DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Pegna does not disclose that only a part of the data is used to initialize the clustering. As seen in Pegna [0021], a training stage creates a cluster map for a number of network events. Pegna in [0023] further teaches detecting anomalies when received data deviates based on a known threshold. Hence it is obvious that Pegna implements a training stage for creating clusters and uses the clusters to detect deviations. These deviations are analogous to the required steps of partitioning data as these deviations separate expected and suspicious behaviors.
Applicant also argues about improving accuracy of the access behavior model but there is no mention of this improvement in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3– 9 and 11-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pegna, publication number: US 2016/0149936.
As per claims 1 and 20, Pegna teaches a method for detecting abnormal access behavior based on machine learning, comprising:
obtaining log files stored with access records to create a data set based on the log files (Network traffic as input to cluster engine, [0035] Fig. 4, Fig. 5C, Fig. 7B);
processing the data set as a set of access behavior sequences (Mapping network events, [0036]);
clustering feature vectors of a portion of access behavior sequences in the set of access behavior sequences based on a clustering algorithm in the machine learning and using a centroid of a cluster as a basis for dividing the feature vectors to construct an access behavior recognition model (clustering based on centroids, [0038-0039], cluster engine training, [0021]); and
automatically recognizing whether an access behavior is the abnormal access behavior through the access behavior recognition model (Activating an alarm based on comparing client data to a threshold, [0052])
wherein constructing the access behavior recognition model comprising:
clustering the feature vectors of the portion of access behavior sequences using the clustering algorithm to obtain an initial clustering model containing a plurality of clusters; and
clustering feature vectors of other access behavior sequences in the set of access behavior sequences into a corresponding cluster of the plurality of clusters based on a centroid of each cluster of the plurality of clusters to obtain the access behavior recognition model (different clusters, [0021], detecting suspicious activities, [0023], clustering and new activities, [0041-0042]).
As per claim 3, Pegna teaches wherein constructing the access behavior recognition model further comprising:
calculating the similarity between the feature vectors of the portion of access behavior sequences to cluster the feature vectors of the portion of access behavior sequences to obtain the initial clustering model containing the plurality of clusters;
for the each cluster, obtaining the centroid of the each cluster by calculating an average value of feature vectors in the each cluster;
obtaining a centroid
corresponding to a minimum value by calculating the minimum value of similarity between the feature vectors of other access behavior sequences and the centroid of the each clu
ster;
comparing the centroid corresponding to the
minimum value with
a clustering threshold; and
adjusting the initial clustering model based on a comparison result (dynamic updating and thresholds, [0034]).
As per claim 4, Pegna teaches wherein calculating the similarity between the feature vectors of the portion of access behavior sequences comprising:
calculating the similarity between the feature vectors of the portion of access behavior sequences to cluster the feature vectors of the portion of access behavior sequences by the following formula:
S
i
m
i
l
a
r
i
t
y
v
i
,
v
j
=
1
-
v
i
⋅
v
j
|
|
v
i
|
|
⋅
|
|
v
j
|
|
where
|
|
⋅
|
|
is a
l
2
norm,
v
i
representing the feature vector of the i-th access behavior sequence,
v
j
representing the feature vector of the j-th access behavior sequence, where
i
,
j
=
1,2
,
⋅
⋅
⋅
,
m
, and m is the total number of access behavior sequences (Comparing distances, [0044-0046], Fig. 7B).
As per claim 5, Pegna teaches wherein adjusting the initial clustering model based on the comparison result comprising:
in response to the centroid corresponding to the minimum value is greater than or equal to the clusteri
ng threshold, increasing the
number of clusters by 1; and
in response to the centroid corresponding to the minimum value is smaller than the clusteri
ng threshold, adding the corresponding feature vector among the feature vectors of other access behavior sequences into the corresponding cluster, and updating the centroid corresponding to the minimum value (Updating signature, [0034]).
As per claim 6, Pegna teaches wherein updating the centroid corresponding to the minimum value by the following formula:
r
e
p
m
i
n
=
r
e
p
m
i
n
+
v
i
-
r
e
p
m
i
n
|
C
l
u
s
t
e
r
(
r
e
p
m
i
n
)
|
wherein
r
e
p
m
i
n
represents a c
entroid corresponding to the minimum value,
v
i
represents a feature vector among the feature vectors of other access behavior sequences, and
C
l
u
s
t
e
r
(
r
e
p
m
i
n
)
represents the obtained cluster correspo
nding to
r
e
p
m
i
n
(Updating centroid, [0041]).
As per claim 7, Pegna teaches wherein recognizing whether an access behavior is the abnormal access behavior comprising:
for a current time,
obtaining an access log file within a time period before and after the current time;
generating a set of access behavior sequences corresponding to the access log file in the time period;
calculating a feature vector for each access behavior sequence in the set of access behavior sequences corresponding to the access log file;
calculating a minimum value of similarity between the feature vector and all centroids of the access behavior recognition model to determine a cluster to which the feature vector belongs and the corresponding centroid;
calculating a distance between the feature vector and the corresponding centroid based on a distance algorithm to obtain a minimum distance value; and
comparing the minimum distance value with a predefined threshold, to recognize whether an access behavior is the abnormal access behavior (comparing point 702 to 508, 510 and 512, Fig. 7B, [0046], threshold, [0052]).
As per claim 8, Pegna teaches wherein recognizing whether an access behavior is the abnormal access behavior further comprising:
in response to the minimum distance value is greater than the predefined threshold, the access behavior recognition model recognizes the access behavior corresponding to the feature vector as the abnormal access behavior; and
in response to the minimum distance value is less than or equal to the predefined threshold, the access behavior recognition model recognizes the access behavior corresponding to the feature vector as a normal access behavior (Triggering alarm based on threshold, Fig. 6, [0052]).
As per claim 9, Pegna teaches further comprising:
in response to the access behavior recognition model recognizes the abnormal access behavior, analyzing a log file corresponding to the abnormal access behavior and performing a risk rating on the abnormal access behavior to alarm based on the risk rating (Alarm based on threshold, [0052]).
As per claim 11, Pegna teaches wherein processing the data set as a set of access behavior sequences comprising:
extracting information of specified fields indicating an access behavior of a user from the data set to generate the set of access behavior sequences based on the extracted information (Client event input 612, [0048]).
As per claim 12, Pegna teaches wherein the method is applicable to all data centers, including internal data centers and hosted data centers (Application server 206, Fig. 2A, [0027-0028]).
As per claim 13, Pegna teaches wherein the machine learning is based on an unsupervised learning algorithm (Training, [0021]).
Claims 14 and 16 – 19 are rejected based on claims 1,3, 5 and 7-8
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pegna, publication number: US 2016/0149936 in view of Sasaki, publication number: US 2021/0232687.
As per claim 10, Pegna teaches clustering network data for determining anomalies.
Pegna does not teach wherein performing a risk rating on the abnormal access behavior to alarm based on the risk rating comprising:
extracting an event and a corresponding resource from the log file corresponding to the abnormal access behavior, wherein the event is divided into a high-level event, a medium-level event, and a low-level event, and the resource is divided into a risk resource and a safe resource;
wherein in response to the extracted event includes the high-level event and the corresponding resource is the risk resource, the abnormal access behavior is defined as a high-risk behavior;
in response to the extracted event includes the high-level event and the corresponding resource is the safe resource, or the extracted event includes the medium-level event and the corresponding resource is the risk resource, the abnormal access behavior is defined as a medium-risk behavior, and
in response to the extracted event includes the medium-level event and the corresponding resource is the safe resource, or the extracted event includes the low-level event, the abnormal access behavior is defined as a low-risk behavior.
In an analogous art, Sasaki teaches wherein performing a risk rating on the abnormal access behavior to alarm based on the risk rating comprising:
extracting an event and a corresponding resource from the log file corresponding to the abnormal access behavior, wherein the event is divided into a high-level event, a medium-level event, and a low-level event, and the resource is divided into a risk resource and a safe resource;
wherein in response to the extracted event includes the high-level event and the corresponding resource is the risk resource, the abnormal access behavior is defined as a high-risk behavior;
in response to the extracted event includes the high-level event and the corresponding resource is the safe resource, or the extracted event includes the medium-level event and the corresponding resource is the risk resource, the abnormal access behavior is defined as a medium-risk behavior, and
in response to the extracted event includes the medium-level event and the corresponding resource is the safe resource, or the extracted event includes the low-level event, the abnormal access behavior is defined as a low-risk behavior (calculating risks based on resource ratings and event rating, Fig. 2, Fig. 7A-G[0068][0127][0147]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pegna’s clustering system to include a detailed risk calculation system as described in Sasaki’s cyber attack system for the advantage of reducing false positives and hence reducing the processing burden on the system.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OLUGBENGA O IDOWU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2494