DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the Application filed on 10/21/2024
Claims 1-20 are pending in this action. Claims 1, 19, and 20 are independent.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: “public land mobile network network name, an elementary file public land mobile network network name icon” has the repeated word ‘network’. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 14, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Inlow et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20110086625, published on 2011-04-14 (hereinafter Inlow).
As for independent claim 1, Inlow discloses a system and method comprising: providing, by a processing system including at least one processor, a user interface accessible by a user of a subscriber account associated with one or more services of a wireless network operator
(Inlow discloses a subscriber (a user of a subscriber account associated with services on a network) being provided an interface, “The present invention provides several means for a subscriber of services on a network”, [0007], “The custom alpha tag (or operator name) is selected or defined by the subscriber via an interface on a communications device, and a custom operator name request is submitted to a provisioning logic on the network.” [0016])
receiving, by the processing system via the user interface, an input from the user indicating a change to an alpha tag displayed on a user endpoint device associated with the subscriber account
(Inlow discloses a change to an alpha tag, displayed on a device, being submitted via the interface, “The custom alpha tag (or operator name) is selected or defined by the subscriber via an interface on a communications device, and a custom operator name request is submitted to a provisioning logic on the network.” [0016], “FIG. 1 shows a system 100 for displaying a custom alpha tag, according to an exemplary embodiment of the present invention. System 100 includes a communication device” [0021])
sending, by the processing system, a file update to a subscriber identity module of the user endpoint device, where the file update causes an alpha tag displayed on the user endpoint device to be updated in a manner consistent with the change.
(Inlow discloses a business rules logic being send, by a processing system (called the provisioning logic), a file (called a request) to customize the alpha tag which is then displayed on the device, “Business rules logic 123 receives requests to customize a subscriber account via provisioning logic 121, and processes the requests by retrieving information from and/or updating subscriber accounts 132 and 142. Business rules logic 123 may further be in communication with a rule database configured by an operator of the network. Programming logic 125 is configured to program new services or to remove unwanted services by directly modifying information stored on a memory on device 101. In this embodiment, programming logic 125 modifies device 101 to display a custom alpha tag 110 as described herein.” [0023])
As for claim 2, the limitations of the parent claim 1 have been discussed. Inlow discloses a system and method wherein the user interface is presented through at least one of: a mobile application or a web portal.
(Inlow discloses the interface being presented through an application of the device or a web-based application, “Provisioning logic may be part of an application server within the OTA platform. In such a case, a subscriber would use an application on device 101 or a web-based application to customize their account services. In this embodiment, provisioning logic 121 provides an interface for a subscriber to customize the alpha tag 110 displayed on screen 103.” [0022])
As for claim 3, the limitations of the parent claim 1 have been discussed. Inlow discloses a system and method wherein the change to the alpha tag comprise at least one of: a modification of a default alpha tag or a replacement of the default alpha tag.
(Inlow discloses customizing (equivalent to modifying) an alpha tag already displayed on the device (as such it is the default), “In this embodiment, provisioning logic 121 provides an interface for a subscriber to customize the alpha tag 110 displayed on screen 103.”)
As for claim 4, the limitations of the parent claim 3 have been discussed. Inlow discloses a system and method wherein the default alpha tag identifies the wireless network operator.
(Inlow discloses and alpha tag which displays the operator name of a wireless network, “At present, a mobile communication device displays an operator name, also known as an "alpha tag" on its home screen when it is connected to a particular network.” [0005])
As for claim 5, the limitations of the parent claim 1 have been discussed. Inlow discloses a system and method wherein the alpha tag comprises a sequence of at least one of: alphanumeric characters or images.
(Inlow discloses the alpha tag is an alphanumeric string, “The present invention also provides for an approval logic that compares the alphanumeric string or custom alpha tag” [0028]; “Thus the Operator Name can include alpha tags, PLMN Network Names (PNN), or any equivalent alphanumeric string to be displayed on screen 303.”, [0032]; “The custom alpha tag (or operator name) is selected or defined by the subscriber”, [0007])
As for claim 6, the limitations of the parent claim 1 have been discussed. Inlow discloses a system and method wherein the change to the alpha tag comprises a new alpha tag that is formulated by the user.
(Inlow discloses the user having the option to generate a custom name, “A user of the device may be provided with plurality of predefined operator names to choose from, and an option to generate the custom operator name.” [0008])
As for claim 7, the limitations of the parent claim 1 have been discussed. Inlow discloses a system and method wherein the change to the alpha tag comprises a selection made by the user, where the selection chooses one of a plurality of predefined alpha tags that are provided by the wireless network operator.
(Inlow discloses the user having the option to choose from a list of predefined names, “A user of the device may be provided with plurality of predefined operator names to choose from, and an option to generate the custom operator name.” [0008]; “The custom alpha tag (or operator name) is selected or defined by the subscriber”, [0007])
As for claim 8, the limitations of the parent claim 1 have been discussed. Inlow discloses a system and method wherein the input from the user further comprises an identification of the user endpoint device as a user endpoint device on which the alpha tag, as modified according to the change, is to be displayed.
(Inlow discloses the request to change the alpha tag from the device including a unique ID, “The custom operator name request is forwarded by provisioning logic 121 to invoke rules (S251) via business rule logic 123, which parses the custom operator name request and retrieves records for the subscriber from billing system 240 and account management system 230 using the unique ID in the request.” [0027])
As for claim 14, the limitations of the parent claim 1 have been discussed. Inlow discloses a system and method wherein the file update is sent via a subscriber identity module over-the-air mechanism.
(Inlow discloses using smart cards which could be a SIM card, being used in an over-the-air platform used to send the requests, “’Smart card’, as used herein and throughout this disclosure, refers to a card with integrated circuits and including a memory and a processor and may be read by an electronic device. Smart cards are similar to memory cards in that they have a memory and can be read by electronic devices. However, smart cards differ in that they include a processor. Smart cards are often equipped with logic to require authentication before revealing the contents of its memory. Examples of smart cards include Integrated Circuit Cards (ICC), Universal ICCs (UICC), Subscriber Identity Module (SIM) cards, etc., and combinations thereof.” [0019], “FIG. 1 shows a system 100 for displaying a custom alpha tag, according to an exemplary embodiment of the present invention. System 100 includes a communication device 101, which can communicate with a plurality of logic units, such as provisioning logic 121, business rules logic 123, and programming logic 125, over a network. Logic units 121, 123, and 125 may be part of an over-the-air (OTA) platform. System 100 further includes an account management system 130 which includes a first subscriber account 132, and a billing system 140 which includes billing logic in communication with a second subscriber account 142.” [0021])
As for independent claim 19, claim 19 is directed to a system for implementing the method of claim 1 and is rejected alongside the same rationale. As for the additional limitations, Inlow discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by a processing system including at least one processor
(Inlow paragraph [0017 discloses a processor with software, “Examples of processors are computer processors (processing units), microprocessors, digital signal processors, controllers and microcontrollers, etc. Logic may be formed from signals stored in a device memory. Software is one example of such logic. Examples of device memories that may comprise logic include RAM (random access memory), flash memories, ROMS (read-only memories), EPROMS (erasable programmable read-only memories), and EEPROMS (electrically erasable programmable read-only memories). Logic may also be comprised by digital and/or analog hardware circuits, for example, hardware circuits comprising logical AND, OR, XOR, NAND, NOR, and other logical operations. Logic may be formed from combinations of software and hardware. On a network, logic may be programmed on a server, or a complex of servers. A particular logic unit is not limited to a single logical location on the network.”)
As for independent claim 20, claim 20 is directed to a system for implementing the method of claim 1 and is rejected alongside the same rationale. As for the additional limitations, Inlow discloses a system comprising: a processing system including at least one processor; and a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions
(Inlow paragraph [0017 discloses a processor with software, “Examples of processors are computer processors (processing units), microprocessors, digital signal processors, controllers and microcontrollers, etc. Logic may be formed from signals stored in a device memory. Software is one example of such logic. Examples of device memories that may comprise logic include RAM (random access memory), flash memories, ROMS (read-only memories), EPROMS (erasable programmable read-only memories), and EEPROMS (electrically erasable programmable read-only memories). Logic may also be comprised by digital and/or analog hardware circuits, for example, hardware circuits comprising logical AND, OR, XOR, NAND, NOR, and other logical operations. Logic may be formed from combinations of software and hardware. On a network, logic may be programmed on a server, or a complex of servers. A particular logic unit is not limited to a single logical location on the network.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inlow in view of Inlow.
As for claim 9, the limitations of the parent claim 8 have been discussed. In another embodiment, Inlow discloses a system and method wherein the user endpoint device is one of a plurality of user endpoint devices on which the alpha tag, as modified according to the change, is to be displayed, and all user endpoint devices of the plurality of user endpoint devices are associated with the subscriber account.
(Inlow discloses the change in alpha tag being displayed on multiple devices being associated with the subscriber, “The method for customizing a network operator name in system 400 is similar to that described in the exemplary embodiment of FIG. 2; however, the main difference is that a user of device 401 requests a custom alpha tag to be displayed on one or more devices 402 associated with the subscriber.” [0035])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the network information manager of the second embodiment of Inlow, adding the ability to change the alpha tag for multiple devices, to the first embodiment of Inlow, in order for the system to work in a broader range of situations.
As for claim 10, the limitations of the parent claim 9 have been discussed. In another embodiment Inlow discloses a system and method wherein the subscriber account is one of: an individual account, a family account, or an enterprise account.
(Inlow discloses the subscriber being associated with an enterprise or personal account, “This system is useful for an owner of several devices such as a corporation that provides devices 402 to several employees, but would still like to be able to provisioning services using personal computer 401.” [0035])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the network information manager of the second embodiment of Inlow, adding the ability to change the alpha tag for multiple devices, to the first embodiment of Inlow, in order for the system to work in a broader range of situations.
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inlow in view of Manalo et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20140342732, published on 2014-11-20 (hereinafter Manalo).
As for claim 11, the limitations of the parent claim 1 have been discussed. Manalo discloses a system and method wherein the file update comprises an update on the subscriber identity module to at least one file of: an elementary file public land mobile network network name, an elementary file public land mobile network network name icon, an elementary file image, or an elementary file image instance data file.
(Manalo discloses updating network information on mobile equipment using elementary file public network name, “there may be provided one or more of: the MCC is received via a user interface on the ME; the MCC is received by obtaining a destination country or city from a mobile boarding pass and determining an MCC corresponding to the destination country or city; obtaining LTE and/or UMTS band information associated with the received MCC and updating an MRU database in the ME with the LTE and/or UMTS band information; the one or more elementary files comprise EF_LOCI; the one or more elementary files comprise EF_EPSLOCI; EF_LOCI and EF_EPSLOCI are updated by overwriting PLMN ID content of EF_LOCI and EF_EPSLOCI with the selected highest priority PLMN ID, while keeping existing bytes intact and last byte set to "updated" is setting the last byte to 00; the PLMN list is the EF_OPLMNwAcT file or a file stored in the memory of the ME or Application installed on the ME; REFRESH--File Change Notification including the one or more elementary files in the REFRESH File List, is sent from a UICC to the ME, once updating the one or more elementary files is completed” [0011])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the network information manager of Manalo, adding the usage of elementary files, to the network information manager of Inlow in order to make the system more efficient by using standardize information formats.
As for claim 12, the limitations of the parent claim 11 have been discussed. Manalo discloses a system and method wherein the file update further comprises an update on the subscriber identity module to at least one file of: an elementary file operator public land mobile network list or an elementary file fifth generation operator public land mobile network list.
(Manalo discloses updating network information on mobile equipment using elementary file operator public network name list on the UICC (equivalent to a SIM) on the ME, “there may be provided one or more of: the MCC is received via a user interface on the ME; the MCC is received by obtaining a destination country or city from a mobile boarding pass and determining an MCC corresponding to the destination country or city; obtaining LTE and/or UMTS band information associated with the received MCC and updating an MRU database in the ME with the LTE and/or UMTS band information; the one or more elementary files comprise EF_LOCI; the one or more elementary files comprise EF_EPSLOCI; EF_LOCI and EF_EPSLOCI are updated by overwriting PLMN ID content of EF_LOCI and EF_EPSLOCI with the selected highest priority PLMN ID, while keeping existing bytes intact and last byte set to "updated" is setting the last byte to 00; the PLMN list is the EF_OPLMNwAcT file or a file stored in the memory of the ME or Application installed on the ME; REFRESH--File Change Notification including the one or more elementary files in the REFRESH File List, is sent from a UICC to the ME, once updating the one or more elementary files is completed” [0011])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the network information manager of Manalo, adding the usage of elementary files, to the network information manager of Inlow in order to make the system more efficient by using standardize information formats.
As for claim 13, the limitations of the parent claim 11 have been discussed. Manalo discloses a system and method wherein the file update further comprises a refresh command that causes the user endpoint device to re-read the at least one file updated by the file update in an internal memory.
(Manalo discloses the ME being sent a command which causes it to reread the files stored on the SIM, “Once the cellular radio is turned on, a reset signal comprising of either Activation and Warm Reset or Activation and Cold Reset as per ISO/IEC 7816-3, is sent from the ME to the UICC as indicated in Step 60. This causes the ME to re-read all EFs in the UICC including the values updated in EF_LOCI and EF_EPSLOCI as per Step 28 in FIG.” [0064])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the network information manager of Manalo, adding the usage of a refresh command, to the network information manager of Inlow in order to make the system more robust allowing for more option for data validation.
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inlow in view of Raleigh, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20100192212, published on 2010-07-29 (hereinafter Raleigh).
As for claim 15, the limitations of the parent claim 1 have been discussed. Inlow discloses a system and method comprising determining, by the processing system prior to the sending, that the change does not conform to a policy of the wireless network operator
(Inlow discloses an approval logic system which applies rules (equivalent to a policy) to the custom alpha tag, “The present invention also provides for an approval logic that compares the alphanumeric string or custom alpha tag to a set of rules defined by either the network operator or a subscriber associated with the account. These rules may be applied in addition to business rules and billing rules, and may be customized to meet the needs of the operator or subscriber. For instance, approval logic may deny a custom operator name request that is obscene, or that conflicts with an existing business rule.” [0028])
Inlow does not appear to disclose sending, by the processing system via the user interface, an instruction to the user to modify the change.
However, Raleigh discloses a system and method comprising sending, by the processing system via the user interface, an instruction to the user to modify the change.
(Raleigh discloses upon determining if there is an input error, it displays the error to the user and returns to the information input step, “ At 4410, the service processor determines whether there is an integrity error. If so, then the service processor performs integrity error handling at 4412. Otherwise, the service processor determines whether there has been a selection input error at 4414. If so, the service processor displays the selection input error to the user at 4416 and returns to the activation site/portal at 4404.” [0377])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the network information manager of Raleigh, adding an error message and re input step, to the network information manager of Inlow in order to make the system more robust allowing for more option for data validation.
As for claim 16, the limitations of the parent claim 15 have been discussed. Raleigh discloses a system and method wherein the instruction identifies a reason as to why the change does not conform to the policy of the wireless network operator.
(Raleigh discloses upon determining if there is an input error, it displays the error (equivalent to the reason the change does not conform to the policy) to the user and returns to the information input step, “ At 4410, the service processor determines whether there is an integrity error. If so, then the service processor performs integrity error handling at 4412. Otherwise, the service processor determines whether there has been a selection input error at 4414. If so, the service processor displays the selection input error to the user at 4416 and returns to the activation site/portal at 4404.” [0377])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the network information manager of Raleigh, adding an error message and re input step, to the network information manager of Inlow in order to make the system more robust allowing for more option for data validation.
As for claim 17, the limitations of the parent claim 15 have been discussed. Inlow discloses a system and method wherein the policy comprises at least one of: a restriction on a number of characters contained in the alpha tag, a nature of content contained in the alpha tag, or a restriction on a number of times that the user is allowed to change the alpha tag within a defined window of time.
(Inlow discloses denying a request if it is obscene according to a network rule (which is equivalent to a rule based on the nature of the content), “The present invention also provides for an approval logic that compares the alphanumeric string or custom alpha tag to a set of rules defined by either the network operator or a subscriber associated with the account. These rules may be applied in addition to business rules and billing rules, and may be customized to meet the needs of the operator or subscriber. For instance, approval logic may deny a custom operator name request that is obscene, or that conflicts with an existing business rule.” [0028])
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inlow in view of Raleigh in further view of Chai et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20110075608, published on 2011-03-31 (hereinafter Chai).
As for claim 18, the limitations of the parent claim 15 have been discussed. Chai discloses a system and method wherein the policy comprises a restriction on changes to the alpha tag that the user endpoint device is incapable of supporting.
(Chai discloses a system that goes into a mode where it is incapable of supporting any change to the network selection of an ME, “In order to protect the network selection policy from unauthorized modification, a UserModiNSPolicy node is further designed in the data structure. The network side controls whether a user can modify network selection policies set at the network side through the node, and the control is specifically as follows. If a value of the node is True, the user can modify the network selection policies through a user interface of the ME. If the value of the node is False, the user is unable to modify the network selection policies.” [0157])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the network information manager of Chai, adding extra error handling, to the network information manager of Inlow and Raleigh in order to make the system more robust allowing for more option for data validation.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kataoka et al, U. S. Patent Publication No. 20020103859, discloses error detection on user input with a request to re input information in paragraph [0148]
Raleigh et al, U. S. Patent Publication No. 20130132854, discloses policy and tag control through user interface in paragraph [0480]
Conclusion
/JOHN CALEB LAWRENCE/Examiner, Art Unit 2646
/JEANETTE J PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2646