DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okouno et al. (PGPub US 2020/0377973).
Okouno et al. disclose a metal porous body comprising a framework that forms a three-dimensional network structure including nodes and a plurality of connecting ribs, where the metal may be selected from a group which includes nickel, iron, cobalt, and chromium (Figures 3-5 and paragraphs 0050-0055 and 0077). The ribs are columnar supporting portions connected by the nodes with the framework provided with a plurality of holes open in a surface of the framework.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kanda et al. (PGPub US 2022/0416255).
Kanda et al. disclose a porous body including a framework having a three-dimensional network structure comprising nickel, cobalt, a first element, and a second element, the framework comprising nodes and a plurality of ribs. The framework has a plurality of openings and the plurality of ribs are columnar supporting portions. See paragraphs 0050-0052 and figures 5-7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okuno et al. (PGPub US 2020/0377973).
Okuno et al. disclose a porous metal body as discussed above, having a porosity of 40% or more and 97% or less (paragraph 0068). While Okuno et al. do not appear to disclose the exact range claimed, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicants’ claimed invention would have found it obvious to form bodies having porosities within the disclosed range, including bodies having a porosity of 40% which falls within the claimed range.
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanda et al. (PGPub US 2022/0416255).
Regarding applicants’ claim 5, Kanda et al. disclose a porous metal body as discussed above having a porosity of 40% or more and 97% or less (paragraph 0058). While Kanda et al. do not appear to disclose the exact range claimed, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicants’ claimed invention would have found it obvious to form bodies having porosities within the disclosed range including bodies having a porosity of 40% which falls within applicatns’ claimed range.
Regarding applicants’ claim 6, Kanda et al. disclose that the second element may be selected from a group including potassium (paragraph 0092-0093). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicants’ claimed invention would have found it obvious to select from the disclosed list for the second element, including potassium.
Regarding applicants’ claims 7 and 8, Kanda et al. do not appear to explicitly disclose that the porous metal body is a nitrous oxide decomposition element or apparatus, however substantially identical materials are expected to have substantially identical properties. Applicants disclose the metal porous body to comprise elements such as nickel and cobalt, and that the metal porous body may contain potassium to improve the ability of the metal porous body to decompose nitrous oxide (present specification paragraph 0018 and 0024). Kanda et al. disclose a metal porous body comprising nickel and cobalt with the addition of potassium (paragraphs 0079 and 0093). Given that both applicants and Kanda et al. disclose porous metal bodies comprising substantially identical materials, the bodies would be expected to have substantially identical properties, and therefore the porous metal body of Kanda et al. would be expected to decompose nitrous oxide. The claimed requirements of a decomposition element (claim 7) and apparatus (claim 8) do not require a minimum number of components nor specific geometric configuration and therefore the porous body meets the minimum necessary structure to be an element (claim 7) and an apparatus (claim 8).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Okuno et al. and Kanda et al. disclose porous bodies as discussed above, but do not define a BET surface area (claim 2), average of maximum diameters of opening holes of the framework (claim 3), or the number of opening holes per unit area (claim 4). Further there is insufficient evidence that the parameters claimed are necessarily present based on the parameters that are disclosed by Okuno et al. and Kanda et al. There is also no motivation such that one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the porous metal bodies of Okuno et al. or Kanda et al. so as to result in a parameters falling within the claimed ranges of BET surface area (claim 2), average of maximum diameters of opening holes of the framework (claim 3), or the number of opening holes per unit area (claim 4).
Conclusion
/Adam Krupicka/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784