DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 9 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Strobl (US 2015/0190191).
Regarding claim 1, Strobl discloses a blood vessel harvesting device (see Figs. 1-4B) comprising: a cylindrical body extending along an axis (see shaft 40 extending along the axis as shown in Fig. 1); a jaw structure coupled to a distal end portion of the cylindrical body and comprising a first jaw and a second jaw that are openable to an open state and closeable to a closed state (see jaws 52 and 54; Figs. 1 and 2); and a cutter blade disposed between the first jaw and the second jaw (see cutting blade assembly 80; [0044], Fig. 2), the cutter blade being moveable in a direction of the axis along cutter grooves defined by the first jaw and the second jaw (see [0044]), the jaw structure having ridgelines formed at a distal-most tip end of the first jaw and a distal-most tip end of the second jaw, wherein the ridgelines are offset from the axis in a first direction such that the first jaw and the second jaw have asymmetric shapes with respect to the axis (see ridgelines of the distal tips of jaws 52 and 54 that are offset from the axis of shaft 40 and have asymmetric shapes with respect to the axis as shown in Figs. 3A-4B).
Regarding claim 2, Strobl further discloses wherein the first jaw and the second jaw each have a first inclined surface adjacent to the ridgeline and extending in the first direction and a second inclined surface adjacent to the ridgeline and extending in a second direction opposite to the first direction, the ridgelines being an intersection line between the first inclined surface and the second inclined surface (see first and second inclined surfaces on either side of the ridgelines when viewing the side profiles in Figs. 3A and 4A, wherein the second inclined surface extends in a second direction opposite to the first direction as also shown in Figs. 3B and 4B).
Regarding claim 4, Strobl further discloses wherein the first jaw and the second jaw each have a first side surface adjacent to the first inclined surface and extending proximally, the first side surface comprising a curved surface that defines an arc having a center located away from the axis in the first direction (see curved sides of jaws 52 and 54 with centers located away from the axis in the first direction (as shown in Figs. 3A-4B).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Strobl further discloses wherein each of the first side surfaces approaches the axis as the first side surface extends to a proximal end thereof where the first side surfaces are closest to the axis, and wherein the curved surface of each of the first side surfaces is closest to the axis at an intermediate portion of the curved surface (see the curved surfaces of the jaws approaching the axis as they extend proximally to a proximal end thereof, Figs. 3A-4B).
Regarding claim 9, Strobl discloses a blood vessel harvesting device (see Figs. 1-4B) comprising: a cylindrical body extending along an axis (see shaft 40 extending along the axis as shown in Fig. 1); a jaw structure coupled to a distal end portion of the cylindrical body and comprising a first jaw and a second jaw that are openable to an open state and closeable to a closed state (see jaws 52 and 54; Figs. 1 and 2); and a cutter blade disposed between the first jaw and the second jaw (see cutting blade assembly 80; [0044], Fig. 2), the cutter blade being moveable in a direction of the axis along cutter grooves defined by the first jaw and the second jaw (see [0044]), wherein, while the jaw structure is in the closed state: (i) opposing face surfaces of the first jaw and the second jaw are inclined in relation to each other and in relation to the axis (the inclined side surfaces of the distal tips of the jaws are inclined in relation to each other and the axis as can be appreciated in Figs. 3A-4B), and (ii) the axis extends between portions of the first jaw and the second jaw that are located distal to the cutter grooves (see axis as shown in Figs. 3A-4B).
Regarding claim 11, Strobl further discloses wherein a distal-most tip end of the first jaw and a distal-most tip end of the second jaw are each offset from the axis in a first direction such that the first jaw and the second jaw have asymmetric shapes with respect to the axis (as can be appreciated in Figs. 3B and 4B).
Regarding claim 12, Strobl further discloses wherein the opposing face surfaces of the first jaw and the second jaw each comprise a planar electrode formed of an electrically conductive material (see electrodes disposed on both jaws, [0048]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strobl.
Regarding claim 3, Strobl discloses the limitations of claim 2, however fails to further disclose wherein the first inclined surfaces and the second inclined surfaces meet at the ridgelines and define an acute angle therebetween.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the ridgelines where the first second surfaces meet to form an acute angle in order to specifically target the geometry of specific tissue being treated in light of [0049] of Strobl that teaches “a person skilled in the art will appreciate that the second and first jaws 52, 54 can have any suitable shape and length for engaging tissue, with the shape, length, and overall configuration being selected, at least in part, based on the targeted anatomical structure for treatment and the other components with which the jaws 52, 54 are being used”. Additionally, a change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47. See MPEP 2144(IV)(B).
Claims 7-8, 10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strobl et al. (US 20170312016) (“Strobl ‘016”).
Regarding claims 7 and 13, Strobl discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 12, and further discloses wherein the first jaw and the second jaw each have a planar electrode on surfaces facing each other (see electrodes disposed on both jaws, [0048]), however Strobl fails to further disclose wherein at least one of the surfaces has a spacer formed of an electrically insulating material that is protruding from the planar electrode.
Strobl ‘016 teaches an electrosurgical device operable for blood vessel harvesting (see Figs. 1-3C), comprising electrically insulative gap setting members that protrude from at least one of the opposing surfaces and protrude from the planar electrode (see electrically insulative tissue engaging members 240, [0094]-[0095], Figs. 2-3C). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified at least one of the surfaces facing each other as disclosed by Strobl to further include a spacer formed of an electrically insulating material that is protruding from the planar electrode in light of Strobl ‘016, the motivation being to provide the additional advantage of preventing electrical shorting between the electrodes of the jaws and to facilitate gripping of tissue during operation (see Strobl ‘016, [0052]).
Regarding claims 8 and 10, Strobl discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 9, and further discloses wherein the first jaw and the second jaw each have a planar electrode on surfaces facing each other (see electrodes disposed on both jaws, [0048]), however fails to further disclose wherein while the jaw structure is in the closed state the planar electrodes of the first jaw and the second jaw define a non-zero inclination angle therebetween, and wherein, while the jaw structure is in the closed state, a clearance between the opposing face surfaces of the first jaw and the second jaw at a distal end of the jaw structure is smaller than a clearance at a proximal end of the jaw structure.
Strobl ‘016 teaches an electrosurgical device operable for blood vessel harvesting (see Figs. 1 and 4), comprising a non-zero inclination angle between the planar electrically conductive surfaces 430a and 430b, creating a clearance between the opposing face surfaces of the first jaw and the second jaw at a distal end of the jaw structure is smaller than a clearance at a proximal end of the jaw structure (as shown in Fig. 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the closed state as disclosed by Strobl to be configured such that the planar electrodes of the first jaw and the second jaw define a non-zero inclination angle therebetween, and wherein, while the jaw structure is in the closed state, a clearance between the opposing face surfaces of the first jaw and the second jaw at a distal end of the jaw structure is smaller than a clearance at a proximal end of the jaw structure in light of Strobl ‘016, since one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the prior art structure would have only provided the predictable advantage of providing additional mechanical force towards the distal tip of the jaw as it closes upon tissue in order to pinch vessels closed and/or accommodation of differently shaped tissue portions being grasped.
Conclusion
/SEAN W COLLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794