DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-10, 12, 14-22 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on 10/20/2025 are considered.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10, 12, 14-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-7, 10, 13-16, 18, 21-23 of U.S. Patent No. 12,158,513. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are either anticipated by the patented claims or contain the same scope with minor difference in wording.
Pending Claims
Patented Claims
Correspondence
1
1 and 5
Each limitation of pending claim 1 is anticipated by patented claims 1 and 5.
2
1 and 5
Limitation anticipated in claim 1 and 5.
3
4
Same scope with minor wording variation.
4
6
Same scope with minor wording variation.
5
7
Same scope with minor wording variation.
6
10 and 14
Each limitation of pending claim 6 is covered by patented claims 10 and 14 but only replaced memory with non-transitory computer-readable medium.
7
10 and 14
Limitation anticipated in claim 10 and 14.
8
13
Same scope with minor wording variation.
9
15
Same scope with minor wording variation.
10
16
Same scope with minor wording variation.
12
18 and 22
Each limitation of pending claim 12 is anticipated by patented claims 18 and 22.
14
10, 14 and 17
Each limitation of pending claim 14 is anticipated by patented claims 10, 14 and 17.
15
10, 14 and 17
Each limitation of pending claim 14 is anticipated by patented claims 10, 14 and 17.
16
13 and 17
Same scope with minor wording variation.
17
15 and 17
Same scope with minor wording variation.
18
16 and 17
Same scope with minor wording variation.
19
18 and 22
Each limitation of pending claim 12 is anticipated by patented claims 18 and 22.
20
21
Same scope with minor wording variation.
21
23
Same scope with minor wording variation.
22
7 or 16
Corresponding claims with same scope.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 9-10, 12, 14-15, 17-19 and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ulupinar et al (Ulupinar), US 2016/0323032.
Ulupinar is cited by the applicant in the IDS.
As per claim 1, Ulupinar teaches the invention including a method, carried out by a terminal device, the method comprising:
Receiving, an ephemeris information (pp. 0004, 0042, 0048, 0063-0064, 0093, 0098, 0120-0121, 0137), wherein the ephemeris information comprises:
Identification information of a first satellite base station (pp. 0097-0098),
Identification information of a cell included in the first satellite base station (pp. 0099-0100),
Coverage times (pp. 0121, 0123: time of where the satellite will be located), and
location information (pp. 0121, 0123-0124),
Wherein the cell comprised in the first satellite base station covers a position represented by the location information in the coverage time (pp. 0121, 0123-0124); and
Handing over, based on the ephemeris information, to a destination cell served by a destination satellite base station (pp. 0009-0011, 0137-0140, 0147-0152).
Ulupinar does not teach the ephemeris information is sent via a broadcast message and the location information is longitude-latitude information. However, Ulupinar suggests to send a signaling message containing the ephemeris information to all connected devices (pp. 0121), which is recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art to be similar to the process of sending a broadcast message. Furthermore, it is common practice to identify location using longitude and altitude. Therefore, it is obvious to address a location position using longitude and altitude coordination. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Ulupinar and further utilize broadcast messages to transmit ephemeris information that includes location information using longitude-altitude coordination to all the devices.
As per claim 2, Ulupinar teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Ulupinar further teaches wherein the handing over comprises:
Determining, based on the broadcast message, the destination satellite base station to which the terminal device needs to hand over (pp. 0092, 0122-0124, 0137-0140); and
Determining, in accordance with the determining the destination base station, a first time at which the terminal device is to hand over to the destination satellite base station (pp. 0009-0011, 0048, 0147-0150, 0191),
Wherein the handing over is further based on the first time (pp. 0009-0011, 0137-0140, 0147-0152).
As per claim 4, Ulupinar teaches the invention as claimed in claim 2. Ulupinar further teaches wherein the determining the destination satellite base station comprises:
Determining a cell based on the identification information of the first satellite base station, the identification information of a cell included in the first satellite base station, the coverage times, and the longitude-latitude information; wherein the cell is comprised in the first satellite base station, and wherein the cell covers the terminal device (pp. 0004, 0048, 0064, 0097-0100, 0121-0123, 0181, 0268); and
Determining, as the destination satellite base station, a base station to which the cell belongs (pp. 0009-0010, 0048, 0147-0150, 0191).
As per claim 5, Ulupinar teaches the invention as claimed in claim 2. Ulupinar further teaches wherein the determining a first time comprises:
Calculating the first time based on the coverage time of the destination satellite base station and a specified handover advance (pp. 0009-0011, 0048, 0147-0150, 0191, 0266).
As per claim 6, Ulupinar teaches the invention including an apparatus comprising:
A processor (pp. 0082-0084); and
A non-transitory computer-readable medium including computer-executable instructions (pp. 0084, 0221-0223) that, when executed by the processor, facilitate the apparatus carrying out a method comprising:
Receiving, an ephemeris information (pp. 0004, 0042, 0048, 0063-0064, 0093, 0098, 0120-0121, 0137), wherein the ephemeris information comprises:
Identification information of a first satellite base station (pp. 0097-0098),
Identification information of a cell included in the first satellite base station (pp. 0099-0100),
Coverage times (pp. 0121, 0123: time of where the satellite will be located), and
location information (pp. 0121, 0123-0124),
Wherein the cell comprised in the first satellite base station covers a position represented by the location information in the coverage time (pp. 0121, 0123-0124); and
Handing over, based on the ephemeris information, to a destination cell served by a destination satellite base station (pp. 0009-0011, 0137-0140, 0147-0152).
Ulupinar does not teach the ephemeris information is sent via a broadcast message and the location information is longitude-latitude information. However, Ulupinar suggests to send a signaling message containing the ephemeris information to all connected devices (pp. 0121), which is recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art to be similar to the process of sending a broadcast message. Furthermore, it is common practice to identify location using longitude and altitude. Therefore, it is obvious to address a location position using longitude and altitude coordination. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Ulupinar and further utilize broadcast messages to transmit ephemeris information that includes location information using longitude-altitude coordination to all the devices.
As per claim 7, Ulupinar teaches the invention as claimed in claim 6. Ulupinar further teaches wherein the handing over comprises:
Determining, based on the broadcast message, the destination satellite base station to which the terminal device needs to hand over (pp. 0092, 0122-0124, 0137-0140); and
Determining, in accordance with the determining the destination base station, a first time at which the terminal device is to hand over to the destination satellite base station (pp. 0009-0011, 0048, 0147-0150, 0191),
Wherein the handing over is further based on the first time (pp. 0009-0011, 0137-0140, 0147-0152).
As per claim 9, Ulupinar teaches the invention as claimed in claim 7. Ulupinar further teaches wherein the determining the destination satellite base station comprises:
Determining a cell based on the identification information of the first satellite base station, the identification information of a cell included in the first satellite base station, the coverage times, and the longitude-latitude information; wherein the cell is comprised in the first satellite base station, and wherein the cell covers the terminal device (pp. 0004, 0048, 0064, 0097-0100, 0121-0123, 0181, 0268); and
Determining, as the destination satellite base station, a base station to which the cell belongs (pp. 0009-0010, 0048, 0147-0150, 0191).
As per claim 10, Ulupinar teaches the invention as claimed in claim 7. Ulupinar further teaches wherein the determining a first time comprises:
Calculating the first time based on the coverage time of the destination satellite base station and a specified handover advance (pp. 0009-0011, 0048, 0147-0150, 0191, 0266).
As per claim 12, Ulupinar teaches the invention including a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising a computer program (pp. 0084, 0221-0223), wherein when the computer program is executed on a computer, the computer is enabled to perform a method comprising:
Receiving, an ephemeris information (pp. 0004, 0042, 0048, 0063-0064, 0093, 0098, 0120-0121, 0137), wherein the ephemeris information comprises:
Identification information of a first satellite base station (pp. 0097-0098),
Identification information of a cell included in the first satellite base station (pp. 0099-0100),
Coverage times (pp. 0121, 0123: time of where the satellite will be located), and
location information (pp. 0121, 0123-0124),
Wherein the cell comprised in the first satellite base station covers a position represented by the location information in the coverage time (pp. 0121, 0123-0124); and
Handing over, based on the ephemeris information, to a destination cell served by a destination satellite base station (pp. 0009-0011, 0137-0140, 0147-0152).
Ulupinar does not teach the ephemeris information is sent via a broadcast message and the location information is longitude-latitude information. However, Ulupinar suggests to send a signaling message containing the ephemeris information to all connected devices (pp. 0121), which is recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art to be similar to the process of sending a broadcast message. Furthermore, it is common practice to identify location using longitude and altitude. Therefore, it is obvious to address a location position using longitude and altitude coordination. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Ulupinar and further utilize broadcast messages to transmit ephemeris information that includes location information using longitude-altitude coordination to all the devices.
As per claim 14, Ulupinar teaches the invention including a chip (pp. 0270-0271), comprising a processor (pp. 0082-0084) and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program (pp. 0084, 0221-0223), and the processor is configured to invoke and run the computer program stored in the memory, to perform a method comprising:
Receiving, an ephemeris information (pp. 0004, 0042, 0048, 0063-0064, 0093, 0098, 0120-0121, 0137), wherein the ephemeris information comprises:
Identification information of a first satellite base station (pp. 0097-0098),
Identification information of a cell included in the first satellite base station (pp. 0099-0100),
Coverage times (pp. 0121, 0123: time of where the satellite will be located), and
location information (pp. 0121, 0123-0124),
Wherein the cell comprised in the first satellite base station covers a position represented by the location information in the coverage time (pp. 0121, 0123-0124); and
Handing over, based on the ephemeris information, to a destination cell served by a destination satellite base station (pp. 0009-0011, 0137-0140, 0147-0152).
Ulupinar does not teach the ephemeris information is sent via a broadcast message and the location information is longitude-latitude information. However, Ulupinar suggests to send a signaling message containing the ephemeris information to all connected devices (pp. 0121), which is recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art to be similar to the process of sending a broadcast message. Furthermore, it is common practice to identify location using longitude and altitude. Therefore, it is obvious to address a location position using longitude and altitude coordination. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Ulupinar and further utilize broadcast messages to transmit ephemeris information that includes location information using longitude-altitude coordination to all the devices.
As per claim 15, Ulupinar teaches the invention as claimed in claim 14. Ulupinar further teaches wherein the handing over comprises:
Determining, based on the broadcast message, the destination satellite base station to which the terminal device needs to hand over (pp. 0092, 0122-0124, 0137-0140); and
Determining, in accordance with the determining the destination base station, a first time at which the terminal device is to hand over to the destination satellite base station (pp. 0009-0011, 0048, 0147-0150, 0191),
Wherein the handing over is further based on the first time (pp. 0009-0011, 0137-0140, 0147-0152).
As per claim 17, Ulupinar teaches the invention as claimed in claim 15. Ulupinar further teaches wherein the determining the destination satellite base station comprises:
Determining a cell based on the identification information of the first satellite base station, the identification information of a cell included in the first satellite base station, the coverage times, and the longitude-latitude information; wherein the cell is comprised in the first satellite base station, and wherein the cell covers the terminal device (pp. 0004, 0048, 0064, 0097-0100, 0121-0123, 0181, 0268); and
Determining, as the destination satellite base station, a base station to which the cell belongs (pp. 0009-0010, 0048, 0147-0150, 0191).
As per claim 18, Ulupinar teaches the invention as claimed in claim 15. Ulupinar further teaches wherein the determining a first time comprises:
Calculating the first time based on the coverage time of the destination satellite base station and a specified handover advance (pp. 0009-0011, 0048, 0147-0150, 0191, 0266).
As per claim 19, Ulupinar teaches the invention as claimed in claim 12. Ulupinar further teaches wherein the handing over comprises:
Determining, based on the broadcast message, the destination satellite base station to which the terminal device needs to hand over (pp. 0092, 0122-0124, 0137-0140); and
Determining, in accordance with the determining the destination base station, a first time at which the terminal device is to hand over to the destination satellite base station (pp. 0009-0011, 0048, 0147-0150, 0191),
Wherein the handing over is further based on the first time (pp. 0009-0011, 0137-0140, 0147-0152).
As per claim 21, Ulupinar teaches the invention as claimed in claim 19. Ulupinar further teaches wherein the determining the destination satellite base station comprises:
Determining a cell based on the identification information of the first satellite base station, the identification information of a cell included in the first satellite base station, the coverage times, and the longitude-latitude information; wherein the cell is comprised in the first satellite base station, and wherein the cell covers the terminal device (pp. 0004, 0048, 0064, 0097-0100, 0121-0123, 0181, 0268); and
Determining, as the destination satellite base station, a base station to which the cell belongs (pp. 0009-0010, 0048, 0147-0150, 0191).
As per claim 22, Ulupinar teaches the invention as claimed in claim 19. Ulupinar further teaches wherein the determining a first time comprises:
Calculating the first time based on the coverage time of the destination satellite base station and a specified handover advance (pp. 0009-0011, 0048, 0147-0150, 0191, 0266).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 8, 16 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wu et al, US 2018/0376393
Kay et al, US 2018/0084476
Purkayastha et al, US 20217/0230104
Damnjanovic et al, US 2017/0099120
Yaoya, US 6,512,920
KENNY S. LIN
Examiner
Art Unit 2416
/Kenny S Lin/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416
September 9, 2026