DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,2,3,4,5,7,10-12,14-17,19,20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aleksandrovskiy et al 7677892 in view of Reich et al 4213756 (newly cited).
With regard to claims 1 and 10, Aleksandrovskiy et al discloses a retrieval tip 19 (see fig. 1 and 2) configured to be inserted into a hole formed into an interior volume of a tooth, the retrieval tip 19 including: a first electrode 3 electrically connected to a first terminal of a charge storage device 29, a second electrode 4; connected to a second terminal of the charge storage device 29 and an insulator 18 disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode, wherein the insulator 18 is configured to inhibit a flow of electricity directly between the first electrode 3 and the second electrode 4 and when a distal end of the retrieval tip 19 is positioned in proximity to a conductive object disposed within the interior volume of the tooth, the electrical charge is discharged between the first electrode 3 and the second electrode 4 through the conductive object to cause the conductive object to be affixed to at least one of the first electrode 3 and the second electrode 4 by brazing (if a file being extracted is of a lower melting temperature than the electrodes 3/4…it is noted that Aleksandrovskiy et al discloses that the file to be extracted is “welded” to the electrodes, due to the fact that the electrodes are of a similar material to that of the file (and hence a similar melting point), which results in the electrodes and file being “welded”), therefore, it is clear that the system of Aleksandrovskiy et al will cause the conductive object (file) to be “brazed” if the conductive object (file) is of a different material having a lower melting point than the electrodes. See the discussion in column 8, lines 10-31, of Aleksandrovskiy et al. Note that the conductive object includes at least a portion of dental drill bit or a dental file (see col 2 lines 41 -57: the metal instrument disclosed could be used as a dental file).
With further regard to claim 1, note that a housing 13 is disclosed (see fig. 1) and is coupled to a power system by electrical wires 9 and 10. Note how electrodes 3 and 4 are connected to the power system via wires 9 and 10. Furthermore, note how the power system disclosed is configured to deliver an electrical signal of at least 6 volts (see col. 6, lines 26-30 which discloses that the voltage is less than 12 volts, which includes the claimed 6 volts), and at least 6 amps (see claim 3 of the reference, which discloses that the current may be 200 amps or less.
Aleksandrovskiy et al do not disclose the retrieval tip including a plug configured to removably engage with a socket disposed at a distal end of the housing.
Reich et al discloses a dental handpiece in which a tip includes a plug (see fig. 8) configured to removably engage with a socket disposed at a distal end of a housing (see fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to form the device of Alexandrovskiy et al such that the retrieval tip comprises a plug, and the housing comprises a socket at its distal end, in view of the teaching of Reich et al that a plug and socket configuration allows for removal of a tip portion.
With regard to claims 2 and 11, note that a width of the retrieval tip through the first electrode 3 and the second electrode 4 is less than 0.6 mm. See column 7, lines 32-34).
With regard to claim 12, note that the first electrode 3 includes copper and the second electrode includes copper or nickel titanium. See column 3, lines 65-67.
With regard to claim 14, Aleksandrovskiy et al teaches a method of retrieving a metal object 5 from an interior of a tooth wherein the metal object 5 is disposed with a channel formed into the tooth (see fig. 1) the method comprising: inserting a retrieval tip 19 into the channel (see column 5 Iine 55 to column 6, Iine 8), wherein the retrieval tip 19 includes: a first electrode 3 electrically connected to a first terminal of a charge storage device 29, a second electrode 4 connected to a second terminal of the charge storage device 29, and an insulator 18, wherein the insulator 18 is configured to inhibit a flow of electricity directly between the first electrode 3 and the second electrode 4 (see col. 7, lines 24-30); positioning a distal end of the retrieval tip 19 in proximity to the metal object 5 to cause an electrical charge stored by the charge storage device 29 to be discharged between the first electrode 3 and the second electrode 4 through the metal object 5 to form a weld coupling the metal object 5 to the first electrode 3 and/or the second electrode 4; and withdrawing the retrieval tip 19 and the metal object 5 from the channel.
Aleksandrovskiy et al do not disclose the retrieval tip including a plug configured to removably engage with a socket disposed at a distal end of the housing.
Reich et al discloses a dental handpiece in which a tip includes a plug (see fig. 8) configured to removably engage with a socket disposed at a distal end of a housing (see fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to form the device of Alexandrovskiy et al such that the retrieval tip comprises a plug, and the housing comprises a socket at its distal end, in view of the teaching of Reich et al that a plug and socket configuration allows for removal of a tip portion.
With regard to claim 15, note that a diameter of the first electrode 3 and the second electrode 4 is less than 0.6 mm (see col. 7, lines 32-34).
With regard to claim 16, Aleksandrovskiy teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the first electrode includes copper and the second electrode includes copper. See col. 4, lines 65-67).
With regard to claims 4 and 17, note that the first electrode 3 may include nickel titanium, in the form of a Ni-Ti alloy base of the electrode; and the second electrode may include copper in the form of copper galvanization layer of the electrode. See column 8, Iines 21-46.
With regard to claims 5 and 19, note that the metal object 5 includes at least a portion of dental drill bit or a dental file. The metal object 5 is disclosed as a metal instrument tool fragment, which is considered to be a “dental file”. See col. 2, lines 41-57.
With regard to claim 7, note that the insulator includes air. This is inherent, as there is clearly a gap between electrodes 3 and 4. See figs. 1 and 2.
With regard to claim 20, note that the first electrode 3 may include nickel titanium, in the form of a Ni-Ti alloy base of the electrode; and the second electrode may include nickel titanium, in the form of a Ni-Ti alloy base of the electrode. See column 8, Iines 21-46.
With regard to claim 3, Aleksandrovskiy et al/Reich et al discloses the electrical signal to be a pulse width modulated signal (see col. 9, lines 53-56 of Aleksandrovskiy et al). However, the reference does not disclose a frequency in a range of 100 Hertz to 200 Hertz, nor a duration of at least 1.5 seconds.
However, it appears that one skilled in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in selecting a frequency and pulse width that fall within the claimed ranges, as it only involves adjusting frequency/pulse width in order to achieve a specific level of stability when heating the metal. See col. 9, lines 57-60. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide the electrical signal of Aleksandrovskiy et al/Reich et al to be a pulse width modulated signal with a frequency in a range of 100 Hertz to 200 Hertz and a duration of at least 1.5 seconds as a matter of routine optimization, since it has been held that "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA1955).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aleksandrovskiy et al 7677892 in view of Reich et al 4213756 and further in view of Goto 6960260.
With regard to claim 6, Aleksandrovskiy et al/Reich et al does not disclose the insulator to include a varnish material.
Goto teaches a device comprising an insulator includes a varnish material (insulating layer P of varnish W, see fig. 1 and 2 as well as column 4, lines 47-56).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to include a varnish as an insulator with the device of Aleksandrovskiy et al/Reich et al, in view of the teaching of Goto that a varnish can be used as an insulator.
Claims 8,9,13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aleksandrovskiy et al 7677892 in view of Reich et al 4213756 and further in view of Edwards 5187343.
With regard to claims 8,9,13, Aleksandrovskiy et al/Reich et al does not disclose that the retrieval tip includes a hose configured to deliver a shielding gas into the interior volume of the tooth.
Edwards teaches a welding device that includes a hose 14 (see fig. 1) configured to deliver a shielding gas of Argon (see col. 3, lines 30-41).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to include a hose that provides a shielding gas of Argon with the device of Aleksandrovskiy et al/Reich et al, if one wished to isolate the welding process of Aleksandrovskiy et al/Reich et al.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aleksandrovskiy et al 7677892 in view of Reich et al 4213756 and further in view of Feine 20040063064.
With regard to claim 18, Aleksandrovskiy et al/Reich et al discloses the charge storage device comprising a capacitor 29 (fig. 5) but does not disclose that the charge storage device includes a plurality of capacitors coupled in parallel between a positive terminal of a power source and a negative terminal of the power source.
Feine teaches a dental device comprising a plurality of capacitors 34 (fig. 1) coupled in parallel between a positive terminal of a power source and a negative terminal of the power source.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to utilize a plurality of capacitors with the charging system of Alexsandrovskiy et al/Reich et al, as taught by Feine, if one wished to increase the charging capacity of the charging system of Aleksandrovskiy et al/Reich et al.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended language presented in claims 1 and 14 have been considered but are moot in view of the newly presented grounds of rejection.
Applicant also presents arguments regarding the recited limitation of “brazing” as recited in instant claim 1. These arguments are not found persuasive. The system of Aleksandrovskiy et al is clearly capable of “brazing” the file/instrument to be removed, if the file/instrument happens to be of a material with a lower melting point than the electrodes utilized by Aleksandrovskiy et al. See above modified rejection of claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS D LUCCHESI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772