DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-6 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Mochizuki et al. (US 2019/0271801).
Mochizuki discloses a polarizing plate comprising a stretched film containing dye (see abstract) having specified chemical compound structure (see compound examples 1-6). Applicant’s specification discloses a polarizing plate comprising a stretched film (paragraph [0171]) containing a coloring agent with the same specified chemical compound structure (see compound examples 1-6). Although Mochizuki does not disclose the claimed properties, these are deemed to be inherent or obvious based on Mochizuki’s polarizing plate appearing to have the same composition and structure.
According to MPEP 2112, Section III:
III. A REJECTION UNDER 35 U.S.C. 102 AND 103 CAN BE MADE WHEN THE PRIOR ART PRODUCT SEEMS TO BE IDENTICAL EXCEPT THAT THE PRIOR ART IS SILENT AS TO AN INHERENT CHARACTERISTIC
Where applicant claims a composition in terms of a function, property or characteristic and the composition of the prior art is the same as that of the claim but the function is not explicitly disclosed by the reference, the examiner may make a rejection under both 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103. “There is nothing inconsistent in concurrent rejections for obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 and for anticipation under 35 U.S.C. 102.” In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 n.4, 195 USPQ 430, 433 n.4 (CCPA 1977). This same rationale should also apply to product, apparatus, and process claims claimed in terms of function, property or characteristic. Therefore, a 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 rejection is appropriate for these types of claims as well as for composition claims.
According to MPEP 2112, Section V:
V. ONCE A REFERENCE TEACHING PRODUCT APPEARING TO BE SUBSTANTIALLY IDENTICAL IS MADE THE BASIS OF A REJECTION, AND THE EXAMINER PRESENTS EVIDENCE OR REASONING TO SHOW INHERENCY, THE BURDEN OF PRODUCTION SHIFTS TO THE APPLICANT
“[T]he PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his [or her] claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on ‘inherency’ under 35 U.S.C. 102, on ‘prima facie obviousness’ under 35 U.S.C. 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same.” In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433-34 (CCPA 1977) (footnote and citation omitted). The burden of proof is similar to that required with respect to product-by-process claims. In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 70, 205 USPQ 594, 596 (CCPA 1980) (citing Best, 562 F.2d at 1255).
Claims 7-13 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mochizuki et al. (US 2019/0271801).
Mochizuki discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claims 1-2, but does not disclose incorporating the polarizing plate in an apparatus comprising the elements recited in claims 7-13 and 19-20. However, these apparatuses were conventional, and incorporating the polarizing plate of Mochizuki in such apparatuses was a conventional use of such a polarizing plate. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mochizuki by incorporating the polarizing plate in an apparatus comprising the elements recited in claims 7-13 and 19-20, because conventional structures were known to be cost-effective and reliable.
Conclusion
/DAVID Y CHUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871