DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claim 7 has been cancelled by Applicant; therefore, Claims 1-6 and 8-20 are currently pending in application 18/922,027.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Clayton et al. (US 2008/0140688 A1).
As per independent Claims 1, 16, and 17, Clayton discloses a machine-implemented service information processing method (an electronic device, comprising: a processor, a memory, and a computer program stored in the memory and runnable on the processor, the computer program, when executed by the processor, causing the processor to implement the following operations) (a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, comprising: a computer program stored on the computer-readable storage medium, the computer program, when executed by a processor, causing the processor to implement the following operations) (See at least Figs. 1-3, Figs. 20-21; Para 0024-0025, Para 0044, Para 0336-0340, Para 0384-0385), comprising:
configuring, by a processor of a machine implementing the method, an event management application [Applicant Specification Para 0119, recruitment management application] with a plurality of spreadsheet component sets, wherein spreadsheet component sets in the plurality of spreadsheet component sets are configured based on service stages [Applicant Specification Para 0119, recruitment requirement management, recruitment position maintenance, recruitment progress management and probation period management in the recruitment event service flow] in a service flow [Applicant Specification Para 0119, recruitment event service flow] of a target event [Applicant Specification Para 0119, recruitment event], and are configured to store service information in the service flow, and are configured to at least one of display or change the stored service information based on a configuration in the event management application in response to input from a user (See at least Figs. 1-3, Figs. 20-21; Para 0024-0025, “recruiting system”; and Para 0422, “… For example, a manager may propose that the enterprise 106 hire a consultant to perform certain services. The proposed decision object 4102 may be reviewed by an approval chain 112, consisting of members of the hiring committee and administrative assistants responsible for performing criminal background checks. The approval chain 112 may approve the decision 102 to hire the consultant. The proposed decision object 4102 may then be executed and may become an executed decision object 4108. The decision object 202 may be sent to the approval chain 112 for further review prior to implementation. A system 2610, accessing an external data facility 108, may determine that the consultant is the manager's brother. The system 2610 may then access the enterprise's 106 policy on nepotism and may determine that hiring the consultant is against policy. The system 2610 may then modify the decision object 202, adding a rationale for denial, and may then send the decision object 202 back to the manager.”; See also Para 0047, Para 0336-0340, Para 0384-0385, Para 0434-0440);
wherein the method further comprises at least one of*:
configuring, by the processor of the machine, the event management application with permission information in respect of the event management application of participants in corresponding service stage, wherein the permission information is determined based on the service information of a corresponding service stage (See at least Figs. 20-21; Para 0339, “Meanwhile, the goal of the supply chain manager may be to reduce the average number of weeks of inventory on hand of an item, and the supply chain manager may only have access to a forecast of demand from a decision tool 114 that is based on the demand for the product from a previous period. Similarly, a marketing manager may have a goal of maximizing market share, and the marketing manager may only have access to a forecast of demand from a decision tool 114 (which might be a different decision tool 114 from the one used by the supply chain manager) as well as data about the cost of the product and the list price for the product.”, Para 0369-0370, Para 0384-0385, Para 0398, Para 0420); or,
Para 0384, “In various embodiments, data hierarchies may consist of Universal Markup Language (UML) models, HTML, SGML or XML or other mark-up language models or schema, object-oriented classes and objects, such as coded in Java, C++ or other object-oriented programming languages, graphics-based hierarchies, such as directed graphs and similar hierarchies, worksheets, spreadsheets and similar facilities that embody mathematical data and/or formulas, including those with nested logic or cross-references, and any other type of data hierarchy as captured by any type of tool for storing or manipulating a data hierarchy. In one preferred embodiment data items represent cells in tables 2004 of relational databases that are stored as files in a data facility 108 with row-column formats. A data item can be stored in a cell of an appropriate table for access and updating by more than one logically linked decision process 300 of a plan, function, process, unit or other aspect of an enterprise 106.”)
wherein the method further comprises: in response to an editing operation on a first service information corresponding to a first field, updating, by the processor of the machine, the first service information to a second service information; and updating, by the processor of the machine, a third service information corresponding to a second field to a fourth service information according to the second service information; and wherein the first field and the second field are different fields in a same spreadsheet or in different spreadsheets among the plurality of spreadsheets (See at least Para 0060, “The methods above may further include a step of linking, synchronizing, integrating, aggregating and/or aligning at least two units, plans, functions, processes and/or other subsets of an enterprise, that includes characterizing the units, plans, functions, processes and/or other subsets of an enterprise in terms of a lowest common level of abstraction or a least common denominator variable that is common to the units, plans, functions, processes and/or other subsets of an enterprise to be linked, synchronized, integrated, aggregated and/or aligned. The method may account for units, plans, functions, processes and/or other subsets of an enterprise at all levels of abstraction, at different levels of abstraction, at specified levels of abstraction and/or at user, system and/or decision maker-specified levels of abstraction. The units, plans, functions, processes, other subsets of an enterprise and/or levels of abstraction may be any of the following: enterprise, division, subsidiary, affiliate, business unit, office, branch, department, group, sub-group, project team, team, geographically-defined unit, employee, contractor, agent, analyst, consultant and the like. The lowest common level of abstraction may be multidimensional. Multiple pairs of units, plans, functions, processes and/or other subsets of an enterprise may be linked, synchronized, integrated, aggregated and/or aligned simultaneously or in sequence. The multiple pairs may be all possible pairs or fewer than all possible pairs.”; See also Figs. 20-21; Para 0024-0025, Para 0345, Para 0349, Para 0369-0371, Para 0384-0385); and
wherein a page of the event management application that is displayed to a participant comprises only spreadsheet components corresponding to the service stage to which the participant belongs (See at least Figs. 24-25; Para 0122, “The method or system may be implemented, in whole or in part, using or in connection with a software application, that may include a graphical user interface. The software may run on a computer, server, handheld or other device and may be used in connection with a network or on a standalone basis. The software may include functionality and the graphical user interface may include screens regarding header data, master data, such as properties of a product, demand, supply, impact, values, a dimension hierarchy, various hierarchies, a calculator, data, cells with data, tables with rows and columns, charts, graphs, collaboration, templates, scenarios, administration, administrative functions, preferences, attributes, rules and the like, and various combinations of the foregoing.”; Para 0388, “The viewing interface 2402 may also allow for customization of the view and the fields displayed in each view. For example, the viewing interface 2402, at the input of the user, may only display the name 201, rationale and decision maker 104 for the decisions 102. In embodiments the viewing interface may be a graphical user interface for a software application with a table that shows rows and columns, with columns representing different time periods in the past, present and future, rows relating to particular data attributes, (such as product names, locations, quantities, prices, and the like) and cells that reflect data for the attributes as they relate to the time periods. The viewing interface 2402 may include colors, fonts, comment boxes, footnotes, patterns and other graphical, numeric and textual elements for conveying data, such as data relevant to decision attributes of decision types 200, data relevant to forecasting (such as for forecasting tools and analytical tools), data relevant to the impact of decisions, and the like. In embodiments particular tables of data 108 may be selected by navigating in a hierarchy, such as a hierarchy of products, services, accounts, plans, regions, components, stores, sales people, employees, or the like. The selection of the hierarchy can drive the view of the data, while the underlying data (including decision objects 202) can be the same data for various aspects of the enterprise, such as linked processes as described in connection with FIG. 11.”; and Para 00389, “As depicted in FIG. 25, the past and current decisions types 200, decision objects 202 and decision processes 300 may be maintained and stored as data 108 in a data facility 108. The decisions types 200, decision objects 202 and decision processes 300 may be prospective, proposed, final, or executed/implemented. As discussed above, the data 108 may be made available to other subsets of the enterprise 106 or to third parties, with views varying according to the hierarchy or schema of the viewer. The viewing interface 2402 may function in a variety of ways as described in connection with FIG. 24.” - "with views varying": This is a key security and functionality feature (often known as a database "view"). It means not everyone sees the same information; the data presented is tailored to the user. "according to the hierarchy... of the viewer": This refers to authorization based on organizational structure (e.g., a manager sees team-level data, while a vice president sees department-level data). "or schema of the viewer": This refers to technical or functional access, where the structure of the data presented (the schema) is optimized for the viewer's specific purpose or role (e.g., HR sees employee data, while Finance sees invoice data).).
As per Claims 2, 18, and 20, Clayton discloses wherein the permission information comprises at least one of the following: an access permission to the event management application; a permission to display a spreadsheet component set; a permission to display a spreadsheet component in a spreadsheet component set; and a permission to display the data in a spreadsheet corresponding to a spreadsheet component (See at least Figs. 20-21; Para 0024-0025, Para 0384-0385, Para 0420).
As per Claims 3 (2) and 19 (18), Clayton discloses wherein the method further comprises: acquiring, by the processor of the machine, identity information of the user logging into the event management application; and displaying, by the processor of the machine, a page of the event management application according to a permission range corresponding to the identity information (See at least Fig.170, User: Charles Goodman and Logout button; Para 0360, Application Initiation, Para 0384, Para 0388-0389, and Para 0420, “… An intelligent decision engine 4502 may also guide the decision-making and collaborative processes by posing questions for the collaborators to answer. For example, an intelligent decision engine 4502 may determine which data 108 should be shared with which subsets of an enterprise 106. For example, in an acquisition context, it may be necessary to restrict certain information to a subset of an enterprise 106, until the acquisition in made public. Thus, for example, a decision object 202 can be associated with a level of permission or security, so that it can be accessed, written to, read, or forwarded only by users, departments, personnel, processes or the like that have appropriate access rights, such as determined by policies of the enterprise 106, which can be embodied in decision processes 300 that act on decision objects 202 that embody the security requirements.”).
As per Claim 4, Clayton discloses wherein the page of the event management application comprises: a spreadsheet selection area and a spreadsheet display area; the spreadsheet selection area comprises at least one spreadsheet component set among the plurality of spreadsheet component sets, and the spreadsheet component set comprises at least one spreadsheet component; the spreadsheet display area displays a target spreadsheet corresponding to a currently selected target spreadsheet component (See at least Para 0384-0385).
As per Claim 5, Clayton discloses wherein the method further comprises: in response to a first record information being entered into the target spreadsheet, outputting, by the processor of the machine, a prompt message in response to a field value of the first field in the first record information being repeated with a field value of the second field in other record information, the prompt message being configured to prompt that the field value of the first field is repeated with the field value of the second field (See at least Para 0349, Para 0369-0370, Para 0384-0385, Para 0413).
As per Claim 6 (5), Clayton discloses wherein the outputting, by the processor of the machine, a prompt message in response to a field value of the first field in the first record information being repeated with a field value of the second field in other record information comprises: in response to the field value of the first field in the first record information being repeated with the field value of the second field in other record information, filling, by the processor of the machine, a prompt field value in a repeat prompt field in the target spreadsheet, the prompt field value being configured to prompt that the field value of the first field is repeated with the field value of the second field (See at least Para 0349, Para 0369-0370, Para 0384-0385, Para 0413).
As per Claim 8 (1), Clayton discloses wherein different spreadsheet components corresponding to the different spreadsheets belong to a same spreadsheet component set; and the service information corresponding to the first field and the service information corresponding to the second field are service information in a same service stage; or, the first field and the second field are fields in different spreadsheets among the plurality of spreadsheets, and different spreadsheet components corresponding to the different spreadsheets belong to different spreadsheet component sets; and the service information corresponding to the first field and the service information corresponding to the second field are service information in different service stages (See at least Para 0349, Para 0369-0370, Para 0384-0385).
As per Claim 9 (8), Clayton discloses wherein the target event comprises a recruitment event (See at least Figs. 20-21; Para 0024-0025, Para 0384-0385, 0391); the service information corresponding to the first field comprises at least one of the following information: interview progress information; or, candidate information (See at least Figs. 20-21; Para 0024-0025, Para 0384-0385); the service information corresponding to the second field comprises at least one of the following information: the interview progress information; or, the candidate information; or, degree of completion of recruitment requirements; or, record information of new employees (See at least Figs. 20-21; Para 0024-0025, Para 0384-0385).
As per Claim 10, Clayton discloses wherein the method further comprises: in response to a preset trigger, extracting, by the processor of the machine, target service information from a first spreadsheet, the first spreadsheet being at least one spreadsheet in the event management application; and synchronizing, by the processor of the machine, the target service information to a target application (See at least Para 0349, Para 0369-0370, Para 0384-0385).
As per Claim 11 (10), Clayton discloses wherein the synchronizing, by the processor of the machine, the target service information to a target application comprises: determining, by the processor of the machine, a first parameter of a first type of information in the target application based on the target service information, and synchronizing the first parameter to the target application, so as to instruct the target application to display the first type of information according to the first parameter (See at least Para 0091-0092, Para 0349, Para 0369-0370, Para 0384-0385).
As per Claim 12 (10), Clayton discloses wherein the target application is a calendar application, and the synchronizing, by the processor of the machine, the target service information to a target application comprises: based on the target service information, creating or updating, by the processor of the machine, a first schedule information corresponding to the target service information by using a target calendar in the target application (See at least Para 0024-0025, Para 0038, Para 0047, Para 0336-0340, Para 0384-0385).
As per Claim 13 (12), Clayton discloses wherein the target calendar comprises a calendar associated with the event management application in the calendar application (See at least Para 0024-0025, Para 0038, Para 0047, Para 0336-0340, Para 0384-0385).
As per Claim 14 (13), Clayton discloses wherein the based on the target service information, creating or updating, by the processor of the machine, a first schedule information corresponding to the target service information by using a target calendar in the target application comprises: based on the target service information, creating or updating, by the processor of the machine, a first schedule information corresponding to the target service information in the target calendar; determining, by the processor of the machine, participant information corresponding to the first schedule information; and creating or updating the first schedule information in personal calendars associated with the participant information (See at least Para 0024-0025, Para 0038, Para 0047, Para 0336-0340, Para 0384-0385).
As per Claim 15 (12), Clayton discloses wherein the based on the target service information, creating or updating, by the processor of the machine, a first schedule information corresponding to the target service information by using a target calendar in the target application comprises: determining, by the processor of the machine, participant information corresponding to the target service information, the target calendar comprising personal calendars in the calendar application associated with the participant information; and based on the target service information, creating or updating, by the processor of the machine, the first schedule information in the personal calendars (See at least Para 0024-0025, Para 0038, Para 0047, Para 0336-0340, Para 0384-0385).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 1/2/2026, with respect to Claims 1-6 and 8-20, have been considered but are not persuasive. The claimed limitations are found in the prior art as stated/mapped in the rejection above. The rejection will remain as FINAL, based on the rejection above.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The Applicant makes the following argument regarding the prior art of Clayton, “Clayton relates to methods and systems for storing decisions as objects and for linking, synchronizing, integrating, aggregating, and/or aligning units, plans, functions, processes and/or other subsets of an enterprise. As is known from the description thereof, Clayton is totally silent regarding displaying a page only comprising spreadsheet components corresponding to the service stage to which the participant belongs. Therefore, Clayton does not disclose or suggest ‘wherein a page of the event management application that is displayed to a participant comprises only spreadsheet components corresponding to the service stage to which the participant belongs’ as defined in amended claim 1.”
As sited in the rejection above, Clayton discloses that “… In various embodiments, data hierarchies may consist of Universal Markup Language (UML) models, HTML, SGML or XML or other mark-up language models or schema, object-oriented classes and objects, such as coded in Java, C++ or other object-oriented programming languages, graphics-based hierarchies, such as directed graphs and similar hierarchies, worksheets, spreadsheets and similar facilities that embody mathematical data and/or formulas, including those with nested logic or cross-references, and any other type of data hierarchy as captured by any type of tool for storing or manipulating a data hierarchy. …” (Para 0384); “The viewing interface 2402 may also allow for customization of the view and the fields displayed in each view. … In embodiments the viewing interface may be a graphical user interface for a software application with a table that shows rows and columns, with columns representing different time periods in the past, present and future, rows relating to particular data attributes, (such as product names, locations, quantities, prices, and the like) and cells that reflect data for the attributes as they relate to the time periods. The viewing interface 2402 may include colors, fonts, comment boxes, footnotes, patterns and other graphical, numeric and textual elements for conveying data, such as data relevant to decision attributes of decision types 200, data relevant to forecasting (such as for forecasting tools and analytical tools), data relevant to the impact of decisions, and the like. …” (Para 0388), and “As discussed above, the data 108 may be made available to other subsets of the enterprise 106 or to third parties, with views varying according to the hierarchy or schema of the viewer. The viewing interface 2402 may function in a variety of ways as described in connection with FIG. 24” (Para 00389, "with views varying": This is a key security and functionality feature (often known as a database "view"). It means not everyone sees the same information; the data presented is tailored to the user. "according to the hierarchy... of the viewer": This refers to authorization based on organizational structure (e.g., a manager sees team-level data, while a vice president sees department-level data). "or schema of the viewer": This refers to technical or functional access, where the structure of the data presented (the schema) is optimized for the viewer's specific purpose or role (e.g., HR sees employee data, while Finance sees invoice data).).
Furthermore, the Applicant generally describes the claimed invention as follows, “event management is achieved through an online event management application. Since the event management application is configured with a plurality of spreadsheet component sets configured based on each service stage in the service flow of the target event, and these spreadsheet component sets can display and/or change the stored service information based on the configuration in the event management application in response to input from a user, it is possible to distinguish service stages to count service information, and display and/or change corresponding service information based on the input from the user. Further, different participants can manage the corresponding service information in the event management application based on the permission information, and the linkage settings for data in the plurality of spreadsheets also make it possible to automatically associate service information in each service stage.”
Based on the description provided, the Examiner understands the invention to be an online, collaborative event management application that utilizes a modular, spreadsheet-based architecture to streamline the entire event lifecycle.
The prior art of Clayton discloses the same system applied to a general domain: Enterprise Planning (See at least Para 0045, “In another aspect, an enterprise planning method or system may include the steps of characterizing a plurality of data items that are relevant to a plurality of data schema of units, plans, functions, processes and/or other subsets of an enterprise; determining a class of data item that is common to the data schema of all or a subset of the units, plans, functions, processes and/or other subsets of an enterprise at a level of abstraction within the data schema; linking, synchronizing, integrating, aggregating and/or aligning the class of data items across the data schema of the plurality of units, plans, functions, processes and/or other subsets of an enterprise; and aggregating data within the plurality of units, plans, functions, processes and/or other subsets of an enterprise so that the data can be used or viewed at any of a plurality of levels of aggregation within the enterprise.”) Both inventions outline a data-driven management system that uses structured components (spreadsheets/data schemas) to manage different stages of a process, with capabilities for data aggregation, user-based permissioning, and automatic association of information.
Applicant’s remaining arguments are addressed in the rejection above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the PTO-892 Notice of References Cited. The Examiner suggests the applicant review all of these documents before submitting any amendments, especially the following:
Stachura (US 10,216,494 B2) – Discloses a method/ system for recruiting personnel (See at least C3L18-32, “According to some aspects, the system may implement permission controls to limit the ability of users to view and/or modify data stored in the web data store and/or spreadsheet. Security permissions for users may be defined in the spreadsheet, such as in the one or more user interface templates. Security permissions may be defined using native formulas of a spreadsheet application associated with the spreadsheet. Additionally and/or alternatively, security permissions may be retrieved from sources other than the spreadsheet such as an administrative policy server. The system may prevent modification of the web data store by a first user having first security permissions. The system may allow modification of the web data store responsive to input received from a second user having second security permissions.”; See also Fig.13; C16L51-54, “FIG. 13 is a screenshot of a spreadsheet application with the Add-On installed where an additional menu has been added to the spreadsheet application toolbar, where the user is not logged in, and showing the login page.”; and C25L53-57, “Permission rules may also be specified on the app or page to control whether login is required to view the page (FIG. 24) what logged in users or groups of users or roles are allowed to view the page and from what devices, networks, or during what times of day.”).
Huang et al. (X. Huang, H. Wang, Z. Chen and J. Lin, "A Context, Rule and Role-Based Access Control Model In Enterprise Pervasive Computing Environment," 2006 First International Symposium on Pervasive Computing and Applications, Urumqi, China, 2006, pp. 497-502, doi: 10.1109/SPCA.2006.297443) – Discloses a Role-Based access Control Model.
February 16, 2026
/JONATHAN P OUELLETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3629