DETAILED ACTION
This non-final office action is responsive to Applicants' application filed on 10/21/24. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination and are pending for the reasons indicated herein below.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 objected to because of the following informalities: “supplied at at least one…” and “supplied at at least one” …. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 7-10, 13-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shi (US 20050006956 A1)
Regarding claim 1. Shi teaches an aircraft [¶40] electric power supply system [fig 1-8, elements in claims designated “second” are being interpreted to follow lower circuit 96 of fig 6 and elements in claims designated “first” are being interpreted to follow lower circuit 96 of fig 6, since 88 shown in fig 7 have the same structure] comprising: an electric power source [114, fig 7] comprising two electric output terminals configured to provide an electric output [each have a Vout];
a first electric power supply line [fig 7, line for power source 1] configured to electrically couple a first electric output terminal [output of upper 96] of the two electric output terminals to a first input of an electric load [i.e. load for 90, fig 6];
a second electric power supply line [fig 6-7, line for power source 2 of lower 96] configured to electrically couple a second electric output terminal [output of lower 96] of the two electric output terminals to a second input [i.e. load for lower 90, fig 6] of the electric load;
a first electric power controller [see 118] arranged in the first electric power supply line;
and a second electric power controller [see 102] arranged in the second electric power supply line;
wherein the first electric power controller comprises a first electric switch [left 110] of a first type [p-channel type] configured to selectively switch a supply of electric power via the first electric power supply line;
wherein the second electric power controller comprises a second electric switch [right 108 of lower 96] of a second type [N-channel type] configured to selectively switch a supply of electric power via the second electric power supply line;
and wherein the first type differs from the second type [i.e. different channels].
Regarding claim 3. Shi teaches the aircraft electric power supply system according to claim 1, wherein at least one of: one of the first and second electric switches is a solid state switch [110/108 are show to be MOSFETs]; or one of the first and second electric switches is a mechanical switch.
Regarding claim 4. Shi teaches the aircraft electric power supply system according to claim 1, further comprising: a safety controller [118] configured to control the first and second electric switches.
Regarding claim 7. Shi teaches the aircraft electric power supply system according to claim 1, wherein the electric power source is a floating electric power source [source 31 in fig 2 is not connected to earth ground, thus, follows recited limitation] configured to provide an electric power output that is symmetric with respect to a common ground.
Regarding claim 8. Shi teaches the aircraft electric power supply system according to claim 1, wherein the electric power source is a direct current (DC) electric power source [see 31, fig 2] or an alternating current (AC) electric power source.
Regarding claim 9. Shi teaches the aircraft electric power supply system according to claim 1, wherein at least one of: the first electric power controller comprises a first current limiting element [fig 2, 36] configured to limit an electric current flowing through the first electric power supply line (8a);
or the second electric power controller comprises a second current limiting element configured to limit an electric current flowing through the second electric power supply line.
Regarding claim 10. Shi teaches the aircraft electric power supply system according to claim 9, wherein the first and second current limiting [fig 7, 116] elements are of different types of current limiting elements.
Regarding claim 13. Shi teaches an aircraft comprising an aircraft electric power supply system according to claim 1 [¶40].
Regarding method claims 14-20, note that under MPEP 2112.02, the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device "inherently performs the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed Cir. 1986). Therefore the previous rejections based on the apparatus will not be repeated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi (US 20050006956 A1) in view of Prasad et al. (US 20230068153 A1)
Regarding claim 11. Shi teaches the aircraft electric power supply system according to claim 9,
However, Shi does not explicitly mention a circuit wherein at least one of the first and second current limiting elements is a fuse.
Prasad teaches a circuit wherein at least one of the first and second current limiting elements is a fuse [¶38]. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the features of Prasad in order to provide a faster open circuit and more decisively than any mechanical relay or semiconductor switch and can also stay safely disconnected even under catastrophic fault conditions were normal breakers fail.
Regarding claim 12. Shi as modified teaches the aircraft electric power supply system according to claim 11, wherein at least one of the current limiting elements is a pyro-fuse [¶38].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 5-7 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if the claim objections stated above were overcome.
Examiner Note
The examiner cites particular columns and lines numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Conclusion
/BRYAN R PEREZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2838