Detailed Action
This is in response to the non-provisional application filed 10/21/2025
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13, 15, 16, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2013172970 (Gupta) in view of U.S. Patent Publication Number 2009/0018565 (To et al.)
Regarding claim 1, 6, 11 Gupta discloses as shown in Figures 1, 5A, 6, 7a, 7b an atherectomy catheter capable of use in a vessel comprising: a catheter body a fixed jog section (fixed jog 333, see paragraph [00061]) having a fixed curvature; a nosecone (nosecone 305, see paragraph [00061]) attached to a distal end of the catheter body and; and a driveshaft (drive shaft 113, see paragraph [0044]) configured to rotate within the catheter body and to move distally and proximally within the catheter body, wherein a distal end of the driveshaft includes an annular cutter, a flexible section (flexible section, see paragraph [0063]) having a greater flexibility than a remainder of the catheter body, a cutting window (cutting window 307, see paragraph [00061]); and an annular cutter (cutter 303, see paragraph [00061]) configured to rotate with respect to the catheter body and positioned within the cutting window, wherein the nosecone is configured to pivot with respect to the catheter body.
Gupta fails to disclose the flexible section includes circumferential slits that are configured to allow the flexible section to passively bend in multiple directions.
To et al., from the same field of endeavor teaches a similar catheter and method as shown in Figure 8A where a flexible section includes a plurality of circumferential slits (openings 252, see paragraph [0217]) that allow the flexible section to passively bend in multiple directions (bend in at least one direction and then return to the same position which would necessarily be two directions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the catheter disclosed by Gupta by substituting the flexible section disclosed by Gupta for the one disclosed by To et al. because it would only require the simple substitution of one known alternative for another to produce nothing but predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82, USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regrading claim 2, Gupta in view of To et al. fail to disclose the circumferential slits are arranged in rows in a circumferentially offset pattern.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify device disclosed by Gupta in view of To et al. by rearranging the location of the circumferential slits disclosed by Gupta in view of To et al. such that the circumferential slits are arranged in rows in a circumferentially offset pattern because it would only require a rearrangement of parts without changing how the device operates (slits would still allow the jog to bend). See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950)
Regarding claim 3, Gupta is discloses wherein the fixed jog is adjacent (interpreted as not distant or nearby which is its plain and ordinary meaning according to webster’s dictionary and not inconsistent with the specification) to the flexible section. See paragraph [0063].
Regarding claim 4, Gupta fail to disclose wherein the fixed jog section includes a second set of circumferential slits.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Gupta in view of To el. by including a second set of circumferential slit because it would only require the duplication of parts without producing a new or unexpected result. See In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)
Regarding claim 5, Gupta discloses the jog section includes a longitudinal spine (stiffening member 777a, see paragraph [00067]).
Regarding claim 7, Gupta discloses wherein the fixed jog section form an angle ranging from 120degrees to 175 degrees in the catheter body. See paragraph [0063].
Regarding claim 8, Gupta in view of To et al. discloses an annular spine (generally indicated as A) between the fixed jog section and the flexible section.
Regarding claims 9, 10, Gupta discloses wherein the fixed jog section has an s-shape, wherein the fixed jog section has a c-shape (half of an S is a c-shape). See paragraph [0062].
Regarding claim 12 Gupta fails to disclose wherein the fixed jog section is proximal to the flexible section.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Gupta by rearranging the location of the flexible section such that the fixed jog section is proximal to the flexible section because it would only require a rearrangement of parts without changing how the device operates (catheter body would still bend). See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950)
Regarding claim 13, Gupta discloses wherein the fixed jog section is distal to the flexible section. See paragraph [0063].
Regarding claims 15, 18 Gupta discloses as shown in Figures 1, 5A, 6 a method of performing atherectomy comprising: inserting an atherectomy catheter into a vessel, the atherectomy catheter including a catheter body having a fixed jog section having a fixed curvature (cutter section 335, see paragraph [00062]), a flexible section (flexible section, see paragraph [0063]) having a greater flexibility than the fixed job section, a nosecone (nosecone 305, see paragraph [00061]) attached to a distal end of the catheter body, a driveshaft (drive shaft 113, see paragraph [0044]) configured to rotate within the catheter body and to move distally and proximally within the catheter body, wherein a distal end of the driveshaft includes an annular cutter and an annular cutter (cutter 303, see paragraph [00061]) within a window of the nosecone; positioning the catheter body within the vessel such that the curved portion urges the annular cutter against a wall of the vessel; and rotating the annular cutter against the wall of the vessel. See paragraph [00061].
Gupta fails to disclose the flexible section includes circumferential slits that are configured to allow the flexible section to passively bend in multiple directions.
To et al., from the same field of endeavor teaches a similar catheter and method as shown in Figure 8A where a flexible section includes a plurality of circumferential slits (openings 252, see paragraph [0217]) that allow the flexible section to passively bend.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the catheter disclosed by Gupta by substituting the flexible section disclosed by Gupta for the one disclosed by To et al. because it would only require the simple substitution of one known alternative for another to produce nothing but predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82, USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 16, Gupta discloses comprising moving the annular cutter distally to pack tissue into the nosecone. See paragraph [00046].
Regarding claim 19, Gupta discloses wherein the fixed jog section form an angle ranging from 120degrees to 175 degrees in the catheter body. See paragraph [0063].
Regarding claim 20, Gupta is discloses wherein the fixed jog is adjacent (interpreted as not distant or nearby which is its plain and ordinary meaning according to webster’s dictionary and not inconsistent with the specification) to the flexible section. See paragraph [0063].
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2013172970 (Gupta) in view of U.S. Patent Publication Number 2009/0018565 (To et al.) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication Number 2006/0229646 (Sparks)
Regarding claim 14, Gupta fails to disclose wherein the fixed jog section and the flexible section are laminated in a polymer.
Sparks, from the same field of endeavor taches a similar catheter as shown in Figure 1, where sections of the catheter are laminated in a polymer. See paragraph [0040].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the catheter disclosed by Gupta by substituting the material of the fixed jog section and the flexible section for the sections of the catheter laminated in a polymer taught by Sparks because it would only require a simple substitution of one known alternative for another to produce nothing but predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82, USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2013172970 (Gupta) in view of U.S. Patent Publication Number 2004/0167553 (Simpson et al.)
Regarding claim 17, Gupta fails to disclose removing the catheter body from the vessel with tissue packed within the nosecone.
Simpson et al., from the same field of endeavor teaches a similar method of performing atherectomy as shown in Figure 1, which includes the step of removing the catheter body from the vessel with tissue packed within the nosecone in order to empty the catheter when it is full. See paragraph [0109].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify method disclosed by Gupta to include the step of removing the catheter body from the vessel with tissue packed within the nosecone.
Conclusion
If there are any inquiries that are not being addressed by first contacting the Examiner or the Supervisor, you may send an email inquiry to TC3700_Workgroup_D_Inquiries@uspto.gov.
/RICHARD G LOUIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771