DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to: Application filed on October 21st, 2024
Claims 1-20 are pending claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 2021/0225055 A1 in view of Tsai (US 2018/0081614 A1)
As for independent claim 1:
Choi discloses a method comprising:
receiving, from a plurality of sensors of a vehicle, vehicle related motion data (0234-0236, Choi discloses a sensing unit including an IMU (inertial measurement unit) having a plurality of sensors including: accelerometer, gyro sensor, magnetic sensor, lidar, camera and etc.);
identifying vehicle display configuration data, wherein the vehicle display configuration data is representative of a plurality of display configuration sets, wherein each of the plurality of display configuration sets is associated with a corresponding display device of a plurality of display devices of the vehicle (0090-0091, 0435-438, Choi discloses a plurality of display units 251a-251h disposed in multiple vehicle regions throughout the vehicle and adjusts each of the multi-display layers based on driving situation information);
generating vehicle display stabilization data by applying the vehicle related motion data to a vehicle display stabilization model (0007-0008, 0290-0292, Choi discloses vision compensation computed from vehicle motion information via imaging unit);
generating a plurality of stabilized vehicle interface components based on the vehicle display stabilization data, vehicle display data, and the vehicle display configuration data (0287-0292, 0309, Choi discloses generating and repositioning a stabilized interface component opposite to the vehicle motion)
Chi does not disclose wherein each of the plurality of stabilized vehicle interface components is associated with a corresponding display device of the plurality of display devices of the vehicle; causing each of the plurality of stabilized vehicle interface components to be rendered to an interface of a corresponding display device. Tsai discloses wherein each of the plurality of stabilized vehicle interface components is associated with a corresponding display device of the plurality of display devices of the vehicle; causing each of the plurality of stabilized vehicle interface components to be rendered to an interface of a corresponding display device in 0044, 0056, 0083, 0096. In the cited sections Tsai discloses generating a distinct interface for each display and its own display control. Tsai further discloses upper and lower display control units are each coupled to their corresponding display device and control unit. Accordingly it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a skilled artisan to modify the method of Choi to incorporate the teaching of Tsai multi display architecture coordination, thus allow displaying distinct interface to each of the plurality of display units showing different information on each display unit (Tsai, 0017).
As for dependent claim 2:
Choi–Tsai discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the vehicle related motion data is received when the vehicle is in motion (0297-0299, Choi discloses receiving and processing motion information of the vehicle)
As for dependent claim 3:
Choi–Tsai discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of sensors includes at least one camera (0113, 0297-0298, Choi discloses a camera that acquires front view images information used by the processor)
As for dependent claim 4:
Choi–Tsai discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the at least one camera is configured to capture motion data associated with an eye gaze of an occupant of the vehicle ( 0330-0333, Choi discloses an internal camera and detecting occupant’s eyes and tracks variation in the location of the eyes in response to a motion of the vehicle).
As for dependent claim 5:
Choi–Tsai discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the at least one camera is positioned inside an interior area of the vehicle (0080 and 0252, Chois discloses internal camera acquires images of the inside of the vehicle).
As for dependent claim 6:
Choi–Tsai discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of sensors includes at least one lidar device (0113, 0127 Choi discloses a lidar and a plurality of sensors).
As for dependent claim 7:
Choi–Tsai discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of sensors includes at least one inertial measurement unit (0234-0235, Choi discloses IMU (inertial measurement unit) comprising of multiple sensors including: accelerometer, gyro, and a magnetic sensor).
As for dependent claim 8:
Choi–Tsai discloses the method of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of display devices is physically secured to the vehicle (0091, Choi discloses a plurality of display units may disposed in a region of a steering wheel, a region 251a, 251b, 251c, a region of a seat, a region of pillar and etc.)
As for dependent claim 9:
Choi–Tsai discloses the method of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of display configuration sets is representative of one or more of an orientation display configuration item, a layout display configuration item, or a dimension display configuration item (0020, Tsai display configuration and effects on the screen).
As for dependent claim 11:
Choi–Tsai discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: identifying the vehicle display data; generating a plurality of vehicle interface components based on the vehicle display data, wherein each of the plurality of vehicle interface components is associated with a corresponding display device of the plurality of display devices of the vehicle; and causing each of the plurality of vehicle interface components to be rendered to an interface of a corresponding display device (0090-0091, 0436-0438, Choi discloses a plurality of display nits and controlling the display unit to display different AR interface component).
As for dependent claim 12:
Choi–Tsai discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the vehicle related motion data is received in response to a vehicle instability event (0322-0325, Choi discloses acquitting motion/pitch info in response to the vehicle passing a bump, a vehicle instability event).
As for dependent claim 13:
Choi–Tsai discloses the method of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of display devices is physically separate from each of the plurality of sensors (0091, 0120, Choi discloses the display units disposed at the vehicle interior and the sensors are externally mounted on a vehicle).
As for dependent claim 14:
Choi–Tsai discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of sensors is associated with a first amount, wherein the plurality of display devices is associated with a second amount, wherein the first amount is less than the second amount (0113, 0127 Choi discloses a lidar and a plurality of sensors).
As for independent claims 15 and 20:Claims 15 and 20 contain substantial subject matter as claimed in claim 1 and are respectfully rejected along the same rationale.
As for dependent claims 16 and 18-19:Claims 16 and 18-19 contains substantial subject matter as claimed in claims 9 and 11-12 and are respectfully rejected along the same rationale.
Claims 10 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 2021/0225055 A1 in view of Tsai (US 2018/0081614 A1) and in further view of Gannon (US 2012/0127115 A1)
As for dependent claim 10:
Choi–Tsai does not disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising: remapping one or more touch zones based on the vehicle display stabilization data. Gannon discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: remapping one or more touch zones based on the vehicle display stabilization data in 0018, 0021. In the cited sections, Gannon discloses touch activated area is relocated and resized on the input/viewing surfaced based on the determined motion influence due to vibration, shock, and etc. Accordingly it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a skilled artisan to modify the method of Choi-Tsai to incorporate the teaching of Gannon instability-based touch adjustment, thus allowing the system to adjust touch-activated area based on the determined motion influence (Gannon, 0018, 0021).
As for dependent claim 17:Claim 17 contains substantial subject matter as claimed in claim 10 and is respectfully rejected along the same rationale.
It is noted that any citation to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)).
The Examiner notes MPEP § 2144.01, that quotes In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825,159 USPQ 342, 344 (CCPA 1968) as stating “in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom.” Further MPEP 2123, states that “a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989).
Conclusion
/David Phantana-angkool/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172