DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is made Final in response to applicants Amendments / Request for Reconsideration filed 9/10/26. Claims 1 and 18-19 are amended; claims 1-20 are pending.
Drawings
2. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “back adjacent to the sole extends further rearward than adjacent to the top” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Independent claims 1, 19 require the “back adjacent to the sole extends further rearward than adjacent to the top”. This limitation has an indefinite scope because its metes and bounds cannot be properly determined. First, the specifications and drawings fail to properly show how the requisite length is to be determined. For example, is the length of rearwardness measure parallel to a ground plane, or the loft plane. secondly, the rearwardness of the club depends on how the club is sitting on the ground. If a club has forward shaft lean, the sole back portion will be much more rearward than a top back portion. If the sole is sitting to add loft, then the top portion of the back will be more rearward. The specification and claims provide no guidance on how the sole is sitting. Lastly, it is unclear how loft is factored into the required determination. A person ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a higher lofted club will have a different rearwardness than a lower lofted club. For examining purposes, if a portion of the back adjacent the sole extends further rearward than adjacent to the top while at least a portion of the sole and/or leading edge is in contact with the ground, the claim will be considered to be met.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper “functional approach” to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham. Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) “ Obvious to try ” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
5. Claims 1-5, 7, 10-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knight et al. (US Pat. No. 8,795,102) in view of Woodward et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0390617), or in the alternative, in further view of Onions (US Pat. No. 3,138,386)
With respect to claims 1-5, 10-11, 16 and 20, Knight et al. teaches a golf club 100 comprising a shaft 106 connected to a clubhead 102 via hosel 104, the clubhead 102 comprising: a body 109 comprising: a face 114 at a front side of the body 109, the face comprising a striking surface for striking a ball; a back 116 at a rear side of the body; a top at an upper side of the body 109; a sole 120 at a lower side of the body and thicker than the top in a thickness direction of the body (Fig.’s 6, 8), the sole 120 comprising a bottom surface for contacting a playing surface when the golf clubhead 102 is in use; a heel 110 at a right side of the body 109; a toe 112 at a left side of the body 109 and wider than the heel in a width direction of the body (Fig. 9; columns 7-8); a hosel 104 coupled with the heel 110 of the body 109 and configured for connecting the golf clubhead with a shaft 106, the hosel 104 having a hosel axis; wherein the body 109 and the hosel 104 are formed as a unitary piece (column 4, lines 32-33); wherein the striking surface has a loft angle selected from a group consisting of about 26.8°, about 29.8°, about 32.8°, about 35.8°, about 38.8°, about 41.8°, about 44.8°, about 47.8°, about 50.8°, about 53.8°, about 56.8°, about 59.8°, about 62.8°, about 65.8°, and about 68.8° (Table 1; column 4, lines 3-18); wherein the face comprises a plurality of grooves 115 to help grip the ball, impart spin, or both, wherein each groove 115 in the plurality of grooves is elongated in the length direction of the body (Fig. 7; column 7, lines 24-25); wherein the bottom surface of the sole 120 comprises a front bottom edge and a rear bottom edge, wherein a distance from the rear bottom edge to the front bottom edge varies along the length direction of the body and has a peak located between the toe and the heel in the length direction of the body (Fig. 9), wherein a thickness of the sole varies along the length direction of the body and reaches a maximum at a peak between the toe and the heel in the length direction of the body (Fig. 9); wherein the bottom surface of the sole 120 is curved along the thickness direction of the body to help swing the golf clubhead (Fig.’s 6-9);
Per MPEP 2114 - a claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). If a prior art structure is inherently capable of performing the intended use as recited, then it shifts the burden to applicant to establish that the prior art does not possess the characteristic relied on. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Knight inherently comprises a CG but does not disclose its position, and thus does not expressly teach wherein a center of gravity (CG) is located (i) closer to the sole than to the top in the width direction of the body, (ii) closer to the heel than to the toe in a length direction of the body (iii) on or in front of a vertical plane passing the hosel axis when the bottom surface of the sole is in contact with the playing surface.
Analogous art reference Woodward et al. teaches the following to be known in the art: a center of gravity (CG) 160 is located (iii) on or in front of a vertical plane passing a hosel axis 1080 of a hosel when a bottom surface of a sole is in contact with a playing surface 1010 (Fig. 2). At time of applicant’s effective filing, a person ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to align the CG and hosel axis of Knight as taught by Woodward. The rationale to combine is to provide a CG location that results in ball flight and spin properties suitable to the particular needs of a golfer.
Regarding the claimed CG locations in the width and length directions, per MPEP 2144.05, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). In the instant case, the golf club of Knight would operate as intended if the CG were within the claimed range. Notably, CG location in the width and length directions are well known to be result effective for provided a desired ball flight and spin condition based on gear effect. At time of applicant’s effective filing, one ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select an optimal CG location, including within the claimed range, via routine experimentation. The rationale to optimize is to provide a desired weight distribution of the club that produces ball flights and spin properties suitable for the swing of the golfer. Further, the applicant does not place criticality to the claimed range. The proposed modification has a reasonable expectation of success as it can be accomplished using mass rearrangement.
Regarding the limitation that “no cavities or channels (a) between the back and the striking surface or (b) between the back and the face”, per MPEP 2131, when a claim covers several structures or compositions, either generically or as alternatives, the claim is deemed anticipated if any of the structures or compositions within the scope of the claim is known in the prior art. Brown v. 3M, 265 F.3d 1349, 1351, 60 USPQ2d 1375, 1376 (Fed. Cir. 2001). Knight does not comprise cavities between the back and the striking surface or between the back and the face and thus meets the alternative limitation.
Regarding the limitation that the back adjacent to the sole extends further rearward than adjacent to the top, examiner notes that Knight teaches this feature when the club has forward shaft lean. See rotated Fig. 8 below showing back at sole being more “rearward” than top.
In the alternative, examiner cites to analogous art reference Onions for its teaching of no cavities or channels (a) between the back and the striking surface or (b) between the back and the face and wherein the back adjacent to the sole extends further rearward than adjacent to the top (Fig’s 1-4; column 2, lines 3-48). At time of applicant’s effective filing, a person ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to incorporate these features into the golf club of Knight. The rationale to combine is to add MOI by providing a more rearward bottom portion of the club. Moroever, by enclosing the channel. CG will expectantly be lowered. This will be desirable for players that want high launch. The proposed modification has a reasonable expectation of success since Knight does not require a sole channel (“the golf club head 102 may include a sole channel” – column 5).
With respect to claim 7, the golf club of Knight as modified above comprises a width from the top to the sole in the width direction of the body (inherent), a length from the toe to the heel in the length direction of the body (inherent) and a width of the heel in the width direction of the body (inherent). Knight does not expressly disclose these values. However, per MPEP 2144.05, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller. Here, the golf club of Knight would operate as intended if the top to sole width, length and heel to toe width were within the claimed range. Notably, these dimensions are result effective variables for the club MOI and CG location. At time of applicant’s effective filing, one ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select optimal values for these parameters, including within the claimed range, via routine experimentation. The rationale to optimize is to provide a desired a desired MOI and weighting distribution suitable to the golfer’s particular swing pattern. Further, the applicant does not place criticality to the claimed ranges. The proposed modification has a reasonable expectation of success as it can be accomplished using mass rearrangement.
With respect to claims 12-13, Knight teaches wherein the peak of the sole is positioned near or toe-ward of W3, which is at the midpoint between the heel and toe (“middle sole width”; Fig. 9; column 7, lines 30-32). Thus, based on the rejection of claim 1, which makes it obvious to positon the CG closer to the heel than the toe, the requirement of the CG of the golf clubhead is located between the peak of the sole and the heel in the length direction of the body is met. Regarding this claimed distance, examiner again notes that CG location is known to be a result effective variable for ball flight and spin properties due to gear effect. See MPEP 2144.05 - In re Aller. At time of applicant’s effective filing, one ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select an optimal CG location, including within the claimed range, via routine experimentation. The rationale to optimize is to provide a desired weight distribution of the club that produces ball flights and spin properties suitable for the swing of the golfer
With respect to claim 14, Knight inherently teaches a CG height, but does not expressly disclose this value. Examiner again notes that CG location is known to be a result effective variable for ball flight and spin properties due to gear effect. See MPEP 2144.05 - In re Aller. At time of applicant’s effective filing, one ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select an optimal CG height location, including within the claimed range, via routine experimentation. The rationale to optimize is to provide a desired weight distribution of the club that produces ball flights and spin properties suitable for the swing of the golfer.
With respect to claim 15, per MPEP 2131, when a claim covers several structures or compositions, either generically or as alternatives, the claim is deemed anticipated if any of the structures or compositions within the scope of the claim is known in the prior art. Brown v. 3M, 265 F.3d 1349, 1351, 60 USPQ2d 1375, 1376 (Fed. Cir. 2001). As set forth above in the rejection of claim 1, Knight as modified by Woodward et al. teaches wherein the CG is on a vertical plane passing the hosel axis. Supplemental to this, per MPEP 2144.05, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller. Within the art, the distance between the CG and vertical plane passing the hosel axis is known to be result effective for reducing contact with grass prior the ball, and to more uniformly distribute turf load, thus preventing twisting, when hitting out of the rough. See Truesdale (US Pub. No. 2003/0134687) at paragraph [0023] cited as an extrinsic reference. At time of applicant’s effective filing, a person ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select a CG distance from the vertical plane of the hosel axis within the claimed range via routine experimentation. The rationale to combine is to reduce contact with grass prior the ball, and to more uniformly distribute turf load, thus preventing twisting, when hitting out of the rough.
With respect to claim 17, Woodward, cited above for the alignment of the CG and hosel axis, further teaches wherein a curve of the bottom surface of the sole along the thickness direction of the body is substantially a segment of a circle with a center located at or adjacent the hosel axis (Fig. 2). The rationale to combine is the same as stated above.
6. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knight et al. (US Pat. No. 8,795,102) in view of Woodward et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0390617) in further view of Onions (US Pat. No. 3,138,386).
With respect to claim 6, Knight et al. teaches wherein the back is curved substantially smoothly from the toe to the heel (Fig.’s 2, 9), but fails to expressly teach wherein the back is curved from the top to the sole. However, this feature is known in the art as taught by the combination of Knight and Onions since the combination eliminates the channel. The rationale to combine is the same as stated above.
7. Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knight et al. (US Pat. No. 8,795,102) in view of Woodward et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0390617), or in the alternative, in further view of Onions (US Pat. No. 3,138,386), and further in view of Hoeflich (US Pat. No. 5,429,353).
With respect to claim 8, Knight inherently comprises a hosel with a lie angle, but fails to disclose this numeric value. However, analogous art reference Hoeflich expressly teaches that it is known to provide a lie angle of from about 59° to about 60° (Table 1). At time of applicant’s effective filing, a person ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select a lie angle as taught by Hoeflich. The rationale to combine is to provide a known lie angle value. Lie angles expectantly dictate hand position at address and are known to be customized for golfer preference.
With respect to claim 9, Knight teaches wherein the sole has a maximal thickness of from about 22 to about 26 mm (column 8, lines 36-48), but fails to expressly disclose a maximum thickness of the top. However, analogous art reference Hoeflich teaches that it is known to provide a maximal thickness 34 for an iron golf club top form about 4 mm to about 6 mm (Fig. 2; column 2, lines 56-59; Table B-2). At time of applicant’s effective filing, a person ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select a top line maximum thickness as taught by Hoeflich for the golf club of Knight. The rationale to combine is to provide a mass distribution that results in a CG and MOI suitable for an iron golf club. The relatively thin top will move CG lower.
8. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knight et al. (US Pat. No. 8,795,102) in view of Hoeflich (US Pat. No. 5,429,353), or in the alternative, in further view of Onions (US Pat. No. 3,138,386).
With respect to claim 19, Knight teaches a set comprising: a plurality of golf clubheads (59 Degree Wedge and 53 Degree Wedge of Tables 1 and 2), each golf clubhead of the plurality of the golf clubheads comprising: a body comprising: a heel at a right side of the body; a toe at a left side of the body and wider than the heel in a width direction of the body; a top at an upper side of the body; a sole at a lower side of the body and thicker than the top in a thickness direction of the body, the sole comprising a bottom surface for contacting a playing surface in use; and a face at a front side of the body and comprising a striking surface for striking a ball, the striking surface having a loft angle when the bottom surface of the sole is in contact with the playing surface; a hosel coupled with the heel of the body for connecting the golf clubhead with a shaft, the hosel having a lie angle when the bottom surface of the sole is in contact with the playing surface (Fig.’s 1-9).
Admittedly, the difference in loft is 6 degrees, which is outside the range of from about 3o to about 3.5. However, Knight further teaches wherein it is known to provide lofts gapping of wedges of from about 3o to about 3.5 (column 4, lines 12-15). At time of applicant’s effective filing, a person ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to shrink the loft gapping. This will expectantly mitigate gapping (i.e. distance) issues through the set.
Knight does not expressly teach wherein the lie angles are the same within the set. However, analogous art reference Hoeflich teaches the following to be known in the art:
wherein the lie angle of the hosel of the golf clubhead in the plurality of golf clubheads and the lie angle of the hosel of the next golf clubhead in the plurality of golf clubheads are substantially the same (Table B-1). At time of applicant’s effective filing, a person ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use the same lie angle for the iron golf clubs of Knight for the expected purpose of creating consistency through the set for the golfer.
Knight inherently comprises a CG but does not disclose its position, and thus does not expressly teach wherein a center of gravity (CG) is located closer to the sole than to the top in the width direction of the body and closer to the heel than to the toe in a length direction of the body. However, per MPEP 2144.05, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller. In the instant case, the golf club of Knight would operate as intended if the CG were within the claimed range. Notably, CG location in the width and length directions are well known to be result effective for provided a desired ball flight and spin condition based on gear effect. At time of applicant’s effective filing, one ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select an optimal CG location, including within the claimed range, via routine experimentation. The rationale to optimize is to provide a desired weight distribution of the club that produces ball flights and spin properties suitable for the swing of the golfer. Further, the applicant does not place criticality to the claimed range. The proposed modification has a reasonable expectation of success as it can be accomplished using mass rearrangement.
Regarding the limitation that “no cavities or channels (a) between the back and the striking surface or (b) between the back and the face”, per MPEP 2131, when a claim covers several structures or compositions, either generically or as alternatives, the claim is deemed anticipated if any of the structures or compositions within the scope of the claim is known in the prior art. Brown v. 3M, 265 F.3d 1349, 1351, 60 USPQ2d 1375, 1376 (Fed. Cir. 2001). Knight does not comprise cavities between the back and the striking surface or between the back and the face and thus meets the alternative limitation.
Regarding the limitation that the back adjacent to the sole extends further rearward than adjacent to the top, examiner notes that Knight teaches this feature when the club has forward shaft lean. See rotated Fig. 8 below showing back at sole being more “rearward” than top.
In the alternative, examiner cites to analogous art reference Onions for its teaching of no cavities or channels (a) between the back and the striking surface or (b) between the back and the face and wherein the back adjacent to the sole extends further rearward than adjacent to the top (Fig’s 1-4; column 2, lines 3-48). At time of applicant’s effective filing, a person ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to incorporate these features into the golf club of Knight. The rationale to combine is to add MOI by providing a more rearward bottom portion of the club. Moroever, by enclosing the channel. CG will expectantly be lowered. This will be desirable for players that want high launch. The proposed modification has a reasonable expectation of success since Knight does not require a sole channel (“the golf club head 102 may include a sole channel” – column 5).
9. Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knight et al. (US Pat. No. 8,795,102) and further in view of Blough et al. (US Des. Pat. No. D370,514).
With respect to claim 18, Knight et al. teaches a golf clubhead 102 comprising: a body 109 comprising: a heel 110 at a right side of the body 109; a toe 112 at a left side of the body 109 and wider than the heel in a width direction of the body (Fig. 9; columns 7-8); a top at an upper side of the body 109; a sole 120 at a lower side of the body comprising a bottom surface for contacting a playing surface when in use (See MPEP 2114 – In re Schreiber); wherein a thickness of the sole varies along a length direction of the body and reaches a maximum at a peak between the heel and the toe of the body (Fig. 9); a face 114 at a front side of the body 109 and comprising a striking surface for striking a ball; the striking surface having a loft angle when the bottom surface of the sole is in contact with the playing surface (inherent); a hosel 104 coupled with the heel 110 of the body 109 and configured for connecting the golf clubhead with a shaft 106, the hosel 104 having a lie angle when the bottom surface of the sole is in contact with the playing surface (inherent).
Knight inherently comprises a CG but does not disclose its position, and thus does not expressly teach wherein a center of gravity (CG) is located closer to the sole than to the top in the width direction of the body and closer to the heel than to the toe in a length direction of the body. However, per MPEP 2144.05, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller. In the instant case, the golf club of Knight would operate as intended if the CG were within the claimed range. Notably, CG location in the width and length directions are well known to be result effective for provided a desired ball flight and spin condition based on gear effect. At time of applicant’s effective filing, one ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select an optimal CG location, including within the claimed range, via routine experimentation. The rationale to optimize is to provide a desired weight distribution of the club that produces ball flights and spin properties suitable for the swing of the golfer. Further, the applicant does not place criticality to the claimed range. The proposed modification has a reasonable expectation of success as it can be accomplished using mass rearrangement.
Knight et al. does not expressly teach wherein a curve of the bottom surface of the sole along a thickness direction of the body is substantially a segment of a circle with a center located at a hosel axis. However, this feature is known in the art as evidenced by Blough – See annotated Fig. 4 below showing the bottom surface curve being substantially symmetrical about the hosel axis
Response to Arguments
10. Applicant's arguments filed 9/10/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Knight fails to meet the limitation of “no cavities or channels (a) between the back and the striking surface or (b) between the back and the face”. Applicant correctly points out that Knight has a channel 140. However, the claim element is recited in the alternative. Per MPEP 2131, when a claim covers several structures or compositions, either generically or as alternatives, the claim is deemed anticipated if any of the structures or compositions within the scope of the claim is known in the prior art. Brown v. 3M, 265 F.3d 1349, 1351, 60 USPQ2d 1375, 1376 (Fed. Cir. 2001). Knight does not comprise cavities between the back and the striking surface or between the back and the face.
Conclusion
11. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL D DENNIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711