CTNF 18/921,916 CTNF 86136 Detailed Action Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07 AIA 07-07-aia The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: (a) A person shall be entitled to a patent unless— 07-08-aia AIA (1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention 07-15 AIA Claim s 1, 2, 5, 6, 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Van Welzen et al (US 2022/0410004 A1) . Regarding claim 1, Van Welzen discloses a method comprising accessing a plurality of game state data for a game play of a video game ( B502 ), executing an artificial intelligence (AI) model using the game state data to identify a plurality of key events in the game play of the video game (¶ [0066]: game data capturer may determine an in-game even has occurred based on artificial intelligence ), executing the AI model using the game state data to curate a storyline for a video recapping the game play of the video game, wherein the storyline is curated for a selected duration ( 404 ), executing the AI model using the game state data to select and arrange a plurality of scenes from the game play of the video game following the storyline that is curated ( 140 ), wherein each of the plurality of scenes includes one or more video frames from the game play of the video game ( 155 ), regenerating the plurality of scenes using the game state of the game play of the video game ( 404 ), executing the AI model to generate the video recapping the game play of the video game including the plurality of scenes arranged to follow the storyline that is curated ( 404 ) and displaying the video recapping the game play of the video game in a user interface . Regarding claim 2, Van Welzen discloses receiving a request by a user for the video recapping the game play of the video game (¶ [0047]: user may select one or more of the interface elements that correspond to one or more in-game events to cause the corresponding game content to be displayed, played, and/or loaded in the game content display region of the game summary ). Regarding claim 5, Van Welzen discloses capturing a plurality of audio segments broadcast during a plurality of game plays of the video game by a plurality of users, curating an audio track including the plurality of audio segments following the storyline that is curated, and adding the audio track that is curated to the video recapping the game play of the video game in alignment with the plurality of scenes following the storyline that is curated (¶ [0048]: upon selection of UI element, game content that corresponds to the in-game event, such as … audio may be displayed ). Regarding claim 6, Van Welzen discloses dynamically displaying information in a window of the user interface along with the video recapping the game play of the video game, wherein the information being displayed is in alignment with one of the plurality of scenes currently being played in the video recapping the game play of the video game (Fig. 4), wherein the information includes at least one of the following: a description of the storyline that is curated, or one or more other players participating in a multi-player gaming session, and one or more characters in the game play of the video game, and one or more bosses beaten in the game play, and one or more unlocked moves, and one or more achievements, and one or more weapons earned, and one or more trophies earned (Fig. 4). Claims 13 and 18 subsume the limitations of claim 1 and are rejected for the same reasons given supra. Further regarding claims 13 and 18, Van Welzen discloses a computer system comprising a processor and memory coupled to the processor and having stored therein instructions, and a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a computer program for performing a method (Fig. 8) . . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co. , 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. If this application names joint inventors, Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claims 3, 4, 14 and 19 are re jected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Va n Welzen in view of Gazit et al (US 2024/0307791 A1). Re garding claims 3, 14 and 19, Gazit suggests—where Van Welzen does not disclose—executing an instance of the video game using the game state data to replay the plurality of scenes from the game play of the video game (¶ [0309]: replay module can control the gaming engine to instantiate new virtual objects or modify existing virtual objects according to the new or changed virtual object data associated with the corresponding event-based data of the PDS ). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the disclosures of Van Welzen and Gazit in order to simplify maintaining the deployment structure by reusing existing modules. Regarding claim 4, Van Welzen discloses identifying a subset of the game state data corresponding to a scene in the plurality of scenes, and executing the instance of the video game using the subset of the game state data to regenerate one or more video frames for the scene (Fig. 4) . 07-21-aia AIA Claims 7, 9, 1 5 and 16 are reje cted under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van W elzen in view of Starich et al (US 2021/0275922 A1). Rega rding claims 7 and 15, Starich suggests—where Van Welzen does not disclose—dynamically displaying a plurality of controller input sequences used in the game play of the video game for the plurality of scenes ( 708 ), wherein the plurality of controller input sequences is displayed in a window of the user interface along with the video recapping the game play of the video game (Fig. 7), wherein one or more controller inputs of a controller input sequence is displayed in alignment with a scene of the plurality of scenes currently being played in the video recapping the game play of the video game (Fig. 7). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the disclosures of Van Welzen and Starich in order to instruct players on the correct series of inputs to accomplish a particular game goal. Regarding claims 9 and 16, Starich suggests—where Van Welzen does not disclose—displaying a controller including a plurality of buttons for entering in the one or more controller inputs of the controller input sequence (Fig. 7) and highlighting the one or more controller inputs of the controller input sequence in alignment with the scene currently being played in the video recapping the game play of the video game (Fig. 7). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the disclosures of Van Welzen and Starich in order to instruct players on the correct series of inputs to accomplish a particular game goal . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 8, 10-12, 17 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion The prior art considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and not relied upon is made of record on the attached PTO-892 form. Dutilly et al (US 20100190555 A1) discloses dynamic video game recapping. Shen et al (US 20210117691 A1) discloses automatic video content summarizing. Kanshik et al (US 20220067385 A1) discloses multimodal game video summarization. Dubey et al (S 12167108 B1) discloses on-demand video content summarization. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to STEVE ROWLAND whose telephone number is (469) 295-9129. The examiner can normally be reached on M-Th 10-8. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor Dmitry Suhol can be reached at (571) 272-4430. The fax number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. Applicant may choose, at his or her discretion, to correspond with Examiner via Internet e-mail. A paper copy of any and all email correspondence will be placed in the appropriate patent application file. Email communication must be authorized in advance. Without a written authorization by applicant in place, the USPTO will not respond via e-mail to any correspondence which contains information subject to the confidentiality requirement as set forth in 35 U.S.C. 122. Authorization may be perfected by submitting, on a separate paper, the following (or similar) disclaimer: PNG media_image1.png 18 19 media_image1.png Greyscale Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with me concerning any subject matter of this application by electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file. PNG media_image1.png 18 19 media_image1.png Greyscale See MPEP 502.03 for more information. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /STEVE ROWLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715 Application/Control Number: 18/921,916 Page 2 Art Unit: 3715 Application/Control Number: 18/921,916 Page 3 Art Unit: 3715 Application/Control Number: 18/921,916 Page 4 Art Unit: 3715 Application/Control Number: 18/921,916 Page 5 Art Unit: 3715 Application/Control Number: 18/921,916 Page 6 Art Unit: 3715