DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The Information Disclosure Statement dated 01/17/2025 is acknowledged by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claim(s) 1-3 and 9-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being disclosed by Tang et al., US 2016/0037542 hereafter Tang.
As for claim 1, Tang discloses:
A wireless access device (FIG. 2, 205, [0025], the access point 101.sub.1 may comprise one or more of: a hardware processor 201, data storage 203, an input/output (I/O) interface 205, and device configuration logic 207.) for communicating with a plurality of computing devices within a wireless network, the device comprising:
a communication interface (FIG. 2, 205, [0025], the access point 101.sub.1 may comprise one or more of: a hardware processor 201, data storage 203, an input/output (I/O) interface 205, and device configuration logic 207.) coupled within the wireless access device, the communication interface transmits data to the plurality of computing devices across a plurality of wireless frequency links ([0024] The access points 101.sub.1-101.sub.N may be any device that can associate with the client devices 105.sub.1-105.sub.P to transmit and receive data over wireless channels. Each of the access points 101.sub.1-101.sub.N may operate on various wireless channels (i.e., frequency segments) that are assigned. [0034] The client devices 105.sub.1-105p may be configured to operate on a set of frequency channels. For example, one or more of the client devices 105.sub.1-105.sub.P may be equipped/configured to operate on Dynamic Frequency Selection (DFS) channels while other client devices 105.sub.1-105.sub.P are unable to operate on these DFS channels. Accordingly, the network system 100 must be configured to assign wireless channels to access points 101.sub.1-101.sub.N to ensure balanced coverage throughout the network system 100 for client devices);
a type detector coupled within the wireless access device (FIG. 2, 205, [0025], the access point 101.sub.1 may comprise one or more of: a hardware processor 201, data storage 203, an input/output (I/O) interface 205, and device configuration logic 207.), the type detector identifies a first device type associated with a first computing device within the plurality of computing devices and identifies a second device type associated with a second computing device within the plurality of computing devices, the first type being identified based at least in part on a first signal from the first device and the second type being identified based at least in part on a second signal from the second device (Figure 3, abstract “wireless channels may be assigned to access points to ensure balanced coverage throughout the network system for client devices of each type/capability”, [0051] At operation 305 the capabilities of the client devices 105.sub.1-105p may be determined. [0052] In one embodiment, the capabilities of the client devices 105.sub.1-105p may include the ability to support Dynamic Frequency Selection (DFS) channels.)
wherein the wireless access device communicates with the first computing device using a first wireless frequency link within the plurality of wireless frequency links based at least in part on the first device type and a communicates with the second computing device using a second wireless frequency link based at least in part on the second device type (Figure 3, abstract “wireless channels may be assigned to access points to ensure balanced coverage throughout the network system for client devices of each type/capability”, [0051] At operation 305 the capabilities of the client devices 105.sub.1-105p may be determined. [0052] In one embodiment, the capabilities of the client devices 105.sub.1-105p may include the ability to support Dynamic Frequency Selection (DFS) channels.)
wherein the first and second wireless frequency links are different ([0034] The client devices 105.sub.1-105p may be configured to operate on a set of frequency channels. For example, one or more of the client devices 105.sub.1-105.sub.P may be equipped/configured to operate on Dynamic Frequency Selection (DFS) channels while other client devices 105.sub.1-105.sub.P are unable to operate on these DFS channels.)
As for claims 2 and 16, Tang discloses the wireless access device is a Wi-Fi access device (Tang, [0027], a wireless interface such as an IEEE 802.11 WiFi interface. [0052] In one embodiment, the capabilities of the client devices 105.sub.1-105p may include the ability to support Dynamic Frequency Selection (DFS) channels. DFS is the process of detecting RADAR signals, which, based on government regulations, must be protected against 5.0 GHz interference (e.g., IEEE 802.11a/n/ac radios). Upon detection of 5.0 GHz interference, DFS causes access points 101.sub.1-101.sub.N to switch the operating frequency of the 5.0 GHz radio to a channel that is not being used by the nearby RADAR or military systems.)
As for claims 3 and 14, Tang discloses the wireless access device is a cellular access device (Tang, [0016], The “digital device” is a mobile handset, a smartphone, a personal digital assistant “PDA”, a wireless receiver and/or transmitter).
As for claims 9 and 13, Tang discloses wherein at least one of the first signal and the second signal comprises one or more of:
an indication of mobility;
a change in signal strength;
a type of traffic between the computing device and the access point, a data transmission metric associated with a data traffic flow between the computing device and the access point;
a data transmission metric associated with information about whether the computing device is predominantly a source or destination of the data traffic flow;
a data traffic packet content associated with data traffic between the computing device and the access point;
a source address of a data packet that comprises the data traffic packet content; a destination address of the data packet;
wireless communication capability information associated with the computing device;
a characteristic associated with an environmental condition ([0043] In one embodiment, operation 301 may determine the layout of the access points 101.sub.1-101.sub.N in the network environment based on signal strength values from wireless signals transmitted and detected by the access points 101.sub.1-101.sub.N.);
an observed data rate;
a maximum observed data throughput;
an uplink transmission rate; ([0075], For example, one or more channels from a low priority group may be necessary to meet a performance threshold, provide network availability for each client device 105.sub.1-105.sub.P, a minimum throughput threshold, a maximum bandwidth threshold, a maximum congestion level, etc.)
an uplink transmission power level; ([0043], Upon detection of these wireless signals, an access point 101.sub.1-101.sub.N may determine a power level of the received signal. Together with a known transmission power of the wireless signals, the signal strength values may be used to determine the distance separating the access points 101.sub.1-101.sub.N and direction of each access point 101.sub.1-101.sub.N relative to each other in the network environment. In one embodiment, the signal strength indicators corresponding to these wireless signals may be received signal strength indicator (RSSI) values.)
a quality of service parameter; ([0075], For example, one or more channels from a low priority group may be necessary to meet a performance threshold, provide network availability for each client device 105.sub.1-105.sub.P, a minimum throughput threshold, a maximum bandwidth threshold, a maximum congestion level, etc.)
a communication bandwidth; ([0075], For example, one or more channels from a low priority group may be necessary to meet a performance threshold, provide network availability for each client device 105.sub.1-105.sub.P, a minimum throughput threshold, a maximum bandwidth threshold, a maximum congestion level, etc.)
a hardware characteristic of the computing device;
a software characteristic of the computing device;
a historical pattern of packets of Wi-Fi traffic; a historical type of packet of Wi-Fi traffic; ([0051] At operation 305 the capabilities of the client devices 105.sub.1-105p may be determined. In one embodiment, the capabilities may be relative to currently associated client devices 105.sub.1-105.sub.P in the network system 100 while in other embodiments capabilities may be determined relative to historical trends or analysis of client devices 105.sub.1-105.sub.P associated with access points 101.sub.1-101.sub.N in the network system 100.)
an indication of a response by the computing device to a change in one or more environmental characteristics;
a maximum constellation size;
a maximum number of simultaneous transmission-streams; ([0075], For example, one or more channels from a low priority group may be necessary to meet a performance threshold, provide network availability for each client device 105.sub.1-105.sub.P, a minimum throughput threshold, a maximum bandwidth threshold, a maximum congestion level, etc.)
a maximum bandwidth; ([0075], For example, one or more channels from a low priority group may be necessary to meet a performance threshold, provide network availability for each client device 105.sub.1-105.sub.P, a minimum throughput threshold, a maximum bandwidth threshold, a maximum congestion level, etc.)
a performance characteristic ([0075], For example, one or more channels from a low priority group may be necessary to meet a performance threshold, provide network availability for each client device 105.sub.1-105.sub.P, a minimum throughput threshold, a maximum bandwidth threshold, a maximum congestion level, etc.);
a supported Wi-Fi standard (Tang, [0027], a wireless interface such as an IEEE 802.11 WiFi interface. [0052] In one embodiment, the capabilities of the client devices 105.sub.1-105p may include the ability to support Dynamic Frequency Selection (DFS) channels. DFS is the process of detecting RADAR signals, which, based on government regulations, must be protected against 5.0 GHz interference (e.g., IEEE 802.11a/n/ac radios). Upon detection of 5.0 GHz interference, DFS causes access points 101.sub.1-101.sub.N to switch the operating frequency of the 5.0 GHz radio to a channel that is not being used by the nearby RADAR or military systems.)
a supported data rate;
a number of antennas;
a chipset vendor; or
a chipset version number.
As for claim 10, Tang discloses the first wireless frequency link corresponds with a first wireless channel and the second wireless frequency link corresponds to a second wireless channel (Tang, Table 1 on page 5, [0058] the channels 1-11 corresponding to the 2.4 GHz spectrum and the channels 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, 56, 60, 64, 100, 104, 108, 112, 116, 132, 136, 140, 149, 153, 157, 161, and 165 corresponding to the 5 GHz spectrum may be available for assignment to access points 101.sub.1-101.sub.N. Table 1 below shows the center frequency of these channels. [0024] The access points 101.sub.1-101.sub.N may be any device that can associate with the client devices 105.sub.1-105.sub.P to transmit and receive data over wireless channels. Each of the access points 101.sub.1-101.sub.N may operate on various wireless channels (i.e., frequency segments).)
As for claim 11, Tang discloses:
A method for communicating between a wireless access device and a plurality of computing devices within a wireless network, the method comprising:
receiving a first signal from a first computing device in the plurality of computing devices, the first signal providing at least one first characteristic of the first computing device; receiving a second signal from a second computing device in the plurality of computing devices, the second signal providing at least one second characteristic of the second computing device ([0024] The access points 101.sub.1-101.sub.N may be any device that can associate with the client devices 105.sub.1-105.sub.P to transmit and receive data over wireless channels. Each of the access points 101.sub.1-101.sub.N may operate on various wireless channels (i.e., frequency segments) that are assigned. [0034] The client devices 105.sub.1-105p may be configured to operate on a set of frequency channels. For example, one or more of the client devices 105.sub.1-105.sub.P may be equipped/configured to operate on Dynamic Frequency Selection (DFS) channels while other client devices 105.sub.1-105.sub.P are unable to operate on these DFS channels. Accordingly, the network system 100 must be configured to assign wireless channels to access points 101.sub.1-101.sub.N to ensure balanced coverage throughout the network system 100 for client devices);
determining a first device type of the first computing device based on the first signal; determining a second device type of the second computing device based on the second signal (Figure 3, abstract “wireless channels may be assigned to access points to ensure balanced coverage throughout the network system for client devices of each type/capability”, [0051] At operation 305 the capabilities of the client devices 105.sub.1-105p may be determined. [0052] In one embodiment, the capabilities of the client devices 105.sub.1-105p may include the ability to support Dynamic Frequency Selection (DFS) channels.)
using a first frequency link based at least in part on the first device type, the first frequency link being used to communicate between the first computing device and the wireless access device; using a second frequency link based at least in part on the second device type, the second frequency link being used to communicate between the second computing device and the wireless access device (Figure 3, abstract “wireless channels may be assigned to access points to ensure balanced coverage throughout the network system for client devices of each type/capability”, [0051] At operation 305 the capabilities of the client devices 105.sub.1-105p may be determined. [0052] In one embodiment, the capabilities of the client devices 105.sub.1-105p may include the ability to support Dynamic Frequency Selection (DFS) channels.)
wherein the first and second frequency links are different ([0034] The client devices 105.sub.1-105p may be configured to operate on a set of frequency channels. For example, one or more of the client devices 105.sub.1-105.sub.P may be equipped/configured to operate on Dynamic Frequency Selection (DFS) channels while other client devices 105.sub.1-105.sub.P are unable to operate on these DFS channels.)
As for claim 12, Tang discloses wherein the first and second frequency links are first and second wireless channels ([0024] The access points 101.sub.1-101.sub.N may be any device that can associate with the client devices 105.sub.1-105.sub.P to transmit and receive data over wireless channels. Each of the access points 101.sub.1-101.sub.N may operate on various wireless channels (i.e., frequency segments)).
As for claim 15, Tang discloses the first computing device is a cellular telephone ([0016] Herein, certain terminology is used to describe features for embodiments of the disclosure. For example, the term “digital device” generally refers to any hardware device that includes processing circuitry running at least one process adapted to control the flow of traffic into the device. Examples of digital devices include a mobile handset, a smartphone, a personal digital assistant “PDA”, a wireless receiver and/or transmitter)
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 4-8 and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 2009/0319644 [0035] the configuration process 300 is adapted to exchange configuration information utilized for a communication session using the data communication link (task 304). [0038] the configuration process 300 is adapted to configure or update the computing devices with the exchanged configuration information to enable a communication session (task 306). [0042] the configuration process 300 is configured to transmit data between the computing devices using the communication session (task 310).
JENEE HOLLAND
Examiner
Art Unit 2469
/JENEE HOLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469