DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-18 are pending in the instant application. Claims 13-18 are withdrawn from consideration as been directed to a non-elected invention.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-12, in the reply filed on 10/14/2025 is acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/21/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5-7 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “cause the sensor controller to select one of the first setting and the second setting according to a result of communication with a stylus executed by use of a second communication method different from a first communication method used to transmit the uplink signal”. The underlined claim limitation is not directed to a product (sensor controller), but rather to a use in a specific method, which creates confusion regarding the metes and bound of the claim. It is unclear whether infringement occurs when the sensor controller is created or not until it is used in the second communication method. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 1318, 97 USPQ2d 1737, 1748-49 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
Claims 6-7 depend directly from claim 5, therefore are also indefinite.
Claim 10 recites the limitation " the selected one of the first setting or the second setting” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10, lines 4-5, recite “the uplink signal”. It is unclear which uplink signal the claim refers to “the uplink signal”, since claim 8 recites two different uplink signals, the uplink signal transmitted in the first setting and the uplink signal transmitted in the second setting.
Claim 10 recites “the receiver, in operation, selects the selected one of the first setting or the second setting according to a result of communication with a sensor controller performed by use of a second communication method different from a first communication method used to transmit the uplink signal”. The underlined claim limitation is not directed to a product (stylus), but rather to a use in a specific method, which creates confusion regarding the metes and bound of the claim. It is unclear whether infringement occurs when the stylus is created or not until the receiver is used in the second communication method. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 1318, 97 USPQ2d 1737, 1748-49 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
Claims 11-12 depend directly from claim 10, therefore are also indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamamoto (US 20220035483 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yamamoto teaches a sensor controller (see Fig. 6, a sensor controller 31) comprising:
a processor (see Fig. 1. MCU 60, para. [0059]. The MCU 60 is a microprocessor); and
a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor (see para. [0059]. The MCU 60 is a microprocessor including a read only memory (ROM) and a random access memory (RAM) inside and is operated based on a predetermined program), cause the sensor controller to:
transmit (see para. [0060]. The MCU 60 is configured to transmit the uplink signal US), in either one of a first setting and a second setting different from the first setting, an uplink signal (see para. [0060], para. [0063]. The MCU 60 has three transmission modes of the uplink signal US, including an old and new mixed mode, an old only mode, and a new only mode. In the old and new mixed mode, the MCU 60 alternately sets, in a defined ratio (for example, 1:1), frames F (first frames) for transmitting the uplink signals US1 for the old protocol and frames F (second frames) for transmitting the uplink signals US2 for the new protocol. In the old only mode, the MCU 60 transmits the uplink signals US1 for the old protocol in all of the frames F. In the new only mode, the MCU 60 transmits the uplink signals US2 for the new protocol in all of the frames F. The uplink signals US1 and US2 have differences due to the difference in protocol) including a predetermined preamble (see Fig. 4, Figs. 7A-7G, preamble PRE, para. [0041]-[0042], para. [0063]. As illustrated in FIG. 4, the uplink signal US includes a preamble PRE. FIG. 7A depicts a configuration example of the uplink signal US1, and FIGS. 7B to 7G respectively depict configuration examples of the uplink signal US2. The uplink signals US1 and US2 have the configuration illustrated in FIG. 4 and include a preamble PRE. However, the uplink signals US1 and US2 have differences due to the difference in protocol); and
select a selected one of the first setting or the second setting and transmit the uplink signal in the selected one of the first setting or the second setting (see Fig. 11, para. [0009] para. [0060], para. [0104]-[0105]. The MCU 60 alternately sets, in a defined ratio (for example, 1:1), frames F (first frames) for transmitting the uplink signals US1 for the old protocol and frames F (second frames) for transmitting the uplink signals US2 for the new protocol. In the state S20, the reception mode of each of two time slots TS1 and TS2 is the discovery mode, and the transmission mode of the uplink signal US is the old and new mixed mode. In this case, the sensor controller 31 alternately sets, in a defined ratio, the frames F for transmitting the uplink signals US1 for the old protocol and the frames F for transmitting the uplink signals US2 for the new protocol. As described in detail later with reference to FIG. 11, the MCU 60 has three transmission modes of the uplink signal US, including an old and new mixed mode, an old only mode, and a new only mode. In the old and new mixed mode, the MCU 60 alternately sets, in a defined ratio (for example, 1:1), frames F (first frames) for transmitting the uplink signals US1 for the old protocol and frames F (second frames) for transmitting the uplink signals US2 for the new protocol. In the old only mode, the MCU 60 transmits the uplink signals US1 for the old protocol in all of the frames F. In the new only mode, the MCU 60 transmits the uplink signals US2 for the new protocol in all of the frames F. FIG. 11 is a mode transition diagram of the sensor controller 31. As illustrated in FIG. 11, the sensor controller 31 operates in one of reception modes of the downlink signal DS in each time slot TS as well as operating in one of transmission modes of the uplink signal US).
Regarding claim 2, Yamamoto teaches the sensor controller according to claim 1.
Yamamoto further teaches wherein the first setting is a setting with a relatively large chip rate of a spread code included in the uplink signal (see Fig. 7D, para. [0067]-[0068], para. [0042]. FIG. 7D illustrates an example in which the preamble PRE of the new protocol is longer than the preamble PRE of the old protocol. The preamble PRE is a synchronization signal for synchronizing the pen 2 with the sensor controller 31. The synchronization signal includes, for example, a predetermined spread code (pulse sequence) including chips of the chip widths have predetermined lengths (for example, 0.5 us, 1.0 us, 2.0 us . . . ). The chip lengths of the spread code (code lengths of the spread code) are, for example, 7, 15, 31, 63 [chips] . . . . Two or more spread codes with such chip lengths may be connected to provide the synchronization signal. The pen 2 continuously or intermittently performs a detection operation of the spread code included in the preamble PRE), and the second setting is a setting with a relatively small chip rate of the spread code included in the uplink signal (see Fig. 7A, para. [0042], para. [0055], para. [0063], para. [0068], para. [0072]-[0074]. FIG. 7A depicts a configuration example of the uplink signal US1. The uplink signals US1 and US2 have differences due to the difference in protocol. As depicted in Fig. 7A, the preamble PRE of the old protocol (US1) is smaller than the preamble PRE in the new protocol (US2 in Fig. 7D). The preamble PRE is a synchronization signal for synchronizing the pen 2 with the sensor controller 31. The synchronization signal includes, for example, a predetermined spread code (pulse sequence) including chips of the chip widths have predetermined lengths. The symbols included in the preamble PRE are supplied from the pattern supply unit 80 to the spread processing unit 83. The code sequence holding unit 82 has a function of generating a spread code PN in a predetermined chip length with autocorrelation characteristics, on the basis of the control signal ctrl_t3 supplied from the logic unit 61, and holding the spread code PN. The code sequence holding unit 82 holds different spread codes PN corresponding to the types of symbols. The spread codes PN held in the code sequence holding unit 82 are supplied to the spread processing unit 83.The spread processing unit 83 has a function of using corresponding one of the plurality of spread codes PN held in the code sequence holding unit 82, to spread the values of the symbols (preamble PRE or command signal COM) supplied through the switch 81 and thereby obtain a transmission chip sequence).
Regarding claim 3, Yamamoto teaches the sensor controller according to claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor (see para. [0059]. The MCU 60 is a microprocessor including a read only memory (ROM) and a random access memory (RAM) inside and is operated based on a predetermined program), cause the sensor controller to select the selected one of the first setting or the second setting according to a response from a stylus regarding the uplink signal that is transmitted (see Figs 11-13C, para. [0104]-[0111]. FIG. 11 is a mode transition diagram of the sensor controller 31. As illustrated in FIG. 11, the sensor controller 31 operates in one of reception modes of the downlink signal DS in each time slot TS as well as operating in one of transmission modes of the uplink signal US. In a case illustrated in FIG. 12A, the sensor controller 31 in the state S20 receives the downlink signal DS2 in the time slot TS1 of the frame F in which the uplink signal US2 is transmitted. The pen 2 that transmits the first downlink signal DS2 in response to the uplink signal US2 is the pen 2b, and the pen 2b enters the new mode S12 illustrated in FIG. 10 at the time of the transmission of the downlink signal DS2. The sensor controller 31 uses the new protocol to pair with the pen 2 that has transmitted the detected downlink signal DS2 and sets the reception mode of the downlink signal DS in the time slot TS1 to the new mode (state S21 in FIG. 11). As a result, communication based on the new protocol is performed in the time slot TS1. [0107] In a case illustrated in FIG. 12C, the sensor controller 31 in the state S21 receives the downlink signal DS1 in the time slot TS2 of the frame F in which the uplink signal US1 is transmitted. The pen 2 that transmits the downlink signal DS1 can be either one of the pen 2a and the pen 2b. In the case of the pen 2a, the pen 2a enters the communication mode S1 illustrated in FIG. 9 at the time of the transmission of the downlink signal DS1. In the case of the pen 2b, the pen 2b enters the old mode S11 illustrated in FIG. 10 at the time of the transmission of the downlink signal DS1. The sensor controller 31 uses the old protocol to pair with the pen 2 that has transmitted the detected downlink signal DS1 and sets the reception mode of the downlink signal DS in the time slot TS2 to the old mode (state S24 in FIG. 11). As a result, communication based on the new protocol is performed in the time slot TS1, and communication based on the old protocol is performed in the time slot TS2).
Regarding claim 4, Yamamoto teaches the sensor controller according to claim 1.
Yamamoto further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor (see para. [0059]. The MCU 60 is a microprocessor including a read only memory (ROM) and a random access memory (RAM) inside and is operated based on a predetermined program), cause the sensor controller to alternately transmit the uplink signal in the first setting and transmit the uplink signal in the second setting (see Fig. 12A, Fig. 12C, Fig. 13A-13B, para. [0060], para. [0105]. The sensor controller 31 alternately sets, in a defined ratio, the frames F for transmitting the uplink signals US1 for the old protocol and the frames F for transmitting the uplink signals US2 for the new protocol).
Regarding claim 8, Yamamoto teaches stylus (see Fig. 1, pens 2a and 2b, Fig. 5, para. [0048]. FIG. 5 depicts an internal configuration of the pen 2) comprising:
a processor (see para. [0048], para. [0053]. The integrated circuit 27 is a processing unit including a circuit group formed on a substrate not illustrated); and
a receiver coupled to the processor (see para. [0048], para. [0053], claim 12. an integrated circuit 27 including reception circuitry for controlling reception of uplink signals. The integrated circuit 27 executes a process of receiving the uplink signal US through the pen tip electrode 22 (e.g., via the reception circuitry thereof)),
wherein the receiver, in operation, detects both an uplink signal transmitted in a first setting and an uplink signal transmitted in a second setting different from the first setting (see claim 12, para. [0008], para. [0050], para. [0053], para. [0055], para. [0060], para. [0063]. A pen, comprising: reception circuitry configured to receive both a first uplink signal generated according to a first protocol and a second uplink signal generated according to a second protocol different from the first protocol).
Regarding claim 9, Yamamoto teaches the stylus according to claim 8.
Yamamoto further teaches wherein the receiver (see para. [0048], para. [0053], claim 12. reception circuitry), in operation, alternately performs a reception operation of the uplink signal transmitted in the first setting and a reception operation of the uplink signal transmitted in the second setting (see Fig. 12A, Fig. 12C, Fig. 13A-13B, para. [0008], para. [0050], para. [0053], para. [0055], para. [0060], para. [0105]-[0107]. The reception circuitry configured to receive both a first uplink signal generated according to a first protocol and a second uplink signal generated according to a second protocol. The integrated circuit 27 of the pen 2b that is the new pen supportive of both the old and new protocols is operated in one of the following modes: a discovery mode S10 for discovering the sensor controller 31; an old mode S11 (first operation mode) for using the old protocol to communicate with the discovered sensor controller 31; an old continuation mode S11a for continuing the communication with the sensor controller 31 even when the uplink signal US generated according to the new protocol is received after entering the old mode S11; a new mode S12 (second operation mode) for using the new protocol to communicate with the discovered sensor controller 31; and a new continuation mode S12a for continuing the communication with the sensor controller 31 even when the uplink signal US generated according to the old protocol is received after entering the new mode S12. Hereinafter, the uplink signal US generated according to the old protocol will be referred to as an “uplink signal US1,” and the uplink signal US generated according to the new protocol will be referred to as an “uplink signal US2.” For the pen 2a, the uplink signal US1 is the uplink signal NUS, and the uplink signal US2 is the uplink signal SUS. The sensor controller 31 alternately sets, in a defined ratio, the frames F for transmitting the uplink signals US1 for the old protocol and the frames F for transmitting the uplink signals US2 for the new protocol).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (US 20220035483 A1) in view of Hara et al. (US 20190121455 A1, hereinafter referenced as Hara).
Regarding claim 5, Yamamoto teaches the sensor controller according to claim 1.
Yamamoto further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor (see para. [0059]. The MCU 60 is a microprocessor including a read only memory (ROM) and a random access memory (RAM) inside and is operated based on a predetermined program), cause the sensor controller to select one of the first setting and the second setting according to a result of communication with a stylus (see Figs 11-13C, para. [0030], para. [0104]-[0111]. The pen 2 and the sensor controller 31 can perform two-way communication. As also illustrated in FIG. 1, hereinafter, a signal transmitted from the sensor controller 31 to the pen 2 will be referred to as an uplink signal US, and a signal transmitted from the pen 2 to the sensor controller 31 will be referred to as a downlink signal DS. As illustrated in FIG. 11, the sensor controller 31 operates in one of reception modes of the downlink signal DS in each time slot TS as well as operating in one of transmission modes of the uplink signal US. In a case illustrated in FIG. 12A, the sensor controller 31 in the state S20 receives the downlink signal DS2 in the time slot TS1 of the frame F in which the uplink signal US2 is transmitted. The pen 2 that transmits the first downlink signal DS2 in response to the uplink signal US2 is the pen 2b, and the pen 2b enters the new mode S12 illustrated in FIG. 10 at the time of the transmission of the downlink signal DS2. The sensor controller 31 uses the new protocol to pair with the pen 2 that has transmitted the detected downlink signal DS2 and sets the reception mode of the downlink signal DS in the time slot TS1 to the new mode (state S21 in FIG. 11). As a result, communication based on the new protocol is performed in the time slot TS1. In a case illustrated in FIG. 12C, the sensor controller 31 in the state S21 receives the downlink signal DS1 in the time slot TS2 of the frame F in which the uplink signal US1 is transmitted. The pen 2 that transmits the downlink signal DS1 can be either one of the pen 2a and the pen 2b. In the case of the pen 2a, the pen 2a enters the communication mode S1 illustrated in FIG. 9 at the time of the transmission of the downlink signal DS1. In the case of the pen 2b, the pen 2b enters the old mode S11 illustrated in FIG. 10 at the time of the transmission of the downlink signal DS1. The sensor controller 31 uses the old protocol to pair with the pen 2 that has transmitted the detected downlink signal DS1 and sets the reception mode of the downlink signal DS in the time slot TS2 to the old mode (state S24 in FIG. 11). As a result, communication based on the new protocol is performed in the time slot TS1, and communication based on the old protocol is performed in the time slot TS2).
Yamamoto does not explicitly disclose that the result of communication with a stylus is executed by use of a second communication method different from a first communication method used to transmit the uplink signal.
However, Hara teaches the result of communication with a stylus is executed by use of a second communication method different from a first communication method used to transmit the uplink signal (see para. [0062], para. [0154], para. [0156]. The transmitter 60 is a circuit configured to generate and transmit the uplink signal US pursuant to system A or system B. The concrete configuration of the transmitter 60 described here is exemplification and is different in some cases depending on the system. Furthermore, if systems A and B need the transmitters 60 with configurations different from each other, the respective configurations may be disposed together in one transmitter 60 and be selectively operated. Which of systems A and B is used by the transmitter 60 is decided according to the operation mode of the sensor controller 31. The stylus 2 receives the uplink signal US through the electrode 21 (FIG. 1). However, the stylus 2 may receive the uplink signal US by a separate wireless communication measure such as Bluetooth (registered trademark) for example. Furthermore, it suffices for the uplink signal US (signal pursuant to the first system) to be a signal that can be detected by the stylus 2, which includes the case in which the sensor controller 31 that carries out detection of a finger touch using mutual capacitance between transmitting electrode and receiving electrode uses a transmission signal supplied to the transmitting electrode as the uplink signal US).
Yamamoto and Hara are related to sensor controller and stylus thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the sensor controller disclosed by Yamamoto with Hara’s teachings, since it would have been obvious to try from a finite number of communication methods known in the art, between a stylus an a sensor controller, that would have yielded the same predictable result of communicating with the stylus.
Regarding claim 6, Yamamoto and Hara teach the sensor controller according to claim 5.
Hara further teaches wherein the first communication method is a communication method performed through capacitive coupling of a sensor electrode group arranged in a touch surface and a pen tip electrode of the stylus (see Fig. 1, para. [0054], para. [0154]. The stylus 2 receives the uplink signal US through the electrode 21 (FIG. 1). Furthermore, it suffices for the uplink signal US (signal pursuant to the first system) to be a signal that can be detected by the stylus 2, which includes the case in which the sensor controller 31 that carries out detection of a finger touch using mutual capacitance between transmitting electrode and receiving electrode uses a transmission signal supplied to the transmitting electrode as the uplink signal US. When the uplink signal US transmitted by the sensor controller 31 reaches the electrode 21, a charge according to the uplink signal US that has reached is induced in the electrode 21. The signal processor 24 receives the uplink signal US by detecting the charge thus induced in the electrode 21), and the second communication method is a communication method without the capacitive coupling (see para. [0062], para. [0154]. The stylus 2 receives the uplink signal US through the electrode 21 (FIG. 1). However, the stylus 2 may receive the uplink signal US by a separate wireless communication measure such as Bluetooth (registered trademark) for example).
Yamamoto and Hara are related to sensor controller and stylus thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the sensor controller disclosed by Yamamoto and Hara with Hara’s communication methods, since it would have been obvious to try from a finite number of communication methods known in the art, between a stylus and a sensor controller, that would have yielded the same predictable result of communicating with the stylus.
Regarding claim 10, Yamamoto teaches the stylus according to claim 8.
Yamamoto further teaches wherein the receiver(see para. [0048], para. [0053], claim 12. reception circuitry), in operation, selects the selected one of the first setting or the second setting according to a result of communication with a sensor controller performed by use of a second communication method, and performs a reception operation of the uplink signal transmitted in the selected one of the first setting or the second setting (see Figs. 11-13C, para. [0008], para. [0030]para. [0050], para. [0053], para. [0055], para. [0060], para. [0105]-[0111]. The integrated circuit 27 of the pen 2b that is the new pen supportive of both the old and new protocols is operated in one of the following modes: a discovery mode S10 for discovering the sensor controller 31; an old mode S11 (first operation mode) for using the old protocol to communicate with the discovered sensor controller 31; an old continuation mode S11a for continuing the communication with the sensor controller 31 even when the uplink signal US generated according to the new protocol is received after entering the old mode S11; a new mode S12 (second operation mode) for using the new protocol to communicate with the discovered sensor controller 31; and a new continuation mode S12a for continuing the communication with the sensor controller 31 even when the uplink signal US generated according to the old protocol is received after entering the new mode S12. As illustrated in FIG. 11, the sensor controller 31 operates in one of reception modes of the downlink signal DS in each time slot TS as well as operating in one of transmission modes of the uplink signal US. In a case illustrated in FIG. 12A, the sensor controller 31 in the state S20 receives the downlink signal DS2 in the time slot TS1 of the frame F in which the uplink signal US2 is transmitted. The pen 2 that transmits the first downlink signal DS2 in response to the uplink signal US2 is the pen 2b, and the pen 2b enters the new mode S12 illustrated in FIG. 10 at the time of the transmission of the downlink signal DS2. The sensor controller 31 uses the new protocol to pair with the pen 2 that has transmitted the detected downlink signal DS2 and sets the reception mode of the downlink signal DS in the time slot TS1 to the new mode (state S21 in FIG. 11). As a result, communication based on the new protocol is performed in the time slot TS1. In a case illustrated in FIG. 12C, the sensor controller 31 in the state S21 receives the downlink signal DS1 in the time slot TS2 of the frame F in which the uplink signal US1 is transmitted. The pen 2 that transmits the downlink signal DS1 can be either one of the pen 2a and the pen 2b. In the case of the pen 2a, the pen 2a enters the communication mode S1 illustrated in FIG. 9 at the time of the transmission of the downlink signal DS1. In the case of the pen 2b, the pen 2b enters the old mode S11 illustrated in FIG. 10 at the time of the transmission of the downlink signal DS1. The sensor controller 31 uses the old protocol to pair with the pen 2 that has transmitted the detected downlink signal DS1 and sets the reception mode of the downlink signal DS in the time slot TS2 to the old mode (state S24 in FIG. 11). As a result, communication based on the new protocol is performed in the time slot TS1, and communication based on the old protocol is performed in the time slot TS2).
Yamamoto does not explicitly disclose that the result of communication with a sensor controller performed by use of a second communication method different from a first communication method used to transmit the uplink signal.
However, Hara teaches the result of communication with a sensor controller is performed by use of a second communication method different from a first communication method used to transmit the uplink signal (see para. [0062], para. [0154], para. [0156]. The transmitter 60 is a circuit configured to generate and transmit the uplink signal US pursuant to system A or system B. The concrete configuration of the transmitter 60 described here is exemplification and is different in some cases depending on the system. Furthermore, if systems A and B need the transmitters 60 with configurations different from each other, the respective configurations may be disposed together in one transmitter 60 and be selectively operated. Which of systems A and B is used by the transmitter 60 is decided according to the operation mode of the sensor controller 31. The stylus 2 receives the uplink signal US through the electrode 21 (FIG. 1). However, the stylus 2 may receive the uplink signal US by a separate wireless communication measure such as Bluetooth (registered trademark) for example. Furthermore, it suffices for the uplink signal US (signal pursuant to the first system) to be a signal that can be detected by the stylus 2, which includes the case in which the sensor controller 31 that carries out detection of a finger touch using mutual capacitance between transmitting electrode and receiving electrode uses a transmission signal supplied to the transmitting electrode as the uplink signal US).
Yamamoto and Hara are related to sensor controller and stylus thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying Yamamoto’s teachings with Hara’s communication methods, since it would have been obvious to try from a finite number of communication methods known in the art, between a stylus and a sensor controller, that would have yielded the same predictable result of communicating with the stylus.
Regarding claim 11, Yamamoto and Hara teach the stylus according to claim 10.
Hara further teachers wherein the first communication method is a communication method performed through capacitive coupling of a sensor electrode group that is arranged in a touch surface and that is connected to the sensor controller and a pen tip electrode of the stylus (see Fig. 1, para. [0054], para. [0154]. The stylus 2 receives the uplink signal US through the electrode 21 (FIG. 1). Furthermore, it suffices for the uplink signal US (signal pursuant to the first system) to be a signal that can be detected by the stylus 2, which includes the case in which the sensor controller 31 that carries out detection of a finger touch using mutual capacitance between transmitting electrode and receiving electrode uses a transmission signal supplied to the transmitting electrode as the uplink signal US. When the uplink signal US transmitted by the sensor controller 31 reaches the electrode 21, a charge according to the uplink signal US that has reached is induced in the electrode 21. The signal processor 24 receives the uplink signal US by detecting the charge thus induced in the electrode 21), and the second communication method is a communication method without the capacitive coupling (see para. [0062], para. [0154]. The stylus 2 receives the uplink signal US through the electrode 21 (FIG. 1). However, the stylus 2 may receive the uplink signal US by a separate wireless communication measure such as Bluetooth (registered trademark) for example).
Yamamoto and Hara are related to sensor controller and stylus thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the stylus disclosed by Yamamoto and Hara with Hara’s communication methods, since it would have been obvious to try from a finite number of communication methods known in the art, between a stylus and a sensor controller, that would have yielded the same predictable result of communicating with the stylus.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (US 20220035483 A1) in view of Hara (US 20190121455 A1), further in view of Kim et al. (US 20250021189 A1, hereinafter referenced as Kim).
Regarding claim 7, Yamamoto and Hara teach the sensor controller according to claim 5.
Hara further teaches wherein the first communication method is a communication method performed through capacitive coupling of a sensor electrode group arranged in a touch surface and a pen tip electrode of the stylus, and the second communication method is a communication method performed through capacitive coupling of an electrode and the pen tip electrode (see Fig. 1, para. [0054], para. [0154]. The stylus 2 receives the uplink signal US through the electrode 21 (FIG. 1). Furthermore, it suffices for the uplink signal US (signal pursuant to the first system) to be a signal that can be detected by the stylus 2, which includes the case in which the sensor controller 31 that carries out detection of a finger touch using mutual capacitance between transmitting electrode and receiving electrode uses a transmission signal supplied to the transmitting electrode as the uplink signal US. When the uplink signal US transmitted by the sensor controller 31 reaches the electrode 21, a charge according to the uplink signal US that has reached is induced in the electrode 21. The signal processor 24 receives the uplink signal US by detecting the charge thus induced in the electrode 21).
Yamamoto does not explicitly disclose the second communication method is a communication method performed through capacitive coupling of an electrode different from the sensor electrode group.
However, Kim teaches the second communication method is a communication method performed through capacitive coupling of an electrode different from the sensor electrode group (see Fig. 15, para. [0200], para. [0229]-[0231]. During the display-driving period DP, the first local region Local A may be supplied with a first uplink signal Uplink_P1 having a first phase. Further, during the display-driving period DP, the second local region Local B may be supplied with a second uplink signal Uplink_P2 having a second phase that is different from the first phase. The second phase may be opposite to the first phase. the first uplink signal Uplink_P1 having the first phase is supplied through the touch electrode of the first local region during the display-driving period DP and the second uplink signal Uplink_P2 having the second phase is supplied through the touch electrode of the second local region during the display-driving period DP, such inverted uplink signals may offset the crosstalk formed on the data line DL orthogonal to the touch electrode to which the uplink signal is applied, thereby preventing image quality degradation such as bright or dark lines).
Yamamoto, Hara and Kim are related to sensor controller and stylus thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the sensor controller disclosed by Yamamoto and Hara with Kim’s teachings, since it would have been obvious to try from a finite number of communication methods known in the art, between a stylus an a sensor controller, that would have yielded the same predictable result of communicating with the stylus.
Conclusion
/IM/Examiner, Art Unit 2626
/TEMESGHEN GHEBRETINSAE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2626 11/3/25