DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in responsive to Application No. 18/921,186 filed on 25 October
2024. Claims 1-20 are subject to examination.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph [0089], line 1, "Random access procedures between a UE)and a network node" should read "Random access procedures between a UE and a network node".
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HE et al. (US 20230038191 A1, hereinafter "He") in view of ZHANG et al. (WO 2024093172 A1, hereinafter "Zhang", in Applicant’s IDS).
Regarding Claim 1, He teaches An apparatus configured for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more memories comprising processor-executable instructions (He: UE 120 may be included inside a housing that houses components of the UE 120, such as processor components and/or memory components, see Paragraph [0035]); and
one or more processors configured to execute the processor-executable instructions (He: UE 120 may be included inside a housing that houses components of the UE 120, such as processor components and/or memory components, see Paragraph [0035]) and cause the apparatus to:
receive, from a network node, a random access configuration (He: the base station 110 may transmit, and the UE 120 may receive, random access configuration information, see Fig. 5A and Paragraph [0076]) including at least one partition of random access channel (RACH) resources (He: the base station 110 may transmit, and the UE 120 may receive, random access configuration information that indicates multiple RACH partitions that are each associated with a combination of one or more RACH features configured by the base station 110 and PRACH resources associated with the configured combinations of RACH features, see Fig. 5A and Paragraph [0076]), and
transmit, in accordance with the random access configuration, one or more repetitions of multiple repetitions of a random access message using one or more RACH resources (He: the UE (e.g., using communication manager 140 and/or transmission component 804, depicted in FIG. 8) may transmit, to the base station, a preamble on PRACH resources associated with the RACH partition to initiate a RACH procedure supporting the combination of one or more RACH features associated with the RACH partition, see Fig. 6 and Paragraph [0099])
He fails to explicitly teach, wherein the at least one partition includes a partition for subband full duplex (SBFD) operation, and
wherein the partition for SBFD operation is associated with repetitions;
as indicated by the partition for SBFD operation.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches,
wherein the at least one partition includes a partition for subband full duplex (SBFD) operation (Zhang: The signaling FeatureCombination has included RedCap/small data/nsag/msg3-repetition as the features that could be configured with separate PRACH resources, as shown in below. To reuse this signaling, it is proposed to introduce SBFD aware UEs as a new feature in this signaling, see Paragraph [0073]), and
wherein the partition for SBFD operation is associated with repetitions (Zhang: The signaling FeatureCombination has included RedCap/small data/nsag/msg3-repetition as the features that could be configured with separate PRACH resources, as shown in below. To reuse this signaling, it is proposed to introduce SBFD aware UEs as a new feature in this signaling. For example, a spare information element in the signaling is used to indicate whether separate PRACH resources should be configured for SBFD-aware UEs or for SBFD-aware UEs combined with other features, e.g., SBFD aware UEs combined with msg3-repetition, see Paragraph [0073]);
as indicated by the partition for SBFD operation (Zhang: The signaling FeatureCombination has included RedCap/small data/nsag/msg3-repetition as the features that could be configured with separate PRACH resources, as shown in below. To reuse this signaling, it is proposed to introduce SBFD aware UEs as a new feature in this signaling, see Paragraph [0073]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to
modify the method of He to include the teachings of Zhang as above, in order to support
reducing transmission latency due to bidirectional transmission simultaneously (Zhang: [0003]).
Regarding Claim 2, He teaches The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more repetitions are transmitted using the one or more RACH resources (He: the UE (e.g., using communication manager 140 and/or transmission component 804, depicted in FIG. 8) may transmit, to the base station, a preamble on PRACH resources associated with the RACH partition to initiate a RACH procedure supporting the combination of one or more RACH features associated with the RACH partition, see Fig. 6 and Paragraph [0099])
He fails to explicitly teach, as indicated by the partition for SBFD operation.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches,
as indicated by the partition for SBFD operation (Zhang: The signaling FeatureCombination has included RedCap/small data/nsag/msg3-repetition as the features that could be configured with separate PRACH resources, as shown in below. To reuse this signaling, it is proposed to introduce SBFD aware UEs as a new feature in this signaling, see Paragraph [0073]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to
modify the method of He to include the teachings of Zhang as above, in order to support
reducing transmission latency due to bidirectional transmission simultaneously (Zhang: [0003]).
Regarding Claim 3, He-Zhang teaches The apparatus of claim 2, wherein transmitting the one or more repetitions indicates an SBFD capability of the apparatus (Zhang: Early identification of SBFD aware UEs could be through configuration of separate physical random access channel (PRACH) resources for the UEs, see Paragraph [0073]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to
modify the method of He to include the teachings of Zhang as above, in order to support
reducing transmission latency due to bidirectional transmission simultaneously (Zhang: [0003]).
Regarding Claim 4, He teaches The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to:
select, based on the apparatus supporting the SBFD operation, the one or more RACH resources indicated by the partition for SBFD operation (He: The set of instructions, when executed by one or more processors of the UE, may cause the UE to select, from the multiple RACH partitions, a RACH partition based at least in part on the UE satisfying one or more criteria for the combination of one or more RACH features associated with the RACH partition, see Paragraph [0010]).
Regarding Claim 5, He teaches The apparatus of claim 1, wherein:
the partition for SBFD operation is a first partition (He: the multiple RACH partitions configured by the base station 110 may each be associated with a combination of one or more RACH features ... For example, the base station 110 may configure a first RACH partition to support a combination that includes a four-step RACH feature and a coverage enhancement RACH feature and to support a second RACH partition for a combination that includes a two-step RACH feature and an SDT RACH feature, see Fig. 5A and Paragraphs [0077]); and
the random access configuration includes a second partition (He: the multiple RACH partitions configured by the base station 110 may each be associated with a combination of one or more RACH features ... For example, the base station 110 may configure a first RACH partition to support a combination that includes a four-step RACH feature and a coverage enhancement RACH feature and to support a second RACH partition for a combination that includes a two-step RACH feature and an SDT RACH feature, see Fig. 5A and Paragraphs [0077]) that is associated with non-SBFD operation (He: the UE may apply one or more rules to select the appropriate RACH partition. For example, as described herein, the one or more rules may define relative priorities among different RACH features and may ensure backward compatibility with legacy RACH features, see Paragraph [0074]. [Examiner contends that non-SBFD operation is a legacy feature]).
Regarding Claim 6, He teaches The apparatus of claim 5, wherein the first partition and the second partition are each associated with repetitions (He: the base station 110 may transmit, and the UE 120 may receive, random access configuration information that indicates multiple RACH partitions that are each associated with a combination of one or more RACH features configured by the base station 110 and PRACH resources associated with the configured combinations of RACH features; the base station may provide one or more random access configurations to support RACH features such as ... enhanced coverage in wireless environments with poor network conditions (e.g., using multiple msg3 repetitions), see Fig. 5A and Paragraphs [0076], [0072]).
Regarding Claim 7, He teaches The apparatus of claim 6, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to:
select, the first partition for the multiple repetitions (He: The set of instructions, when executed by one or more processors of the UE, may cause the UE to select, from the multiple RACH partitions, a RACH partition based at least in part on the UE satisfying one or more criteria for the combination of one or more RACH features associated with the RACH partition, see Paragraph [0010]).
He fails to explicitly teach, based on the apparatus supporting the SBFD operation,
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches,
based on the apparatus supporting the SBFD operation (Zhang: The signaling FeatureCombination has included RedCap/small data/nsag/msg3-repetition as the features that could be configured with separate PRACH resources, as shown in below. To reuse this signaling, it is proposed to introduce SBFD aware UEs as a new feature in this signaling, see Paragraph [0073]),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to
modify the method of He to include the teachings of Zhang as above, in order to support
reducing transmission latency due to bidirectional transmission simultaneously (Zhang: [0003]).
Regarding Claim 8, He teaches The apparatus of claim 5, wherein:
the apparatus is a reduced capability (RedCap) type of apparatus (He: the one or more rules may specify a next highest priority for RACH partitions that are specifically configured for RedCap UEs, whereby a RedCap UE may select the RACH partitions specifically configured for RedCap UEs , see Fig. 5C and Paragraph [0088]); and
transmitting the one or more repetitions indicates the RedCap device type of apparatus (He: the one or more rules may specify a next highest priority for RACH partitions that are specifically configured for RedCap UEs, whereby a RedCap UE may select the RACH partitions specifically configured for RedCap UEs , see Fig. 5C and Paragraph [0088]).
He fails to explicitly teach, the first partition is for SBFD operation of the RedCap device type of apparatus;
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches,
the first partition is for SBFD operation of the RedCap device type of apparatus (Zhang: The signaling FeatureCombination has included RedCap/small data/nsag/msg3-repetition as the features that could be configured with separate PRACH resources, as shown in below. To reuse this signaling, it is proposed to introduce SBFD aware UEs as a new feature in this signaling, see Paragraph [0073]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to
modify the method of He to include the teachings of Zhang as above, in order to support
reducing transmission latency due to bidirectional transmission simultaneously (Zhang: [0003]).
Regarding Claim 9, He teaches The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the random access configuration includes a third partition (He: the multiple RACH partitions configured by the base station 110 may each be associated with a combination of one or more RACH features ... For example, the base station 110 may configure a first RACH partition to support a combination that includes a four-step RACH feature and a coverage enhancement RACH feature and to support a second RACH partition for a combination that includes a two-step RACH feature and an SDT RACH feature, see Fig. 5A and Paragraphs [0077])
He fails to explicitly teach, that is associated with SBFD operation of a non-RedCap device type of apparatus.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches,
that is associated with SBFD operation of a non-RedCap device type of apparatus (Zhang: The signaling FeatureCombination has included RedCap/small data/nsag/msg3-repetition as the features that could be configured with separate PRACH resources, as shown in below. To reuse this signaling, it is proposed to introduce SBFD aware UEs as a new feature in this signaling, see Paragraph [0073]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to
modify the method of He to include the teachings of Zhang as above, in order to support
reducing transmission latency due to bidirectional transmission simultaneously (Zhang: [0003]).
Regarding Claim 10, He teaches The apparatus of claim 9, wherein:
the second partition (He: the multiple RACH partitions configured by the base station 110 may each be associated with a combination of one or more RACH features ... For example, the base station 110 may configure a first RACH partition to support a combination that includes a four-step RACH feature and a coverage enhancement RACH feature and to support a second RACH partition for a combination that includes a two-step RACH feature and an SDT RACH feature, see Fig. 5A and Paragraphs [0077]) is associated with non-SBFD operation (He: the UE may apply one or more rules to select the appropriate RACH partition. For example, as described herein, the one or more rules may define relative priorities among different RACH features and may ensure backward compatibility with legacy RACH features, see Paragraph [0074]. [Examiner contends that non-SBFD operation is a legacy feature]) of the RedCap device type of apparatus (He: RACH features that may be associated with a configured RACH ... a UE type RACH feature (e.g., RedCap versus non-RedCap), see Paragraph [0076]); and
the random access configuration includes a fourth partition (He: the multiple RACH partitions configured by the base station 110 may each be associated with a combination of one or more RACH features ... For example, the base station 110 may configure a first RACH partition to support a combination that includes a four-step RACH feature and a coverage enhancement RACH feature and to support a second RACH partition for a combination that includes a two-step RACH feature and an SDT RACH feature, see Fig. 5A and Paragraphs [0077]) that is associated with non-SBFD operation (He: the UE may apply one or more rules to select the appropriate RACH partition. For example, as described herein, the one or more rules may define relative priorities among different RACH features and may ensure backward compatibility with legacy RACH features, see Paragraph [0074]. [Examiner contends that non-SBFD operation is a legacy feature]) of the non-RedCap device type of apparatus (He: RACH features that may be associated with a configured RACH ... a UE type RACH feature (e.g., RedCap versus non-RedCap), see Paragraph [0076]).
Regarding Claim 11, He teaches The apparatus of claim 5, wherein:
the apparatus is not a reduced capability (RedCap) type of apparatus (He: For example, the UE 120 may be a non-RedCap UE, see Paragraph [0085]); and
transmitting the one or more repetitions indicates the non-RedCap device type of apparatus (He: the base station 110 may have configured a first RACH partition for RedCap UEs and a second RACH partition for non-RedCap UEs at the next level under the NUL. In this case, as shown by reference number 552, the UE 120 may select the non-RedCap partition based on the UE 120 not being a RedCap UE, see Fig. 5C and Paragraph [0091]).
He fails to explicitly teach, the first partition is for SBFD operation of a non-RedCap device type of apparatus;
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches,
the first partition is for SBFD operation of a non-RedCap device type of apparatus (Zhang: The signaling FeatureCombination has included RedCap/small data/nsag/msg3-repetition as the features that could be configured with separate PRACH resources, as shown in below. To reuse this signaling, it is proposed to introduce SBFD aware UEs as a new feature in this signaling, see Paragraph [0073]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to
modify the method of He to include the teachings of Zhang as above, in order to support
reducing transmission latency due to bidirectional transmission simultaneously (Zhang: [0003]).
Regarding Claim 12, He teaches The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the random access configuration includes a third partition (He: the multiple RACH partitions configured by the base station 110 may each be associated with a combination of one or more RACH features ... For example, the base station 110 may configure a first RACH partition to support a combination that includes a four-step RACH feature and a coverage enhancement RACH feature and to support a second RACH partition for a combination that includes a two-step RACH feature and an SDT RACH feature, see Fig. 5A and Paragraphs [0077])
He fails to explicitly teach, that is associated with SBFD operation of a RedCap device type of apparatus.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches,
that is associated with SBFD operation of a RedCap device type of apparatus (Zhang: The signaling FeatureCombination has included RedCap/small data/nsag/msg3-repetition as the features that could be configured with separate PRACH resources, as shown in below. To reuse this signaling, it is proposed to introduce SBFD aware UEs as a new feature in this signaling, see Paragraph [0073]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to
modify the method of He to include the teachings of Zhang as above, in order to support
reducing transmission latency due to bidirectional transmission simultaneously (Zhang: [0003]).
Regarding Claim 13, He teaches The apparatus of claim 12, wherein:
the second partition (He: the multiple RACH partitions configured by the base station 110 may each be associated with a combination of one or more RACH features ... For example, the base station 110 may configure a first RACH partition to support a combination that includes a four-step RACH feature and a coverage enhancement RACH feature and to support a second RACH partition for a combination that includes a two-step RACH feature and an SDT RACH feature, see Fig. 5A and Paragraphs [0077]) is associated with non-SBFD operation (He: the UE may apply one or more rules to select the appropriate RACH partition. For example, as described herein, the one or more rules may define relative priorities among different RACH features and may ensure backward compatibility with legacy RACH features, see Paragraph [0074]. [Examiner contends that non-SBFD operation is a legacy feature]) of the non-RedCap device type of apparatus (He: the base station 110 may have configured a first RACH partition for RedCap UEs and a second RACH partition for non-RedCap UEs at the next level under the NUL. In this case, as shown by reference number 552, the UE 120 may select the non-RedCap partition based on the UE 120 not being a RedCap UE, see Fig. 5C and Paragraph [0091]); and
the random access configuration includes a fourth partition (He: the multiple RACH partitions configured by the base station 110 may each be associated with a combination of one or more RACH features ... For example, the base station 110 may configure a first RACH partition to support a combination that includes a four-step RACH feature and a coverage enhancement RACH feature and to support a second RACH partition for a combination that includes a two-step RACH feature and an SDT RACH feature, see Fig. 5A and Paragraphs [0077]) that is associated with non-SBFD operation (He: the UE may apply one or more rules to select the appropriate RACH partition. For example, as described herein, the one or more rules may define relative priorities among different RACH features and may ensure backward compatibility with legacy RACH features, see Paragraph [0074]. [Examiner contends that non-SBFD operation is a legacy feature]) of the RedCap device type of apparatus (He: the base station 110 may have configured a first RACH partition for RedCap UEs and a second RACH partition for non-RedCap UEs at the next level under the NUL. In this case, as shown by reference number 552, the UE 120 may select the non-RedCap partition based on the UE 120 not being a RedCap UE, see Fig. 5C and Paragraph [0091]).
Regarding Claim 14, He teaches The apparatus of claim 5, wherein the random access configuration indicates a first feature combination preamble list that indicates the first partition and a second feature combination preamble list that indicates the second partition (He: the multiple RACH partitions configured by the base station 110 may each be associated with a combination of one or more RACH features ... For example, the base station 110 may configure a first RACH partition to support a combination that includes a four-step RACH feature and a coverage enhancement RACH feature and to support a second RACH partition for a combination that includes a two-step RACH feature and an SDT RACH feature, see Fig. 5A and Paragraphs [0077]).
Regarding Claim 15, He teaches The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the random access configuration includes a first random access configuration that is associated with non-SBFD operation (He: the UE may apply one or more rules to select the appropriate RACH partition. For example, as described herein, the one or more rules may define relative priorities among different RACH features and may ensure backward compatibility with legacy RACH features, see Paragraph [0074]. [Examiner contends that non-SBFD operation is a legacy feature]) and wherein the partition for SBFD operation is indicated by the second random access configuration (He: the base station 110 may configure a first RACH partition to support a combination ... and to support a second RACH partition for a combination ... In general, each RACH partition may be associated with one or more RACH features that are compatible with one another, see Fig. 5A and Paragraphs [0077]).
He fails to explicitly teach, and a second random access configuration that is associated with the SBFD operation,
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches,
and a second random access configuration that is associated with the SBFD operation (Zhang: The signaling FeatureCombination has included RedCap/small data/nsag/msg3-repetition as the features that could be configured with separate PRACH resources, as shown in below. To reuse this signaling, it is proposed to introduce SBFD aware UEs as a new feature in this signaling, see Paragraph [0073]),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to
modify the method of He to include the teachings of Zhang as above, in order to support
reducing transmission latency due to bidirectional transmission simultaneously (Zhang: [0003]).
Regarding Claim 16, He teaches The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the apparatus to transmit the one or more repetitions, are configured to cause the apparatus to:
transmit a first repetition, of the multiple repetitions (He: The one or more processors may be configured to transmit, to the base station, a preamble on PRACH resources associated with the RACH partition to initiate a RACH procedure supporting the combination of one or more RACH features associated with the RACH partition; the base station may provide one or more random access configurations to support RACH features such as ... enhanced coverage in wireless environments with poor network conditions (e.g., using multiple msg3 repetitions), see Paragraphs [0008] and [0072]),
He fails to explicitly teach, via a first RACH occasion within an uplink subband of an SBFD time interval, wherein the partition for SBFD operation indicates the first RACH occasion.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches,
via a first RACH occasion within an uplink subband of an SBFD time interval (Zhang: Specifically for UL, the signals transmitted in the initial UL BWP during the random access procedure may include: Msg1, which is transmitted in a configured RACH occasion (RO) in the initial UL BWP; In some embodiments, the second initial UL BWP may be applicable to DL symbols or flexible symbols configured with the UL subband and may be also applicable to a UL slot. Hereafter these symbols are named as SBFD symbols, see Paragraphs [0052] and [0063]. [Examiner contends that a SBFD symbol is a SBFD time interval]), wherein the partition for SBFD operation indicates the first RACH occasion (Zhang: Early identification of SBFD aware UEs could be through configuration of separate physical random access channel (PRACH) resources for the UEs. The separate PRACH resources could be separate ROs and/or separate preambles, see Paragraph [0073]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to
modify the method of He to include the teachings of Zhang as above, in order to support
reducing transmission latency due to bidirectional transmission simultaneously (Zhang: [0003]).
Regarding Claim 17, He teaches The apparatus of claim 16, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the apparatus to transmit the one or more repetitions, are configured to cause the apparatus to:
transmit a second repetition, of the multiple repetitions (He: The one or more processors may be configured to transmit, to the base station, a preamble on PRACH resources associated with the RACH partition to initiate a RACH procedure supporting the combination of one or more RACH features associated with the RACH partition; the base station may provide one or more random access configurations to support RACH features such as ... enhanced coverage in wireless environments with poor network conditions (e.g., using multiple msg3 repetitions), see Paragraphs [0008] and [0072]),
He fails to explicitly teach, via a second RACH occasion within an uplink time interval, wherein the partition for SBFD operation indicates the second RACH occasion.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches,
via a second RACH occasion within an uplink time interval (Zhang: Specifically for UL, the signals transmitted in the initial UL BWP during the random access procedure may include: Msg1, which is transmitted in a configured RACH occasion (RO) in the initial UL BWP; For SBFD, since the UL subband is configured in the SIB, there is a chance to use the UL subband to transmit UL messages involved in the random access procedure, see Paragraphs [0052] and [0053]), wherein the partition for SBFD operation indicates the second RACH occasion (Zhang: Early identification of SBFD aware UEs could be through configuration of separate physical random access channel (PRACH) resources for the UEs. The separate PRACH resources could be separate ROs and/or separate preambles, see Paragraph [0073]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to
modify the method of He to include the teachings of Zhang as above, in order to support
reducing transmission latency due to bidirectional transmission simultaneously (Zhang: [0003]).
Regarding Claim 19, He-Zhang discloses the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
He further teaches,
the apparatus is a non-RedCap type of apparatus (He: For example, the UE 120 may be a non-RedCap UE, see Paragraph [0085]); and
the one or more RACH resources are indicated by a second partition (He: the base station 110 may configure a first RACH partition to support a combination ... and to support a second RACH partition for a combination ... In general, each RACH partition may be associated with one or more RACH features that are compatible with one another, see Fig. 5A and Paragraphs [0077]).
Zhang further teaches,
the partition for SBFD operation includes a first partition for SBFD operation of a reduced capability (RedCap) type of apparatus (Zhang: The signaling FeatureCombination has included RedCap/small data/nsag/msg3-repetition as the features that could be configured with separate PRACH resources, as shown in below. To reuse this signaling, it is proposed to introduce SBFD aware UEs as a new feature in this signaling, see Paragraph [0073]), and the second partition for SBFD operation of a non-RedCap type of apparatus (Zhang: The signaling FeatureCombination has included RedCap/small data/nsag/msg3-repetition as the features that could be configured with separate PRACH resources, as shown in below. To reuse this signaling, it is proposed to introduce SBFD aware UEs as a new feature in this signaling, see Paragraph [0073]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to
modify the method of He to include the teachings of Zhang as above, in order to support
reducing transmission latency due to bidirectional transmission simultaneously (Zhang: [0003]).
Regarding Claim 20, He teaches A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving, from a network node, a random access configuration (He: the base station 110 may transmit, and the UE 120 may receive, random access configuration information, see Fig. 5A and Paragraph [0076]) including at least one partition of random access channel (RACH) resources (He: the base station 110 may transmit, and the UE 120 may receive, random access configuration information that indicates multiple RACH partitions that are each associated with a combination of one or more RACH features configured by the base station 110 and PRACH resources associated with the configured combinations of RACH features, see Fig. 5A and Paragraph [0076]), and
transmitting, in accordance with the random access configuration, one or more repetitions of multiple repetitions of a random access message (He: the UE (e.g., using communication manager 140 and/or transmission component 804, depicted in FIG. 8) may transmit, to the base station, a preamble on PRACH resources associated with the RACH partition to initiate a RACH procedure supporting the combination of one or more RACH features associated with the RACH partition, see Fig. 6 and Paragraph [0099])
He fails to explicitly teach, wherein the at least one partition includes a partition for subband full duplex (SBFD) operation, and
wherein the partition for SBFD operation is associated with repetitions;
using one or more RACH resources as indicated by the partition for SBFD operation.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches,
wherein the at least one partition includes a partition for subband full duplex (SBFD) operation (Zhang: The signaling FeatureCombination has included RedCap/small data/nsag/msg3-repetition as the features that could be configured with separate PRACH resources, as shown in below. To reuse this signaling, it is proposed to introduce SBFD aware UEs as a new feature in this signaling, see Paragraph [0073]), and
wherein the partition for SBFD operation is associated with repetitions (Zhang: The signaling FeatureCombination has included RedCap/small data/nsag/msg3-repetition as the features that could be configured with separate PRACH resources, as shown in below. To reuse this signaling, it is proposed to introduce SBFD aware UEs as a new feature in this signaling. For example, a spare information element in the signaling is used to indicate whether separate PRACH resources should be configured for SBFD-aware UEs or for SBFD-aware UEs combined with other features, e.g., SBFD aware UEs combined with msg3-repetition, see Paragraph [0073]);
using one or more RACH resources as indicated by the partition for SBFD operation (Zhang: The signaling FeatureCombination has included RedCap/small data/nsag/msg3-repetition as the features that could be configured with separate PRACH resources, as shown in below. To reuse this signaling, it is proposed to introduce SBFD aware UEs as a new feature in this signaling, see Paragraph [0073]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to
modify the method of He to include the teachings of Zhang as above, in order to support
reducing transmission latency due to bidirectional transmission simultaneously (Zhang: [0003]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He-Zhang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of PARK (US 20230007702 A1, hereinafter "Park").
Regarding Claim 18, He-Zhang teaches The apparatus of claim 1, wherein;
the partition for SBFD operation is associated with a quantity of the multiple repetitions (Zhang: The signaling FeatureCombination has included RedCap/small data/nsag/msg3-repetition as the features that could be configured with separate PRACH resources, as shown in below. To reuse this signaling, it is proposed to introduce SBFD aware UEs as a new feature in this signaling, see Paragraph [0073]);
the partition for SBFD operation indicates a set of RACH occasions (Zhang: Early identification of SBFD aware UEs could be through configuration of separate physical random access channel (PRACH) resources for the UEs. The separate PRACH resources could be separate ROs and/or separate preambles, see Paragraph [0073]) and
at least one RACH occasion, of the set of RACH occasions, occurs during an SBFD time interval (Zhang: Then there may be three cases regarding the PRACH resources for SBFD aware UEs … Especially for cases of configuring separate ROs (i.e., case 2 and case 3), some ROs might be located in the SBFD symbols and within the UL subband; In some embodiments, the second initial UL BWP may be applicable to DL symbols or flexible symbols configured with the UL subband and may be also applicable to a UL slot. Hereafter these symbols are named as SBFD symbols, see Paragraphs [0074]-[0075] and [0063]. [Examiner contends that a SBFD symbol is a SBFD time interval]).
He fails to explicitly teach, and a preamble index range;
However, in the same field of endeavor, Park teaches,
and a preamble index range (Park: The UE may determine a repetition level based on its capability, and may select a single preamble from a single preamble group corresponding to the determined repetition level (or in the range of preamble indices usable in the single preamble group). The selected preamble may be repeatedly transmitted based on the repetition level, see Paragraph [0253]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to
modify the method of He-Zhang to include the teachings of Park as above, in order to minimize the deterioration in performance due to a decrease in UE complexity (Park: [0119]).
Conclusion
/A.Y./Examiner, Art Unit 2416
/NOEL R BEHARRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2416