DETAILED ACTION
Applicant amended claims 6-7, 9, 11-13, 15, 17-19, 22, 24-25, and 27, and cancelled claims 8, 10, 16, 20-21, 26, and 28 in the preliminary amendment dated 10/21/2024.
Claims 1-7, 9, 11-15, 17-19, 22, 24-25, and 27 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/22/2024 and 5/20/2025 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9, 11-15, 17-19, 22, 24-25, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ravinathan (US 2021/0406871 A1) in view of Komiyama (US 2022/0172180 A1).
With regards to Claim 1, Ravinathan teaches a method implemented in a device comprising circuitry, including a transmitter, a receiver and a processor (i.e., processing server 102, Paragraphs 41-42; Figure 3), the method comprising any of: receiving a request to send a message including a message (i.e., receiving block chain address from an exchange server that results in the processing server submitting a blockchain transaction, Figure 3b; Steps 324-326; Paragraph 56) and information indicating a source of the message, a destination of the message and a distributed ledger system (i.e., transaction message from the data request comprises source, destination and a blockchain transaction, Paragraphs 56-57); determining a first node associated with a distributed ledger system based, at least in part, the information indicating the distributed ledger system and the information indicating the destination; generating a transaction for the message (i.e., processing a blockchain transaction based upon the received information and a verification process, Figure 3B, steps 326-328; Paragraphs 35-36).
However, Ravinathan does not explicitly disclose sending the transaction to a second node of the distributed ledger system. Komiyama does teach sending the transaction to a second node of the distributed ledger system (i.e., If necessary, the node 111 that received the transaction 200 transmits the transaction 200 to the other nodes included in the first partial network 110, and the transaction 200 is stored in the nodes participating…, Paragraph 33) in order to improve transaction processing speed (Paragraph 5). Therefore, based on Ravinathan in view of Komiyama, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Komiyama with the system of Ravinathan in order to improve transaction processing speed.
With regards to Claim 2, Ravinathan teaches a method implemented in a device comprising circuitry, including a transmitter, a receiver and a processor. the method comprising any of: receiving a request to send a message including a message and information indicating a source of the message, a destination of the message and a distributed ledger system; sending, to the first node, a notification to receive a message including the information indicating the source of the message; receiving, from the first node, a confirmation to the notification; (i.e., receiving block chain address from an exchange server that results in the processing server submitting a blockchain transaction, Figure 3b; Steps 324-326; Paragraph 56); determining a first node associated with a distributed ledger system based, at least in part, the information indicating the distributed ledger system and the information indicating the destination (i.e., sending the blockchain transaction to a first node of the blockchain network, Fig. 3B, steps 326-328; Paragraph 36; blockchain ledger includes a destination address of a transaction, Paragraph 14);
generating a transaction for the message (i.e., processing a blockchain transaction based upon the received information and a verification process, Figure 3B, Steps 326-328; Paragraphs 35-36);
However, Ravinathan does not explicitly disclose sending the transaction to a second node of the distributed ledger system. Komiyama does teach sending the transaction to a second node of the distributed ledger system (i.e., If necessary, the node 111 that received the transaction 200 transmits the transaction 200 to the other nodes included in the first partial network 110, and the transaction 200 is stored in the nodes participating…, Paragraph 33) in order to improve transaction processing speed (Paragraph 5). Therefore, based on Ravinathan in view of Komiyama, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Komiyama with the system of Ravinathan in order to improve transaction processing speed.
With regards to Claim 3, Ravinathan teaches a method implemented in a device comprising circuitry, including a transmitter, a receiver and a processor. the method comprising any of: receiving a request to send a message including a message and information indicating a source of the message and a destination of the message; determining a first node associated with a distributed ledger system based, at least in part, the information indicating the destination (i.e., receiving blockchain address from an exchange server that results in the processing server submitting a blockchain transaction, Figure 3B, steps 324-326; Paragraph 56; transaction message from the data request comprise source, destination, and a blockchain transaction, Paragraphs 56-57); generating a transaction for the message (i.e., processing a blockchain transaction based upon the received information and a verification process, Figure 3B, steps 326-328; Paragraphs 35-36).
However, Ravinathan does not explicitly disclose sending the transaction to a second node of the distributed ledger system. Komiyama does teach sending the transaction to a second node of the distributed ledger system (i.e., If necessary, the node 111 that received the transaction 200 transmits the transaction 200 to the other nodes included in the first partial network 110, and the transaction 200 is stored in the nodes participating…, Paragraph 33) in order to improve transaction processing speed (Paragraph 5). Therefore, based on Ravinathan in view of Komiyama, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Komiyama with the system of Ravinathan in order to improve transaction processing speed.
With regards to Claim 4, Ravinathan teaches sending, to the first node, a notification to receive a message including the information indicating the source of the message; receiving, from the first node, information indicating the distributed ledger (i.e., After successful processing of the blockchain transaction, the issuer processing server 102 may provide the exchange server 114 with a notification of the successful cryptocurrency payment thereto, such as by providing the transaction identifier to the exchange server 114., Paragraph 37).
With regards to Claim 5, Ravinathan teaches wherein determining a first node comprises determining a first node associated with a distributed ledger system based, at least in part, the information indicating the destination and the information indicating the distributed ledger (i.e., sending the blockchain transaction to a first node of the blockchain network, Fig. 3B, steps 326-328; Paragraph 36; blockchain ledger includes a destination address of a transaction, Paragraph 14).
With regards to claim 6, Ravinathan teaches wherein generating a transaction for the message comprises at least one of: generating the transaction for the message based at least in part on one or more policy rules (i.e., processing a blockchain transaction requires verification, Figure 3B, steps 326-328; Paragraphs 35-36), and generating the transaction for the message based at least in part on information indicating a type of transaction (i.e., authorization for the transaction message is dependent on the type of transaction, Paragraph 24).
With regards to Claim 7, Ravinathan teaches comprising one of: receiving the one or more policy rules; and retrieving the one or more policy rules from a repository based at least in part on any of (i) the information indicating the source of the message and (ii) the information indicating the destination of the message. (i.e., verification uses cryptographic information received from a digital signature, Paragraph 33)
With regards to Claim 9, Ravinathan teaches comprising: receiving, from the first node, third information that identifies the distributed ledger system (i.e., blockchain address, Paragraph 29); and updating the one or more policy rules based on the third information (i.e., merchant providing the public key for verification, Paragraph 29).
With regards to Claim 11, Ravinathan teaches wherein the request comprises the information indicating a type of transaction (i.e., processing the transaction message is dependent on the type of transaction, Paragraph 24).
With regards to Claim 12, Ravinathan teaches comprising: retrieving the information indicating a type of transaction from a repository based at least in part on any of (i) the information indicating the source of the message and (ii) the information indicating the destination of the message (i.e., message type indicator in the authorization response includes a stored data element indicating handling of the transaction, Paragraph 37).
With regards to Claim 13, Ravinathan teaches the above disclosed subject matter. However, Ravinathan does not explicitly disclose determining the second node based at least in part on the information indicating distributed ledger system. Komiyama does teach determining the second node based at least in part on the information indicating distributed ledger system (i.e., determining identifiers of the nodes of the distributed network, Paragraphs 31-33) in order to improve transaction processing speed (Paragraph 5). Therefore, based on Ravinathan in view of Komiyama, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Komiyama with the system of Ravinathan in order to improve transaction processing speed.
With regards to Claim 14, Ravinathan teaches wherein the request comprises the information indicating distributed ledger system (i.e., receiving blockchain address from an exchange server that results in the processing server submitting a blockchain transaction, Figure 3B, Steps 324-326, Paragraph 56; transaction message from the data request comprises source, destination, and a blockchain transaction, Paragraphs 56-57).
With regards to Claim 15, Ravinathan teaches comprising at least one of: receiving the information indicating distributed ledger system from the first node; and retrieving the information indicating distributed ledger system from a repository based at least in part on any of (i) the information indicating the source of the message and (ii) the information indicating the destination of the message (i.e., exchange node may be a blockchain node, Paragraph 30)
With regards to Claim 17, Ravinathan teaches receiving, from the first node, information indicating a status of reception of the message (i.e., blockchain network 116 may provide a notification of successful processing of the blockchain transaction to the issue processing server 102, Paragraph 57).
With regards to Claim 18, Ravinathan teaches wherein the request to send a message is received from the sender (i.e., Figure 3B, steps 324-326, Paragraph 56).
With regards to Claim 19, Ravinathan teaches wherein at least one of: the information indicating the destination of the message comprises any of address associated with the destination, a locator associated with the destination and an identifier associated with the destination; the information indicating the source of the message comprises any of address associated with the source, a locator associated with the source and an identifier associated with the source; and the information indicating the distributed ledger system comprises any of address associated with the distributed ledger system (i.e., blockchain address, Paragraph 29), a locator associated with the distributed ledger system and an identifier associated with the distributed ledger system.
With regards to Claim 22, Ravinathan teaches determining any of a type and a format for the transaction based on the one or more policy rules, wherein generating a transaction for the message comprises generating the transaction for the message based at least in part on any of the type and the format for the transaction (i.e., authorization for the transaction message is dependent on the type of transaction, Paragraph 24).
With regards, to Claim 24, Ravinathan teaches wherein the first node comprises at least one device having at least one first service-based function that interfaces with a first participating node of the distributed ledger system (i.e., plurality of blockchain nodes form a blockchain network and are interconnected via computing interfaces, Paragraph 30).
With regards to Claim 25, Ravinathan teaches wherein the second node comprises at least one of: at least one device having at least one second service-based function that interfaces with a second participating node of the distributed ledger system; and a second participating node of the distributed ledger system (i.e., plurality of blockchain nodes form a blockchain network and are interconnected via computing interfaces, Paragraph 30).
With regards to Claim 27, Ravinathan teaches wherein the request comprises any of an identifier of the sender, an identifier of the receiver, a name of the distributed ledger system, a type of transaction, a type of blockchain session being established, a session security requirement, a session privacy requirement and security credentials between the sender and the receiver (i.e., transaction message from the data request comprises source, destination, and a blockchain transaction, Paragraphs 56-57).
Conclusion
/SURAJ M JOSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447 March 6, 2026