DETAILED ACTION
This a first action on the merits for this continuous application filed on 10/21/2024
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Batchelder et al. (US 5,679,228).
Batchelder et al. discloses a system (col.1, lines 10-16) to prevent the formation of incrustations, deposit in a sterile air exchanger in an aseptic packaging system (col.4, lines 10-16) for laminated carton-containing containers, and to remove the residual hydrogen peroxide used in aseptic laminated carton packaging systems (col.4, lines 10-16), comprising:
a supply of sterile air wash water (columns 21-22, Example 7) having the following properties:
a maximum conductivity at 20°C of 2.0 micromhos (columns 21-22, Example 7); and
a maximum silica content of 0.1 ppm (columns 21-22, Example 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batchelder et al. (US 5,679,228) in view of Sideris (WO 2014/041379).
Regarding claims 7 and 13; Batchelder et al. discloses a process (col.1, lines 10-16) to prevent the formation of incrustations, deposit in a sterile air exchanger in an aseptic packaging system (col.4, lines 10-16) for laminated carton-containing containers, and to remove the residual hydrogen peroxide used in aseptic laminated carton packaging systems (col.4, lines 10-16), wherein the process is a closed loop system (columns 21-22, Example 7), comprising:
a. providing a fresh sterile air wash water supply (columns 21-22, Example 7) that exhibits the following properties:
a maximum conductivity at 20°C of 2.0 micromhos (columns 21-22, Example 7);
a maximum content of Silica of 0.1 ppm (columns 21-22, Example 7);
b. feeding the sterile air wash water to a scrubber, for washing the sterile air;
C. collecting washing water having a content of hydrogen peroxide in a collection tank, at the outlet from an air-water separator coming from the scrubber of the air washing system;
d. transferring said water to a chiller or heat exchanger, to maintain the water temperature at a suitable value for the operation of the packaging machine;
e. contacting the water coming from the chiller or exchanger with a filter
medium activated carbon, green sand or mixtures thereof in any ratio for
the removal of hydrogen peroxide;
f. obtaining and collecting the fresh sterile air wash water in tank;
a. installing a tank for a sterile air wash water supply that exhibits the following properties:
a conductivity at 20°C of 2.0 micromhos maximum an amount of silica being 0.1 ppm maximum (columns 21-22, Example 7);
b. installing a sterile air wash water supply line to a scrubber, for sterile air wash;
C. installing a collection tank, to collect washing water with the presence of hydrogen peroxide at the outlet of an air-water separator coming from the scrubber, of an air washing system;
d. installing a line to transfer the water from tank to a chiller or heat exchanger;
e. installing a chiller or heat exchanger, at the outlet of the collection tank, to maintain the water temperature at a suitable value for the operation of the packaging machine;
f. installing a filter medium activated carbon, green sand or mixtures thereof, in any proportion, at the outlet of the chiller or heat exchanger, for the elimination of hydrogen peroxide; and
g. installing a sterile air wash water supply tank.
Batchelder et al. appears silent to disclose the use of a scrubber, a collection tank, a heat exchanger, a filter, and a supply tank.
Sideris discloses a solar water distiller (Fig.1) that includes a scrubber (Fig.1:3), a collection tank (Fig.1:1), a heat exchanger (Fig.1:7), a filter (Fig.1:8), and a supply tank (Fig.1:9) in order to convert salted or poor-quality water to purified high clarity water (page 1, numbered lines 3-4). The combined Batchelder et al. process meets the feeding, the collecting, the transferring, the contacting, and the installing steps. The claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to add the components of the solar water distiller of Sideris to Batchelder et al. process in order to convert salted or poor-quality water to purified high clarity water.
Regarding claim 2, Batchelder et al. appears silent to disclose the use of a hydrogen peroxide water discharge line, a collection tank, a heat exchanger, a filter, a storage tank, and a wash water sterile line.
Sideris discloses a solar water distiller (Fig.1) that includes a hydrogen peroxide water discharge line (Fig.1:2), a collection tank (Fig.1:1), a heat exchanger (Fig.1:7), a filter (Fig.1:8), a storage tank (Fig.1:9), and a wash water sterile line (Fig.1:6) in order to convert salted or poor-quality water to purified high clarity water (page 1, numbered lines 3-4). The claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to add the components of the solar water distiller of Sideris to Batchelder et al. process in order to convert salted or poor-quality water to purified high clarity water.
Regarding claim 3, Batchelder et al. discloses that the sterile air wash water (columns 21-22, Example 7) has a pH of 20°C between 5.0 to 7.0, a content of Suspended Solids of 0 ppm maximum.
Regarding claim 4, Batchelder et al. discloses that the sterile air wash water (columns 21-22, Example 7) is selected from demineralized water, deionized water, osmosed water, water obtained by distillation processes (distilled water, double-distilled water, tri-distilled water).
Regarding claim 5, Batchelder et al. discloses that the activated carbon (columns 21-22, Example 7) is selected from activated vegetable or mineral carbon.
Regarding claim 6, Batchelder et al. further discloses an ultraviolet light lamp, downstream the filter for the removal of traces of hydrogen peroxide (columns 21-22, Example 7) by an advanced oxidation process and sterilization of the sterile air wash water.
Regarding claim 8, Batchelder et al. discloses that the water used in the closed loop system (columns 21-22, Example 7) is selected from demineralized water, deionized water, osmosed water, water obtained by distillation processes (distilled water, bi-distilled water, tri-distilled water).
Regarding claim 9, Batchelder et al. discloses that the water (columns 21-22, Example 7) has the following properties: a maximum content of suspended Solids 0 ppm; and a pH 20°C from 5.0 to 7.0.
Regarding claim 10, Batchelder et al. discloses that the sterile water cooler is of the chiller type, plates heat exchanger (columns 21-22, Example 7), tube and shell heat exchanger or air heat exchanger.
Regarding claim 11, Batchelder et al. discloses that the activated carbon (columns 21-22, Example 7) is selected from green or green activated carbon. mineral.
Regarding claim 12, Batchelder et al. further discloses passing the wash water through an ultraviolet light lamp (columns 21-22, Example 7), for the removal of traces of hydrogen peroxide through an advanced oxidation process and sterilization of the sterile air wash water.
Regarding claim 14, Batchelder et al. discloses that the sterile water cooler is of the chiller type, plate heat exchanger (columns 21-22, Example 7), tube and shell heat exchanger or air heat exchanger.
Regarding claim 15, Batchelder et al. discloses that the activated carbon (columns 21-22, Example 7) is selected from vegetable or mineral activated carbon.
Regarding claim 16, Batchelder et al. discloses installing an ultraviolet light lamp (columns 21-22, Example 7), for the removal of traces of hydrogen peroxide through an advanced oxidation process. and sterilization of the sterile air wash water.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 and 7-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,582,734 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scopes of claims 1-2 and 7 of 18/921,980 have the same scopes as claims 1 and 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,582,734 B2, but are worded differently. The scopes of claims 8-12 of 18/921,980 have the same scopes as claims 5-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,582,734 B2, but are worded differently.
Conclusion
/MONZER R CHORBAJI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799