach and Acharya disclose all the limitations of claim 16.
Acharya discloses receiving a dynamic input that modifies the dynamically interactive augmented reality object, wherein the dynamic input initiates at least one of (time 0:05 to 0:45 – HoloLens receives user’s hand interaction with the arrow of Window TV dynamically that modified the size of the window of the TV “augmented reality object” dynamically in real time. User’s hand interaction at least one of:
):
a change in location of the dynamically interactive augmented reality object,
a change in orientation of the dynamically interactive augmented reality object,
a change in orientation of the dynamically interactive augmented reality object,
a modification of content presented with the dynamically interactive augmented reality object,
a reorganization of content presented with the dynamically interactive augmented reality object, and
a modification of at least some of the rendered augmented reality display data (time 0:05 to 0:45 –The size of the TV screen “augmented reality display data” is modified.); and
modifying the rendered augmented reality display data based on the received dynamic input (time 0:05 to 0:45 –The size of the TV screen “augmented reality display data” is modified based on user’s hand interaction with the arrow dynamically.).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mount in view of Citi, Redenbach with receiving a dynamic input that modifies the dynamically interactive augmented reality object, wherein the dynamic input initiates at least one of: a change in location of the dynamically interactive augmented reality object, a change in orientation of the dynamically interactive augmented reality object, a change in orientation of the dynamically interactive augmented reality object, a modification of content presented with the dynamically interactive augmented reality object, a reorganization of content presented with the dynamically interactive augmented reality object, and a modification of at least some of the rendered augmented reality display data; and modifying the rendered augmented reality display data based on the received dynamic inputas taught by Acharya. The motivation for doing so the presentation can be presented more accurately.
Regarding claim 18, Mount in view of Citi, Redenbach and Acharya disclose all the limitations of claim 16 including dynamically interactive augmented reality object as stated above.
Acharya discloses wherein the object is rendered to remain at a fixed location and orientation relative to a user (time 0:05 to 0:45 – the window of TV “object” is displayed that maps to the physical wall without out tilting in the view of the operator after the size of the TV screen change and “remain at a fixed location and orientation” reads on because the updated size on TV screen remains at fixed location on the physical wall and without tilting in the view of the operator.).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mount in view of Citi, Redenbach with wherein the object is rendered to remain at a fixed location and orientation relative to a user as taught by Acharya. The motivation for doing so the presentation can be presented more accurately.
Regarding claim 19, Mount in view of Citi, Redenbach and Acharya disclose all the limitations of claim 16.
Acharya discloses wherein the dynamic interaction comprises at least one of (time 0:05 to 0:45 – HoloLens detects user’s hand “user body movement” interaction that guides the size of the window with the arrow of Window TV dynamically “dynamically interactive augmented reality object” in real time.):
a detected user eye movement guiding the dynamic interaction with the dynamically interactive augmented reality object;
a detected user body movement guiding the dynamic interaction with the dynamically interactive augmented reality object (time 0:05 to 0:45 – HoloLens detects user’s hand “user body movement” interaction that guides the size of the window with the arrow of Window TV dynamically “dynamically interactive augmented reality object” in real time.);
a detected input from an additional input device;
an assignment of the dynamically interactive augmented reality object to a location in the physical presentation environment; and
an assignment of one or more of the plurality of augmented reality objects to one or more of the locations in the physical presentation environment configuration based on at least one of: dynamic placement of the plurality of augmented reality objects on the dynamically interactive augmented reality object, and dynamic placement of the plurality of augmented reality objects on the physical presentation environment.
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mount in view of Citi, Redenbach with wherein the dynamic interaction comprises at least one of: a detected user eye movement guiding the dynamic interaction with the dynamically interactive augmented reality object; a detected user body movement guiding the dynamic interaction with the dynamically interactive augmented reality object; a detected input from an additional input device; an assignment of the dynamically interactive augmented reality object to a location in the physical presentation environment; and an assignment of one or more of the plurality of augmented reality objects to one or more of the locations in the physical presentation environment configuration based on at least one of: dynamic placement of the plurality of augmented reality objects on the dynamically interactive augmented reality object, and dynamic placement of the plurality of augmented reality objects on the physical presentation environment as taught by Acharya. The motivation for doing so the presentation can be presented more accurately.
Regarding claim 20, Mount in view of Citi, Redenbach and Acharya disclose all the limitations of claim 16.
Acharya discloses wherein the dynamic interaction provides a haptic feedback (time 0:05 to 0:45 –The size of the TV screen is modified based on the feedback from user’s hand interaction with the arrow dynamically.).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mount in view of Citi, Redenbach with wherein the dynamic interaction provides a haptic feedback as taught by Acharya. The motivation for doing so the presentation can be presented more accurately.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MING WU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2618