This action is in response to the amendments filed on 04/06/2026, in which claims 1, 9, 11, 19 and 21 are amended. Claims 1-21 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument focuses solely on Krzyzanowski. However, the rejection relies on the combined teachings of the cited references, not on Krzyzewski alone. While Krzyzanowski is relied upon for update ,management and deployment functionality, the additional references teach the claimed rollback procedure, including booting a prior OS version into an alternative boot target and enabling services therein following detection of an error.
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings to improve system reliability and recovery from update failures. Accordingly, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 10-11, 13-14, 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griffin et al. (US 2023/0342162, referred herein after Griffin) in view of Hsu et al. (US 2017/0046229, referred herein after Hsu) and Rothman et al. (US 2004/0255106, Rothman).
As per claim 1, 11, 21, Griffin discloses a method comprising:
booting a first version of an operating system (OS) into a boot target (Fig. 3, step 310, [0041], booting primary operating system image in a first disk partition);
booting a second version of the OS into the boot target to replace the first version of the OS with the second version of the OS (Fig. 3, step 320, [0044], booting secondary operating system image in a second disk partition);
detecting an error associated with booting the second version of the OS into the boot target; and (Fig. 3, step 330, [0021], [0045], [0061], upon detecting the malfunction triggering event, version of OS is switched);
Griffin does not specifically discloses performing, using a processing device responsive to detecting the error, a rollback procedure by booting the first version of the OS into an alternative boot target;
Hsu discloses performing, using a processing device responsive to detecting the error, a rollback procedure by booting the first version of the OS into an alternative boot target ([0036], ” when firmware for the computer system 100 is updated, and there can be compatibility issues with updated firmware and other existing firmware and/or components. By storing a backup version of the secondary boot 120 in a partition of the primary boot 110, the computer system 100 can be “rolled back” to an earlier secondary boot until the firmware update issue can be resolved”);
Therefore it would have been obvious to the one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Hsu’s Dual boot computer system into Griffin’s parallel boot operating system because one of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to automatically revert back to the original, working version of the OS by booting it into a different partition or target;
Nethoer Griffin nor Hsu specifically disclose the alternative boot target is to enable one or more software services that are prohibited to execute in the boot target;
However, Rothman disclose the alternative boot target is to enable one or more software services that are prohibited to execute in the boot target (Fig. 2B, step 234, selecting abother boot target, [0055]-[0057], wherein the different operating system partitioned boot target is prevented to execute as claimed);
Therefore it would have been obvious to the one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Rothman’s recovery of operating system configuration data by firmware of computer system into Hsu’s Dual boot computer system and Griffin’s parallel boot operating system because one of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make firmware and OS updates safe, reliable, and operational — turning a risky process into a routine, low-impact maintenance task.
As per claim 3, 13, Hsu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein detecting the error associated with booting the second version of the OS into the boot target comprises:
determining that the second version of the OS prematurely stopped booting at a particular point during the booting of the second version of the OS; and ([0021], [0045], [0036], “the secondary boot 120 is not completed successfully the computer system 100”);
comparing the particular point to a predefined point associated with the booting of the second version of the OS ([0055], [0060]).
As per claim 4, 14, Griffin discloses the method of claim 1, wherein detecting the error associated with booting the second version of the OS into the boot target comprises:
determining that the second version of the OS booted into the boot target; and (Fig. 3, step 320, [0044], booting secondary operating system image in a second disk partition);
determining that the error occurs after the second version of the OS booted into the boot target ([0021], [0045]).
As per claim 10, 20, Hsu discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: selecting, from a plurality of services, a particular service based on the error; and ([0036], secondary boot is not completed successfully implies error occurred, selected to reboot from alternate image);
configuring the alternative boot target to launch the particular service responsive to performing the rollback procedure ([0036], alternate image is selected to launch operating system).
Claims 2, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griffin and Hsu in view of Zhu et al. (US 2024/0289262, referred herein after Zhu).
As per claim 2, 12, neither Griffin nor Hsu discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
However, Zhu discloses generating the first version of the OS based on a dataset ([0027], abstract, “deploying multiple updates in a code repository of a version control system”, version is created using data);
modifying the dataset to generate a modified dataset; and generating the second version of the OS based on the modified dataset ([0020], data formatted and version updates are created);
Therefore it would have been obvious to the one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Zhu’s automatic testing method into Hsu’s Dual boot computer system and Griffin’s parallel boot operating system because one of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to deploy multiple updates in a code repository of a version control system and map the multiple updates using multiple feature labels.
Claims 5-9, 15-19, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griffin and Hsu in view of Krzyzanowski et al. (US 2010/00157990, referred herein after Krzyzanowski).
As per claim 5, 15, neither Griffin nor Hsu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein detecting the error associated with booting the second version of the OS into the boot target comprises:
reading an error flag from a data storage location; and
determining that the error flag indicates one or more errors associated with booting the second version of the OS into the boot target;
However, Krzyzanowski discloses reading an error flag from a data storage location; and ([0176], flag is read from non-volatile storage upon unresponsive state of operating system);
determining that the error flag indicates one or more errors associated with booting the second version of the OS into the boot target ([0176], This flag may be set to select the fail-safe kernel by a process monitor daemon when the process monitor daemon determines that the operating system has been in an unresponsive state for a period of time that equals or exceeds a predetermined period of time, setting flag due to OS failure and taking fallback action ie forcing fail-safe image to boot);
Therefore it would have been obvious to the one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Krzyzanowski’s error-flag mechanism into Hsu’s Dual boot computer system and Griffin’s parallel boot operating system because one of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve the reliability of upgrading software components.
As per claim 6, 16, Griffin discloses the method of claim 1, wherein detecting the error associated with booting the second version of the OS into the boot target comprises:
detecting a second error associated with re-booting the second version of the OS into the boot target ([0021], [0045]).
Neither Hsu nor Griffin discloses re-booting the second version of the OS into the boot target; and
However, Krzyzanowski discloses re-booting the second version of the OS into the boot target; and ([0176], forcing the fail-safe kernel image to boot implies rebooting the second version of OS as claimed);
Therefore it would have been obvious to the one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Krzyzanowski’s error-flag mechanism into Hsu’s Dual boot computer system and Griffin’s parallel boot operating system because one of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve the reliability of upgrading software components.
As per claim 7, 17, neither Hsu nor Griffin discloses the method of claim 1, wherein performing the rollback procedure further comprises:
terminating the second version of the OS to prevent the second version from executing in the boot target;
However, Krzyzanowski discloses terminating the second version of the OS to prevent the second version from executing in the boot target ([0176], [0177], forcing to boot the system from fail-safe image implies the preventing the use of faulty second version);
Therefore it would have been obvious to the one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Krzyzanowski’s error-flag mechanism into Hsu’s Dual boot computer system and Griffin’s parallel boot operating system because one of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve the reliability of upgrading software components.
As per claim 8, 18, neither Hsu nor Griffin discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining a severity level associated with the error; and (
determining whether the severity level satisfies a predefined threshold value; and either: performing a remedy procedure to mitigate the error responsive to determining that the severity level satisfies the predefined threshold value, or performing a roll-forward procedure by booting the second version of the OS into the boot target responsive to determining that the severity level does not satisfy the predefined threshold value;
However, Krzyzanowski discloses determining a severity level associated with the error; and ([0346], [0348], severity determined);
determining whether the severity level satisfies a predefined threshold value; and either: performing a remedy procedure to mitigate the error responsive to determining that the severity level satisfies the predefined threshold value, or performing a roll-forward procedure by booting the second version of the OS into the boot target responsive to determining that the severity level does not satisfy the predefined threshold value ([0348]-[0351], severity level high and fix/remedy is deployed as claimed);
Therefore it would have been obvious to the one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Krzyzanowski’s error-flag mechanism into Hsu’s Dual boot computer system and Griffin’s parallel boot operating system because one of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve the reliability of upgrading software components.
As per claim 9, 19, neither Hsu nor Griffin discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the alternative boot target is further to: disable one or more software services that are permitted to execute in the boot target, or disable one or more hardware components that are permitted to execute in the boot target;
However, Krzyzanowski discloses the alternative boot target is further to: disable one or more software services that are permitted to execute in the boot target, or disable one or more hardware components that are permitted to execute in the boot target ([0350], [0351], making target device inactive implies disabling target device as claimed);
Therefore it would have been obvious to the one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Krzyzanowski’s error-flag mechanism into Hsu’s Dual boot computer system and Griffin’s parallel boot operating system because one of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve the reliability of upgrading software components.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAMINI B PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2114