DETAILED ACTION
This final office action is responsive to Applicants' amendment filed on 09/22/26. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination and are pending for the reasons indicated herein below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 7-10 and 13-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Shi (US 20050006956 A1) in view of Goto (US 20220239096 A1)
Regarding claim 1. Shi teaches an aircraft [¶40] electric power supply system [fig 1-8, elements in claims designated “second” are being interpreted to follow lower circuit 96 of fig 6 and elements in claims designated “first” are being interpreted to follow lower circuit 96 of fig 6, since 88 shown in fig 7 have the same structure] comprising: an electric power source [114, fig 7] comprising electric output terminals configured to provide an electric output [each have a Vout];
a first electric power supply line [fig 7, line for power source 1] configured to electrically couple a first electric output terminal [output of upper 96] of the electric output terminals to a first input of an electric load [i.e. load for 90, fig 6];
a second electric power supply line [fig 6-7, line for power source 2 of lower 96] configured to electrically couple a second electric output terminal [output of lower 96] of the electric output terminals to a second input [i.e. load for lower 90, fig 6] of the electric load;
a first electric power controller [see 118] arranged in the first electric power supply line;
and a second electric power controller [see 102] arranged in the second electric power supply line;
wherein the first electric power controller comprises a first electric switch [left 110] of a first type [p-channel type] configured to selectively switch a supply of electric power via the first electric power supply line;
wherein the second electric power controller comprises a second electric switch [right 108 of lower 96] of a second type [N-channel type] configured to selectively switch a supply of electric power via the second electric power supply line;
and wherein the first type differs from the second type [i.e. different channels].
However, Shi does not explicitly mention an electric power source comprising: positive and negative electric output terminals.
Goto teaches an electric power source [fig 1, 200] comprising: positive [upper terminal] and negative [lower terminal] electric output terminals [Goto is being relied to show that all DC sources need a positive and negative source for proper function].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the missing +/- terminals from Goto into the power source of Shi because one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the feature is necessary to make any circuit operable.
Regarding claim 3. Shi as modified teaches the aircraft electric power supply system according to claim 1, wherein at least one of: one of the first and second electric switches is a solid state switch [110/108 are show to be MOSFETs Shi]; or one of the first and second electric switches is a mechanical switch.
Regarding claim 4. Shi as modified teaches the aircraft electric power supply system according to claim 1, further comprising: a safety controller [118 Shi] configured to control the first and second electric switches.
Regarding claim 7. Shi as modified teaches the aircraft electric power supply system according to claim 1, wherein the electric power source is a floating electric power source [source 31 in fig 2 is not connected to earth ground, thus, follows recited limitation Shi] configured to provide an electric power output that is symmetric with respect to a common ground.
Regarding claim 8. Shi as modified teaches the aircraft electric power supply system according to claim 1, wherein the electric power source is a direct current (DC) electric power source [see 31, fig 2 Shi] or an alternating current (AC) electric power source.
Regarding claim 9. Shi as modified teaches the aircraft electric power supply system according to claim 1, wherein at least one of: the first electric power controller comprises a first current limiting element [fig 2, 36 Shi] configured to limit an electric current flowing through the first electric power supply line (8a);
or the second electric power controller comprises a second current limiting element configured to limit an electric current flowing through the second electric power supply line.
Regarding claim 10. Shi as modified teaches the aircraft electric power supply system according to claim 9, wherein the first and second current limiting [fig 7, 116 Shi] elements are of different types of current limiting elements.
Regarding claim 13. Shi as modified teaches an aircraft comprising an aircraft electric power supply system according to claim 1 [¶40 Shi].
Regarding method claims 14-20, note that under MPEP 2112.02, the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device "inherently performs the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed Cir. 1986). Therefore the previous rejections based on the apparatus will not be repeated.
Claims 11-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Shi (US 20050006956 A1) in view of Goto (US 20220239096 A1) and further in view of Prasad et al. (US 20230068153 A1)
Regarding claim 11. Shi as modified teaches the aircraft electric power supply system according to claim 9, however, Shi does not explicitly mention a circuit wherein at least one of the first and second current limiting elements is a fuse.
Prasad teaches a circuit wherein at least one of the first and second current limiting elements is a fuse [¶38]. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the features of Prasad in order to provide a faster open circuit and more decisively than any mechanical relay or semiconductor switch and can also stay safely disconnected even under catastrophic fault conditions were normal breakers fail.
Regarding claim 12. Shi as modified teaches the aircraft electric power supply system according to claim 11, wherein at least one of the current limiting elements is a pyro-fuse [¶38 Prasad].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 5-6 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if the claim objections stated above were overcome.
Examiner Note
The examiner cites particular columns and lines numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRYAN R PEREZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2838