Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6-7, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 6 and claim 16 cite the hole of the body has female threads, however claim 1 and 15 cites the insert comprise female threaded portion. The female thread should fit with male thread, not another female thread. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumakura et al. (JP 2004305075), and further in view of Fischer et al. (US 20130065013)
As to claim 1. Kumakura et al. discloses a handle comprise body has a proximal end and a distal end, the distal end comprising a base (see e.g. handle can be made of reinforced resin fibers in Par. 18, or laminating prepreg sheets in Par. 21. proximal end and distal end in par. 20, large-diameter portion of one cylindrical body is connected to the distal end of the cylindrical body 12 adjacent to the proximal side thereof in Par. 18, Fig 2, The plug 3 is connected to the distal end of the small-diameter seventh cylindrical body in Par. 19); an insert positioned in a blind hole of the base(see e.g. cylindrical bodies 20 Female screw member in Par. 30, wherein there is hole in Fig 2, 4-5), and a distal most portion of the insert is positioned flush or below the base(see e.g. screw groove is formed on an outer peripheral surface to be a male screw portion in claims, and the cylindrical body can be below the base in Fig 2, 5, as Plug can be made of metal or abs in Par. 19 and cylindrical body has thread, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skills in the art to also use metallic materials for the cylindrical body as well as it is commonly known threaded structure is made of metal for structure rigidity), the insert comprising a female threaded portion having a central axis and the insert is mounted in the material(see e.g. Par. 24, Fig 2, 4-5, A thread groove is formed continuously in a spiral shape so as to penetrate in the axial direction. Female screw member in claims).
Kumakura et al. does not disclose the handle can comprising composite structure comprising: a body comprising a material which is a multi-ply resin impregnated pressure and heat cured wood. wherein the insert is made of a second material different from the material
Fischer et al. discloses composite structure (see e.g. building, sector as components or structure in Par. 2) comprising: a body comprising a material which is a multi-ply resin impregnated pressure and heat cured wood (see e.g. wood layer in Par. 50, adhesive under heat and pressure in Par. 50, Par. 48).
Both Kumakura et al. and Fischer et al. are analogous in the field of article using laminate for structure body, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skills in the art to modify the handle body of Kumakura et al. to be made of multiple ply wood composites of Fischer et al. as the multiple ply structure in Fischer et al. can provide high structural strength as suggested in Par. 4 of Fischer et al. As the insert can be made of metal and the body is layered wood, the claim limitation “wherein the insert is made of a second material different from the material” is met.
As to claim 2. Kumakura et al. in view of Fischer et al. discloses the handle of claim 1 wherein the body is symmetrical about the axis (see e.g. Kumakura et al. discloses in Fig 2, 4-5). Furthermore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skills in the art to modify the wood layer structure of the handle of Kumakura et al. in view of Fischer et al. to Changes in Size/Proportion In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955), Changes in Shape In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966), and change in direction such as symmetrical about the axis for aesthetic design changes In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947) per MPEP 2144.04.
As to claim 3. Kumakura et al. in view of Fischer et al. discloses the handle of claim 1 wherein at least some of the plys are arranged substantially parallel to the axis (see e.g. Fischer et al. discloses plys can be parallels to the axis in Fig 3, see discussion of claim 2, and change in direction such as substantially parallel to the axisl for aesthetic design changes In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947) per MPEP 2144.04).
As to claim 4. Kumakura et al. in view of Fischer et al. discloses the handle of claim 2 wherein all of the plys are arranged substantially parallel to the axis such that a side surface of the body includes portions where the plys are seen vertically arranged along the axis and another side where plys create a variable shaped pattern as it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skills in the art to modify the wood layer structure of the handle of Kumakura et al. in view of Fischer et al. to Changes in Size/Proportion In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955), Changes in Shape In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966), and change in direction for aesthetic design changes In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947) per MPEP 2144.04.
As to claim 6. Kumakura et al. in view of Fischer et al. discloses the handle of claim 4 wherein the insert comprises only a single insert and the insert includes exterior threads which interact with female threads in the hole of the body, wherein the threads are in the material (see e.g. Kumakura et al. discloses a thread groove is formed continuously in a spiral shape so as to penetrate in the axial direction. Female screw member in claims, Fig 2, 4-5).
As to claim 7. Kumakura et al. in view of Fischer et al. discloses the handle of claim 6 further comprising an adhesive which secures the insert to the hole in the body(see e.g. Kumakura et al. discloses fixed with adhesive or the like in Par. 20).
Claim(s) 5, 8-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumakura et al. (JP 2004305075) and Fischer et al. (US 20130065013), and further in view of Zhan et al. CN 101633186.
As to claim 5. Kumakura et al. in view of Fischer et al. does not discloses the handle of claim 4 wherein at least at least two of the plys are dyed different colors and are arranged in a pattern within the body.
Zhan et al. discloses the handle of claim 4 wherein at least at least two of the plys are dyed different colors and are arranged in a pattern within the body (see e.g. Zhan et al. CN 101633186 disclose different colors combination in technology field, pattern in Fig 8-10). Zhan et al. also discloses the wood layer can be different directions (transverse and longitudinal axis direction in technical field.
Fig 8-10 of Zhan et al.
Both Kumakura et al. in view of Fischer et al., and Zhan et al. are analogous in the field of layered wood article, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skills in the art to modify the anesthetic wood layer design of the Kumakura et al. in view of Fischer et al. to be different color, different direction and etc as taught by Zhan et al. as the design in Zhan et al. give more desirable artistic anesthetic appealing look.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skills in the art to modify the wood layer structure of the handle of Kumakura et al. in view of Fischer et al. to Changes in Size/Proportion In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955), Changes in Shape In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966), and change in direction and color for aesthetic design changes In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947) per MPEP 2144.04.
As to claim 8. Kumakura et al. in view of Fischer et al., and Zhan et al. discloses the handle of claim 1 wherein the base comprises a first section and two side sections, each side section including one of two bases and the two side sections are spaced apart and connected to the first section, each base comprising the insert positioned in the hole of the base, the insert being metallic and the distal most portion of each insert is positioned flush or below the base, each insert comprising the female threaded portion and each having a central axis and the insert is mounted in the material, the central axis of a first one of the two side sections is substantially parallel the central axis of a second one of the two side sections(see e.g. Zhan et al. separated piece connected in claim 9, Fig 8, see discussion of claim 1-4, 6). Furthermore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill sin the art to modify the structure of the handle of Kumakura et al. in view of Fischer et al. to make the parts separable In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961) per MPEP 2144.04)
As to claim 9. Kumakura et al. in view of Fischer et al., and Zhan et al. discloses the handle of claim 8 wherein the plys of the two side sections are arranged substantially parallel the respective central axis of that side section and plys of the first section are arranged transverse the plys of the two side sections (see e.g. Zhan et al. Fig 8-10, discussion of claim 5). Furthermore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skills in the art to modify the wood layer structure of the handle of Kumakura et al. in view of Fischer et al. to change in direction and color for aesthetic design changes In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947) per MPEP 2144.04.
As to claim 10. Kumakura et al. in view of Fischer et al., and Zhan et al. discloses the handle of claim 9 wherein the plys of the first section are substantially perpendicular the plys of the two side sections (see e.g. Zhan et al. 8-10, discussion of claim 5).
As to claim 11. Kumakura et al. in view of Fischer et al., and Zhan et al. discloses the handle of claim 9 wherein a proximal surface comprises portions of at least two of the plys which are at least three times wider than a thickness of the plys such that the proximal surface varies in color based on which of the plys is visible(see e.g. Zhan et al. 8-10, discussion of claim 5). Furthermore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skills in the art to Changes in Size/Proportion In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955), Changes in Shape In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966), and aesthetic color design changes In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947) per MPEP 2144.04).
As to claim 12. Kumakura et al. in view of Fischer et al., and Zhan et al. discloses the handle of claim 8 wherein the plys of the two side sections and the plys of the first section are arranged substantially parallel to the axis (see e.g. Zhan et al. Fig 8-10, discussion of claim 5, 9-11). Furthermore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skills in the art to modify the wood layer structure of the handle of Kumakura et al. in view of Fischer et al. to Changes in Size/Proportion In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955), Changes in Shape In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966), and change in direction and color for aesthetic design changes In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947) per MPEP 2144.04.
As to claim 13. Kumakura et al. in view of Fischer et al., and Zhan et al. discloses the handle handle of claim 12 wherein the plys are arranged longitudinally along the first section (see e.g. discussion of claim 1-12).
As to claim 14. Kumakura et al. in view of Fischer et al., and Zhan et al. discloses the handle of claim 13 wherein a side surface of the first section is positioned on either side of a proximal surface of the first section and the side surface comprises portions of at least two of the plys which are at least three times wider than a thickness of the plys such that the side surface varies in color longitudinally based on which of the plys is visible as it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skills in the art to modify the wood layer structure of the handle of Kumakura et al. in view of Fischer et al. to Changes in Size/Proportion(thickness) In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955), Changes in Shape In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966), and change in direction and color for aesthetic design changes In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947) per MPEP 2144.04.
As to claim 15. Kumakura et al. in view of Fischer et al., and Zhan et al. discloses A handle comprising: a body comprising a material which is a multi ply resin impregnated wood, the body has a proximal end and a distal end, the distal end comprising a base; an insert positioned in a blind hole of the base, wherein the insert is made of a second material different from the material and a distal most portion of the insert is positioned flush or below the base, the insert comprising a female threaded portion having a central axis and the insert is mounted in the material and the proximal end of the body excludes one or more through holes; wherein the body is symmetrical about the axis and includes one or more sections which include a circular cross section taken across the axis and a side profile of the body varies in width measured through the axis between the proximal and distal ends; wherein all of the plys are arranged substantially parallel to the axis such that a side surface of the body includes portions where the plys are seen substantially vertically arranged along the axis and another side where plys create a variable shaped pattern; wherein the handle is configured to be mounted with the base flush against another part such that the insert is not visible(see discussion of claims 1-14).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skills in the art to modify the wood layer structure of the handle of Kumakura et al. in view of Fischer et al. to Changes in Size/Proportion In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955), Changes in Shape In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966), and change in direction and color for aesthetic design changes In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947) per MPEP 2144.04.
As to claim 16. Kumakura et al. in view of Fischer et al., and Zhan et al. discloses the handle of claim 15 wherein the insert comprises only a single insert and the insert includes exterior threads which interact with female threads in the hole of the body, wherein the threads are in the material (see e.g. Kumakura et al. Fig 2).
As to claim 17. Kumakura et al. in view of Fischer et al., and Zhan et al. discloses the handle of claim 15 wherein the insert is metallic (see discussion of claim 1).
As to claim 18. Kumakura et al. in view of Fischer et al., and Zhan et al. discloses the handle of claim 15 wherein the body is symmetrical about an axis of the blind hole (see discussion of claims 1-14).
As to claim 19. The handle of claim 15 wherein at least three of the plys are dyed different colors and are arranged in a repeating pattern and the plys are approximately 1/8 inches thick or less(see e.g. discussion of claims 1-14, furthermore, Fischer et al. also disclose the thickness can be 0.5mm to 10mm in Par. 46, which overlaps with the claimed range).
As to claim 20. Kumakura et al. in view of Fischer et al., and Zhan et al. discloses the handle of claim 15 wherein the handle is configured to be mounted such that only the material and any finishes thereon are visible(see discussion of claims 5-14)..
As to claim 21. Kumakura et al. in view of Fischer et al., and Zhan et al. discloses the handle of claim 15 wherein at least two of the plys are dyed different colors and are arranged in a pattern within the body (see discussion of claims 5-14).
As to claim 22. Kumakura et al. in view of Fischer et al., and Zhan et al. discloses the handle of claim 21 wherein at least three of the plys are dyed different colors and are arranged in the body in a repeating pattern (see discussion of claims 5-14).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pilpel et al. (US20150165731) discloses composite structure (see e.g. used for building or other structures in Par. 5) comprising: a body comprising a material which is a multi-ply resin impregnated pressure and heat cured wood (see e.g. composite plies in Par. 19-20, impregnated within thermoplastic matrix in Par. 31, under heat and pressure in Par. 39, Par. 45, the laminate can comprise plies of wood in Par. 37).
Thomas et al. (WO 2023094367) discloses layered wood product can have irregular wave shape at least in section in claim 1.
/TONG GUO/
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1781