DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The remarks of 06/11/2026 have been considered. However, the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as unpatentable over Liao in view of Jia is determined to be proper and is, therefore, maintained. On page 8 of the remarks, applicant argues that Jia does not teach “the antenna conductive layers of the antenna units are disposed on an identical surface of the transparent dielectric substrate, and the antenna conductive layers disposed on the identical surface are asymmetrical with respect to each other” since the antenna layers 100 and 200 are disposed on different surfaces. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The prior art, when taken in combination, does disclose all limitations within the claims. First, regarding the recitation that “the antenna conductive layers of the antenna units are disposed on an identical surface of the transparent dielectric substrate”, this is anticipated by Liao since the antenna units (12 and 15) are already disposed on the identical surface (top surface) of substrate 11. Second, regarding the recitation that “the antenna conductive layers disposed on the identical surface are asymmetrical with respect to each other”, Jia, when combined with Liao to make the substitution of the antennas of Jia with the antenna structure of Liao, would teach an asymmetry between the layers since Jia teaches antenna layers with different (and therefore asymmetrical) dispositions. The rejection of claim 1 as obvious over Liao in view of Jia is, therefore, maintained.
The remarks of 06/11/2026 have been considered. However, the rejection of claim 17 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as unpatentable over Liao in view of Jia and Chen is determined to be proper and is, therefore, maintained. On page 9 of the remarks, applicant argues that Jia does not teach “one of the antenna units has a first frequency band, a second frequency band and a third frequency band, and another one of the antenna units has the first frequency band” stating that Chen only teaches a high band and low band. Examiner respectfully disagrees. It can be seen in Jia ¶[0022] that “The first antenna radiator 100 coupled with the first RF signal from the first feed trace 410 can generate a millimeter-wave signal in the first frequency band, and the second antenna radiator 200 coupled with the first RF signal from the first feed trace 410... The first radio frequency signal can generate a millimeter-wave signal in the second frequency band. The stacked antenna composed of the first antenna radiator 100 and the second antenna radiator 200 coupled to the first radio frequency signal from the first feed line 410 can generate a millimeter-wave signal in the third frequency band. The first antenna radiator 100 coupled to the second radio frequency signal from the second feed line 420 can generate a millimeter-wave signal in the fourth frequency band. The second antenna radiator 200 coupled to the second radio frequency signal from the second feed line 420 can generate a millimeter-wave signal in the fifth frequency band. The stacked antenna composed of the first antenna radiator 100 and the second antenna radiator 200 coupled to the second radio frequency signal from the second feed line 420 can generate a millimeter-wave signal in the sixth frequency band. Thus, the antenna assembly 10 can operate in multiple frequency bands, which broadens the frequency range of the antenna assembly 10”. The rejection of claim 17 as obvious over Liao in view of Jia and Chen is, therefore, maintained.
The remarks of 06/11/2026 have been considered. However, the rejection of claim 18 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as unpatentable over Liao in view of Jia is determined to be proper and is, therefore, maintained. On page 10 of the remarks, applicant argues that Jia does not teach “one of the antenna units has a first frequency band and a second frequency band, another one of the antenna units has a third frequency band, and the first frequency band, the second frequency band and the third frequency band are different” stating that “Jia merely describes different extending directions, and does not disclose different frequency bands”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. It can be seen in Jia ¶[0022] that “The first antenna radiator 100 coupled with the first RF signal from the first feed trace 410 can generate a millimeter-wave signal in the first frequency band, and the second antenna radiator 200 coupled with the first RF signal from the first feed trace 410... The first radio frequency signal can generate a millimeter-wave signal in the second frequency band. The stacked antenna composed of the first antenna radiator 100 and the second antenna radiator 200 coupled to the first radio frequency signal from the first feed line 410 can generate a millimeter-wave signal in the third frequency band. The first antenna radiator 100 coupled to the second radio frequency signal from the second feed line 420 can generate a millimeter-wave signal in the fourth frequency band. The second antenna radiator 200 coupled to the second radio frequency signal from the second feed line 420 can generate a millimeter-wave signal in the fifth frequency band. The stacked antenna composed of the first antenna radiator 100 and the second antenna radiator 200 coupled to the second radio frequency signal from the second feed line 420 can generate a millimeter-wave signal in the sixth frequency band. Thus, the antenna assembly 10 can operate in multiple frequency bands, which broadens the frequency range of the antenna assembly 10. Moreover, operating in multiple frequency bands can improve the radiation efficiency of the antenna assembly 10” therefore teaching the at least 2 frequency bands of the instant application. Furthermore, regarding the recitation of different and overlapping frequency bands, it can be seen from ¶[0022] and ¶[0032] (“The through hole 110 can be rectangular, circular, or other shapes. The shape of the second antenna radiator 200 is consistent with the shape of the through hole 110, and the size of the second antenna radiator 200 is also consistent with the size of the through hole 110”) this would create radiators with overlapping and differing frequency bands as required by the instant application. The rejection of claim 18 as obvious over Liao in view of Jia is, therefore, maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 12, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao et al. (US9715651; hereinafter Liao) in view of Jia et al. (CN111864341; hereinafter Jia).
Regarding claim 1, Liao discloses “A transparent antenna, comprising: a transparent dielectric substrate (11); a plurality of antenna conductive layers (12,15), disposed on a first surface (top surface) of the transparent dielectric substrate; a feeding layer (30), disposed on the first surface of the transparent dielectric substrate (fig. 2), and connected to the antenna conductive layers (fig. 2); and a grounding layer (14), wherein each of the antenna conductive layers, the feeding layer and the grounding layers is a mesh structure (Col. 2 lines 50-53; Preferably, the second conductive layer and the telecommunication connection structure are manufactured by screen printing a silver paste conductive coating); wherein the antenna conductive layers and the grounding layers corresponding thereto form a plurality of antenna units (at least two 12 and 15)… wherein the antenna conductive layers of the antenna units are disposed on an identical surface of the transparent dielectric substrate (12 and 15 are both disposed on top surface of 11)”.
Liao does not disclose “a plurality of grounding layers”, “the antenna conductive layers of the antenna units are not all identical; or the grounding layers of the antenna units are not all identical”, or “the antenna conductive layers disposed on the identical surface are asymmetrical with respect to each other”.
However, Jia teaches “a plurality of grounding layers (300 comprises multiple ground layers)”, “the antenna conductive layers of the antenna units are not all identical (see fig. 3-4, radiators 100 and 200 with different shapes); or the grounding layers of the antenna units are not all identical (see fig. 2, 300 and 400 are different shapes)”, and “the antenna conductive layers disposed on the identical surface are asymmetrical with respect to each other (100 and 200 are differing shapes and would therefore be asymmetrical)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Jia and make Liao’s transparent antenna with a plurality of grounding layers, the antenna conductive layers of the antenna units are not all identical; or the grounding layers of the antenna units are not all identical, and the antenna conductive layers disposed on the identical surface are asymmetrical with respect to each other, in order to have the antenna operate at more frequencies.
Regarding claim 2, Liao discloses the transparent antenna of claim 1 as shown previously.
Liao does not disclose “wherein the grounding conductive layers are disposed on a second surface of the transparent dielectric substrate”.
However, Jia teaches “wherein the grounding conductive layers are disposed on a second surface of the transparent dielectric substrate (fig. 1)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Jia and make Liao’s transparent antenna wherein the grounding conductive layers are disposed on a second surface of the transparent dielectric substrate, in order to place the ground in lower impedance path.
Regarding claim 3, Liao discloses “The transparent antenna according to claim 1, wherein the transparent dielectric substrate is a single-layer structure (see fig. 2)”.
Regarding claim 4, Liao discloses “The transparent antenna according to claim 1, wherein the transparent dielectric substrate is a multi-layer structure (see fig. 5, 50 and 70 are added to 11)”.
Regarding claim 5, Liao discloses “The transparent antenna according to claim 1, wherein the grounding layers of the antenna units are identical (fig. 2)”.
Liao does not disclose “wherein the antenna conductive layers of the antenna units are different”.
However, Jia teaches “wherein the antenna conductive layers of the antenna units are different (fig. 3-4)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Jia and make Liao’s transparent antenna wherein the antenna conductive layers of the antenna units are different, in order to have the antenna operate at more frequencies.
Regarding claim 6, Liao discloses the transparent antenna of claim 1 as shown previously.
Liao does not disclose “wherein the grounding layers of the antenna units are different”.
However, Jia teaches “wherein the grounding layers of the antenna units are different (fig. 2)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Jia and make Liao’s transparent antenna wherein the grounding layers of the antenna units are different, in order to ground the multiple radiators of different shapes.
Regarding claim 7, Liao discloses the transparent antenna of claim 1 as shown previously.
Liao does not disclose “wherein the antenna conductive layers of the antenna units are different, and the grounding layers of the antenna units are different”.
However, Jia teaches “wherein the antenna conductive layers of the antenna units are different, and the grounding layers of the antenna units are different (fig. 2-4)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Jia and make Liao’s transparent antenna wherein the antenna conductive layers of the antenna units are different, and the grounding layers of the antenna units are different, in order to ground the multiple radiators of different shapes with different frequencies.
Regarding claim 12, Liao discloses “The transparent antenna according to claim 1, wherein the antenna units include two single band slot antenna units (Col. 3 lines 50-53; Preferably, the first conductive layer 12 is partially etched to selectively form the conductive circuit or the first conductive layer 12 is partially etched to selectively form the antenna)”.
Regarding claim 18, Liao discloses “A transparent antenna, comprising: a transparent dielectric substrate (11); a plurality of antenna conductive layers (12,15), disposed on a first surface (top surface) of the transparent dielectric substrate; a feeding layer (30), disposed on the first surface of the transparent dielectric substrate (fig. 2), and connected to the antenna conductive layer (fig. 2); and a grounding layer (14), wherein each of the antenna conductive layers, the feeding layer and the grounding layers is a mesh structure (Col. 2 lines 50-53; Preferably, the second conductive layer and the telecommunication connection structure are manufactured by screen printing a silver paste conductive coating); wherein the antenna conductive layers and the grounding layers corresponding thereto form a plurality of antenna units (at least two 12 and 15)”.
Liao does not disclose “a plurality of grounding layers”, “each of the antenna units has at least one frequency band, and the frequency bands of the antenna units are not all identical”, and “one of the antenna units has a first frequency band and a second frequency band, another one of the antenna units has a third frequency band, and the first frequency band, the second frequency band and the third frequency band are different”.
However, Jia teaches “a plurality of grounding layers (300 comprises multiple ground layers)”, “each of the antenna units has at least one frequency band, and the frequency bands of the antenna units are not all identical (¶[0025] states there are at least three frequency bands)”, and , it can be seen from ¶[0022] and ¶[0032] (“The through hole 110 can be rectangular, circular, or other shapes. The shape of the second antenna radiator 200 is consistent with the shape of the through hole 110, and the size of the second antenna radiator 200 is also consistent with the size of the through hole 110”) this would create radiators with overlapping and differing frequency bands as required by the instant application.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Jia and make Liao’s transparent antenna with a plurality of grounding layers and each of the antenna units has at least one frequency band, the frequency bands of the antenna units are not all identical, and one of the antenna units has a first frequency band and a second frequency band, another one of the antenna units has a third frequency band, and the first frequency band, the second frequency band and the third frequency band are different, in order to have the antenna operate at more frequencies.
Regarding claim 19, Liao discloses “The transparent antenna according to claim 18, wherein some of the frequency bands of the antenna units are identical (fig. 3 shows identical antennas with identical frequency bands)”.
Liao does not disclose “some of the frequency bands of the antenna units are different”.
However, Jia teaches “some of the frequency bands of the antenna units are different (¶[0025])”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Jia and make Liao’s transparent antenna with some of the frequency bands of the antenna units are different, in order to have the antenna operate at more frequencies.
Regarding claim 20, Liao discloses the transparent antenna according to claim 18 as shown previously.
Liao does not disclose “wherein the frequency bands of the antenna units are different”.
However, Jia teaches “wherein the frequency bands of the antenna units are different (¶[0025])”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Jia and make Liao’s transparent antenna wherein the frequency bands of the antenna units are different, in order to have the antenna operate at more frequencies.
Claims 8-9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao in view of Jia, further in view of Chen et al. (US20240014572; hereinafter Chen).
Regarding claim 8, Liao discloses the transparent antenna according to claim 1 as shown previously.
Liao does not disclose “wherein a distance between the antenna units is 1/2 to 1 of a medium wavelength”.
However, Chen teaches “wherein a distance between the antenna units is 1/2 to 1 of a medium wavelength (¶[0007]; In one embodiment, the first distance is half the wavelength of the high band signal, and the second distance is half the wavelength of the low band signal)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Chen and make Liao’s transparent antenna wherein a distance between the antenna units is 1/2 to 1 of a medium wavelength, in order to improve antenna operation at the desired wavelength.
Regarding claim 9, Liao discloses the transparent antenna according to claim 8 as shown previously.
Liao does not disclose “wherein the distance between the antenna units is a distance among central lines of the antenna conductive layers”.
However, Chen teaches “wherein the distance between the antenna units is a distance among central lines of the antenna conductive layers (fig. 1)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Chen and make Liao’s transparent antenna wherein the distance between the antenna units is a distance among central lines of the antenna conductive layers, in order to improve antenna operation at the desired wavelength.
Regarding claim 17, Liao discloses “A transparent antenna, comprising: a transparent dielectric substrate (11); a plurality of antenna conductive layers (12,15), disposed on a first surface (top surface) of the transparent dielectric substrate; a feeding layer (30), disposed on the first surface of the transparent dielectric substrate (fig. 2), and connected to the antenna conductive layer (fig. 2); and a grounding layer (14), wherein each of the antenna conductive layers, the feeding layer and the grounding layers is a mesh structure (Col. 2 lines 50-53; Preferably, the second conductive layer and the telecommunication connection structure are manufactured by screen printing a silver paste conductive coating); wherein the antenna conductive layers and the grounding layers corresponding thereto form a plurality of antenna units (at least two 12 and 15)”.
Liao does not disclose “two of the antenna units which are adjacent have identical frequency band, and a distance between the antenna units with identical frequency band is 1/2 to 1 time a medium wavelength” or “one of the antenna units has a first frequency band, a second frequency band and a third frequency band, and another one of the antenna units has the first frequency band”.
However, Chen teaches “two of the antenna units which are adjacent have identical frequency band, and a distance between the antenna units with identical frequency band is 1/2 to 1 times a medium wavelength (¶[0007])”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Chen and make Liao’s transparent antenna wherein two of the antenna units which are adjacent have identical frequency band, and a distance between the antenna units with identical frequency band is 1/2 to 1 times a medium wavelength, in order to improve antenna operation at the desired wavelength.
The modified Liao does not disclose “one of the antenna units has a first frequency band, a second frequency band and a third frequency band, and another one of the antenna units has the first frequency band”.
However, Jia teaches “one of the antenna units has a first frequency band, a second frequency band and a third frequency band, and another one of the antenna units has the first frequency band (¶[0022])”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Jia and make Liao’s transparent antenna one of the antenna units has a first frequency band, a second frequency band and a third frequency band, and another one of the antenna units has the first frequency band, in order to improve antenna operation at the desired wavelength.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao in view of Jia, further in view of Hviid et al. (US20180013195; hereinafter Hviid).
Regarding claim 10, Liao discloses the transparent antenna according to claim 1 as shown previously.
Liao does not disclose “wherein the antenna units include a dual band monopole slot antenna unit and a single band microstrip antenna unit”.
However, Hviid teaches that it is known in the art to switch out antenna designs (such as dual band monopoles and single band microstrips) depending on the desired frequency and radiation pattern (¶[0021]; The antenna deposited onto a surface of the wearable device may an inverted-F antenna, a planar inverted-F antenna, an inverted-L antenna, a quarter-wave monopole antenna, a microstrip antenna, or any other type of antenna capable of receiving radio and other electromagnetic waves).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Hviid and make Liao’s transparent antenna wherein the antenna units include a dual band monopole slot antenna unit and a single band microstrip antenna unit, in order to improve antenna operation for the desired frequencies and radiation pattern for each individual antenna.
Regarding claim 11, Liao discloses the transparent antenna according to claim 1 as shown previously.
Liao does not disclose “wherein the antenna units include two single band microstrip antenna units”.
However, Hviid teaches that it is known in the art to switch out antenna designs (such as dual band monopoles and single band microstrips) depending on the desired frequency and radiation pattern (¶[0021]; The antenna deposited onto a surface of the wearable device may an inverted-F antenna, a planar inverted-F antenna, an inverted-L antenna, a quarter-wave monopole antenna, a microstrip antenna, or any other type of antenna capable of receiving radio and other electromagnetic waves).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Hviid and make Liao’s transparent antenna wherein the antenna units include two single band microstrip antenna units, in order to improve antenna operation for the desired frequencies and radiation pattern for each individual antenna.
Claims 13 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao in view of Jia, further in view of Bolin et al. (US9287612; hereinafter Bolin).
Regarding claim 13, Liao discloses the transparent antenna according to claim 1 as shown previously.
Liao does not disclose “wherein each of the mesh structures includes a plurality of main grid lines which are staggered, the main grid lines are substantially parallel or perpendicular to each other, and a width of each of the main grid lines is 5 to 100 µm”.
However, Bolin teaches “wherein each of the mesh structures includes a plurality of main grid lines which are staggered, the main grid lines are substantially parallel or perpendicular to each other, and a width of each of the main grid lines is 5 to 100 µm (Col. 6 lines 16-20; Using standard photolithographic wet etching, a mesh structure may be printed on the bilayer. The photoresist may be stripped, leaving a periodic array of square apertures in the metal layers with a pitch of about 100 μM)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Bolin and make Liao’s transparent antenna wherein each of the mesh structures includes a plurality of main grid lines which are staggered, the main grid lines are substantially parallel or perpendicular to each other, and a width of each of the main grid lines is 5 to 100 µm, in order to make the antenna and other structures transparent.
Regarding claim 15, Liao discloses the transparent antenna according to claim 13 as shown previously.
Liao does not disclose “wherein each of the main grid lines includes a plurality of secondary grid lines which are staggered”.
However, Jia teaches “wherein each of the main grid lines includes a plurality of secondary grid lines which are staggered (fig. 5)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Jia and make Liao’s transparent antenna wherein each of the main grid lines includes a plurality of secondary grid lines which are staggered, in order to improve transparency.
Regarding claim 16, Liao discloses the transparent antenna according to claim 13 as shown previously.
Liao does not disclose “wherein each of the main grid lines includes a plurality of holes”.
However, Jia teaches “wherein each of the main grid lines includes a plurality of holes (fig. 5)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Jia and make Liao’s transparent antenna wherein each of the main grid lines includes a plurality of holes, in order to improve transparency.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao in view of Jia and Bolin, further in view of Walker et al. (US6198457; hereinafter Walker).
Regarding claim 14, Liao discloses the transparent antenna according to claim 13 as shown previously.
Liao does not disclose “wherein a spacing between the main grid lines is less than 1/20 of a medium wavelength”.
However, Walker teaches “wherein a spacing between the main grid lines is less than 1/20 of a medium wavelength (Walker teaches that the common spacing for mesh antennas is 1/20 of a wavelength Col. 5 lines 50-55; The grid spacing of the present invention is in sharp contrast to conventional mesh-type reflectors which require a wire grid having openings no larger than 1/16 to 1/20 of a wavelength for efficient operation)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Walker and make Liao’s transparent antenna wherein a spacing between the main grid lines is less than 1/20 of a medium wavelength, in order to make the antenna and other structures more transparent to the radio signals.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AUSTIN M BACK/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845