DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment filed 22 September 2026. Claim(s) 25-44 are currently pending. The Examiner acknowledges cancelled claim(s) 1-24.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
The claim limitation ‘closure device’ in claims 25 and 43 is construed under 35 U.S. 112(f). The limitation includes nonce term “device” and the term “closure” is a function but lacks a description of the structure. In paragraph [0152] the closure device is disclosed as placing one or more sutures across a vessel access site such that, when the suture ends are tied off after sheath removal, the stitch or stitches provide hemostasis to the access site. The sutures can be applied either prior to insertion of a procedural sheath through the arteriotomy or after removal of the sheath.
Double Patenting
Claims 25, 32 and 43 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,144,915 in view of Barbut (US 6,165,199). Claim 1 of the reference patent recites all of the limitations of claim 25 and claim 43 of the instant application except “removing the treatment catheter,”. However, Barbut teaches another method for treating occlusions within the carotid and cerebral arteries. A treatment catheter (C3:L43-67, C4:L1-6) is advanced through a carotid artery and to an occlusion in a cerebral artery, a treatment is performed to remove the thromboembolic material and the treatment catheter is withdrawn (C7:L64-67). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to have removed the treatment catheter after treating a lesion within a cerebral blood vessel in the method of claims 1 of the reference patent to provide means for additional treatment devices or to prepare for conclusion of the surgery and closing of the site.
Every limitation in the application under examination claims is recited in the conflicting reference patent claims and the differences between the claims are highlighted below by bolding all limitations that differ, italicizing additional limitations and underlining limitations that are addressed above.
Instant Claims
Reference U.S. Patent No. 12,144,915
25 and 32. A method for treating a blood vessel, the method comprising: forming a percutaneous opening into a blood vessel; disposing a closure device at least partially within the blood vessel by advancing the closure device through the percutaneous opening; disposing an access sheath at least partially within the blood vessel by advancing the access sheath through the percutaneous opening; advancing a treatment catheter through the access sheath to a position within the blood vessel adjacent an intravascular lesion; treating the intravascular lesion with the treatment catheter; removing the treatment catheter; removing the access sheath; and closing the percutaneous opening with the closure device.
1. A method for treating stroke, comprising: forming a penetration in a wall of common carotid artery; applying a closure device upon commencement of the procedure at a site of the penetration and before placement of any structure through the penetration; positioning an arterial access sheath having an occlusion element through the penetration such that the occlusion element is positioned within an internal carotid artery; occluding the internal carotid artery; inserting a distal catheter having an aspiration lumen into an intracranial artery through the access sheath, the distal catheter further having a distal-most end that defines an opening into the aspiration lumen; treating a thrombotic blockage in the intracranial artery by positioning the distal-most end of the distal catheter so that the distal-most end is located immediately adjacent the thrombotic blockage in the intracranial artery; aspirating material from the thrombotic blockage in the intracranial artery into the opening at the distal-most end of the distal catheter such that the aspiration causes the material from the thrombotic blockage to flow into the opening at the distal-most end of the distal catheter; removing the arterial access sheath from the penetration; and closing the penetration with sutures of the closure device.
43. A method for treating a cerebral blood vessel, the method comprising: forming a percutaneous opening into a carotid artery; disposing a closure device at least partially within the carotid artery by advancing the closure device through the percutaneous opening; disposing an access sheath at least partially within the carotid artery by advancing the access sheath through the percutaneous opening; advancing a treatment catheter through the access sheath, through the carotid artery, and to a position within a cerebral blood vessel adjacent an intravascular lesion; treating the intravascular lesion with the treatment catheter; removing the treatment catheter; removing the access sheath; and closing the percutaneous opening with the closure device.
1. A method for treating stroke, comprising: forming a penetration in a wall of common carotid artery; applying a closure device upon commencement of the procedure at a site of the penetration and before placement of any structure through the penetration; positioning an arterial access sheath having an occlusion element through the penetration such that the occlusion element is positioned within an internal carotid artery; occluding the internal carotid artery; inserting a distal catheter having an aspiration lumen into an intracranial artery through the access sheath, the distal catheter further having a distal-most end that defines an opening into the aspiration lumen; treating a thrombotic blockage in the intracranial artery by positioning the distal-most end of the distal catheter so that the distal-most end is located immediately adjacent the thrombotic blockage in the intracranial artery; aspirating material from the thrombotic blockage in the intracranial artery into the opening at the distal-most end of the distal catheter such that the aspiration causes the material from the thrombotic blockage to flow into the opening at the distal-most end of the distal catheter; removing the arterial access sheath from the penetration; and closing the penetration with sutures of the closure device.
Claims 25, 32 and 43 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,103,627 in view of Barbut (US 6,165,199). Claim 1 of the reference patent recites all of the limitations of claim 25 and claim 43 of the instant application except “removing the treatment catheter,”. However, Barbut teaches another method for treating occlusions within the carotid and cerebral arteries. A treatment catheter (C3:L43-67, C4:L1-6) is advanced through a carotid artery and to an occlusion in a cerebral artery, a treatment is performed to remove the thromboembolic material and the treatment catheter is withdrawn (C7:L64-67). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to have removed the treatment catheter after treating a lesion within a cerebral blood vessel in the method of claims 1 of the reference patent to provide means for additional treatment devices or to prepare for conclusion of the surgery and closing of the site.
Every limitation in the application under examination claims is recited in the conflicting reference patent claims and the differences between the claims are highlighted below by bolding all limitations that differ, italicizing additional limitations and underlining limitations that are addressed above.
Instant Claims
Reference U.S. Patent No. 11,103,627
25. 25 and 32. A method for treating a blood vessel, the method comprising: forming a percutaneous opening into a blood vessel; disposing a closure device at least partially within the blood vessel by advancing the closure device through the percutaneous opening; disposing an access sheath at least partially within the blood vessel by advancing the access sheath through the percutaneous opening; advancing a treatment catheter through the access sheath to a position within the blood vessel adjacent an intravascular lesion; treating the intravascular lesion with the treatment catheter; removing the treatment catheter; removing the access sheath; and closing the percutaneous opening with the closure device.
1. A method for treating stroke, comprising: forming a penetration in a wall of a common carotid artery or internal carotid artery; applying a closure device with sutures upon commencement of the procedure at a site of the penetration and before placement of any structure through the penetration; positioning an arterial access sheath having an occlusion element through the penetration such that the occlusion element is positioned within the internal carotid artery; occluding the internal carotid artery; establishing retrograde blood flow through the internal carotid artery distal of the occlusion element; inserting a distal catheter having an aspiration lumen into the intracranial artery through the access sheath, the distal catheter further having a distal-most end that defines an opening into the aspiration lumen; treating a thrombotic blockage in the intracranial artery by positioning the distal-most end of the distal catheter so that the distal-most end is located immediately adjacent the thrombotic blockage in the intracranial artery; aspirating material from the thrombotic blockage in the intracranial artery into the opening at the distal-most end of the distal catheter such that the aspiration causes the material from the thrombotic blockage to flow into the opening at the distal-most end of the distal catheter; removing the arterial access sheath from the penetration; and closing the access site with the sutures of the closure device.
43. A method for treating a cerebral blood vessel, the method comprising: forming a percutaneous opening into a carotid artery; disposing a closure device at least partially within the carotid artery by advancing the closure device through the percutaneous opening; disposing an access sheath at least partially within the carotid artery by advancing the access sheath through the percutaneous opening; advancing a treatment catheter through the access sheath, through the carotid artery, and to a position within a cerebral blood vessel adjacent an intravascular lesion; treating the intravascular lesion with the treatment catheter; removing the treatment catheter; removing the access sheath; and closing the percutaneous opening with the closure device.
1. A method for treating stroke, comprising: forming a penetration in a wall of a common carotid artery or internal carotid artery; applying a closure device with sutures upon commencement of the procedure at a site of the penetration and before placement of any structure through the penetration; positioning an arterial access sheath having an occlusion element through the penetration such that the occlusion element is positioned within the internal carotid artery; occluding the internal carotid artery; establishing retrograde blood flow through the internal carotid artery distal of the occlusion element; inserting a distal catheter having an aspiration lumen into the intracranial artery through the access sheath, the distal catheter further having a distal-most end that defines an opening into the aspiration lumen; treating a thrombotic blockage in the intracranial artery by positioning the distal-most end of the distal catheter so that the distal-most end is located immediately adjacent the thrombotic blockage in the intracranial artery; aspirating material from the thrombotic blockage in the intracranial artery into the opening at the distal-most end of the distal catheter such that the aspiration causes the material from the thrombotic blockage to flow into the opening at the distal-most end of the distal catheter; removing the arterial access sheath from the penetration; and closing the access site with the sutures of the closure device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(e) the invention was described in (1) an application for patent, published under section 122(b), by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent or (2) a patent granted on an application for patent by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent, except that an international application filed under the treaty defined in section 351(a) shall have the effects for purposes of this subsection of an application filed in the United States only if the international application designated the United States and was published under Article 21(2) of such treaty in the English language.
Claim(s) 25-31 and 33-44 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(e) as being anticipated by Garrison (US 2014/0058414A1).
Regarding claim 36, Garrison discloses a system of treating a blood vessel including a closure device [0054, 0055; one or more sutures (claim 42)] capable of being advanced through the percutaneous opening and at least partially into a carotid artery [0009, 0017, 0019, 0054,0083-0084; wherein the suture delivery device (5) is disposed within the artery] prior to the arterial access sheath being advanced through the percutaneous opening. An arterial access sheath (605/110; [0071, 0107, 0115]; procedural sheath) is capable of being advanced through the percutaneous opening and at least partially within a carotid artery. An interventional catheter (2110; [0193] or balloon catheter [0169,0194, 0196; wherein balloon catheter includes aspiration device in form of lumens or channels; claim 39) is capable of being advanced through the access sheath. The closure device is capable of closing the percutaneous opening after the interventional catheter and the access sheath are removed from the opening [0198; Fig. 41]. The closure device is capable of closing the percutaneous opening after the interventional catheter (removed in Fig. 40E) and the access sheath are removed from the percutaneous opening [0198].
Regarding claims 25 and 43, Garrison discloses a method of treating a blood vessel including forming a percutaneous opening into a blood vessel [0083-0084; access to the carotid artery (claim 26) is achieved percutaneously via an incision or puncture in the skin through which an arterial access device is inserted, an arteriotomy is performed in the carotid artery via transcervical access]. A closure device [0054; one or more sutures (claim 33)] is at least partially disposed within the blood vessel by advancing the closure device through the percutaneous opening prior to an arterial access sheath [0009, 0017, 0019, 0054,0083-0084; 0198; wherein the suture delivery device (5) is disposed within the artery; (claim 35)]. An arterial access sheath (605/110; [0071, 0107, 0115]; procedural sheath) that is disposed at least partially within the blood vessel by advancing the access sheath through the percutaneous opening. The access sheath is withdrawn and the percutaneous opening is closed with the closure device [000, 0119, 0198]. A treatment/interventional catheter (2110) is advanced through the access sheath to a position within the blood vessel adjacent the blockage (Fig. 40; [0193]), wherein the treatment catheter includes a stent delivery system (claim 29; stent (2115)), and treating the lesion (Figs. 40; [0196; wherein treatment includes aspiration of blood and debris from the treated area without need for an additional device; claim 28]). The percutaneous opening is closed with the closure device after the treatment/interventional catheter (removed in Fig. 40E) and the access sheath are removed from the percutaneous opening [0198].
Regarding claims 27 and 40, Garrison discloses that the access sheath includes an occlusion element (129; [0126]) that occludes the blood vessel.
Regarding claims 30 and 37, Garrison discloses that the treatment catheter includes a balloon catheter and inflates a balloon disposed along the balloon catheter [0196].
Regarding claims 31, Garrison discloses advancing the access sheath to a position adjacent to a cerebral blood vessel wherein the suture delivery device which includes the closure device gains access to the carotid artery and intracerebral artery to treat an intracerebral artery stenosis [0083]. The sheath through which the suture delivery device is advanced is replaced with the advancement of the access sheath [0070].
Regarding claims 34, 41 and 44, Garrison discloses establishing retrograde blood flow within the blood vessel by causing blood to flow through the access sheath and into a shunt (120; Fig. 20) coupled to a proximal end region of the access sheath via flowline (615).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 25, 36 and 43 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Fulkerson et al. (US 2009/0105722A1) discloses a method for treating ischemic stroke within a cerebral vessel.
/JOCELIN C TANNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771